Machine Mart Reviews

1.8 Rating 249 Reviews
20 %
of reviewers recommend Machine Mart
1.8
Based on 249 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Postal Service, Courier
Average Delivery Time
Within 5 Days
On-time Delivery
Greater than 23%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
Greater than 72%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week
Customer Service
1.5 out of 5
Returns & Refunds
Refunds Process
Difficult
Returns Process
Could Be Better
Read Machine Mart Reviews
Visit Website

Phone:

0871 410 1250

Location:

Machine Mart Limited211 Lower Parliament Street
Nottingham
NG1 1GN

Write Your review

Tell us how Machine Mart made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Machine Mart 1 star review on 5th April 2023
GR
Machine Mart 1 star review on 5th April 2023
GR
Machine Mart 1 star review on 5th April 2023
GR
Machine Mart 1 star review on 5th April 2023
GR
Machine Mart 1 star review on 5th April 2023
GR
Machine Mart 1 star review on 5th April 2023
GR
Machine Mart 1 star review on 5th April 2023
GR
9
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
AVOID!!! For their Deal location: If I could give ZERO stars for this review I would. The customer service is nonexistent at this store. 'Manager' Ben needs to be retrained in how to speak to customers. He is presumptuous and frankly incompetent in this role. There is a correct and incorrect way to speak to a customer, and he needs to be trained in the correct manner. The other staff member, Rich, should also be retrained as he is just as discourteous. I will never buy from this store ever again, and I will never buy from Machine Mart due to their support of such audacious employees.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
You discriminated against me. I am exempt from wearing a face covering. However, last Friday in your Exeter store, when I was collecting an order placed on the web, a member of your staff barked at me "have you a face covering?" I stated I was exempt; I wear a card stating so out of courtsey. Your staff member then prevented me entering the store beyond the front door and stated "we can't allow you to browse in the store then" This is in violation of the Disabilities Discrimination Act 2010. I was treated like a leper. Your attitude disgusts me. I shall never buy from you again and I will be reporting this to the relevant authorities.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Extremely rude customer service agent called me a liar because I said that the catalogue I was looking at didn't have a date on it but apparently they ALL have dates and I was being obstructive because I wouldn't tell him what it was when he was trying to help me(?). I sent him a copy of the front of the catalogue and am still waiting for an apology. What I was trying to sort out was that they sold us a sack barrow with an upgrade to the wheels but the upgraded wheels don't fit because they're too big, but it's apparently not down to the sales team to advise us of this when we are buying the products, it's down to us to be an expert in the products they sell so don't need any advice - apparently.. I also don't appreciate spending 13p per minute to be given abuse from someone who was supposed to be helping me. Seriously, steer clear you could be on a hiding to nothing.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Left a Clarke2.2kW Inverter Generator for repair on the 01/07/2020 and subsequent confirmations about its repair status wer, • It was out for repair. • With the engineer for repair. • Parts for the repair were enroute from Italy • (On one occasion the generator couldn’t be located) • beyond economical repair as a new inverter was needed. It took approx. 15 weeks for this to be repaired. Not the greatest service or customer care.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Ordered a petrol strimmer on the phone, paid extra for next day delivery only to find out 3 days later that the item was not in stock. It took 8 phone calls including being talked down to by one very rude man in customer services, 3 times I was promised a call back when they found out what was happening with my order which never happened and 2 weeks later I finally got a refund. Terrible company, I wish I'd read all the reviews on trust pilot before ordering as it seems they make a habit of taking money for items that aren't actually in stock. Will never consider buying from them again.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
ordered a new welder payed for it on click and collect expecting to collect next day to be told i have to wait 8 or 9 days for them to phone me,have emailed them and phoned my local shop the guy pritty much laughed and said there nout he can do,email said i can have refund then ust go but from shop lol but that takes 3 days for refund its a absolute joke ,im going to go to shop with my print ouut recipt and see if there 1 in shop gonna have it on film lol see what there say when i take what i have payed for then its going all over social media
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Purchased a couple of welding nosles from machinemart parts department item were 95 pence each postage was £23.30,the bloke wouldnt give me a price untill my credit card went through,there a ripoff so dont buy anythink from them.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
A previous experience was reasonable although delivery was a bit slow. For this reason ordered 3 items together (Router,Table & Bits)To cut a long story short the only thing to arrive eventually was the router and this had a minor item damaged in the box. After numerous phone calls to customer services I had still not received the outstanding items so asked for a refund. My original order was made on June 8. I still await my full refund today(30 Aug). Customer services seem to lie habitually and complaining e mails go unacknowledged and unanswered. I would never use this company again but would recommend them to someone I didn't like.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Brought a 24v Clarke booster pack, stopped holding charge after a months use so decided t take it back to the shop, they said the inspection would take 2 weeks and it didn’t only when the rang after a month they said there would be a charge of £180 because the battery’s were no good. This apparently ain’t covered under warranty and they still want to charge me???? Please don’t shop at machine mart hay mills (Birmingham) it’s an absolute nightmare. I also rang customer services to make a complaint and was spoken to by Micheal wilkinson, he was nothing but rude, very unprofessional and mocked the fact I’m dyslectic. Disappointed with this horrible horrible company
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Machine mart Edmonton extremely friendly staff really helpfull would go there over toolstation any day lol
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
