Metro Bank Reviews

1.5 Rating 81 Reviews
11 %
of reviewers recommend Metro Bank
1.5
Based on 81 reviews
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone
Visit Website

Write Your review

Tell us how Metro Bank made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
The worst bank ever . At the beginning it was ok but now for many months he can not pay by card because the bank immediately blocks his account! This is abnormal!!! Without any information or inquiry whether it is his transaction block his account and that's it! He called the bank many times in this matter but it did not help! Currently, he has a blocked account from over a week, for over a week he can not use the account, for more than a week he should not eat because where to get the money if not from his account? He did not use the account and when he checks the account balance on the application, there is less money every day, often the account is in the red!!!! And he doesn't do any transactions during that time!!!! I do not recommend !!!
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Poor customer service. They can't even update contact number.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
I’m getting my money out of Metrobank ASAP. Not only do they keep on freezing my current account sometimes leaving me with NOTHING to live on when there’s a balance of over £8000 in my current account, but when I tried to make one particular transaction in the branch in Solihull ( where I opened my account ) late the same night they actually sent Stratford on Avon police in to raid my home , accusing me of being insane and party to a fraud ! This is now in the hands of my barrister from Nexus Chambers, the chambers of Michael Mansfield QC, and by the time I’ve sued them for compensation as I’m ‘ terminally ‘ ill with cancer, Metrobank will cease to exist !
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Metro bank are an utter discrace. They are offering products that they cant give due to their executives have decided to use cheaper options. For example they now own rate setter but they refuse to communicate with them so things like credit cards and loans cant be taken out. This is false advertising and fraud. All customers should move from this bank immediatly. Also Metro bank has made the decision not to be a part of open banking meaning they can abuse customers without consequence.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
poor customer service in bank transaction - they are not friendly and act like they are not happy to help. they keelp you waiting and when you it's your turn they make you feel that theyre just doing their job. same with call center, agent is always in a hurry even if the questions have not been answered.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Metrobank has the worst customer service. I currently working abroad and I called the customer service hotline requesting to change my maiden name to my married family name. I called many times and event sent a copy of my marriage contract but after 2 months of waiting and calling again and again, still there is no progress on my request. As an OFW I advice you not to have any connection or account with this bank as it is very difficult to do transaction, you spent so much credit on calling for simple request but they will not try to help you in any way. instead of moving forward to give the best customer experience and smart updated way of banking, this bank still remains in prehistoric age of dinosaur! worst bank!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Unprofessional bank stuff
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Dismal everything
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Metrobank online too slow when doing transactions! I can’t even transact in an hour I kept on tryin’ its always hanged can’t rely on.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
AWEFUL company! never will i will be with them. I am still in the process to log in my account. They cant fix the MP-6digit mobile verification. They treat you like a ball in a pingpong. Talk to main customer service then the local branch and different answers. Both areas will tell you to do it with main then local and no right answers all guessing! Did not solve any problem! I communicated through email and call. So dumb!!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
I definitely do not recommend this amateur bank to anyone! They have received some awards, but the quality and professionalism of this bank is below the post office in the average country. Employees do not know their product, cannot operate an application for cellphone created by this bank (amateur app!), cannot solve problems with Internet access for long months, ignore customer e-mails and complaints, do not know English, employee are absolutely not educated (maybe elementary school). Branches are not branches because employees check everything BY PHONE! They don't know the Internet, they don't have computers - nobody knows anything only how to take your money. Outrageously slow action and ignorance in every ward! This bank is a scandal!
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
The Bank has stopped my card for no apparent reason.Ive been trying to contact them for 2 days by telephone.They just do not answer the telephone
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
I tried to pay cash into my isa account the cashier said there something and he could not do it.The money was paid into my current account and I thought I would transfer into my isa when I got home.I was unable to transfer the so I telephoned Metrobank.10 waiting to speak to a person,she could not help and transfered me to second person another 15 minute wait.She was helpful but I was cut off.That could have been caused by my mobile.25 minutes just to talk to a person would help.Frustrating.I closed my isa now.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
This new metrobank online program is a total useless non user friendly disaster. Who designed it should be fired as incompetend
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Not happy with customer support. They can not solve any of minor problems. Any. Useless. Send me to visit one of branches. But nearest one in a different town. They very easy lock your account, once you forgot your password. I have accounts with other uk banks and can compare. Service not easy and not friendly to customers. Last time i speak with support by phone and gave her feedback, girl interrupted me and said I don't know what you talking about, what you want. Metro bank, i want you to listen to your customers. This is what i want. Looks like soon will tell you good bye
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Shouldn't receive any star!!!! The worst bank ever! I was getting paid by my Employer every month since 5 years Last month I didn't received my wages... When I called Metro bank customer services I was told that transfer been rejected by them as it's doesn't match name in the system... I'm foreigner and believe me - impossible to meet someone with same surname as mine in here....!!! I was advised to call my Employer ( who has another 400 employees on payroll) and advice them to make another bank transfer with name as appear on my card.... I did what's been advised... and guess what... after waiting over 48 hours ( as Staines branch manager advised that this is time for transfer to arrive to your bank account - if you banking with Metro!) transfer been rejected again! As name didn't match my bank account. It was matching for 5 years and suddenly stopped.... If you want to receive normal transfers ( max 2 hours wait) please categorically avoid opening account with Metro bank!!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Absolutely awful service. Spent two hours in the lobby just waiting for staff to speak with me. I tried to open an account as a Ukrainian and they spent half an hour searching on google if I come from occupied territory or not. After I provided the official UK government page for Russian sanctioned territories the manager said we do not care about UK guidance because we are a US owned bank follow our own rules. The manager promised to follow up on the matter with the head office and get back to me however it has been 3 days and the manager is not replying to any of my email.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
This bank opens your account on the basis where you were born, No matter how long you stayed in UK, what passports you got Today i went to open an account when the staff checked my place of birth on my British passport, he went inside and come back and told me that because i born in a different country. We can not open your av account straight away. There is a different process for you. When i challenged him then he blamed to FCA. I will complaint against Metro Bank.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
i requested a interest rate reduction for my home loan, KIM M. of loan fullfillment help me(that's what i thought). After two request, She was able to give me 0.5% reduction(from 8% down to 7.5%). Advice me to send the necessary document and pay for amendment fee before the deadline she gave, that is without giving me how much would be my new monthly amortization. To make the story short, i was able to fullfil all those requirement ahead of time. Then make follow up and ask her how much will be my new amortization rate. To my surprise, really surprise, all my expenses considering amendment fee, gasoline and toll fee is pretty MUCH bigger than what i can save with the new monthly amortization. WTF. This person(if she really is) don't know how it feels to be fooled. Imagine she wasted my time and effort for nothing and I knew she now it. I know KARMA today is already digital, i just hope that she will not encounter this kind of fooling in the future.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Outdated practices. One has to go to the branch where the account was opened to update a contact information. You need to call their hotline once your bank has updated your record. Of course, you wouldn't know that right? There is no alerts.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Metro Bank is rated 1.5 based on 81 reviews