Argyll Holidays Reviews

4.30 Rating 583 Reviews
83 %
of reviewers recommend Argyll Holidays
Read Argyll Holidays Reviews
Visit Website

Phone:

01301 705 658

Email:

lisa.allan@argyllholidays.com

Location:

Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village, Lochgoilhead, PA24 8AD

Write Your review

Tell us how Argyll Holidays made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
I booked a room at Lochgoilhead Hotel for the 14th June 2017 8 months previously through Laterooms.com for which I received a confirmation. 2 days before we were due to arrive I received a text message from Laterooms.com reminding us of our forthcoming stay at Lochgoilhead Hotel, after a long drive down from Bettyhill,Scotland we arrived at Lochgoilhead Hotel to find they had not got a room reserved for us and asked if I had proof of the booking which I produced. the member of staff was very helpful and said they did have 1 room left which unfortunately was not what I had asked for on booking as it overlooked a rear yard rather than a Loch view! the member of staff apologized inferring it was a mistake on Laterooms.com,s part which seems strange as Laterooms.com reminded us of our stay 2 days earlier. we accepted the room and the member of staff again apologized and informed me that that the Hotel Manager would be into talk to me the next morning. the next morning arrived and oh what a surprise the Manager sent his apologies but he could not be there. I cannot fault the member of staff for their helpfulness but do not think much of Argyll Holidays Reservations service! Hotel is good in a good Location, Staff most Helpful considering it was not their fault, As for the Manager well a complete waste of time. We booked to stay here as the previous year 2016 we stayed was so enjoyable. but after this years experience it is unlikely that we will return.
Posted 2 years ago
we have been going to drymsynie for the past 7 or 8 yrs but I am afraid we wont be back.It took us an hour to finally end up with a reasonable condition lodge at an extra cost.Some of these lodges are in very bad condition and are in need of modernisation which we have been hearing was happening for the past 2 years.
Posted 3 years ago
The location is very picturesque so the setting is idillic with very nice staff. On arrival at the site it is advertised that entry to the cabin (Osprey 1 Hot-tub) was from 4pm. Eventually and after my own intervention and chasing we got the keys at 4:45pm which created me issues for the two kids whom were restricted in what they could do. The lodge was in reasonably good order albeit the repairs need to be done correctly and finished off properly. The hot tub was cold/cool and when I visited the main office the manager came over and checked the temperature. He confirmed it as 25*C instead of the required and processed 37*5C. This left us without the hot tub for the first day (paid for). I paid for the advertised wifi which was non existent until 10pm the day before we left. The main office said that the 3rd Part provider of the wifi should be contacted as the site does not control it. I would of if I could but the phone boxes were out of order due to jamming and cables being severed 3 weeks prior by workman on site (as advised by staff in the main building). If there is a trend of poor wifi, the site should be addressing the provision and not just brush it off to the customers. Whilst having a meal, I ordered a hot dessert, this arrived cold. When I spoke to the waitress, she stated that the chef was on his first day and needed to learn the temperature requirements. WOW...with the young children and older folk who holiday here, there is a real risk of of drastic illness especially with high risk food items. The chef must have qualifications and experience for the role...a very poor show and response. The Rover Pass at £75, what was this for as everything was paid for on top of the pass cost (apart from the pool) so appears to be a rip off and at no point was the Rover Pass requested on entering the facilities. The £250 deposit was explained that it would simply be marked against the card but not actually taken. This was taken straight away and on leaving the site I was informed that the deposit would be refunded within 24/48hrs. Over 48hrs on and I am awaiting feedback on my refund of deposit. Having read the previous reviews, I took it as disgruntled customers and noted the little apologies and "hope you return"! I would expect a decent response with a better proposal from the company given the money spent for this 5 day stay.
Posted 4 years ago
Having been going there for a good few years I was extremely disappointed and disgusted with the cleanlyness of the entire park. Very dirty, noisy through to the early hours of the morning, bear bottles lying around, broken glass around hot tub, could barely see out windows so dirty with hand marks, seriously went down hill over the years, we actually left 4 days early from our holiday and will never return or recommend to any again.
Posted 4 years ago
we booked a cosy cottage over the last bank holiday weekend as our caravan had sprung leeks over winterand were told it would not be fixed until the following week, this is infact did not happen and we were lied to or given inaccurate information by various staff. Which is still ongoing and this is for customers who have been at hunters quay for 20yearsso not sure how they help new customers.?? Cosy cottage very basic, No towels, no pressure in shower "trickle" broken toilet seat, but it was warm, yippeee. Not worth the money.
Posted 2 years ago
Just back from drimsynie been going for the past 5 years had a great holiday stayed in comfort plus lodge entertainment on Saturday night was the best we've heard Scotland rocks, excellent value for money
Posted 2 years ago
Great surroundings and facilities were just what we needed for a fun relaxing break.
Posted 2 years ago
Despite a small problem over the lodge we were first introduced to the staff at reception quickly arranged another lodge which had had a recent upgrade , We were only two minutes away from the bars ,restaurants and pool ect which was perfect .In all honesty I don't think you can knock the quality of the amenities , we were in the pool and sauna every day and played golf most days . The bars on the site were good as was the Goil pub in the village .The full week we were there I don't think I drove my car , no need to, with everything you need in the one place . We had a hassle free perfect weeks stay and have taken note of the lodge to get for next time which is testimony in itself , Add to all this the beautiful setting of Drimsynie and you can see why we both said this was one place we would return to , Sally and Arran Dunlop . N E Lincs
Posted 2 years ago
Have been to Drimsynie on numerous occasions absolutely love it looking to book for March only thing that puts me off coming back is having to pay extra for swimming ect think this should be included in rental price as it's not cheap. Other companies include swimming ect in rental charge come on Argyll holidays !!!!!!!
Posted 3 years ago
We have just returned from a fabulous few days stay in the Aye pod with everything that you could wish for on a week/weekend break meeting up with very helpful and friendly staff.
A superb location on the side of Loch Lomond for walking, water sports or just chilling out.
Would certainly recommend a stay here and would come again.
Posted 3 years ago
We booked last minute for Loch Lomond Holiday Park in June and luckily managed to secure a Lomond Royal (3 bed).
We were on the phone paying this at 3:30 and arrived at 4:30 on a scorching 26degree weekend!
Cannot recommend this lodge enough! It is bright, spacious and very modern. The views are to die for & the staff at the park cannot do enough for you.
We had our labrador with us so the easy access to the water edge and dog beach were much appreciated!
Definately will be back!
Posted 3 years ago
just back after 3 night stay. to be fair lochgoilhead is absouletly jaw dropping, the people we met were freindlly. i would say that it coul have a few more toilets,and get someone who can cook,but we made our own food in the caravan so it didnt matter to us .good pool sauna steam room etc. as arnold shwartsnagger says......ill be back.
john and lenny from dunfermline
Posted 3 years ago
Very friendly service - nothing was too much trouble. The accommodation was spotless, warm and comfortable. Lovely park to stay in when you want away from the rat race. I would definitely come back for another short break. Value for money
Posted 4 years ago
Thank you so much to all the staff at Hunters Quay who made our week a brilliant holiday. Even the security and pool staff were so friendly and welcoming to us every day and definitely made us want to return next year. Special thanks to Chloe and Aiden at entertainment who made sure we had a great time and catered to our specific needs. Staff here definitely made our holiday and facilities and lodges were also brilliant.
Posted 4 years ago
Facilities for the size of the park don't work when it's full i.e. you can't get a booking in the restaurant, pool was full to capacity when we tried to go in and the entertainment lounge was so busy there were no seats available.
Posted 4 years ago
Had a wonderful stay at Lochain Cottage on the Drimsynie Estate from 4th-8th April 2016. Perfect, relaxing holiday overlooking Loch Goil. The cottage was spacious and comfortable with beautiful views over the loch, enjoyed relaxing in the hot tub. The cottage is on a working farm and it was lovely to watch the new lambs being taken into the field in front of the house. Many walks directly from the house which we enjoyed. The shop and Drimsynie hotel is only a short walk from the cottage. Had lunch at the hotel which was lovely. This cottage and surrounds had everything required for a perfect holiday. will definitely be returning.
Posted 4 years ago
As much as i love the place i have to rate it poor on the basis of my last visit. Run down games machines. Out of order game's and the fact they charge full price for badminton but have taken away the court so the put a net up and u havr to guess if u won or not is beyond me. . And to the food and drink.. pub food at restaurant prices. Had 1 small bit of fish and the chips i could hold in 1 hand £10... bottle of bullmers £5.20. Pint of Guinness 4.65.. absolute joke. .

