RAC Insurance Reviews

2.3 Rating 1,155 Reviews
31 %
of reviewers recommend RAC Insurance
2.3
Based on 1,155 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Own Driver
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Live Chat, Email
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
1.4 out of 5
Cancellations & Refunds
Cancellation Process
Difficult

Write Your review

Tell us how RAC Insurance made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
RAC Insurance 1 star review on 23rd December 2022
Marie Robinson
RAC Insurance 1 star review on 23rd December 2022
Marie Robinson
RAC Insurance 1 star review on 27th September 2022
Marie Medor
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
I chose RAC Blackbox insurance for my car in 2020 as I didn't have a driver history in the UK and back then this was the cheapest option. After 1 year with them, my renewal quote was cheaper than my initial annual premium, which was amazing, and I was a happy customer of the RAC for 2 years. The one time I needed them, when my car broke down, they were quick to help, and when I had to have my windscreen replaced recently that happened without hassle. However, the renewal quote I received a few days ago was almost £100 more per annum than previously, for no reason, and now that I do have a 2 year no accident UK driver history I found a number of insurance quotes from other companies for the exact same cover for nearly £600 less annually than what the RAC wants me to pay going forward. I called their customer service and asked for a price review, explaining the above, but they said they don't budge on their price, so I've unfortunately had to end my contract with them and have instead purchased insurance with Flow that gives me all the same cover plus breakdown cover in the EU and additional mileage and with no tracking device for nearly £500 less per year. It seems stupid to me to lose a happy, loyal, accident-free customer to another insurer in this way, but here we are.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Had good experience with them but they are expensive
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
I have been with RAC insurance for only a year. Shame they were not able to beat the prices of the company that I went for this year. But, for someone who depends so much on online portals like me, their portal is straightforward and easy to use. Everything is there ( documents, NCB etc). I would recommend this company without a doubt!
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Generally good, but had some problems with login to self service online account. Also the black box telematics device was counting negative points on acceleration although my car has automatic transmission, and city and night driving which was not much practical, as I was driving mostly through city centre and working late so had to driving at night.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Good cover for most of insurance needs fair price plus break down cover
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
I have 11 years no claims discount as good driver they put black box on my vehicle this box is usually for new drivers or young age drivers but i not blame them because maybe policy designed by go compere.
Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 2 years ago
I have used confused.com to find a replacement insurer as my current insurer increased the price for no reasons. The purchase was very easy and they were clear in not having any hidden charges.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Seeing alot of negative comments here, but as a first year driver I found this policy to be decent (as far as having a black box can go.) Having a black box isn't ideal and don't get me wrong, the scoring on it was sometimes a nightmare, you get marked down for speed if you go even 1mph over the speed limit, and you get marked down for your urban score quite easily, I found even due to slowing down for speed bumps. However, overall the scoring system is quite lenient and it isn't hard to drive carefully. My driver scores were usually around 90/100 every week over the year. There is no night curfew and when i did drive at night the night score didn't really go down too much anyway so that wasn't a problem. If you change up gears rather than accellerating from 2nd to 4th for example, and break slowly, you'll find yourself comfortably within a safe score. I question the people on here who are on low scores- How badly are you driving? However come renewal they didn't really offer anywhere near the most competitive price, so I wouldn't use this insurance with the sole focus being getting good scores for a cheaper renewal- Use price comparison sites as I saved about 200£ and got rid of my black box compared with staying with RAC. One complaint is that they won't remove the black box and told me to get it taken out next MOT, so I'm stuck with a box in the car using up battery. If they detect faults with your car they seem to love calling you from a call centre in manchester, I kept getting errors on the black box saying I had an emissions problem. They called saying it could cause the engine to break. I got this checked with mechanic and they said it was all fine. Overall I can't really complain. -If you get a black box car policy don't expect to be able to drive around accelerating rapidly and going over the speed limit. Its a black box for a reason. - Look around for renewal quotes as even though they say they take your scores in consideration, I got scores of mostly 85-95 all year and their renewal quote was more expensive by about £200 -Have no experience on making a claim or cancelling so cannot personally comment on that.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Easy to buy and reasonable quote
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Had a problem when Car insurance came up for renewal and after reading the reviews was quite concerned. I had sold the car so phoned to cancel the renewal, I also cancelled the payment at the bank. When I telephoned to tell them they said they would process a refund. I therefore received the returned payment twice. Received an email telling me I still owed the money. Chap I spoke to was very helpful and it was quickly sorted out. There are very few positive comments on this site, but I found them courteous and helpful
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Insured car through go-compare was cheapest option available, Customer service was excellent and very helpful with all calls. Slight warning though, they will automatically renew your policy if you do not cancel, Ended up with 2 policy's on the same car for a short time. However when I spoke to RAC they were happy to close the policy and refunded money taken.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
I've had a really good experience with the RAC. I had an accident that wasn't my fault. They were very helpful and professional on the phone, arranged a courtesy car the same day and had arranged the collection of my car which was a write off within a few days. I also had a follow up call the next day to check everything was okay. I would happily recommend! The only reason for the 4 stars and not 5, was a follow up call from myself a few days later when I spoke to a different person who wasn't very informative, but I guess its just pot luck who you get on the phone! All in all though, a good experience.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
GOOD TO USE VERY RELIABLE
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Great service easy to use well priced
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
I switched from another provider as I wasn't happy with renewal quote. RAC beat quote by a square mile and even though I haven't had any need to claim the paperwork /policy etc. were handled professionally.
Helpful Report
(Home Insurance) - Posted 3 years ago
Very helpful and polite ,straight to the point would recommend them
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Good price thanks to confused.com
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Satisfied with the service
Helpful Report
(Home Insurance) - Posted 4 years ago
Unsure if I could claim or not so I phoned up and the help and advice I was given was very good.
Helpful Report
(Home Insurance) - Posted 4 years ago
Not had any need to contact provider since purchase of policy,but the process to purchase was straightforward
Helpful Report
(Home Insurance) - Posted 4 years ago
RAC Insurance is rated 2.3 based on 1,155 reviews