Garden Buildings Direct Reviews

1.15 Rating 265 Reviews
3 %
of reviewers recommend Garden Buildings Direct
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Own Driver, Courier
Average Delivery Time
Over A Month
On-time Delivery
Greater than 45%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
Greater than 31%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week
Customer Service
1.09 out of 5
Returns & Refunds
Refunds Process
Difficult
Read Garden Buildings Direct Reviews

About Garden Buildings Direct:

Garden Buildings Direct manufacture garden sheds, summerhouses, log cabins, playhouses and other garden related products. We import a large number of products from Eastern Europe and Asia on top of the 120 SKU’s we manufacture in house.<br /> Garden Buildings Direct also operates a home delivery service throughout England, Scotland and Wales.

Visit Website

Phone:

0800 169 6016

Email:

Sales@Kybotech.co.uk

Location:

Parry Business Park, Sutton-On-Trent, Newark, Nottinghamshire United Kingdom

Write Your review

Tell us how Garden Buildings Direct made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Garden Buildings Direct 5 star review on 26th August 2020
Rob Welfare
More Photos & Videos
Garden Buildings Direct 1 star review on 4th August 2020
DJC
More Photos & Videos
Garden Buildings Direct 1 star review on 4th August 2020
DJC
More Photos & Videos
Garden Buildings Direct 1 star review on 3rd August 2020
JB
More Photos & Videos
Garden Buildings Direct 1 star review on 3rd August 2020
JB
More Photos & Videos
Garden Buildings Direct 1 star review on 3rd August 2020
JB
More Photos & Videos
Garden Buildings Direct 1 star review on 3rd August 2020
JB
More Photos & Videos
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Terrible service for a terrible product from a terrible company.
Over £2000 spent and call centre is somewhere in the centre of the earth that is only available when the stars align!
Over two months now if being promised and promised that a manager will be in touch but nothing as yet. Won’t give me a name, number or email so I can only assume there isn’t one. ‘Run’ by fools.
They are scared to get in touch but I won’t let this drop!
Awful company.
Posted 2 days ago
Do not buy from this company, I spent £1000 on a shed and can’t put it together as all the panels are different measurements and material and build quality is extremely poor. Customer service appears to be a centre in China with standard responses. They are not interested in customers or Customer service.
Posted 4 days ago
NEVER, EVER USE THIS COMPANY.

I recently bought the BillyOh Mini Master storage shed, and had so many problems with the order, coupled with a business that has no interest in resolving to the customers satisfaction - There is no chance I would ever buy anything from them again.

The Good

The shed was delivered on time

The Bad

The shed base we ordered with the product was 14inches too wide, resulting in the shed not fitting on it properly

There were bits of the roof missing, meaning we couldn't make the shed waterproof whilst we waited for them to send us a replacement shed base.

We were promised a new shed base delivery on a Thursday - didn't come. Then promised for Saturday - didn't come. It was eventually delivered the following Tuesday, meaning we had a shed that wasn't waterproof and was stood on damp ground for 10 days from when we assembled it.

I asked them to send the shed base via courier to get it to me faster. They flat out refused. They will only deliver via their own drivers and WILL NOT send to you any other way, even when at fault

When the replacement arrived, it wasn't a complete shed base but 6 shorter pieces of wood. Meaning they expected us to take apart the previous shed base that was nailed together, and reassemble using the new bits of wood

They have a company policy of no refunds, and DO NOT offer compensation or partial refunds when they are at fault.

Refused to let me speak to a manager/director, got told 'they'll just tell you what i am'.

In order to get a full refund the product HAS to be in the original condition, disassembled before the will collect it. How on earth are you supposed to send it back in the same condition it arrived after realising there were parts missing?

Easily spent over 2 hours on the phone with them trying to resolve.

