Machine Mart Reviews

1.8 Rating 249 Reviews
20 %
of reviewers recommend Machine Mart
1.8
Based on 249 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Postal Service, Courier
Average Delivery Time
Within 5 Days
On-time Delivery
Greater than 23%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
Greater than 72%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week
Customer Service
1.5 out of 5
Returns & Refunds
Refunds Process
Difficult
Returns Process
Could Be Better
Read Machine Mart Reviews
Visit Website

Phone:

0871 410 1250

Location:

Machine Mart Limited211 Lower Parliament Street
Nottingham
NG1 1GN

Write Your review

Tell us how Machine Mart made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Machine Mart 1 star review on 5th April 2023
GR
Machine Mart 1 star review on 5th April 2023
GR
Machine Mart 1 star review on 5th April 2023
GR
Machine Mart 1 star review on 5th April 2023
GR
Machine Mart 1 star review on 5th April 2023
GR
Machine Mart 1 star review on 5th April 2023
GR
Machine Mart 1 star review on 5th April 2023
GR
9
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Extremely poor service when things go wrong Purchased a wacker plate from machine mart costing £700. Within 4 feeks the bolts fell out the handle and rubbers snapped off. The wheels used to transport fell off. Tried to repair the product several times but the same problem happened time and time again. The product is not for purpose. Machine mart have refused to refund and said Ill have to have keep the faulty product as they have refused to resolve the issue . The item was returned to the manuacture and in return the product was fixed and returned. I did not agree to this and did not want it because I knew what the outcome would be. It would mean that the item would break and as I thought within a couple of uses the wacker plate has broken again.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
i bought a mitre saw of this company main reason they offer finance, i received my goods, however i found the same product model no nearly 60 pounds cheap, so i called them they said they would refund p ans p but not price diffrence , but i could return to my local store for refund, they where rude and not helpfull, morell of the story is u can buy a lot cheaper else where,
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Be warned, do not buy from this company. Although the staff are polite,(,apart a person I spoke to from customer services,who wae arrogant and rude!) My husband and I bought a Hyundai generator from Machine Mart Exeter, November 2020,,it cost us nearly 2,000 pounds,, long story short,,it has been a nightmare,,,this machine broke down with in 2 months of having it!,since then it has been back to Genpower's workshop on 4 seperate occasions ,,each time it has been repaired Genpower has taken 6to 8 weeks to get it back to us ! They have had this machine in their workshop longer than we have had it in our possession! After a lot of phone calls to Machine Mart, and stress, we were promised a new machine,although we would have rather had a refund after all the trouble it's caused!Just the other day a guy called me from their customer service department,,was abrupt and told me and I quote 'with regard to you and yours husband's previous questions regarding a refund or an exchange the answer is NO and NO! Unbelievable, after all this! We are now without a generator, still paying a loan, and disgusted with our treatment. Dawn and Keith Godfrey
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
AVOID DO NOT PURCHASE FROM MACHINE MART. Brought a ratchet with supposedly lifetime warranty. Ratchet broke and told by store staff that lifetime warranty is only 5 years. According to UK consumer law lifetime warranty is as long as the business is still operating and the product is still being sold. Shop staff took my ratchet apart losing a part in the process. After speaking with customer service I was told to take a picture of the ratchet set and send to customer service via email. They eventually agreed to replace or repair the ratchet but this had to be sent off to their service department. It's been 5 weeks and not heard anything from them. Spoke to customer services and the first person rudely hung up the phone. Called back and spoke to Matthew who refused to give me the name of the advisor who previously hung up on me. Was then told they have no manager or team leader for me to speak to and I would have to make a complaint in writing. Matthew then called me a liar saying it was me who cleared the call. Zero customer service and arrogant staff who hide behind the phone. Spent around 10k at this store will never spend another penny with them. Better quality products can be purchased at screwfix, toolstation or ebay and you don't get this hassle from any other stores. Even Argos sell Clarke goods cheaper than machine mart. As a former employee of machine mart I can assure you their aim is to rip you off.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Bought a riveter online. After barely 100 rivets , 2 hr work over two days there was a short circuiting between the battery and the gun internally. Machine Mart organised the pick up very promptly but unfortunately after that it all went downhill. It’s been over two weeks since the machine went back and we still haven’t received the tool back or a replacement. We have called several times and all we get is supplier will get back to us soon. If machine mart is selling the goods they should make sure they have reasonable agreements with suppliers so tools are repaired in good time when things go wrong within a very short time from purchase.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Just visited Wolverhampton branch dealt with by Niall and manager Jack. Very helpful and very professionable. Deal with confiden e A+ Thanks for your help
