Giffgaff Reviews

1.5 Rating 78 Reviews
13 %
of reviewers recommend Giffgaff

Write Your review

Tell us how Giffgaff made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Giffgaff 1 star review on 7th January 2023
Si
Giffgaff 2 star review on 28th June 2020
M B
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Poor show. I sent a fully complete and working iPhone Se to Giffgaff recycling based on its online quote of £45. Giffgaff came back to say that the camera was broken and revised the quote to £9. I queried this problem, saying that one of the last things I did with the phone was to take and send pictures of my new phone. Giffgaff then came back to say that the camera was actually working but that the sim tray was now missing but the revised quote was still £9. I said it was ok when I sent it (it’s not the sort of thing that could be overlooked) but they were uninterested in helping. I did also query why the new quote was £9 when their online system gave a “missing buttons” quote for £33. Again, they were uninterested. Just a waste of time
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
LIke a Lot of people I feel scammed by Giffgaff. Sent a phone off to them. Was told I could not do it as it was under contact. No problem I thought they will send back. How wrong I was its like trying to get blood out of a stone!! Feel like I have been scammed by them!! Avoid at all cost.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Do not use this service. I sent them a phone, they claimed the camera didn't work so wanted to pay me over £100 less, had I not been sure my phone was working and rejected that claim they would have scammed me out of that money. Having received the phone back and checked it works they are refusing to honour the original quote. Their customer service is also a complete joke.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Giffgaff are refusing to send me my money for the phone I sent back to them!!! They are keeping the money and my phone as they are stating they have not received my recycle order. DO NOT USE GIFFGAFF!!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Giffgaff are refusing to send me my money for the phone I sent back to them!!! They are keeping the money and my phone as they are stating they have not received my recycle order. DO NOT USE GIFFGAFF!!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Generally good service, until they don't charge your card even though auto top-ups is turned on... Sometimes this is just inconvenient, other times it's annoying, but sometimes it's really *scary* when they block you from making calls, when it's really urgent that you have phone access... GiffGaff say... "You may be wondering, 'well, why if my balance is 3p right now, why would auto top-up not trigger as it's below £3?'. This is also saving you from unnecessary top-ups - the balance needs to actively fall below £3 in order to trigger (for example running low on credit whilst on a call with a premium number). If you start below £3 then auto top-up will simply not know to trigger on the system - in which case you would need to manually top-up first." Because their auto top-up triggers only at the £3 account balance, but not at any account balances below £3... if auto top-up fails, there is no safety net. You will eventually experience a service interruption, until you are able to intervene, to top-up your credit manually yourself. I've been scarily stranded once in Italy, once in the early hours of the morning on a night out in strange town, and yesterday on site at an intruder alarm activation (break-in) on a deserted industrial estate. Through a logical error in Giffgaff’s programming, balances below £3 are ignored as a trigger to activate auto top-up. There is no qualitative difference between £3, and values less than £3, but Giffgaff customer service keep trying to tell customers, that this is a helpful feature…
Giffgaff 2 star review on 28th June 2020
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Disgusted at the service I have received from the giffgaff “sell your phone” service, I was quoted £135 for my iPhone 7 128gb and was told they had received an iPhone 7 32gb and revised my quote to £16.50, I explained this issue to them and was asked for my contacted details, they never contacted me, they ignored all my messages until I started demanding my phone back, eventually I was told it was in the post and would be 2-3 working days, they have made no effort to apologise or resolve this matter. They are still ignoring my messages and I have not received my phone back, it has been 2 weeks since they stated it was in the post to me. I have them my perfectly good iPhone 7 as I desperately need the cash and have hugely been let down, this whole process has been going on for a month now. I would highly recommend AVOIDING there “ sell my phone” service !!!!!!!! I feel like I have been scammed and am beginning to accept that my iPhone 7 has been stolen by GiffGaff !
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Do NOT recycle with giffgaff Sent two Samsung S9 devices to be recycled and was quoted £205 each. Sent them off over 2 weeks ago, had to message 7 times to find out what was happening, you definitely don't get next day payment. They reduced the price of one of the phones saying that it had 'screen burn' and offered a revised offer of £35.75. This is a total scam, there is nothing wrong with the phone and I've had it independently examined. They kept the other phone even though I demanded they return both. I threatened legal action unless they returned it and they come back with 'the phone has been lost' and we will pay £205 within 48 hours. No GIFFGAFF.... Your scamming people. Avoid at all costs! See the below conversation as evidence, make up your own mind. Conversation Liam 04 Mar 2020 14:17 Order Reference: 5128917 Hi Neil, Thanks for getting in touch. Unfortunately we have not been able to locate your device and so we have arranged for the full value of £205 for this to be issued to you no later than 8pm tomorrow. Kindest Regards, Liam @ the giffgaff team Member 04 Mar 2020 12:06 Another 2 days of past. Please tell me where my phone is or I will be commencing civil proceedings to claim the costs. Liam 02 Mar 2020 13:06 Order Reference: 5128917 Hi Neil, Thanks for getting in touch. All devices are dispatched separately. I have requested further details regarding the second device on your order and we will be in contact as soon as this is available. Kindest Regards, Liam @ the giffgaff team Member 02 Mar 2020 10:28 Hi, I've not received any text message confirmation regarding the delivery. I've received one handset back, could you tell me when the 2nd one will be returned and provide me with a tracking ref? Thanks Member 28 Feb 2020 18:38 Hi, I've received one device back has the other one been sent separately? Stephanie 26 Feb 2020 08:32 Order Reference: 5128917 Hi Neil, Thanks for getting in touch. 