Animal Friends Reviews

1.77 Rating 429 Reviews
18 %
of reviewers recommend Animal Friends
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Live Chat, Email
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week

Write Your review

Tell us how Animal Friends made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
MyDog has a Tumor they refused to help saying teeth and gums not included in my policy,i cancelled my policy then they replied after blocking me on twitter and reading my google review and said my concerns would be looked at by there complaints department and again said no,rubbish company,dont waste your money,i had no claims for years till it mattered at 22ppm for there so called super cover,not loose change,and no refund offered,my vet says problems with teeth and gums are a very common problem in pets and if you want to insure your pet use pet plan uk or just save your money in a bank for a rainy day,now i am faced with a hefty vet bill,thanks for nothing Animal friends,
Posted 7 months ago
The worst insurance company I have ever dealt with. They acted against how the vet filed the claim following the death of my beloved cat. Appalling customer service and exceptionally patronising. Lodged an official complaint with the Ombudsman
Posted 7 months ago
Just cancelled my policy with animal friends,our dog needed an operation on his eyes they refused to pay out saying the dog was born with this condition,would not recommend this insurance,waste of money
Posted 7 months ago
The company does everything not to pay you, it combines, extends the time so that you do not deserve anything. Avoid from afar. It is better to insure in another more expensive company. They are very dishonest, I do not recommend. Never again.
Posted 7 months ago
Like other customers comments we have insured our dog for 8 years with animal friends never made a claim - he needed a scan for a bad leg and the claim was declined on a technicality as he had seen the vet in the previous year for a limp despite being insured with them the whole time - would never trust them again with one of our pets - they weren't there when we needed them as they should have been - be careful out there is all I can say look elsewhere would be my advice
Posted 8 months ago
Awful company. Had policy for 5 years, but they refused to pay out on a ruptured fatty lump. They say they're not paying out because we noticed the lump 18 months ago and apparently we only had 365 days to have the lump seen to. Our vets advised against surgery due to the dogs age but after 18 months it ruptured and needed attention. That's when this company drop in the 365 day rule and refuse to pay out. We now have a £500 bill. Policy cancelled.

Avoid this company like the plague.
Posted 8 months ago
Would not pay claim .. said it was pre existing condition , my vet even rang them to challenge them .. They ignored him .. Took my money for 8 yrs with no other claims the number refused this one .
Rude and condescending..
AWFUL AWFUL AWFUL AWFUL ..
Stay well clear
Posted 8 months ago
Animal friends is a shocking business , they use anything they can to wiggle out of a claim , even when advice from your vet obliterates their argument, leaving you no option but to pay the bill or take them to court. Their staff don’t really care , in fact they were clearly planning to reject the claim before I’d even submitted it ! My advice is to swipe right on this company, find a proper insurer that can give the security that you and your pet need because animal friends can’t

Please note I gave it a 1 star because that’s the lowest score I can give them on this site but If there was a zero star option that’s what I’d score it
Posted 8 months ago
This company is an absolute disgrace
This company is an absolute disgrace. Refusing to pay out even when my vets have contacted them to confirm the reason for my animals claim - they still deny claims when animals are sick and poorly.

DO NOT USE ANIMAL FRIENDS - they are cheap for a reason - because they do not care about animals or you! They are only interested in getting your money. An absolute joke! I have several policies with this company (superior cover, lifetime cover etc) and they still refuse your claims. It's cost me £thousands because of them. Shame on you Animal Friends you are not Friends of Animals or your customers!
Posted 8 months ago
Frankly Im surprised at them scoring this highly, its a shame I cant give 0 stars.

Due to CoVid-19 our vets refused the groom our long-haired cats coat, advising I would have to do it. It got so bad the cat was in distress, so I tried to remove one large matted clump of fur which was hard to see & puss was struggling. I unfortunately caused an accidental wound requiring stitches from an emergency vets. Four nights later he had projectile vomiting and was dehydrafted so had to go back for more treatment. Believe it or not Animal friends refused both claims, saying they were linked, and that they don't cover 'grooming'. I've asked for a review saying it wasn't grooming, and the vets wrote 2 letters to them saying it was accidental injury in understandable but very unusual circumstances and emergency surgery was required, imploring them to cover the claim, but they won't change their opinion.

I have now taken the time to read through all the policy paperwork and the policy with Animal friends does have some very unhelpful clauses. These include that under vets fees it states that if out of hours charges for vets fees are being contemplated, not only must a pre-authorisation be obtained but also that they will not cover out of hours charges unless the animal is in a life threatening condition. If one would assume that might not for instance include a broken leg or similar injury, I find it quite shocking that there terms could result in an animal suffering over a weekend needlessly. After this experience we will be looking elsewhere for insurance for our cat and I would advise anyone to read terms VERY carefully before selecting ‘Animal Friends’ who I do not believe are as friendly as they claim!
Posted 9 months ago
Do not use this company , make a claim after 8 years with them for just a few hundred pounds and they decided to link the condition to an entirely unrelated condition so that the policy terms allowed them to wiggle out of the claim , thank god I found out what kind of company they are before a significant bill came in. The staff are abrasive and unhelpful. I only wish I’d known sooner ***STEER CLEAR OF ANIMAL FRIENDS*** , if you are with them now beware making a claim
Posted 9 months ago
Looks like I'm joining the unhappy Animal Friends club
I got a stray off the streets, dog warden took him to the vets and said he had digestive problems
I then got him insured, he has not had any problems until now, the vets wants to do stays and some internal investigations as it's his bowel AF have sent me an email questioning what the dog warden said. I never even knew he had said that!
I'm waiting now to see if they will pay the vet before doing the investigation on Monday. I paid the insurance for a reason
If they leave me skint from a vet bill I will be cancelling my policy and going elsewhere
Posted 9 months ago
It would be 0 stars if we could. STAY AWAY FROM THIS FIRM. THEY ARE LIARS AND DO NOT CARE ABOUT THEIR CUSTOMERS.
we have been mistreated for the last 4 months and will never reccomend them ever again. And we were with them. For years. 0 service.
We phoned up last August (recorded call) and discussed our ongoing claim regarding our two pets. The women cleared stated over the phone we could allow the vets receipts to accumulate prior to sending them in, thus ensuring we wouldn't lose out too much for every £99. This is said clearly in the recorded call.