I sent my Machine Mart low level alloy car jack into my local shop for repair to the cylinder and piston. They charged me £24 to send it to their repair centre for "assessment", where they kept it for four weeks before phoning me to say that the repair would cost £135 - whilst they could sell me a brand new matching model for £115. I declined. This seems something of a sales exercise rather than carrying out repairs - at least in my case. Very disappointed. I plan to retrieve it, buy the parts and do it myself - since they can repair it they obviously have the necessary parts. Is their behaviour over repairs commonplace?
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
I purchased a battery charger from Machine Mart for use in emergencies. When I eventually had a flat battery I got the charger, which was unused, out of the box that it came in and connected it up. All seemed to go well but when I returned after ten minutes to check that all was well it had ceased to function. Customer service was very unhelpful because it had been purchased over a year earlier and one lady in particular was very unsympathetic and unhelpful. This item cost me in the region of £75 and lasted for 10 minutes when I would have expected it to last for many years. I won’t ever buy anything from them again.
Machine Mart 1 star review on 21st July 2020
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Unbelievable how customer service doesn't exist with this company. Awful....just stay clear if you appreciate courtesy! I wish i could give NO star
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Made an order on the 1st May, still no sign of it, now the 8th of July, Ignores emails, and request for refund, Will never use this company again What A joke Have since found same item elsewhere delivered in 2 days and cheaper
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
I don't like leaving negative reviews of a company when things go wrong, I prefer to try and work with them to sort issues out but Machine Mart have left me no choice on this occasion, as it seems raising this here is the only way to get a resolution. I ordered a Wolf-Garten lawnmower on the 8th June, this being a Machine Mart extra item I waited the 7 working days. This passed and my order was still not dispatched. I checked on the Wolf-Garten UK website to see the lawnmower was out of stock with them, and my order with Machine Mart had not made any progress (though my credit card had been charged). I rang up Machine Mart on the 17th June to request they cancel my order, as with Wolf-Garten UK being out of stock it seemed unlikely I would be receiving my order anytime soon. Customer services were very helpful and agreed to cancel my order. I need a lawnmower quickly as my current one has failed therefore I have to get my money back so I can purchase elsewhere. I have called up today (22nd June) to speak to customer services, who confirmed they could see the request to cancel my order had been acknowledged, but no refund had been processed for my order. The customer services representative, who was very helpful advised I call the web team on 0115 840 6231 to chase up. I have called this number four times this morning, each time it just rings out then hangs up. I cannot believe you are making it so difficult for me to get my money back, as said above I need it to purchase a lawnmower elsewhere. You were quick enough to charge my credit card for an item which was out of stock at both your warehouse and at the suppliers. (I would add, most online retailers now only charge your card at the point of your order being dispatched, why can this not be the case here). Order number 2359631 - please can you just refund me (and do me the simple courtesy of replying to my e-mails?)
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
I ordered 3 items online at 9.30am on the 11/6/20, on the 16/6/20 i phoned machine mart to see where my order was, the guy on the phone did not apologise and just said up to 5 working days for delivery mate ( yes MATE )it is now the 18th of June and it has still not been despatched. I have had several emails during this week from machine mart promoting gift ideas for fathers day. There are going to be a lot of disappointing dads when their fathers day presents do not arrive. I will never use Machine Mart again.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
I have been waiting for a waker plate to be delivered for 1 month now. I’ve had to hire one costing me 25 a day. The waker plate itself costing over £1000. No email to tell me how long it’s going to take to arrive. I am only a sole trader. I can’t afford for this to happen. I do paving and tarmacing so I need to use compactor plates daily. I wish they told me how long it was going to take. I would have went else where. I sent the hired wacker plate back today. The bill was just over £700. Feel very let down. Machine mart should me ashamed of themselves.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
PLEASE SAVE YOUR MONEY AND BUY ELSEWHERE. Terrible experience with machine mart regarding a purchase made over a month ago and still not sorted. Waited 3 weeks for a delivery costing nearly £300 that they had promised on multiple occasions and nothing. After 8 phone calls and multiple emails no one could advise me what was going on and none of the management team who could actually sort my issue would speak to me it all had to be done through email. When the items did come they were damaged - still chasing them for compensation as I am absolutely appalled. Olivia the manager who I've emailed many times has not replied offering any resolution neither has her boss Steve Carnell who I was assured on many occasions was dealing with the matter. I have been passed from pillar to post, spoken to in an unprofessional manner and ignored. I expected much more from this company and would not buy any further items from them or recommend them to anyone. Please save your money and buy from elsewhere as any issues you have you will be chasing them down the line. Absolutely disgusted with the lack of customer care from this company.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Don't buy from this company. I ordered a battery charger on 27th May, 2020. I was still waiting for delivery on 5th June. Contacted them by email on 4th June to be told that my charger was sitting in their warehouse waiting to be dispatched but all their couriers were tied up with coronavirus deliveries??? The coronavirus emergency was long gone with regard to equipment deliveries, by this time. I was told it would be with me by end of the week (5th June) or early the following week. By 9th June still no delivery, I emailed them again was told when it eventually arrives... no dates given as to expected delivery time, if I don't want the item to return it and only then will they refund the money. I asked if they could cancel the order and I would buy from someone who could deliver the item in a timely manner and that was the response I got. Very disappointed would never purchse anything else from them.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
I ordered a bike and the bike took 2 months to "dispatch" and when I got it it was crushed by something The End Of Machine Fart
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Machine Mart is rated 1.8 based on 249 reviews