Amplifon Reviews

3.81 Rating 117 Reviews
69% of reviewers recommend Amplifon

How would you rate Amplifon?

Your Rating
Tell us how Company made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photo to this review?
Upload Photo
(only JPEG and PNG files) (optional)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(optional)
What's your email?
We need a working email address to verify that your review is genuine.

BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

Ad Looking for other Hearing Aid Companies? ? Adverts from our client network
117 reviews
Review and raise up to £2.00
GORDON
DON'T WASTE MONEY ON HEARING AIDS. TREAT THE CAUSE NOT THE SYMPTOM GOOGLE "LYNNE FARROW FACEBOOK "

You've raised
£1.26 for charity!

Read & write reviews about Amplifon in our app We'll donate to charity for every review written
"DON'T WASTE MONEY ON HEARING AIDS. TREAT THE CAUSE NOT THE SYMPTOM GOOGLE "LYNNE FARROW FACEBOOK ""
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"DON'T WASTE MONEY ON HEARING AID. GOOGLE" LYNNE FARROW FACEBOOK" AND CORRECT YOUR IODINE DEFICIENCY EASILY AND CHEAPLY. REGARDS"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"I accompanied my 87 year old Mum for her assessment and fitting for hearing aids for both ears.We went to the Amplifon shop on High Row in Darlington .She was very impressed with the thorough test and we were both treated with amazing customer care which included consideration of her individual wishes and expectations and excellent explanations. We were never hurried and the follow -up care has been great. You can't see the hearing aids, and they fit neatly behind her ears without causing problems with her spectacles. No hesitation in recommending this company."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Colin Britton
Unverified Reviewer
"Earlier this month I went along to the Amplifon store on the Lisburn Road, Belfast for a free hearing test with the intention of getting hearing aids if I required them. I am an ex police officer and had lost some of my hearing as a result of my job. Stephen the consultant in the Lisburn Road Branch ran very thorough tests to assess my hearing capability. These tests revealed that I had moderate hearing loss at certain frequencies. I was offered a free trial of hearing aids over the Christmas period an ideal time to assess the full impact of hearing aids on my hearing in crowds and small gatherings. When the hearing aids were fitted and set for my loss I found them to be excellent amplifiers of sound in clarity with very minimal or no feedback noise. The trial period was one week and I wore the hearing aids each day of the trial except one due to activities I was taking part in. When the trial period ended I was aware that although the hearing aids were excellent products I had been perhaps a bit premature in thinking I needed them. When I had the hearing tests Stephen had told me that Even though I had a loss that I had trained my ears well to cope with that loss and that my need at present may be borderline. This was an honest assessment with no push to sell the hearing aids and as previously stated an offer of a free trial. While I opted not to have the hearing aids at this point in my life I am aware that at some timein the future I will require them and I will have no hesitation in going to Amplifon again as the service and products are excellent and I could not rate them high enough."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
David Wilson, Bearpark, Durham.
Verified Reviewer
"My hearing aids supplied by your Wakefield branch were impossible to use in any social situation. 1. The directional ability was near zero and my default method to survive social engagements was to remove them. 2. They were tremendously loud and I was regularly shocked by sudden everyday noise. 3. The cones wore rapidly and needed constant attention. 4. There was a visit to A and E on one occasion for removal of a dislodged cone. 5. I was constantly changing batteries. 6. After twelve months they both developed a noise issue with a constant tone being emitted to complement my tinitus. 7. Whilst away for repair (although I believe they were replaced) I was left without hearing aids, not a happy scenario fraught with frustration for me and my immediate family. 8. Numerous visits to your Chester le Street store for numerous adjustments, repairs and alterations have left me with a pair of hearing aids I no longer use. I spent almost £3000 from my pensioners savings to buy what I thought would be a life saving service to help keep my tinitus at bay. I now feel robbed, mugged and I feel your organisation is dishonest by nature. It was even suggested that I claim on my household insurance in order to afford an upgrade to the top hearing aids to facilitate better social environment adjustments. 9. To put a top hat on this the connection to my iphone was horribly inconsistent, if the phone went I could never be sure if I would receive the call in my head or through my laptop or just as a normal phone. Carrying out any alterations via the phone was a nightmare, having to switch the connection off and the on again in order to gain any chance of altering my aids. This all takes time and in a highly sound stressed environment it is utterly frustration. I am most disappointed with Amplifon, the answer to my prayers has become a nightmare and I am thousands of pounds poorer. Very very very frustrated and annoyed."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"I have been taking my dad to have his hearing check and hearing aids fitted at the Hanley store, then subsequently the follow up care appointments. We are very happy with the products and the service, everything has been made very easy from the outset. Mr Perkin was very easy to talk for both my dad and myself, my dad is not the easiest of people to deal with at times, most of the time actually, but the whole family is really happy with the outcome here. Well done Mr Perkin!"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"I was greeted by a nice receptionist who offered me a coffee. My hearing tests were explained to me in plain English and was recommended hearing aids which has improved my hearing. I would recommend Amplifon to others as I was treated with courtesy."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Marcus Goldstraw
Unverified Reviewer
"mis-sold phoank hearing aids that have broken about 20 times each one"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"This is getting out of hand. I got my hearing aids over a year ago and half ago. I called my insurance 3 times before I got them to make sure I was doing everything right. Paid the amt I was told and now I keep getting bills from you. I have called and was told my balance was $0. I didn't even get them from you because my insurance said I didn't have to. Over a year in and half later and I get a bill from you. Stop sending me bills and batteries!!!"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
"They will NOT honor their ad. They have on their website, \"Best Price Guarantee\" - \"If you find the same hearing aid at a lower price, we'll beat it by 5%.\" I have found THREE places that had the same EXACT hearing aid at a cheaper price and now they are making excuses on why they aren't able to price match it. No where on their page(s) does it state it couldn't be an online quote, the price has to include fittings and programmings or the quote has to come from a professional. Just stay away from them. Dishonest company who believes in false advertising. ""
1 Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Richard Cooper
Verified Reviewer
"I visited ampliPhon in wigan the service was second to none everything was ex plained in detail my fitting was well sorted on a weeks trial now so in impressed as for my hearing it as I'mproved tremendously and any problems when I go back in a weeks time they will be addressed and sorted cannot beat that for service thanks to the Gordie lass job well done 5 xxxxx"
2 Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
"I have been seen by Mr Barry Perkin at the Hanley branch in Stoke On Trent for quite a few years now, he really takes the time to listen to me and will always find the time to help me when required which is great for peace of mind. The hearing aids are great as products in themselves and really do help me an enourmas amount but it's the professional service that Barry and the staff there provide that really sets them apart from practically any team of people I have ever dealt with and I myself used to run a large company with many outlets and staff. Thank you again."
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Bill Kidd. Stanley Falkland Islands
Unverified Reviewer
"I live in the Falkland Islands. I was in Cowley in 2010 for 3 weeks. I popped into Amplifon and had an audio test within an hour. This was on a Friday. The hearing aids were delivered to the branch on the following Tuesday morning. Because of time limits it was not possible to complete the full bedding in period. However I have experienced no problems at all. I contacted Amplifon in Plymouth two years ago and they serviced my aids. When I explained that plans had changed and I wouldn't be there they suggested I post them and they would check them over. I got them back within three weeks co.pledge with spare tubes and domes. A first class service."
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
"Paid £3000 am still waiting for the hearing aid 2 months Not ready yet and I have called them many times no one answered every one ignored me people be careful from this company"
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you are not entirely satisfied with your purchase. Can you please call our customer services team on 0161 209 7008 as this will enable us to investigate the matter further as we take these matters very seriously at Amplifon.

