RAC Insurance Reviews

2.34 Rating 1,041 Reviews
33 %
of reviewers recommend RAC Insurance
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Own Driver
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Live Chat, Email
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
1.35 out of 5
Cancellations & Refunds
Cancellation Process
Difficult

Write Your review

Tell us how RAC Insurance made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
If I could give minus stars I would. I have been pay for 2 telematic devices in 2 vehicles for 6 years, the first time one of the vehicles was stolen they were deactivated within 1 minute. To try and deactivate them is more than painful, 3 phone calls , information that is way more than when they were fitted and I have to pay for the privilege. Do not waste your money with RAC.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 day ago
I sold my car and went to claim the remainder of my insurance back (which I always pay in full). I was told that the remaining balance was a "cancellation fee" and there was NOTHING due back. What a complete bunch of THIEVES
Helpful Report
Posted 5 days ago
Refused to even cover a new rider
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Your ok taking the money off people for the breakdown but fail to turn up when needed, speaking to customer service what a joke, I cancelled the policy due to them not turning up and the cheeky effers turn round and say we'll we havnt charged you for cancelling, wtf, absolute joke, never again would I use this company, and I wouldn't recommend anyone going with them, total waste of space
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
If I could give zero stars I would. I took out insurance with rac and I wish I hadn't bothered and gone elsewhere. I forgot to mention a no fault claim from 2018 and because of this they charged me with a £35 admin fee, even though the no fault claim didn't affect my premium. I feel that I have been robbed, I would never recomend this company to anyone, as soon as my policy comes to an end I'll be canceling the policy and looking for a company with more Integrity.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Would rate lower if possible. Informed about accident not my fault as per requirement and they just took over. No communication between them and subcontractors. Intimidating text and calls from subcontractors. Did not listen proper to what they where told causing more hassle. Cancelled courtesy car as apparently repairs took too long albeit they were informed that the spare parts would take up to 3 months to arrive. Never short of excuses or trying to put blame on you. Up to an hour wait in call line. Can't get anymore unethical then this. Should you are with RAC my advise is everything in writing albeit don't expect a reply but at least you have prove of what you informed them off.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
The RAC are the worst car insurance company out there. You take your car insurance out with them ,but what happens when you have a no fault car accident ,they are not interested and pass you to there underwriters ,acromas ,well hang on a minuite ,the RAC should handle everything during this awful time. there are the agent , and have been no use whatsoever
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
They will rip you off… Please be away from this RAC brand at all possible. I went for a home, buildings and contents insurance quote via money supermarket. After their search their results and Rac home insurance came as cheapest and I went ahead and took insurance. After I took insurance , I realised the insurance RAC offered is for contents only. So I tried to contact them to cancel it. I took insurance on 2 Nd jan Sunday Nd Monday being bank holiday no one was there to answer call. So I send a mail on 4 th to cancel the policy. Then they asked me to call them and when I called they want me to pay 20£ admin fee for creating an account and then money for using the service for one day . I have explained about the misadvertisement of the quote and I only realised the insurance only for contents after I buy. Money supermarket clearly showed the insurance for contents and buildings. I have to speak to money supermarket for their wrong way of advertising also. But they were adamant and they wanted to have 20£ for just creating an account on them. They were not listening their offices were closed on Sunday And Monday as they want that 20£ regardless . Their only claim, even if they miss sell something , we customers to pay price if admin fee. First time I am experiencing a company this greedy for money. Avoid them .
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
So many things wrong with this service. I would not recommend to anyone.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
HORRIFIC. Avoid at all cost. Over priced, hidden cost, rude staff which even gave me fake numbers to call while trying to resolve an incident which they said it’s not their problem and hung up! Most unhelpful service. Took me several phone calls and 5 weeks later to finally speak to someone who managed to help me that works for another company. Without his help I would of got my car sorted privately and changed insurance immediately. Probably the worst service I have ever received in my life has to be from RAC car insurance. BEWARE!!! I shall be making family and friends aware to save them the headache and to be financially better off. Huge mistake going to a company I thought would be reliable, helpful and look after their customers.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
The response time to telephone calls is appalling. I waited pointlessly for 45 minutes! There was lots of recorded rubbish being spouted at me, none of which I wanted to know or asked for. Then I still could not get through to ask my simple query. And I still do not have an answer. Cheap insurance but shockingly poor customer service.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
After 5 years with RAC insurance and despite 8 years NCB and with hardly any mileage last two years they wanted to increase my premium by nearly £90 to £450. When I phoned the customer service was diabolical and bordering on rude. Cancelled my policy immediately and transferred to another company saving over £250 for better cover.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Absolute embarrassment I have an accident 4 days before my policy ends and I’m still sat here 2 week on with no courtesy car it’s a joke paid all year for courtesy car for a incident like this and I’m left to find my own ways into work etc yet they want a £750 excess u must be having a laugh I’ll make sure that gets decreased with the money I have had to spend to get taxis etc into work it’s a joke don’t insure your car with this embarrassment of a company
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
absolutely rubbish service while i had car accident nobody responded as they should and they always try to put you through different team to get rid of customers
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
DO NOT USE RAC ,,,,,,,,,I had insurance for 8 months and because of a exhaust that was an after market which was obviously cheaper but not oem and added no extra horsepower whatsoever race kindly told me they could no longer insure me monthly and quoted 1400 quid unbelievably and then said you have lost this yrs no claims to add insult DO NOT USE RAC
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
I insure my car with RAC for one year I go to them with 19 years no claims bonus I leave them with 9 years I have no crashes dry very safely and they take 10 years no claims bonus away from you leaves me with 9 years that is alright offer so my advice is do not use RAC insurance if you have any more than 9 years no claims bonus because you will not gain any more from them please take no and do not use them they will steal your no claims bonus.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Absolute RIP off! Steer clear. After ringing to make an enquiry re adding my son to my insurance - the call handler made a small admin change by changing my marital status to separated which increased my insurance by £115 per year & also charged an expensive admin fee for the privallage. Why should living apart from my husband change my driving habits & changing M to S on my documents cost £50?
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
I sold my car 3 months after taking out a policy with RAC Insurance. Total annual cost £279.00. Along with the fee for 3 months insurance, which I have no problem with, they charged me a £55.00 Cancellation Fee which I find disgusting. I will never use RAC insurance again. I was told on the phone that "our terms of cancellation are written in our documentation". Yes, they are but few people plan on cancelling car insurance. RAC has lost my other car insurance plus breakdown. Yes, RAC. They are MY terms and conditions!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Found my renewal was doubled in price after one claim ( my fault). When I tried to find out the details of the claim made by the other party was told they could not give me details. Brokers they used (zenith). Never contacted me to advise me a claim had been made and despite promises made by the RAC. neither they or the brokers bothered to send me any further claim details which I needed for my new insurance company. Would not recommend them to anyone wanting car insurance. Very poor communication and no interest in trying to help.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Ok (for doing nothing at all) till I needed to cancel the policy. £55 fee for that is scammer price! Just taking the opportunity to rip people off. Wouldn’t insure with them again and would advise others not to either.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
RAC Insurance is rated 2.34 based on 1,041 reviews