RAC Insurance Reviews

2.2 Rating 1,196 Reviews
30 %
of reviewers recommend RAC Insurance
2.2
Based on 1,196 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Own Driver
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Live Chat, Email
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
1.4 out of 5
Cancellations & Refunds
Cancellation Process
Difficult

Write Your review

Tell us how RAC Insurance made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
RAC Insurance 1 star review on 1st December 2023
John
RAC Insurance 1 star review on 23rd December 2022
Marie Robinson
RAC Insurance 1 star review on 23rd December 2022
Marie Robinson
RAC Insurance 1 star review on 27th September 2022
Marie Medor
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
I recently renewed my car insurance with RAC as the price went down considerably. During the process, we moved house and I forgot all about it. On the first day of my insurance, I contacted RAC to give my new address. I thought I’d encounter expensive admin fees, like with most other companies I’ve been with - but not a bit of it. In fact I came of the phone with no admin fees and two quid off my monthly payments. This company are the real deal - give them a try people 👍
Helpful Report
Posted 2 days ago
The RAC CAR INSURANCE QUOTES AFTER GETTING A PRICE WHICH SEEMED REASONABLE WERE HIKED UP IN SOME CASE MASSIVELY AND IT WAS VERY DIFFICULT GETTING A ACEEPTABLE PRICE AS THE FIRST PRICE OFFERED WHEN PROGRESSING MY QUOTE WENT TO A MUCH HIGHER PRICE AND THIS HAPPENED ON A NUMBER OF STRESSFULL TIMES WHEN I TRIED TO GET THE ORIGANAL PRICE QUOTED. WHEN I DID GET A HIGHER PRICE I COULD JUST ABOUT PAY FOR THROUGH EVERY STAGE I HAD TO GET PAST WHAT SEEMED NON STOP EXTRAS TO PUSH MY QUOTED PRICE HIGHER.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 days ago
On online easy all understand and pay
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
They have left us in Spain for a month without our motorhome poor back upon in Europe please don’t go with them, we are still here, they never return your calls
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
What went right? Nothing, it seems that they make the rules up as they go along, they take money for even the simplest of actions, even though the customer does all of the work online and everything their side is automated. Insurance is a legal requirement, RAC insurance use this fact to try and take money at every opportunity, been driving for 32.5 years and this is by far my worst experience, I could go into more detail, just be advised to give them a wide berth, especially if you are on a tight budget. Disgusting behaviour bordering on extortion
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Very bad experience and I don’t want to go with this company so they update without permission your policy so be careful
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
DO NOT TAKE OUT CAR INSURANCE WITH RAC! Problems from the minute I reported an accident (not my fault). Logged incorrect information with regards to the crash, very minimal communication unless I rang them for updates. Very poor customer service. Avoid at all costs!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
D0 NOT TAKE OUT POLICY WITH RAC . Good price - but a rip off if any issues . I had RAC car insurance a couple of years ago - in April 2022 i was driving my Wife's car [ as a second driver on her insurance ] when a pheasant flew into the car and dented it - claimed on her insurance [ Aviva ] and had no problems at all . I foolishly decided to inform my insurer [ RAC ] of the above incase of small print about full disclosure etc - they then charged me £105 - i was told it was admin charge plus higher risk ..... CRAZY - I HAVE NOT HAD AN ACCIDENT FOR 20 YEARS .... and how am i a higher risk because a pheasant flys into the car ???? AND , I did NOT claim from the RAC ! NOTE , Aviva put my Wife's policy up by £35 at renewal . Well done Aviva - RAC , YOU ARE A DISGRACE . Don't touch this company with a very long barge pole .
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
RIPPED OFF by RAC CAR INSURANCE BIG TIME take this as a warning and don't touch this company not even with a barge pole. insured my car for xx£ but than purchased another car. conacted rac to transfer insurance to new car and got robbed blind by these thief's as the doubled the price. if I had cancelled an excess fee was applicable. on comparison sites online I could have had same type of insurance £150.00 cheaper. thief's, crooked, rip-off artist does not do this kind of stealing theft justice. SHAME on you RAC THIEFS
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Rude unhelpful a complete Con they wanted to put my insurance up £130 a year so I went with another company when I informed RAC they told me to pay £75 to leave.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