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Right, I originally bought a generator which worked fine for 12 months and then failed to start. Took it back and I was 2 days over the 12 month warranty, fair enough, paid to get it sent back and get repaired. Received it 3 weeks later repaired. Continue to use for 6 more months getting a service in the meantime from them ,i have more trouble. Send it back in and am told its the same issue as before so they repaired it at no cost, but as standard practice to find the problem they 'service' the item which often shows the problem up for them and so wanted to charge me for the 'Service' which I hadn't asked for because I had had one 3 months beforehand! When I challenged it they went n spoke to the manager thing came back and took the charge off. Go forward another 6 months and once again it won't start showing an overload fault as it has every time before. Send it off, 9 weeks later, yes 9 weeks later after 3 calls from them telling me it will be done next week from week 2, I'm told it can't be repaired as they can't get the bits due to covid etc so they want to replace the product with a reconditioned one. J agree as long as I get some sort of warranty. They agree to 6 months warranty only for it to go again 3 months later with the same fault. I again send it back, under warranty so no £20 charge to send it off, only to get a call 2 weeks later to tell me that it's failed due to a build up of carbon deposits on the spark plugs which they have took photos of don't you know!!! and will cost me £90 as my warranty is cancelled due to the only way this can happen is because I've used it in a confined space! My generators sole purpose is to power my catering trailer. It has never and will ever be used in a confined space. IT IS OUTSIDE!!!! I'm about to contest this with them as it only came to light on Friday just gone but I am so not surprised by this and had to write this review. Please stay away from the company as they do not want to know if you have issues with products. Tbf the lads in the shop are fine , most of them but 'head office' dear oh dear!! Never again...
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Brought a Hulk petrol evolution Wacker plate, May 2021 on First using it , it took ages to start vibrating , then on the second use it done the same, 3rd time it went to start vibrating and packed up, took it back and it got sent away for repair , the report said a stone was jammed in it , now I ain't no rocket scientist but when I took it in it had a full oil tank and obviously no petrol, when I picked it up it was empty of oil, so if it was a stone which couldn't get into a sealed engine , why did they empty the oil ?, as when I filled it back up it worked perfectly, but cost me £9.99 for the oil and the time of running around spent on it , it seems like you do sell a lot of dodgy equipment , After reading these reviews , I wouldn't buy from you again, even your CEO is above himself to reply to my email, just remember without customers you haven't got a business.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Very unhappy. 17th of July 2020, I bought an air compressor from Machine mart. It arrived with a broken outlet first off, but they tried sending a replacement part, then replaced the unit so I was happy enough. By the 12th of August I finally had a working compressor. Move forward to July the 28th 2021, and I contact them to tell them the compressor has broken. They tell me it is out of warranty and I must pay to send it, get them to inspect it, and then pay for the repairs. It is out of warranty, and I never even had 12 months use out of the thing as the first one was broken anyway!!! Really terrible service, I will not be ordering from them again, and would advise others to do the same. I understand the 12 months is from when you purchase it, but they never delivered a working one in the first place, and I’m still disappointed it has broken at all, I expected it to last much longer than barely 12 months! Very disappointed indeed. :-(
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Bought a generator in store which, when I got it home would not start. I telephoned the branch and was told to bring it back and they would either replace it or give me a refund. I took it back next day and the counter guy could not start it either and he agreed with me that there was no spark at the spark plug. Nevertheless a refund was refused point blank as they said it would have to be sent to head office for testing. I insisted on a refund as I had owned the generator less than twenty four hours but I was repeatedly told that it was company policy that items had to be tested at head office before a refund could be given. It seems head office do not trust their staffs' judgement! The inspection will take upwards of three weeks, during which time I am out of pocket and have had to buy a generator from elsewhere. I think this may well be going to the small claims court.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Bought a dewalt table saw from machine mart on the 7th June 2021 for £585, money was taken from my account on 9th June 2021. Still no sign of the saw by the 22nd July 2021 so I called up customer services and asked for an update as I’d heard not a thing from them… I was told they’re unable to give me any idea when I’d likely receive the item so I asked how easy & quick it was to cancel & get a refund, I was told no probs and it would happen very quickly - this was 5 days ago & no sign of my refund as yet. I used to buy a fair bit from MM but never again. Very poor customer service.