The summarise

We spent £450 with them and had a horrific experience

Terrible customer service

Don't care about resolving issues

Company policy of no partial refunds is a joke

I would never, ever use this company again

If you're considering buying anything from this company - don't.
Posted 1 week ago
Please do not buy from this company. As stated below, the man never left his vehicle and we had to carry all the timber into the garden ourselves. Some of the panels were damaged and replaced after a very tiring phone call trying to explain to the woman what was wrong. The Summer house has leaked through all the tongue and grooves. It is no more than fence quality. Customer service is dreadful we have been complaining for 3 months.. One of the windows blew in and broke when the wind was blowing..They just keep telling us the wood is natural and will swell and shrink when left in the weather. Wish I had built it in the lounge...Again please give this company the miss and save your money...
Posted 1 week ago
I researched and researched which shed to buy until I was dizzy! In the end I went with BillyOh as it appeared to be of good quality and mid-high price giving me assurance I stood a chance of a reasonable shed. There was a 31 working day lead-time which meant delivery would be 12th August. as the 12th got closer I started doing some research (yes, back to front) I was more than a little concerned when I read the reviews on a number of sites. On 11th August I received an email saying delivery was scheduled for 12th August and I would receive a telephone call on the day. Sure enough I received a call on 12th asking if it would be possible to deliver on the 13th, no problem. On 13th August the shed was delivered. Typically the weather did not allow immediate construction. When the weather allowed we took a full itinerary of the parts and everything seemed to be there, one small gripe at this point, we received a bag of screws, nails, 75mm, 40mm, 30mm, 25mm and two sizes of nails. In an ideal world a separate bag for each would have saved 30-45minutes. It took my son and I two days to put up, the instructions were sufficient, relying on pictures as the directions were a little vague. The base was vital to get correct but one square the sides went up in a few minutes, slotting together perfectly. The roof took a little longer but having aligned the floor there was not a lot to go wrong with the roof. My sone fitted the doors with little fuss either. The felt roof laid perfectly and a whizz over with some preservative and we have a great shed. My initial fears and concerns were for nothing as the service (additional copy of instructions were requested), delivery, communication and product quality were without fault. Perhaps, compared to others we were lucky, but I cannot see why I would be treated as a special case. I am a genuine purchaser and not a spoof BillyOh ghost reviewer.
Posted 3 weeks ago
Products are rubbish. Customer service is rubbish. I urge people not to buy from this company. The quality of the summer house i bought is so bad, its not fit for purpose. Warped wood, rough cut wood, knotted panels with holes in, cheap plastic windows that can blow out in high winds, tongue and groove panels leak when it rains. No help from customer service, just bog standard pre-written replies. Dreadful company. I urge you not to buy from GBD.
Posted 3 weeks ago
An man in his 50's turned up in an old Iveco van which leaked oil over my new drive ! he never left the back of the van, just handed me every single item and I carried them all into the back garden. I am 60 !! Half the parts were fresh and others weather worn, When we came to fitting, the roof parts were all too small, obviously made up from remnants. Contact center is obviously abroad and not interested, just wanted to tell me no refunds and no compensation. had to buy specially cut timber on the day from Mike Baker Rugeley, a real business built on customer service. also cost me an extra day of my builder. Bought a 10ft summer house with 9 ft roof purlins and this is what they di for a living. I am going to poist a negative review every day for the rest of my life lol so that these entrepreneur's who make their money luckily and quickly without knowing the meaning of advocacy learn their lesson, AVOID
Posted 4 weeks ago
I purchased a 12 x 8 T & G shed earlier this year. It was the biggest mistake I have ever made. The shed arrived wet with water in the bagged ancillary parts with the packing lists almost unreadable. The battens on each panel were not lined up with the edges and were either too long or too short. When assembled there were gaps between the joins and also gaps between the T&G boards. There were many knot holes in the boards. 3mm gaps between the boards on the doors. 2 sets of new doors were sent but were no better and were rejected . The shed was ordered with shingles for the roof and the instructions for the roofing said to use bitumen mastic and breathable membrane, neither of which were supplied. As the shed dried out dozens of gaps appeared between the boards and then when it rained water was running down the inside of the walls. Garden Buildings Direct said that as I had treated it I had accepted it and also that the shed was only water resistant, which it was not. They seemed get confused by water resistant and water proof. They refused to take the shed back, despite threat of legal action. Fortunately I had purchased it on a credit card and have now been refunded the cost by the credit card company in full. I have now replaced it with a Breckland Garden Buildings shed which was supplied without fault at a lower price despite the erection by Breckland being included in the price.
Posted 1 month ago
I recently purchase a BillyOh Master Tongue and Groove Apex Shed and went for all the upgrades available on their website. What a mistake! less than five months later the roof is starting to sag the windows are so flimsy they blow out in a wind and the door is not fit for purpose. Their whole website is about quality for a cheap price. £700+ for this shed is not cheap! I have contacted their customer service and drawn a blank so now having to go down the sale of goods act route. Please do not give this company another penny as you will reqret it.
Posted 1 month ago
DON'T BUY FROM THIS COMPANY!

Ignore all the fake reviews written to try to dilute their bad scores elsewhere. This company, trading under the umbrella of Kybotech Ltd, supplies poor quality wood and in my case, omitted 4 key parts (and several other pieces) that were integral to the building of my shed. They will not pay for the extra wood and labour it cost to supply and fit these parts ourselves.

They are obviously used to customers complaining because there is a generic reply to fit all scenarios. In fact, their standard reply to a bad review on Trust Pilot is that they 'can't find your order number' ie implying that the bad review is fake and that the people complaining didn't buy products from them - don't fall for that misdirection, it's as see-through as my shed.  