Beautiful place the caravan was pristine and the grounds spotless. I know yous are in middle of a revamp but with the price hikes especially the nearly £1500 onto site fees ove the past year or 2. Looks like we footing the bill for the revamp... sorry i had to leave a poor but with those prises and rund down kids play area leaves no choice
Posted 4 years ago
Uncomfortable dirty beds!!! Have stayed at Drimsynie before and it's been great but this was past a joke. If it wasn't for us being so ill and not well enough to drive, we would have gone home. Osprey 17 ruined my holiday!! Did complain upon leaving but never heard anything back from yourselves.
Posted 3 years ago
The location was beautiful and therefore cannot fault that (so would love to rate higher for that) BUT we stayed in the pet friendly cabin - which was very out of date and in desperate need of repair - not one of the beds in the place was comfy - springs sticking out!! The sofas were unbearable to sit on - springs popping and clearly broken - where we were choosing to sit on the floor (with the exception of one of our guests who is a pensioner and had to sit on a dining chair the entire weekend!!). There was a nail sticking out of the floor in the kitchen which was dangerous for the adults and the puppy!
Considering the price we paid and the fact the had to pay extra for our puppy to come this to was definitely NOT value for money!! I understand that some peoples dogs may be destructive but this is not what our dog is like and therefore I would expect a basic good standard for the price we paid - If not better than basic but unfortunately we did not even get a basic standard! I would not recommend for anyone taking a pet as it was a really uncomfortable experience - however from what we could see of the non-pet friendly cabins it looked good - but for taking a pet it isn't worth it!!
Posted 4 years ago
Hi Erin, thanks for the review of your stay with us, and sorry to hear about the issues you had with your unit. All our lodges are pet friendly, and we pride ourselves in having a high standard of accommodation, so sorry this was not the case. If you could please email marketing@argyllholidays.com with more information about where you stayed we will investigate. Thanks
Posted 4 years ago
Argyll Holidays is rated 4.30 based on 583 reviews