Metro Bank Reviews

2.26 Rating 23 Reviews
30 %
of reviewers recommend Metro Bank
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone
Visit Website

Write Your review

Tell us how Metro Bank made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
The old online banking was so much better than the new one! You was not limited to what you can do. The best part of the old version was you can search a transaction and see all the payments you have made to that one person, now you have to go through each month and search the transactions one by one which is time consuming. I have never hated a online banking app so much untill now!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
We are a New Business so of course would like to set up a Business bank Account. This is our first start up business venture. Metro bank says - "Banking for businesses that put people first...." Also Metro bank says – “No we don't want any newly set up business as a customer....” After being declined online, Obviously, this brand-new business entity does not have a credit history - it’s a few weeks old. I rang a lovely person at Metro who was very polite. She said Metro bank has run a credit search and declined because we do not have a credit history. Me - Ok - but how do we work around this because (a) we are a new business and (b) we want to become a customer of Metro Bank. Metro bank – “No way......”. So – at some point in the future with hardwork/blood/sweat & tears willing - our new business has a very credible & solid credit history - I really must remember to switch and bring all our money and give it to Metro Bank.....(I do love a bit of sarcasm......) Good Luck to Metro Bank for the future - our paths will never cross again....
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Not recommended When there is a problem they would not fix it and will mess it up with really awful customer service. This does not make up for the longer opening hours etc. I would not recommend this bank as you will need a bank that sorts out issues and not make it worse. I have an issue currently where the bank is holding MY money £500 in a holding account and said it might take 6 months to get it back and they would not give me any update.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
i used metro bank for the loan rate of 4.8 but saw a better one at tesco bank but already committed to metro so it is ok but better rates are maybe available elsewhere
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
I am a business customer. The new website is appalling! Hard to navigate. Impossible to printout recent transaction. In order to print out the Payment Successful screen, you have to high light the info that you require. If you just right click and select print you get 2 pages of the side bar headings. While RBS displays the payment date on the Payment Successful screen MetroBank doesn't, why not? Already have accounting software why are you trying to sign me up for some thing else? Security - no card reader unlike other banks. Login screens have been designed by programmers not users. Cannot recommend. Thinking of changing banks.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Staff are not up to the job of providing commercial banking. They freeze bank accounts without notice or reason. Dishonest, disrespectful staff incapable of dealing with regular commercial banking business. Under no circumstances should you bank at Metro Bank if you are a small business.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Awful customer service.. just non existent..
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
AVOID THIS BANK! Day three of my account being frozen I have no money to eat, no money to pay bills, it is a complete failure on their part. Their security department is unreachable and they will not help me in my time of need. Safe to say all faith has been lost in this banks ability to problem solve. Waiting fifteen days for a solution is nowhere near acceptable. This procedure clearly needs a review and they need to sort their internal communications because a security department that is unreachable is ridiculous. My mental health is taking a serious hit from this situation, having to borrow money and hope everything works out in time and I don't fall into rent arrears and into late payments, I have tried my hardest to stress this is a very serious matter for me but every person I speak to simply says unfortunately there is nothing I can do for you at the moment, they just don't seem to care about the problems they are causing me! Please do yourself a favour and avoid this 'bank' at all costs!
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
They mismanaged my online account and were very difficult to deal with. Eventually they paid me £75.00 as compensation but I would have preferred to have had better service at the outset.