We had a gas leak which meant have our gas was shut off (no hot water or heat) and our floors opened up to find the leaking gas pipe. RAC consider this to be an emergency so I tried to make a claim on my emergency policy, which they told us (at first) should be no problem. In the policy t & cs gas leaks are not listed in the exceptions (unlike water leaks). The policy says it covers emergency repairs due to complete failure of gas central heating system or failure of hot water heating. But apparently gas leaks are an unwritten exception and we were told that actually they won't cover us. If gas leaks aren't covered it should say so in the policy t & cs.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Fine if you don't want to change or cancel your policy! I moved house and had to pay a £25 admin fee, despite doing all the work myself. I was then in a situation 3 weeks later where I was changing my car, so they wanted to charge me another £25 admin fee, as well as putting my premium up £15 more a month! I asked if they'd waive the admin fee as a gesture of good will, given I'd only just paid one, but they said no. I decided to shop around and found a better price, so decided paying the £45 (YES £45!!!) cancellation fee working out slightly better in the long run. When I tried to cancel they then added other fees on, seemingly for no reason. I asked via live chat if they could explain where these other fees had come from and the person I was speaking to (Rachael) was so rude to me, just because I couldn't understand where all this extra money had come from. To make matters worse, when I'd enquired about paying the £45 cancellation fee earlier in the week, I was told this would be taken out of my normal direct debit. When I went to cancel it wanted me to pay there and then. I tried asking Rachael about this as well, but she refused to give me an answer on it. I think this company rely on being a household name in order to mess their customers around. I rather naively took out the insurance policy in the first place for that exact reason. Lesson learnt the hard way I guess!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Scam insurance company! will not offer you any help even when someone has crashed into you whilst at a standstill. In my case they were unable to find the driver who did it to me and asked me to take on the full excess as well as lose my no claims discount. Pretty much to bully me into closing the claim. they said i will get the salvage amount if i closed the claim to keep my no claims discount and 2 months later they stated the salvage amount was 0. Absolute waste of time and money spent on insurance for three years. Price was ridiculous fromthe start for a 2009 toyots aygo 1 litre
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Theyre terrible, they use 3rd party companies to run their claims, they say they have cotacted us but zero emails, or telephone calls, avoid at all costs, do not use they are shockingly bad. Just can't put into words how we feel and we will never use ths company again. Dont say you have not been warned.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Helpful, and looked after me.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Very good service and friendly
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Helpful and considerate explaining all benefits and taking out what is not required
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Called them to submit details about my own claim. Extremely unprofessional claim handler not knowing any law and procedures he should follow- I’m a claim handler myself for a different company so I’m aware how the process looks like. Didn’t want to take any information from me saying he won’t even leave a note on the file that I called. I was in so much disbelief for a second I thought I’m not talking to claims handler- had to ask him if it’s really his job title as he acted like he absolutely couldn’t be asked to do his job. I am patient and very much aware how stressful this job can be but this experience was extremely shocking.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Had car insurance with RAC for several years, full NCB never claimed apart from windscreen damage. Received renewal invitation in Jan 2024 and called to advise that my wife has ceased her part time work therefore no longer driving in rush hour...thinking this would be a lower risk. Cust advisor said there was a computer problem, needed to call me back the next working day. When he did he advised that because my wife is classed as retired he would not renew the policy unless I changed to a diff coy and paid £400+ more than the renewal had offered. Then he tried to find other reasons eg saying maybe it was the car -impossible as it's the same one they had offered to renew the policy on! No other changes made. Seems to be blatant discrimination and a scam. Got insurance elsewhere at much more competitive price and will never use or recommend RAC insurance again.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Very difficult to contact them, and beware of renewals. I was with RAC Van insurance for a year, satisfied with the policy. I auto-renewed at the end of the year, but while I was travelling abroad my renewal was cancelled. There are very few ways to get in contact with the RAC helpdesk, and none work particularly well. Once my policy was cancelled my outstanding balance was passed on to a debt collector at a fee of £25 in less than three weeks with no notice from RAC. Email notifications seem random - they want you to login to their portal to view correspondence, but there is no way actually speak to them. Very dissatisfied with their support - I won't be using them again.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
RAC Insurance is rated 2.2 based on 1,196 reviews