Kind regards

Amplifon Customer Services Team
Posted 9 months ago
"Customer service does not exist. They have sent me a "you're in default" letter before I even got my first month's statement. Now they won't answer the phone or call me back when I leave a message."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Dear Sharon,

Thank you for your comments regarding the letter you received. Could you please contact Amplifon Customer Service on 0161 209 7008 as there maybe some confusion regarding the sender of the letter.
Our Customer Service Dept are always available and ready to assist - 9.00am until 5.00pm Monday to Friday. We await your call.

Kind regards

Amplifon Customer Services Team
Posted 9 months ago
"This company are absolutely awful. I work in customer service and if I spoke and dealt with my customers the way their "head of customer services" Irene does then I would be fired. Miss sold a £3000 hearing aid, been sent back to the manufacturer who says there is nothing wrong with it, even the audiologists agreed their was. Requested a refund was told it had been too long, explained was made out to be a liar by first audiologist fare visiting every week for 4 months. Refused to give a refund. Went to NHS and was seen to and sorted out within a day. Never use this company they don't care about you or your quality of life. Do yourself a massive favour and go to the NHS."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
Dear Ms A,

Thank you for your feedback. We need to investigate further, but in order for us to do this, we would require a postcode, customer ID or order number. In order to take this further, please could you contact our customer services team on 0161 209 7008.

Let me re-assure you that we take your comments very seriously.