But hey ho 4 months later, they are avoiding our calls, emails, letters, etc. Over £1000 in a claim being ignored and they have now done the same, to our other animal. What a joke. Using covid 19 as an excuse to process the queries and listen back to calls made. Disgusting attitudes received from two of the women we spoke too. My daughter had to step in and deal them as it proved too stressful for myself and my husband. We are disabled and currently isolated. This has been beyond stressful. I would advice anyone wanting to ensure their beloved pets are cared for, LOOK ELSEWHERE. Your loved pet is just a number to them.

Avoid the liars. If anyone would like further information about their deceit, please get in touch. I will happily post the recorded call for everyone to listen too, the emails fobbing us off, etc.

Disgusting behaviour by Animal Friends.
Posted 9 months ago
I wish I had read the reviews before taking out insurance with this company. My old dog had a benign mass on his chest and due to the location he cut it, cut became infected and the infection went into the mass which needed to be removed. Put in a claim but declined as although I had premium cover to cover for pre-existing they dug up some fine print exclusion to avoid paying and declined the claim. Avoid
Posted 9 months ago
We've held insurance with Animal Friends for 2 years. Our French Bulldog had no pre-existing health concerns or issues and has been a very healthy dog up until this year. This year our 3 year old dog has been really unlucky his health this year which as meant we've had to make a £6000 claim for neck surgery. Animal Friends paid out with no quibble for this and we were really impressed.

Two months later and we've just received our renewal quote and our premium has increased by 400% to £283 a month!

We hold a lifetime policy (and pay a premium for this) so I'm extremely upset that we now be forced out of this lifetime policy and will lose all of the benefits of a lifetime policy through extortion. We now are left without an option for adequate insurance for our 3 year old dog for the rest of his life because of this disgusting treatment.

The law states that insurance companies cannot increase the premium to a point where they are trying to force non-renewal but that is exactly what Animal Friends have done to us.

At best they are using people's love for their animals against them to extort money from them at worst they are punishing people for claiming and ensuring their quotes are unaffordable so that they can get out of 'Lifetime' policies, screwing people over in the long term.

We are now left with only two options for insurance: Go to another insurer and not have any pre-existing conditions covered, which makes taking out 'lifetime' cover in the first place completely pointless and a waste of money or 2) Submit to extortion from Animal Friends and pay them £283 a month!

Avoid Animal Friends at all costs unless you want to be left without insurance options for life.
Posted 9 months ago
Offer by far the most competitive price with a very extensive level of cover. Over the 6 years we were with them we made a number of claims, relatively small (skin rashes, allergies, upset digestive system etc), nothing major but each year on renewal the price would sky rocket. In the the end what started off as a reasonable policy started to get ridiculous. £250 a month is not to be sniffed at. It got to such a level that we started to avoid claiming for anything that was relatively minor in fear of renewal time.

Needless to say, we left as soon as we got the opportunity. This was when our dog had a fit bill of health for 2 years (yes 2 years claim free and premiums would still increase 20-40% per year). We switched to Bought By Many and the only regret was they weren't around when we got our pet nor could we have switched earlier. We managed to more than halve our premium with more cover. Their claims process is uber efficient, online with tracking and their staff show a level of care, attention and empathy that we were never afforded at animal friends.

I just hope people do not make the same mistake and get tied in to Animal Friends with their 'welcome' offer just to be trapped later on when you need them most. Once you start a policy and claim, when you switch 'pre-existing' conditions are largely not covered hence being tied in.

I could not recommend Animal Friends any less but also could not recommend Bought By Many more.
Posted 10 months ago
We have paid insurance for our four dogs for many years, without a claim. In the past year we have had to make three claims. The first was for an operation to remove a mammary mass. We received about half of the cost, but were told that any further recurrence of the condition would not be covered. The tumour was found to be benign so this was totally ridiculous. More recently, one of our older terriers has had a crisis with a heart condition but Animal Friends had refused to pay anything towards her care. They are probably the worst insurance company we have ever dealt with. No more money from us and I would strongly advise to look elsewhere.
Posted 10 months ago
Recently I had to have my dog put to sleep due to kidney failure. My vet submitted the claim form to Animal Friends and then it was up to me to provide the whole of my pets medical history all 12 and a half years!! That meant contacting 3 vets for the history. Seems that Animal Friends are looking after share holders and not our pets. They were not so picky about the medical history when i signed up!.
I paid a loaded premium due to the age of my pets only for on pay out to find that Animal Friends took another 20% excess off the claim due to the age of my pets.
Totally unsatisfactory if I ever get another pet I will avoid using these badly worded Animal Friends.
Posted 10 months ago
Don't waste your time with this people and get a insurance with a decent company.
Posted 11 months ago
An absolute sham. Our poor old dog developed a chest infection, he coughed up blood and we thought we would lose him and these cowboys...Animal Friends refused to payout. An absolute shower of S**t
STEER CLEAR
Posted 11 months ago
Animal Friends is rated 1.77 based on 429 reviews