RAC Insurance Reviews

2.3 Rating 1,136 Reviews
32 %
of reviewers recommend RAC Insurance
2.3
Based on 1,136 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Own Driver
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Live Chat, Email
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
1.4 out of 5
Cancellations & Refunds
Cancellation Process
Difficult

Write Your review

Tell us how RAC Insurance made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Easy and affordable
Helpful Report
Posted 2 days ago
It's no wonder your have such a poor TP core. I handed my car over on Monday following a tyre issue. Nobody can tell me where my car is. The app on my car is telling me it's unlocked but I cannot locate it. My car has been stolen by the RAC and nobody can help after several attempts.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
I had a crash a few days ago, so I contacted my RAC Insurance to get it sorted out. After waiting 35 minutes for the phone to be answered, having listened to the same message repeated every 30 seconds about how I could do it online I finally get through. They take all my details and said the underwriter would contact me in 4 hours. After waiting 6 hours I contacted them myself, again a very long wait on the phone. I then find that because of the damage I've reported they believe the car will be a write off. No one has inspected the vehicle, but based on this I'm not entitled to a courtesy car. Ah yeah, silly me I forgot to read the small print where they state quite clearly (providing you own a microscope of course) that the courtesy car is meant to be ironic. There is no courtesy, you only get a car if 1) There's one available 2) Your cars not guessed at being a write off. Had I have known that the courtesy car was subject to their rules, I wouldn't have chosen this awful company. DO NOT USE THE RAC. DO NOT USE THE RAC. DO NOT USE THE RAC. DO NOT USE THE RAC. DO NOT USE THE RAC. DO NOT USE THE RAC. DO NOT USE THE RAC. DO NOT USE THE RAC. DO NOT USE THE RAC. DO NOT USE THE RAC. DO NOT USE THE RAC. DO NOT USE THE RAC. DO NOT USE THE RAC. DO NOT USE THE RAC. DO NOT USE THE RAC. DO NOT USE THE RAC. DO NOT USE THE RAC. DO NOT USE THE RAC. DO NOT USE THE RAC.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Dreadful company with appalling customer service. They immediately pass you on to their underwriters AXA who are equally disinterested because they pass you on to their repairers who are just rude and dismissive and don't even give you the quote they said they would. Then you get shoved out to another car hire company because the repairers don't have the courtesy car that you paid RAC for and the grief just continues. You take in a Mazda 6 and they offer you a Fiat 500! Do NOT use RAC they're just a front for a succession of disinterested companies who take hours just to answer the 'phone!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Dreadful company with appalling customer service. They immediately pass you on to their underwriters AXA who are equally disinterested because they pass you on to their repairers who are just rude and dismissive and don't even give you the quote they said they would. Then you get shoved out to another car hire company because the repairers don't have the courtesy car that you paid RAC for and the grief just continues. You take in a Mazda 6 and they offer you a Fiat 500! Do NOT use RAC they're just a front for a succession of disinterested companies who take hours just to answer the 'phone!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Dependable . Price is affordable.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Very good experience and very easy to use also a fair price
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
We had some damage to a car, could say minor with some mechanical.. We are almost 6 weeks in and they havent provided a quote started work with excuse after excuse, I have had to follow up assessor everytime who is rude and short with answers so you dont know what really is happening I Paid extra for RAC for good quick service and from my experience you wont get this from Rac, we have 5 policies and just open a 6th with another insurer and will be changing all my policies, This comany is poor, slow and minimal customer service. NOT Recommend
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
£55 to cancel an insurance policy because I had sold my car is quite frankly discusting. I'm sure their share holders enjoy many glasses of champagne off the back of this day light robbery.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
RAC has been giving me the run around for last 4months in regards to my insurance claim, worst company to deal with, unprofessional, unable to give you straight answer has to when my claim will be finalised. Constantly stating they will let me know in a weeks time the week goes by and nothing no answers. Do not deal with this company if you don’t want to be given the run around for your claims.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
They are thifts ,my and my friend have the same isuue with them ,first they take your money and after they call you to say was a mistake and the insurance need to increse so stay far away from this insurance company.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