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Really terrible experience.Banked with Metrobank for 8 years & due to Covid19 needed to switch my business from a Fintech to a high street bank to access Government supports.They had declined a business account a few years back(My business had a non payment from a client and loses due to this in excess of 200k which we are currently chasing in court. Obviously this has caused myself and the company many problems and affected our credit file) I had contacted the Managing Director Ian Walters to appeal & his colleague had informed me that the extra information I supplied would be taken into consideration-aside from a hard credit check. The Customer Relations Director Nick Simon suggested I reapply in branch during lockdown, I forwarded him many details of the reasons for the issues on credit file. Went to the meeting the representative in the bank had no knowledge of the situation or extra information, did a hard credit check and simply brushed me off with another declined application. What I felt was particularly awful about this was Nick Simon let it slip in an email after this that the decision was predetermined the previous week by the regional manager. Therefore it’s easy to conclude this meeting was totally pointless and I can only assume it was for their own amusement. Shocking experience to have my time totally wasted, while attending pointless meetings during lockdown with no consideration towards the extra information I had supplied. This was the basis of my contact to the Managing Director Ian Walters in the first place. Aside from this I haven’t been able to access and funding for my company as there are huge waiting lists with other banks and many have stopped opening business accounts to focus on both their existing personal and business customers. I used to have a great deal of respect for Metrobank and their business model. I have notice standards slide in recents years, which is perhaps why they are no longer doing as well as they had been. My advice for anyone looking for a banking partner would be to look elsewhere. You may not get free Lollipops in store, but it’s highly unlikely another bank will make a fool out of you and ask you to attend a meeting in which they knowingly plan to refuse your application; as it was already decided the week before which they were in full knowledge of and clearly admitted to me afterwards. I like most other people am just trying to save my business and take care of my fiancé and 2 year old son. Could of handled a flat no, but the level of disrespect I received by this bank and the imposed superiority the banks staff so falsely try to act with, is despicable.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Appalling account opening procedures. Staff are poorly trained and have no power to make decisions for themselves.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
AJ is amazing. I’ve never had someone put so much time and care into helping me set up an account. I couldn’t recommend anyone more if you need help or guidance he is the man for the job !! I will be back to use metro bank he has proved this is the best bank and provided the best service
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Has anyone received mobile calls from strange numbers after applying for a Metro Bank savings account? A few days after I applied I started receiving calls from Uganda, Tunisia, Argentina, Moldova, Albania, Georgia, Senegal, Switzerland. There were others but I have deleted them from my phone. I did not answer any of the calls. They usually only rang once. Possibly thinking I would call them back? It just seems a very strange coincidence this should happen at this time. Not sure I feel happy enough to continue with the opening of the account.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Do not use. Opened an account but for some reason they are unable to text me so I cannot use online banking or access my money. They are also unable to close the account. At this point unclear how I ever get my money back. Appalling customer service.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Too painful to deal with - avoid
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
I went for opening an account (Saving and Business) with them. I met a gentleman called Ajay Bhatti. what a great service he provided. he has done a wonderful job, and comfort me well. All the best.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Always polite
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Despite several phone calls and emails, I have still not been able to withdraw cash from my account, I have been scammed and yet nobody cares that MY LEGALLY EARNED WAGES are being held hostage by your bank, how can I give you what you are asking for if I have no way of getting it, what you are doing is illegal and morally and ethically corrupt, these are my LEGALLY EARNED WAGES from B&M that you are preventing me from accessing, I have now had to resort to using a food bank and am unable to pay my electric bill and water bill, I realise that in the grand scheme of things I may not be important enough to your bank as I don't have millions invested in you, but what you are doing by holding my LEGALLY EARNED WAGES from B &M is WRONG or do you only care about getting richer off the backs of poorer people ? Give me back my LEGALLY EARNED WAGES
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Metro Bank is NOT FIT FOR PURPOSE. Used them for 3 years for my business. The Aylesbury business manager makes lots of promises but never actually does anything, let alone get back to you as promised or responds to emails or voice mail. Not sure what the purpose of that person is but he most certainly should not be a "Business Manager". Have now moved my account to Santander who are very responsive and actually care about their business customers
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
I've found Metro bank great because: 1. Very easy and hassle free opening an account and get cards and everything immediately. 2. Fantastic opening hours up to 8:00pm weekdays and 5:00pm on Sundays. 3. Easy online banking and anytime i have contacted them their staff have been very helpful. What's to decide?
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Metro Bank is rated 2.26 based on 23 reviews