Kind regards, Amplifon Customer Services Team
Posted 10 months ago
"Amplifon referred me to a local audiologist so I went in for a test. This "professional" didn't even bother with a hearing test, she kind of fooled around a bit and asked questions. I found some aids that I liked and asked the price. Then she laughed when I showed her the referral card and asked for the discount. Needless to say I went to BuyHear.com and got my aids for less than half the price she was asking and I am getting full service from a hearing aid programmer that programs more hearing aids in one year than a local audiologist will program in 15 to 20 years. Thanks, but I'll go with the most experienced programmer that charges half the price. Don't be afraid to order online as long as its from BuyHear."
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
Dear Glen,

Thank you for your comments. I am sorry to hear that you were less than satisfied with the level of service provided by Amplifon. In order to help us investigate further , can you please call us on 0161 209 7008. We need to take some further details to start our investigation e.g. Your full name and the branch you visited.

Let me re-assure you that we take your comments seriously.

Kind regards

Amplifon Customer Services Team
Posted 10 months ago
"I have had Amplifon hearing aids for nearly 6 years but the audiologist now says that they are obsolete which I can understand but the cost of replacements are prohibitive to a pensioner with the 'Diamond' @ £ 3000 and the Platinum @ £2200 (with 45% discounts). It is hard to believe that the 'Diamond' LiNX 0 actually costs over £4350!"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
Dear Philip,

The Ampli-solutions Gold, Platinum and Diamond packages relates to the particular hearing aids purchased and depends on the level of technology involved. The various packages relate to how many years free cover for repairs and free batteries a customer can expect to receive. Every hearing aid supplied by Amplifon includes Life time aftercare for the life of the hearing aid which involves a full annual Hearing Health Review and an ‘On demand’ service where a customer can contact any of our nationwide branches for service and advice. Amplifon’s pricing structure is very competitive and we believe our Aftercare is amongst the best currently available.

Many thanks

The Amplifon Team
Posted 11 months ago
"Went into the Cheltenham branch on Tuesday 22.11.16 to find out about appointments for hearing tests & was given one that afternoon. I saw David who was very good & explained everything in full detail to me during my appointment which took about 1 & a half hours. He found out that i had hearing loss that was worse in my left ear & i am unable to hear high sounds.He fitted a hearing in my ear & could tell the difference with it,then he went over all the types of aids i could have & recommended i did not go for one of the very expensive ones.The one i came away seems to fit nicely & do a very a job,tried it at work foe first day today 24/11/16 & i found i could hear a lot better with it.I have a follow up appointment next week to ensure everything is ok,so i am happy so far."
Helpful Report
(Cheltenham) - Posted 1 year ago
"This is a response to Amplifies response A loose part on a toy is a choking hazard and H & S would be all over that.Why is acceptable to have lugs come off a hearing aid in an ear canal which necessitated two emergency GP surgery visits and nearly hospital.You say it is rare but the fact they come off is wrong let alone blaming somebody for pushing them in to hard. You then gave mum another style instead of offering a refund but they were completely unsuitable.Mum has narrow canals and they block up quickly within days and require filter cleaning.Mum cannot clean the filters as she has claw hands and arthritis as well as being registered disabled.You advise that a consultant checks she can fit and clean at time of providing yet it was patently clear by the state of her hands that she could not manage.It is wrong of a sales company to say get another family member to do it especially when Mum lives alone.Your latest offer to clean involves her taking the packet to the post office and sending special delivery which is expensive.Not really practical when filters need changing every 7 days so you would be without for several days per month.It is clear that these were not fit for the specific customer and should not have been provided but targets and profits before customers-Disgusted with attitude of customer services"
2 Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Dear Mr Woodall,

Again thank you for raising this issue. It is important to point out that there are currently only 2 types of hearing aid fittings available. Those that fit behind the ear which were the first style supplied to Mrs Woodall and those that fit inside the ear. Mrs Woodall initially coped well with the behind the ear fitting, however as soon as we were informed of the dome becoming detached these were exchanged without delay to the in the ear style. Mrs Woodall did not request a refund at anytime as her priority appeared to be the need to hear and no concerns were raised by Mrs Woodall in respect of the benefits of either set of hearing aids. Again we would point out that basic maintenance of the aids such as cleaning, changing batteries and wax filters must be carried out as often as necessary. We have offered to assist Mrs Woodall in whatever way feasible. As Mrs Woodall has home visits we are prepared to offer any assistance that is practical by calling out to see her when possible, however it would be most helpful if Mrs Woddall has a carer that they also assist Mrs Woodall with the general maintenance of her aids to ensure that she is not without than for longer than necessary.
Posted 1 year ago
Amplifon is rated 3.81 based on 117 reviews