The site took me through the whole process, of entering details, payment, etc. Then at the last minute - "sorry, technical problems". Has not retrieved the quote and would not accept the quote number I have been e mailed. The "online chat" facility is in fact a virtual assistance. Complete waste of time -have now covered with someone else.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
I never write reviews but the company is a disgrace! On losing my bank card I ordered a new one. With this of course bank details for all DD’s have to be re set. Amazon, O2, NetFlix, etc etc all sent me a reminder the payments hadn’t gone through so I changed the details to my new card and we’re all good. RAC Insurance are the ONLY company that feel it’s a good idea to charge a loyal customer £20 for this payment not going through straight away!! So they’ve made £20 today and lost a customer for life! Not sure the genius behind that business decision but I hope you enjoy my £20 and I’ll spend my money elsewhere in future!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
I was insured with rac… I then rang to add a private number plate… they then cancelled my insurance and said they can’t insurance me… what a joke… Tom the manager wasn’t happy because I was recording the conversation… stay clear of rac insurance.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
12 years NCD, latest renewal price had gone from 234 to 290. Trying to cancel online but the options not present even though their website says it is. Ok so have to phone, sit through 3 mins if pre-recorded message that's irrelevant. Now been on hold for 15 mins. This is one of those companies that makes it really difficult to cancel in the hope you'll give up. I won't be using RAC for anything again in the future
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Fast acting company.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
I chose RAC Blackbox insurance for my car in 2020 as I didn't have a driver history in the UK and back then this was the cheapest option. After 1 year with them, my renewal quote was cheaper than my initial annual premium, which was amazing, and I was a happy customer of the RAC for 2 years. The one time I needed them, when my car broke down, they were quick to help, and when I had to have my windscreen replaced recently that happened without hassle. However, the renewal quote I received a few days ago was almost £100 more per annum than previously, for no reason, and now that I do have a 2 year no accident UK driver history I found a number of insurance quotes from other companies for the exact same cover for nearly £600 less annually than what the RAC wants me to pay going forward. I called their customer service and asked for a price review, explaining the above, but they said they don't budge on their price, so I've unfortunately had to end my contract with them and have instead purchased insurance with Flow that gives me all the same cover plus breakdown cover in the EU and additional mileage and with no tracking device for nearly £500 less per year. It seems stupid to me to lose a happy, loyal, accident-free customer to another insurer in this way, but here we are.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
I have been off sick from work so was struggling to pay on direct debit, I missed the payment 2 days ago, I explained my situation and told them I could pay today and that going forward I have a new job and will pay on the 28th of the month, however, RAC & BISL decided to cancel the policy immediately and apparently they say I can't afford the monthly payment and instead I needed to pay it all off ( which obviously I couldn't do) this has left me having to pay another deposit with another insurer and take out another policy. I also have home insurance with RAC & BISL and this also will now be getting cancelled.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Rac is one of the worst ever insurance company ever. If ever you want to get the worst disappointment in insurance try this company. I paid all my insurance dues but was all informed by police that my car wasn’t insured. One day l parked my car after informed by police that it wasn’t insured. I went to wok by bus and was late.I got in touch with Rac never got assistance at all.When l informed that l wanted to drop their company they told me of an unexplained amount of money which l was to pay.A few days later l got a communication from the Debt Collectors that l owe Rac some money. I got suprised and wonder if ever they have customer care and really know if ever they know why they are into business.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Never take rac break down I had a breakdown I call the in morning 08:38 been waiting 4 hour in the car without no food no water and can go to toilet there no public toilet I call them for any update and they said the update they got is at 15:00 o'clock in afternoon they are mad is company dont have heart for people when they take the money it 1 second when breakdown it take 7 hours waiting I will never recommend people to RAC
RAC Insurance 1 star review on 27th September 2022
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
RAC Insurance is rated 2.3 based on 1,136 reviews