Argyll Holidays Reviews

4.30 Rating 583 Reviews
83 %
of reviewers recommend Argyll Holidays
Read Argyll Holidays Reviews
Visit Website

Phone:

01301 705 658

Email:

lisa.allan@argyllholidays.com

Location:

Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village, Lochgoilhead, PA24 8AD

Write Your review

Tell us how Argyll Holidays made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
We arrived at 15.30 on Monday and went to the reception , we where told come back at 16.00 to which we did , we where then told the lodge was still not ready . We did not get key until nearly 17.00 , we did get the voucher for a free coffee or soft drink .

Arrived at the lodge , around the door on the outside was covered with spiders webs , I know we are in the country but this can be removed , the lodge overall was clean but totally dated , the suite in the sitting area is not in condition that should be used it should be binned , more spiders webs around the door frames on the inside , the main ensuite water does not remove from the sink and hot tap does not work , we did not report this as the question should be how was it cleaned if the tap does not work . The freezer needs defrosted as this is filled with a build up of ice which just harbours bacteria until it hits warm air . Door to the electrical cupboard outside does not lock and banged all night in the wind , I went out to secure this but could not there is a large screw in this to put it shut , so in fact you know about this but choose not to repair it .

We have used been to the are on several occasions over the last 20 years as friends have a lodge there of there own , we will not be back to the lodges we hired as they are not of a good standard in fact we left on the Wednesday rather than the Friday it was that poor .
Posted 2 years ago
we booked a cosy cottage over the last bank holiday weekend as our caravan had sprung leeks over winterand were told it would not be fixed until the following week, this is infact did not happen and we were lied to or given inaccurate information by various staff. Which is still ongoing and this is for customers who have been at hunters quay for 20yearsso not sure how they help new customers.?? Cosy cottage very basic, No towels, no pressure in shower "trickle" broken toilet seat, but it was warm, yippeee. Not worth the money.
Posted 2 years ago
There was a mix up with our booking and one room was not ready though it had been booked and paid for. No discount was offered.
Also our toilet was not flushing in our cabin and a shower wasn't working. There was also no shower curtain on the bath and one of the additional beds was missing.
Posted 2 years ago
reduced price of holiday after I booked
catering hunters grille poor
entertainment at evening very poor
Posted 2 years ago
We was a bit sad that we became a room in the Goil Hotel. The Park was so beautiful. The room was ok, but very loud. Because the people sit under our window and talked very long.
Posted 2 years ago
Superior caravan bedroom too small looks like it was photographed in a wide angle lens in your brochure to make it look bigger.
No onsite activities for 12 to 16 year olds except pool for which you have to have a parent if under 16.
Thought there would be more to do
Posted 2 years ago
Wifi in accomodation areas appalling. Got advised the wifi is good in the complex which is wasnt. Food good but very over-priced and so was the drinks. No DVD player in the caravan.
Posted 2 years ago
Not a great trip to be honest, lodge wasn't the cleanest on arrival, also the smoke detector is two years out of date past the recommendations from manufacturer. 10 year life span then replace.
I witnessed a terrible attitude by a member of your leisure team towards another holiday maker who then proceeded to slam the pool entry door in his face and storm off.
The incident came about when she was questioned over the activity we had all paid 30 minutes for only lasted 15.
She turned up late at desk then tried to find another memeber of staff to carry out the activity then decided she didn't have shorts to wear so took another 5 mi utes looking for shorts.
Posted 2 years ago
Beautiful location and facilities good. However an incident occurred when a dining chair broke whilst my sister was eating her evening meal. She fell straight backwards on to the floor banging her head and back with force as she did so. Paramedics had to be called. Subsequent involvement from management at Drimsynie was less than acceptable and ruined our whole stay there.
Posted 2 years ago
We have been coming to Drimsynie Estate for more than 10 years and love the beautiful, peaceful setting. We have stayed in the hotel, caravans and lodges over this time. This time we were in a lodge as we brought our dog.
