RAC Insurance Reviews

2.34 Rating 1,043 Reviews
33 %
of reviewers recommend RAC Insurance
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Own Driver
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Live Chat, Email
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
1.35 out of 5
Cancellations & Refunds
Cancellation Process
Difficult

Write Your review

Tell us how RAC Insurance made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Theres a reason RAC insurance is scoring 2/3. They could be more up front about things. First year they roped me in with a lower quote and this year bumped up by 20% for no reason. When i enquired they said first year was introductory new customer. What about loyalty, thats whay don't have any. Then when you want to report an incident you have got to do in 2 places . With RAC and then under writer! One day insurer will appreciate loyal customers.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
DONT GET RAC INSURANCE Took out a black box policy, where it advertised no curfews. Turns out driving after 7pm majorly affects your score. Then trying to cancel the policy is the hardest thing posssible.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
POOR customer service. Staff are rude and literally talk over you. Cancelled a policy BEFORE money was taken out of my account and a week before the policy was started. They took the full amount out of my account, will be charging me a £25 cancellation fee. Was told I'd get my refund in 48 hours, 7 days later still waiting. Don't let the name fool you. Do your homework and go with a different car insurance provider.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
After breaking down an hour from home it took 21 hours for a local garage to get us home...abysmal customer service..complaints team even worse..so much for their TV adverts.better iff breaking down and sorting it out yourself and least it will be the truth.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
My brother in law was sure he had purchased the most comprehensive trvel abroad car insurance they offered. Yet when we hit a deer 2am on a french motorway we were towed to a garage, left to sleep with our toddler in the car all night (despite promises of a hotel) and then woke to find not only that the garage was closed all weekend but to a message that RAC wouldn't help further because it was an 'accident' not a 'breakdown'. This is not clear on your website, so if you purchase from them go through the contract with a fine tooth comb and be prepared for them to find any excuse not to help you.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Absolutely terrible experience, I was not very aware about this spy black box thing that MUST be fitted in the car (I didn’t know it was mandatory) so they decided to cancel my policy, I called 4 or 5 times different services, they sent me else to come back eventually to the service I called the first time! WTF? Unbelievable! Worst experience ever, nobody is interested to look after you, they don’t even care if you cancel the policy, wahooo I just cannot believe how unprofessional RAC are! Shocking experience at a very high price! That’s a f...ing joke
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Moved house last year and was charged £25 for the honour then my premiums increased even though I’m now in a so called better postcode. To top that off I sold my car a few weeks ago and was charged a £39 cancellation fee. Just when I thought that was it I was sent a letter demanding £21.44 as a cancellation fee! I’ve paid it to stop any hassle from them but I’m waiting for my complaint to go through their process. After this I’m going to get in touch with the financial ombudsman. Avoid at all costs
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Absolutely the worst company to insure your car with - AVOID AT ALL COSTS. Completely uninterested in your requirements basically 'the computer says, no' Was charged £55 cancellation fee for being 3 days without a car - they would not allow me to keep my cover until my new car arrived. I would never insure with them ever again.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Absolutely the worst company to insure your car with - AVOID AT ALL COSTS. Completely uninterested in your requirements basically 'the computer says, no' Was charged £55 cancellation fee for being 3 days without a car - they would not allow me to keep my cover until my new car arrived. I would never insure with them ever again.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Painful process to cancel a renewal....can't do it on the website...only doable by calling the contact centre who took 25 mins to answer...never again and have also cancelled my RAC membership and switched to the AA
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Cancel my policy not having black box , it is a stupid condition, and also charged me in cooling off period, a cancellation fee and admin fee ,not happy ,untrustable, unreliable.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Don't be fooled by the household name RAC are a total RIP OFF on all accounts from Changing your policy slightly to address they charge for everything . No customer service at all . They need reporting
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
£54 cancellation fee, absolute daylight robbery, and to top it off, completely disinterested & unhelpful call staff! Read off their little sheet, no attempt to resolve issue. Hope this gets read by both the RAC people and others because come November when I have to renew my breakdown cover I’ll be cancelling that as well
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Edward moore 11 whistling drive Ailkmos 6038 29/09/1982 Toyota hilux Repairs to my ute cemini . Due to repairs on my new vehicle that coats my 74000 dollars .. Work manship of workshop poor. Overlooking out come of repair poor with cemini and rac .. Bog work very poor Paint work poorest iv seen .(defacts ) tub touched up with small paint brush Due to repair of piller not even done . Back door did not get blowing in for colour match..at first. Back bar lined up incorrectly +damaged ( inprints of tooling marks both sides ) Back tail light incorrectly put back in place .. Cover for back tub damaged by tooling inprint . Overstay on vehicle between cab and tub . Over all the ute has more damaged on it now, before it went in to get repaired ... Back tub is bogged three layers of paint , clear coat .. with iam not happy about on a new vehicle 2021 .. Need to be fixed with new replacement panel.. new bar .new cover .overspary taking off When the insurance assure rang me didn't even now where my vehicle was on the day off question!!!!!! Regard Edward moore
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
You automatically renewed it with no option to cancel this. You then charged me for insurance I didn't require as the vehicle was off the road. You are the most unhelpful company I've ever had the misfortune to deal with. AVOID AT ALL COSTS!!!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
I don't recommend this insurance at all
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Replaced my driver plate cost me nearly £100 I will never use them again
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Miss sold an insurance policy! Asked them to check on two seprate occasions that I was covered in certain European countries before agreeing on the policy. They confirmed I was covered, when the documents came through it stated otherwise! Cost me £200 more than other insurance companies and they said nothing they can do about it! What if I had not check and had an accident! Currently taking further action against them.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
RAC motorbike insurance … don’t go near them. Have breakdown coverage in my insurance policy and I was told that they had no record of it. Charged me £150 to come to a breakdown and then I had to drive with a car battery between my legs to get home. I’ve been told that it will take 21 days for “ customer care”to respond to any emails. So I’ve been paying for a policy for 1 1/2 years that didn’t exist. Horrible RAtC
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
The most awful experience ever. Little or no level of expertise or customer service. Following an a terrible accident, not my fault, rang the RAC. 45 minutes later struggling to understand what I was being told. No help whatsoever, in any respect, no support. 3 or 4 promised call backs never came in. One operative allowed me to get as far as a polite "I am not happy with the service" before she put the phone down on me (Sophie, claims dept., 12.07 on 11/8/21) Filed 2 complaints. heard nothing. On top of which my renewal is due but renewal email has not reached me and a promised resend 2 days ago has not materialised. I have been with the RAC motor insurance for one year, and that is one year too long. If I could give them minus 5 stars I would. Don't go to this company if you expect and help, support, or customer service. A low quote is not everything.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
RAC Insurance is rated 2.34 based on 1,043 reviews