RAC Insurance Reviews

2.36 Rating 1,025 Reviews
33 %
of reviewers recommend RAC Insurance
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Own Driver
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Live Chat, Email
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
1.35 out of 5
Cancellations & Refunds
Cancellation Process
Difficult

Write Your review

Tell us how RAC Insurance made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
I insure my car with RAC for one year I go to them with 19 years no claims bonus I leave them with 9 years I have no crashes dry very safely and they take 10 years no claims bonus away from you leaves me with 9 years that is alright offer so my advice is do not use RAC insurance if you have any more than 9 years no claims bonus because you will not gain any more from them please take no and do not use them they will steal your no claims bonus.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Absolute RIP off! Steer clear. After ringing to make an enquiry re adding my son to my insurance - the call handler made a small admin change by changing my marital status to separated which increased my insurance by £115 per year & also charged an expensive admin fee for the privallage. Why should living apart from my husband change my driving habits & changing M to S on my documents cost £50?
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
I sold my car 3 months after taking out a policy with RAC Insurance. Total annual cost £279.00. Along with the fee for 3 months insurance, which I have no problem with, they charged me a £55.00 Cancellation Fee which I find disgusting. I will never use RAC insurance again. I was told on the phone that "our terms of cancellation are written in our documentation". Yes, they are but few people plan on cancelling car insurance. RAC has lost my other car insurance plus breakdown. Yes, RAC. They are MY terms and conditions!
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
Found my renewal was doubled in price after one claim ( my fault). When I tried to find out the details of the claim made by the other party was told they could not give me details. Brokers they used (zenith). Never contacted me to advise me a claim had been made and despite promises made by the RAC. neither they or the brokers bothered to send me any further claim details which I needed for my new insurance company. Would not recommend them to anyone wanting car insurance. Very poor communication and no interest in trying to help.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
When changing to a new car The RAC were very poor. Tried to charge us double the rate found on comparison sites or a very large charge to leave - no interest in keeping us as a customer at all - would not in anyway recommend them.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Ok (for doing nothing at all) till I needed to cancel the policy. £55 fee for that is scammer price! Just taking the opportunity to rip people off. Wouldn’t insure with them again and would advise others not to either.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Had a prob on line but phoned up guy helped me immensely , get the policy I required 1st class
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Would never deal with RAC again ever charged £25 twice for Administration in space of 10 days for New car and then to change back to existing private plate that they had already insured and I done the Admin online and they charged me for the Privilege I thought Dick Turpin wore a mask he doesn't he works for Rac
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Obtained a quote to change my car was advised £10.53 would be returned. Next day went to complete and had to pay £26.45. Customer Service refused to assist saying rates change would not even drop their £25 fee. Shocking for such a respected company.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Easy fast bit pricey but think its worth it
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Dreadful company to deal with. Very unhelpful.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
2 hour wait on phone to try and make a claim - eventually gave up
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Don't Get car insurance with this lot change my occupation from LvG driver to Bus Driver and had to pay additional payment of £41 pounds explain for this reason it more likely for me to be involved in a collision also change from a 2,2 lite to 1.6 zero tax and still had to pay 25 pounds for this service
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Customer service is very bad - was with them for a year but will never get an insurance with them again.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Disgraceful service to a long standing customer of 12 years. Despite no change in circumstances doubled cost of insurance to nearly £700 without any adequate notice. Would recommend not using this company.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
They have always been there for me.and always gave good services even breakdown.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Amazing policy and customer service amazing
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Their Customer Services are absolutely rubbish. Was harassed for additional payment for cancellation of a motor policy and direct debit. When the funds had been cleared in full, the direct debit fee plus late payment a short time later they levied another fee for something else. At each point they told me the balance on my account was nil and then through harassment advised if I did not stump up they would place the amount requested to their Collection Dept. Although they were small amounts requested this was hardly good and equitable customer services. Wouldn't touch them with a barge pole!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Absolutely terrible service, have waited 9 hours, no ones come, job was deferred! Paying for the full package and no ones available to do a jump start! Ridiculous service!!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Never have car insurance with the RAC Days of trying to get through Cant cancel online Scandalous to pay a £55 cancellation fee when you no longer have the car you were insuring. Will not recommend RAC again Will be sending in an official complaint and also going through ombudsman Quote me Happy Hubby was insured with, cancelled policy on his car as got new one, could do it online and got a cheque through post for slight overpayment
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
RAC Insurance is rated 2.36 based on 1,025 reviews