1x Samsung Galaxy S9 G960 64GB received full value of £205.00 1x Samsung Galaxy S9 G960 64GB received a value of £30.75 as it was found to have screen burn. As per ypur request both handsets were requested for return, as per our previous email a confirmation text message detailing the Royal Mail tracking reference assigned to your delivery will be issued to you as soon as your phones has been dispatched. Kindest Regards, Stephanie @ the giffgaff team Member 25 Feb 2020 15:37 This still doesn't answer my question. Can you please read it fully before responding with a standard fob off response. Stephanie 25 Feb 2020 14:16 Order Reference: 5128917 Hi Neil, Thanks for getting in touch. A confirmation text message detailing the Royal Mail tracking reference assigned to your delivery will be issued to you as soon as your phones has been dispatched. Kindest Regards, Stephanie @ the giffgaff team Member 25 Feb 2020 13:34 Can you tell me if both have been sent back to me as I haven't received any payments. Also, why was one reduced so much? You have not answered my question. Thank you Kimberley 24 Feb 2020 09:40 Order Reference: 5128917 Hi Neil, Thanks for getting in touch. I have arranged for the return of your phone, we aim to have this with you within the next 5 working days using Royal Mail tracking service. Your phone will be returned to you following our own guidelines, wrapped carefully to avoid damage in transit, contained within a rigid cardboard sleeve which is compliant with the Royal Mail standards for transporting phones containing lithium batteries. A confirmation text message detailing the Royal Mail tracking reference assigned to your delivery will be issued to you as soon as your phone has been dispatched. Kindest Regards, Kim @ the giffgaff team Member 22 Feb 2020 19:06 Hi, I have just reviewed the offer and I am disgusted in the offer. Both mobiles were in identical condition. You haven't said why you have reduced the offer. Please return BOTH phones unless your going to honour the quoted price.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
A mixed bag. Network performance is good (working on O2's platform), and goodybags (monthly bundles of calls, texts and data) are attractively priced and flexible. However, things have taken a downward turn recently. There is no call centre; the first port of call when experiencing problems is to email the 'community', which consists of fellow giffgaff members. They do a valiant job, to be fair, and respond very promptly, but they can't deal with account related issues, so these have to be directed towards their employed agents. This is where the fun starts. The agents' performance is hopeless; you'd better hope you only have to deal with one, as they don't appear to talk to each other; they have difficulty in reading and comprehending clear messages; and woe betide you if you experience any problems which aren't covered by their scripted responses. Their payment system crashes, leaving members unable to make not only purchases of phones, but sometimes fundamentals like renewing goodybag bundles. Lately there have been numerous complaints relating to faulty 'refurbished' phones. However, their prices for new phones are very good (better hope the payment system works though). If it weren't for the fact that only giffgaff/O2 can supply an acceptably strong signal in my home, I'd leave and use another carrier. Until recently I'd have heartily recommended giffgaff - sadly not any more.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Used giffgaff for travelling in UK, France and Spain. Ordered SIM card before the trip which arrived quickly at my home in Canada. Activated card before we flew to Gatwick and phone was active when we landed. Worked great for the entire trip. Bought 20£ goody bag which gave me 40GB Data. Ran maps almost constantly and tethered two phones and iPad. Didn’t even use 10GB over the 23 day trip. Will definitely use Giffgaff again!
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
The best mobile network in the uk it’s run by the customers and best value for money as well for bundles from £5 to £25 for unlimited everything and you get pad if you get your friends to join them no big network dose this or gives you everything unlimited for £25 join this network Straightaway
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Good value data in EU now bundles work there.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
PURCHASED A USED PHONE CLOSE ON £300 IT ARRIVED NEXT DAY THE SCREEN WAS SCRATCHED ALL OVER ,SO IRETURNED STRAIGHT AWAY TO TAKE ADVANTAGE OF THE NO QUIBLE REFUND ,WHICH I STILL HAVNT HAD AND ONLY ONE RESPONSE FROM THE AGENT ,IM HEAR TO HELP AND THATS IT ,NO MORE RESPONSE USELESS VERY POOR SERVICE NO CONTACT NO ,VERY FRUSTRAIGHTING I WILL NEVER USE THESE AGAIN
Helpful Report
Posted 6 years ago
Easy to navigate shop with affordable range of options to suit my needs.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 years ago
I made a purchase from Giff Gaff twice. Every time there were no problems and fast delivery as well. Thank you. We will soon again :)
Helpful Report
Posted 6 years ago
Setting up the sim card was quick and easy and the app allows me to do all I need.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 years ago
Excellent value and service also the prices on the range of handsets beats the competitors hands down
Helpful Report
Posted 6 years ago
Cheap and good customer service!
Helpful Report
Posted 6 years ago
Giffgaff is rated 1.5 based on 78 reviews