We realize that there is a lot of work going on to extend the hotel but we were disappointed in the deterioration of the lodges. Most of them looked a little shabby from the outside. The lodge we had this time was shabby on the inside also. For example the floor in places was dipped and soft, the curtain hems were down, the carpet was fraying near the window and the vinyl was ripped in places. I expected that as we were bringing a pet we would not have the best lodge but things have become more than 'tired'. I've just remembered, also the bed was so squeaky!
That said we were very pleased that the Fireside bar now allows dogs, so that we were also able to have a meal there.
We will not return for a while, we are a little jaded by the conditions which even the stunning scenery couldn't distract us from. But we will return in a few years, perhaps after all your building work has finished and the lodges have hopefully been refurbished, the area is in our hearts.
Posted 2 years ago
Fridge was far to small. Double bed was broken. Sink in kitchen kept getting blocked. Not very clean. Dampness in bathroom. Hardly any pots/pans for cooking. No sharp knifes. Expensive for childrens activitys. Rob Roy resturant far to hot to enjoy your meal. Swimming pool not child friendly.
Posted 2 years ago
I booked a room at Lochgoilhead Hotel for the 14th June 2017 8 months previously through Laterooms.com for which I received a confirmation. 2 days before we were due to arrive I received a text message from Laterooms.com reminding us of our forthcoming stay at Lochgoilhead Hotel, after a long drive down from Bettyhill,Scotland we arrived at Lochgoilhead Hotel to find they had not got a room reserved for us and asked if I had proof of the booking which I produced. the member of staff was very helpful and said they did have 1 room left which unfortunately was not what I had asked for on booking as it overlooked a rear yard rather than a Loch view! the member of staff apologized inferring it was a mistake on Laterooms.com,s part which seems strange as Laterooms.com reminded us of our stay 2 days earlier. we accepted the room and the member of staff again apologized and informed me that that the Hotel Manager would be into talk to me the next morning. the next morning arrived and oh what a surprise the Manager sent his apologies but he could not be there. I cannot fault the member of staff for their helpfulness but do not think much of Argyll Holidays Reservations service! Hotel is good in a good Location, Staff most Helpful considering it was not their fault, As for the Manager well a complete waste of time. We booked to stay here as the previous year 2016 we stayed was so enjoyable. but after this years experience it is unlikely that we will return.
Posted 2 years ago
Log cabin we got was not the one in the picture! Entertainment and bingo advertised was never on! At least 50% of the machines in the arcade never worked and took your money and you had to keep going to find members of staff as there was never anyone in the hall!
Posted 2 years ago
I arrived early and we had to wait 2 hrs for the lodge
We decided to go for food at hunters grill and that's where it went downhill. Staff have no enthusiasm for their work, food took ages to arrive and I only ordered a sandwich
My husband ordered chicken strips which came without the sauces it was advertised with.
The prices for food and drinks are very pricey
The site is advertised as dog friendly but the weather was bad so we couldn't eat out even if we wanted to as hunters grill doesn't allow dogs
The site is also very hilly and we arrived by taxi and our lodge was a fair distance from the reception and nobody offered help with our cases
Posted 2 years ago
Caravan was not very clean

Under seats in living room had sweets crisps and other things
Cutlery not very clean and sticky

Wifi very poor

Patio door Is Jammed
Posted 2 years ago
We were disappointed in our chalet. it was cramped and needed a makeover. the beds were not comfortable.
We took a six person chalet although there were only 3 adults because we needed to have a bath for one member of the family to access. I think it would have been difficult having 6 adults in this chalet. It was not as nice and spacious as the photos on website.
The entertainment centre was also needing an upgrade.

The staff were very nice and helpful.
Posted 2 years ago
Watersupply failed.2out3 showers faulty.Floors dirty
Posted 3 years ago
I would advise anyone booking with argyle holidays to wait till last minute as through experience, I have booked a holiday early only to find the cost of the holiday reduced which in turn means I am paying more for the same service than others. .trouble is, I have been caught out with this scenario two years on the trot, it wont happen again!
Posted 3 years ago
Touring pitch 6 had a pool of stagnant water and the area was infested with midges - at a time when midges were not a problem around the rest of the campsite.
Posted 3 years ago
Scenery and accommodation was wonderful
Posted 3 years ago
Argyll Holidays is rated 4.30 based on 583 reviews