We are in troubling times and people are supporting businesses in good faith, expecting decent service and goods fit for purpose in order for them to keep trading. But when you have a company that is so inherently dishonest, you lose all faith in people.

I spent £2,268 so I wasn't looking for a 'budget' shed. But I have wasted my money. I can supply photographs and emails and of course the receipt to back up everything I'm saying.  

Do not buy products from Kybotech Ltd or Garden Buildings Direct, you will waste your money, or, in my case, pay out more for goods they didn't supply.

After seeing my reviews (and I urge everyone to leave honest reviews of their experiences everywhere) I was asked to email my phone number with them and they would ring me to 'discuss this further' ie to make them look as if they care.

I emailed my number as requested, but they didn't ring. Margie Fuertes of the Resolutions Team (bet she's kept busy) offered me an insulting £30 on the proviso that this payment would be
'a full and final settlement to put this matter to a close' - Oh Margie, I've only just begun.

£30 wouldn't cover the cost of the wood we've already bought, the wood we have yet to buy for the door frame, the cladding to cover the numerous knot holes, or the 6 days of extra labour - albeit at a reduced rate.

The wood is poor and dirty and some of it is warped which is odd because we paid extra to have it pressure treated. Time will tell if they did treat it, but I'm now doubtful.

Shame on you, you scammers.
Posted 1 month ago
No missing parts, door frames warped and damaged. I've had nothing but delays as my builders had to stop the work right in the middle of tracks to wait for the replacements plus screws missing too. I've got disgruntled builders requesting more money for the time it's taken to sort it out with garden building direct
Posted 1 month ago
I ordered the Picton summer house and the quality is so bad I have asked for a full refund.

Within 2 weeks the floor started cracking when walked on, the ceiling developed a large crack that lets water in and the windows don't fit and leave a 2cm gap.

I have complained and asked for a refund which they will not entertain. I have now raised it with PayPal to be refunded via then under section 75.

The building is poorly made, parts don't line up (some factory fitted parts just fall off) the windows are flimsy cheap plastic and wobble when it is windy.

There is no security anyone wanting to steal from it could just push the flimsy plastic windows out.

It leaks when it rains.

There customer service is appalling they just send a generic email saying wood expands and contracts and to use silicone. In other words....do one!!!

If they offered me this item now for half price I would not buy it it is not worth £400 let alone £865

Beware what seems like fake good reviews on here and look into some of the bad ones who all seem to have the same story.

No doubt they will say they can't find my order to throw doubt on if this is a real review. Well it is #BS123465 ordered via Billy oh (same company).

They also do not like negative feedback on their social media sites and quickly van anyone who is not telling them how great their product is!

Dont buy from this company unless you want a flimsy poor quality leaking building for an expensive price.

Although bonfire night is not too far away and that is about all their buildings are good for!!!

If I could give 0 stars that would be to much!!!
Posted 1 month ago
Terrible product, terrible company do not waste your money on this substandard company. If I could score it below 1* I would!

The sales team for this company is excellent, they answered all my questions and were very happy to take my money. Hence why I say excellent as they could sell Ice to Eskimos!!!

However the shed is awful quality. one puff of wind and this thing would instantly fall down its so weak. We also had mould on all of the floor pieces.

We complained, got a generic reply, sent photos got another generic reply. My builder had to purchase treatment for the mould - extra cost - told no compensation or refund is given.

When it came to putting this together it didn't fit and was very poor quality, my builder had to purchase extra wood to ensure that this thing stays up for more than 5 minutes!

I again complained, received another generic reply.
No one answers the phone so you can talk with a person!. Not sure if that happens in normal times and I can understand that they have staff working from home etc etc.

I can't stress this enough. DO NOT PURCHASE ANYTHING FROM THESE PEOPLE, NOTHING ZILCH. They want your money and are then not willing to sort issues. There is no customer service at all and this shed that cost us nearly £1k has cost at least £300 - £400 more

We regret buying this from here, we wish we had spent our hard earned money elsewhere!
Posted 2 months ago
AVOID THIS COMPANY! We purchased a Summer House for £1,410 and there are many problems. The fascia on the front comes in three pieces and all were short, so you could see the roof felt underneath! So my fitter had to cut some short pieces of trim to cover the gaps. The wood is rough all over and the panels were mouldy, through storage in a damp place. But the worst part of all was the doors. After fitting the doors there was a huge gap in between them, the gap started wide at the bottom and then narrowed toward the top. So rain could just come straight in!! So, we ordered two more doors and had to bring the fitter back to re-fit the replacements, these are even worse than the first two doors and the gap is much larger. I have got to fit weather strips to cover the gap and a rubber weather strip inside. I asked for a refund of £200 to cover my fitter charges and to cover costs of parts we now need to fit to make their shoddy rough work better. They REFUSED and offered to re-send a third set of doors. AVOID they are a joke, spend your money somewhere else.
Posted 2 months ago
We have purchased a BillyOh Expert Tongue and Groove apex workshop described as "This all-out storage, workshop, and recreational room is the next-to-home dream of every British family." If only this was true!