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Bought the largest Clarke compressor from machine mart. Paid £1600 within 5 weeks Head gasket started to leak. Phone them they collected it new head gasket and a crank would you believe it on a brand new machine. I phoned them back in June and emailed no reply someone said they get back me. I phoned again got through to Matthew? He Wouldnt give a surname! Data protection apparently. Said he would call back he didn’t. Phoned a week later got through to customer services Currier driver got lost. Collected the compressed phone me up a week later to tell me there’s nothing wrong with it and I’ve sent them pictures of the head gaskets leaking with oil all over the compressor. Then they tell me this is over run from being used to much? Who has ever heard of such a thing? The compressor cuts in and out when it’s built up pressure that’s why it supposed to do! What that has to do with faulty head gaskets and poor workmanship I’ll never know!! 🙄 What planet are they on! It’s funny how my warrantee is out today! Small claims court here we come! Poor quality customer service even worse! And as for their follow-up response below it’s a complete lie no fault found? But leaking oil from both head gaskets? (See my profile picture, not faulty?) No issues??? air consumption form? I have no issues with air consumption. Not sure why that has any relevance? told him we only blowup tyres and use the air blower maybe twice a week. Something fishy going on trading standards and small claims court here we come. And if you try to return the item it will be rejected because item is faulty. As for assistance you said that was the end of the matter and you have refused to do anything about.👎👎👎 As per telephone conversation yesterday item will be rejected as it’s faulty!
Machine Mart 1 star review on 7th July 2021 Machine Mart 1 star review on 7th July 2021
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Ordered 2 ride on mower accerories 1 turned up within 2 weeks the other still not delivered 5 weeks later. Enquired after the 1st delivery clumsy and brusk customer service agent eventually came back with a further 4-6 weeks before delivery and an email address for further information. I sent an email after 4 weeks for an update 1 week later no response. Phoned this morning for an update. Today's guy was polite ish but brusk when I asked for delivery or refund. Seemed unable to operate a telephone. I've asked for my refund but with the tone of the conversation I imagine I'll be chasing this.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
I had a query on a product, I asked a member of staff for assistance. "Emma" was very very rude and unhelpful. Terrible Customer Service. I left without purchasing, And i shall not be returning to the Openshaw branch . If Google would let me leave no stars at all i would !
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Second time I’ve tried to buy items with them. I went to the store to buy compressor fittings for my sandblaster. Within 5 minutes they we’re trying to convince me my compressor was way too weak and tried to sell me one for £1400. My compressor is fine. It does the job just fine. I buy my equipment elsewhere now.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Bought a small booster/battery pack it charged my iPad once with a full charge , then wouldn’t charge again Started my tractor twice then would not start it anymore even though this is a small engine. Took it back to the store they said it would take 4-6 weeks to test it , said they would call me back once complete which they didn’t after 7 weeks I called them. They told me there was nothing wrong with it and they gave it back with glue from stickers or labels over the pack Simply did not do what they advertised it to do and will not refund or credit as they said I has owned it 5 months Absolutely shocking service I will never buy from here again Very disappointed as spent thousands over the years Russell Austin
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Bought a nail gun, fired 15 shots then stopped. Exchanged with them for another it didn't even fire up. Was asked what I was using it for which seemed a little misplaced given the last machine wouldn't even work. I said 6mm mdf and was told it wasn't designed for that ?.. Why sell 25ml nails ? Finally got a refund after refusing a repair....livid. 50 quid out of pocket in nails n fuel
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
I bought a recip saw which failed within a coupe if days, took It back to the shop where I asked for a refund as I had needed to hire one to complete the job. Was told that they I couldn’t get a refund as it would need to be sent off for inspection. Not good enough I’m entitled to a refund under the same of goods act
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
I bought a small generater in the clearance sale from the Southend branch, unfortunately it had a fault & as this was a discontinued clearance item it couldn't be exchanged, but the staff especially Mike went out of their/his way to source another we could rob the affected parts off. Really pleased with the level of customer service, it would've been far easier to just offer me a refund. Would recommend.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Very rude customer service. Constantly talked over the top of me and repeated fake facts in a condescending way. Then had the cheek to hang up 3 minutes into the call without allowing myself a chance to talk
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Machine Mart is rated 1.8 based on 249 reviews