RAC Insurance Reviews

2.34 Rating 1,043 Reviews
33 %
of reviewers recommend RAC Insurance
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Own Driver
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Live Chat, Email
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
1.35 out of 5
Cancellations & Refunds
Cancellation Process
Difficult

Write Your review

Tell us how RAC Insurance made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Obtained a quote to change my car was advised £10.53 would be returned. Next day went to complete and had to pay £26.45. Customer Service refused to assist saying rates change would not even drop their £25 fee. Shocking for such a respected company.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Good Customer Service
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
The cover is great for a new driver and has a black box with free Installation which is good. However, if you have the black box I had several occasions where my score drops severely for no reason meaning they do tamper with data if you dont keep an eye on it but all in all it is good
Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 1 year ago
Never again got policy restarting and payments going up each month was rediculas
Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 1 year ago
No particular comment.
Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 1 year ago
No issues with them though i feel i can lower my monthly premiums if i move from them.
Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 1 year ago
Have BD cover with these guys - was looking to switch my insurance too. They don't offer any kind of existing customer deals and the price was about 25% higher than their competitors. I used someone else instead.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
too intrusive into your driving habits and potential vehicle problems. too aggressive on delayed payments thretening to cut you off after 7 days and seeking compensation although it is marginally cheaper my advise is to stay clear of black box insurance
Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 2 years ago
The app doesn’t work correctly, it states your score is lower than it actually is. E.g. my app states my score is 22 out of 100 but the website is 99! The app needs changing.
Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 2 years ago
Great time with RAC, after a year with no claims or complaints, renewal quote was shockingly nearly double
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Offhand and brief when contacted by phone. Extremely officious in all communication. Expected the world and gave little in return.
Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 2 years ago
Poor customer service. I
Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 3 years ago
Claim was for water damage to property. Has taken nearly 3 months to complete repairs and reinstatement. Distinct lack of communication between parties involved resulting in prolonged intervals between the various stages of the job.
Helpful Report
(Home Insurance) - Posted 3 years ago
Had a nightmare deal with RAC. Not the best dealing with customer service.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Was alright, only problem I’ve had is the pricing going up because of my Mileage
Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 4 years ago
Black box is very good and isn’t very sensitive with the score . Shame the app is slow and unresponsive
Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 4 years ago
Got a reasonable deal on car insurance but subsequently bought a new car, I was changed £70 to change my insurance over complete rip off! Doesn t look like such a good deal now.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
CONFUSING
Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 5 years ago
My concern came when queries arose on number of years no claims. I haven't made a claim or had an accident for 20years but AXA only showed 7. This led to exchanges at the end of which I told RAC if they were unable to resolve l was withdrawing from this quote. Added to this AXA was their chosen provider for me!!! In July I believe I will have difficulties again.
Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 5 years ago
The quality of their front office in no way showed an understanding of the importance of this type of insurance. Governed by computers with no off line knowledge.
Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 5 years ago
RAC Insurance is rated 2.34 based on 1,043 reviews