Paws and Claws Reviews

2.5 Rating 91 Reviews
38 %
of reviewers recommend Paws and Claws
2.5
Based on 91 reviews
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone

Write Your review

Tell us how Paws and Claws made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Stay away don't bother.Was insured 3 paws so that covered me £2500 for the year come to get my dogs treated for ligament damage they will only pay £1000 cheers paws and claws ( cancelled )
Helpful Report
Posted 6 years ago
Don't even bother getting insurance with these waste of time and they will not pay you out
Helpful Report
Posted 6 years ago
I wouldn't insure with these when I needed to claim for my dogs ligament damage I was insured for £2500.00 a year when it came to it they said I would only be paid £1000.00 ,scam very rude and very unprofessional . Cancelled straight away.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 years ago
It was very easy to buy the cover online and the cover was the best price.
Helpful Report
(Pet Insurance) - Posted 6 years ago
We insured our red fox Labrador with them fully comp . He hurt himself while playing with his brother in a play fighting so this involved x-ray medicine vets fees and the rest quess what this terrible insurance company says its not a accident and refused to pay over £900 in vet fees complete rip off have told kennel club not to advertise them am also telling local vets to warn customers to be aware that they wont pay
Helpful Report
Posted 6 years ago
Buying the policy was no problem. Fortunately, I have had no use of the policy so far, I therefore cannot comment any further.
Helpful Report
(Pet Insurance) - Posted 6 years ago
Yet again I submitted a claim and the claim form is returned on a technicality so I have to post it off again. After three weeks I phone the claims line to ask what is happening - I have not received any response following the claim. I'm told that they need more information - why wasn't I informed?? Oh sorry we have the information we will endeavor to push the claim through. I then get an email to say that the claim has gone for assessment but they have noticed that my dog has put on weight so they will need to increase the premium! Call them back and ask what is going on - apparently are going to back-date the additional premium to the beginning of the policy renewal, bit cheeky as they've only just noticed? Best bit to come - dog weighs over 20KG (just) so premium is more than doubling!!!!! How can that be. And I'm still waiting for information on the claim I have made. Person I spoke to the second time said of course I have the option to cancel - GREAT except I would then have a very costly pre-existing condition. Very fed up with Paws & Claws.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 years ago
Great friendly honest customer service great with my dog
Helpful Report
Posted 6 years ago
lie constantly about not receiving claim ,after faxing post by myself and the vet
Helpful Report
Posted 6 years ago
If I could rate this as zero I would - do not use this "insurance" company Not only do the pretend not to receive correspondence (despite putting a read receipt on the 4th email), they will come up with any excuse under the sun not to pay out. Refusal to pay for tests as lead to diagnosis of cancer which is not covered, however the tests, bloods and other investigation to get to this stage should have been covered.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 years ago
Unfortunately I can't give zero stars!! Absolute disgrace of a company, not only did it take nearly six months to process a the claim, but they refused to pay saying was a pre existing condition! Tried to explain that the knee is a completely different joint to the hips and that the claim was to investigate what was wrong as the vet didn't know. Ws initially transferred to a different department, which the advisor puts you through to by terminating the call!!!! Needless to say I pay £25 a month for nothing as this company will always say "well it appears to be linked to her previous condition" Please save your money and don't use this company, these company's don't get rich by paying out, they will always find an excuse to weasel out of a claim!
Helpful Report
Posted 7 years ago
My Chihauhau was very pooly I took him to the vets who advised that he had an enlarged heart. I paid the bill and submitted my claim, which was acknowledged and duly paid in good time minus the access and the 15% because Casper was over 8 years old both as per the terms and conditions. So at this point of time I am very happy with the service provided.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 years ago
1st thing it took 3 months to receive 1 claim for my dog. Was hang up on when rang them to ask my policy and every time I have rang them. When my policy was up for renewal I never received the emails for the renewal and the policy payment was doubled. I have had to cancel my policy because I am unable to pay the bill. Absolute joke of a company I would never use this company again.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 years ago
worst company ever dealt with. refusing to pay for my dogs operation, insisting it was an existing condition, despite the fact my vet has sent several letters, emails to confirm it wasn't. they have claimed on 4 occasions the vets letters wrrent received. come on. 1 letter might get lost, not 4. having appealed the decision not to pay we were told it would take over two months for the appeal. we have now lodged a small claims court against them to get our payment. we are now receiving fake solicitors letters from them. we even got a call from them today saying we couldn't sue as 'paws and claws' does not exist. unbelievable. do not use this company.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 years ago
12 year old dog now having a few problems, they paid out on one of his illness but a couple of months after needed his tail amputated, they wouldn't pay out saying vet did not disclose proper information, got vets to write letter thought that would solve the problem but had an email back saying that the dog wouldn't keep his collar on and had he done so his tail wouldn't needed to be amputated, absolute Bol....., the dog did not attempt to touch the end of his tail once, the tube/bandage kept coming off, this company is a CON MERCHANT
Helpful Report
Posted 7 years ago
Lack of response to emails and enquiries; failure to supply copies of documents; always appear to have unprecedented levels of claims; poor explanations on payouts; arbitrary decisions that have no logic i.e. operation requiring anaesthetic would only pay half as some cosmetic work completed at same time.
Helpful Report
(Pet Insurance) - Posted 7 years ago
I put a claim form in for an operation at the beginning of September and I was told it would take up to 20 working days to sort claim out, when I. called them after 20 days I was told there was a back log and would take a few days longer. Its now the end of November and I'm still waiting!!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 7 years ago
This company has the worst customer service I have ever experienced. Takes months for them to reply to emails. Then they don't reply with the information you need. Full of excuses. I will not be using these ever again. I would never recommend them to family or friends. Quick enough to take my money but takes months for a reply. They refused to pay out on my policy and give terrible excuses! I'd never trust this company with my dogs health again! Wish I had read the reviews first!
Helpful Report
Posted 7 years ago
Two claims which took long over listed time of 10 days on one claim and 20 days on other due they say to large volume of claims. When contacted by phone both times gave the excuse that they were training staff and that is why claims delayed. Second claim took 8 weeks to process. Will be interesting to see what renewal will be Fortunately had sufficient funds but if I had been waiting for the payment could have been in problems
Helpful Report
Posted 7 years ago
Submitted a claim by post with all relevant documentation from vet. Have heard nothing since. Emailed them for confirmation and received no reply. Tried calling claim line and was on hold for over 20 minutes before I gave up. Will be going elsewhere in future. Utterly useless!
Helpful Report
Posted 7 years ago
Paws and Claws is rated 2.5 based on 91 reviews