As per the other, honest, reviews, the end product is an excellent example of poor quality workmanship. Tongue and groove cladding is a devious appeal to those looking for a quality shed who are only going to be extremely disappointed. The parts seem to be kept in a damp environment and arrive with so much warp you could travel to a distant planet! The panels are so poorly constructed that you do not even know if it is the joist or the cladding that you should square off. Either way the walls and flooring have as many gaps as our 7 year olds teeth. The integrity (both structural and to withstand weather) of floor, walls and roof rely on quality pre-constructed panels. What was sent to us should not have passed any form of quality check.

The difficulty with a product like this is that you invest a lot of time and effort in getting to the stage where you realise that you have made a big mistake. However, by this point you have reached a point of no return, including the well made (solid) base that you have constructed that meets the perfect dimensions of the shed!

We are currently investing in exterior builders caulk to fill the gaps between each panel before apply their stripping. We are reinforcing the frame with 4x2's. We will need to lay a solid plywood floor over the supplied floor. We will replace the windows with thicker perspex. Over time, we may even build a good quality shed, perhaps the doors will be original.
Posted 2 months ago
*PLEASE DO NOT BUY* purchased a Billy Oh Renna tongue and groove corner summerhouse at the end of May 2020 at an eye watering £1500 expecting a quality product..... How wrong were we!

My husband is a joiner and is utterly disgusted at the poor quality of the materials used for this shed, he has over 30 years experience and this was so badly constructed that he had to make adjustments to make it all fit together.

The roof is so flimsy that he had to construct his own sturdier version

Now we have heavy rain and the boards are leaking inside the building.

We have painted the walls inside and had hoped to have a finished floor and furniture in place but at this moment in time this is not possible as it is not fit for purpose.

I wish we had checked reviews before we purchased 😔

Very let down and feel we have wasted our money

Giving this one star is being too kind
Posted 2 months ago
Horrendous quality DO NOT BUY!
Poor customer service, very upsetting experience.
I rarely write reviews, however this is well earned money that's been wasted :(
We are currently filling in the copious gaps (2 inch +) with expanding filler. We had to buy more timber and my very experienced DIYer partner found it near on impossible to construct.
Please don't buy, spend a little more and avoid this company.
Posted 3 months ago
I'm writing this after owning my shed for 18 months, it started falling apart about 6-7 months ago, rubbish quality! Thought i'd treat myself to a new one when i bought it, after having my previous one for over 15 years, wish i had never bothered.

Timber is terrible and the build quality is non existent, looks NOTHING like it does on the website. Also said i'd get 5% off future purchases if i left a good google review, absolute rip off.
Posted 3 months ago
**ALL MY FRIENDS PLEASE SHARE!!**

So this is a shed that was *custom built top of the line wood the lot** my dad paid 3k for this and then for it to be delivered and built by his “professional joiners!”
Firstly they were late and my dad had to get on to them multiple times when they finally arrived they refused to build it until the full amount was paid even though he’d paid a large deposit already!
So they put it together and my dad went around and there were as you can see so many mistakes and errors from gaps in the wood to smashed windows to nails sticking out!!
But they’d already been paid! So they left...
now my dad has had Michael Joinery in and fixed it £550 worth of damages fixed which were damages done by his workmen!!
My dad gave him a chance he called text said he just wants the money for the repairs nothing more!
AND GUESS WHAT THIS SCUM BAG DID!!!
BLOCKED HIM!! So please share and comment on his pages including his trust pilot which is where we’ve gone first!!
He’s done this to a few people now absolutely disgusting behaviour by someone who charges thousands upfront!!
Let’s say he’s picked the wrong family!!
Posted 3 months ago
My experience of purchasing a shed from Garden Buildings Direct has been very poor from start to finish and I would never use them again.

When the shed was delivered all the parts were there but some were damaged and the floor panels were really badly made with gaps between them.

I needed some replacement parts and I have written nine emails and called them up three times and the parts have still not arrived. Not once has anyone called me back and there is no way of calling the company to discuss customers service issues. Although we are now in lockdown so the company is probably understaffed, I have been trying to resolve this problem long before lockdown started.

The shed itself is OK, but certainly not worth all this aggravation. AVOID!
Posted 3 months ago
Garden Buildings Direct is rated 1.15 based on 265 reviews