Metro Bank Reviews

1.4 Rating 133 Reviews
9 %
of reviewers recommend Metro Bank
1.4
Based on 133 reviews
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week
Visit Website

Write Your review

Tell us how Metro Bank made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Metro Bank 1 star review on 12th March 2024
Anonymous
Metro Bank 1 star review on 12th March 2024
Anonymous
Metro Bank 1 star review on 12th March 2024
Anonymous
Metro Bank 1 star review on 12th March 2024
Anonymous
Metro Bank 1 star review on 12th March 2024
Anonymous
Metro Bank 1 star review on 15th October 2023
Your Worst Nightmare
Metro Bank 1 star review on 26th April 2022
Overseas Worker
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Has anybody attempted to use their online job application form? I will say no more other than it is totally consistent with the thousands of other reviews criticising their other systems. Avoid.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
The worst bank ever!!! Customer service is the worst. You cannot get your own money. They will look for nonsense documents!
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Metro transferred over £3000 out of my account to a holiday company despite telling me the payment was unsuccessful. Because I was told it had not gone through, I then spoke with the holiday company direct, booked and paid for the holiday over the phone. This payment went through. What I did not realise until a week later was that the original payment did go through. I have been left £3000 out of pocket and told I have to wait for The holiday company to send the money back. Madness. I error was made by Metro, so they should refund me and then get the money back from the Holiday company. It is a disgrace. Their error and I am the one out of pocket. Metro have messed up.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Avoid this bank. Worst experience of my life.
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
MetroBank Banawe has one of the worst service, went in at 2:45 to pay a bill, current number they were serving at that time was 80, had to wait 45 minutes just for 5 numbers !!!(my number was 85) the branch currently has 3 tellers and it takes what? 15-30 for 1 transaction per teller?!!! staff are busy talking to each other
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
Garbage service. Ask you were you got your money, why you want it, and cant use it at Atm or to order goods online. they keep asking questions and seem to think I speak Chinese or something or else they are brain dead. takes far too long to get answers. meantime if your hungry and need money for food tough luck. They make you feel like you stole the money or a a scammer. Likely a scammer would have no problem as only the legitimate card holder seems to have issues. Sick and tired of this bank already. card is nothing but trouble one way or another. Sorry I ever went to their bank. I only left Santander as money was being taken out of my account and they refused to stop the payments and effectively they allowed me to get ripped off. A bank that wont stop someone nicking your money is no good to anybody. With Metro it seems that the gedtapo grill you when you put money in or take it out and they stop your card for no reason and then take ages to tell you why the card is useless . To say I am angry is an understatement. Avoid this bank like the plague.
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
Used ATM at Dumaguete Paseo Perdices location twice on March 25, 2023. First withdrawal was fine, an hour later I tried to make a 2nd withdrawal and machine started making that flipping noise when they’re out of mine. Screen then said withdrawal amount would be adjusted, but then it spit my card out and went back into the “Ready for next customer mode” with flashing green light. I stood there for several minutes, but assumed there was no money in machine and walked off to side due to long line behind me. I observed the next customer put their card in and start inputting their code and then their transaction seemed normal. I assumed my transaction had been voided but that night when I checked my account I saw that a second debit of 10,000 pesos had been made. I called my bank and filed a complaint but two weeks later they emailed me that Metro Bank claimed that the funds had been disbursed. They had not been! At least to me, the customer who stood there for 5 minutes waiting for my cash to come out. I’ve since found several reviews from other foreign customers stating that they too didn’t receive their funds but did get debited for the transaction. I am still pursuing the process of receiving my funds or having the debit reversed. When I went to Metro Bank in Dumaguete they gave me a laundry list of things I needed to do to file a claim. I am currently doing that, though with little hope of success. My advice is NEVER USE A METRO BANK ATM!!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
The worst customer service ever. People are very unprofessional. I have experienced way too much inconvenience. I have problems with my online banking transactions way before same issues all the time just because their system is flopped they have to transfer me all the time. I regret opening an account with them.
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
Since moving to Scotland, where Metro Bank have no branches (closest branch about 180 mile away). We managed to change our address on most of the accounts; however they refuse to change the address of an account my wife and I set up for our daughter who is currently 17, even though they changed it for my 13 year old son. They have a policy that anyone over 11 must go through verification on the phone to be able to change the address. My children do not have access to the accounts we have set up for them (Young Savers Account's) as they'll be getting access once they are 21 as a nest egg for their future. The only other way is for Metro to send my daughter a "magic word" so she can set up online banking for an account we don't want her to have access to yet, which she full agrees with and wait for it they will send the "magic Word" to our old address!!! I've spoken to seven separate individuals and requested for a manager to call me back; however their managers appear to be avoiding the issue and I have not received a call back. My wife has now received a a text message saying that unless we change the address on the account they will lock the account.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Terrible bank. People can't make payments into it without great difficulty, and MetroBank accuse you of fraud evey time you have a payment coming in which means you can't get access to your money. They don't comunicate with you, so you're left to deal with it yourself.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
They where supposed to send me a card by Saturday of last week , no card nobody ordered it Evan though I was on the phone for 3 hours!! Finally ordered the card promised by Tuesday, no card nobody knows what happened. Customer representatives disconnected me several times!!! Now they are saying that I have to go to the company that charged my card without my consent and get the reimbursement. Metro bank has a money back guarantee that they are refusing me for some reason!!! Another supervisor just argued with me theee where not charges from Netflix , argued for -5 than saw them and transferred me . I know find out that the 3 hour conversation I had about charges that where not my own was never filed!! Cannot be true because several times this week I spoke to different representatives and they all saw the open case but all of a sudden this so called supervisor can’t find it?!!! Seriously what is going on in your company?!!! Just horrendous service!!! Once again I’m on the phone now for hour 3!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
For your own safety do not register or open an account with this company because once you invest there you would get a message telling you to pay more before withdrawing your funds before you know what’s up your fund is stuck there but with no way to get it out. Hold on it doesn’t end there cause I needed my revenge This made me try a recovery service, Resuc, Org I came across off various forums and blogs online. This is the only way I can guarantee to recover your money, you can contact them,,,RESUC,, ORG they found out a lot about the company and i got my funds back
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
BEWARE - DO NOT APPLY FOR A BANK ACCOUNT WITH METRO BANK. I just wished I had read the reviews before submitting my application. Gave them tons of personal information which I am now worried about what they might do with it. Got confirmation the account would be opened but within a couple of hours got an email to say they wouldn't be opening the account after all I am now extremely worried that my personal information will be sold to a third party. I would advise anybody who is looking to open a bank account not to use Metro Bank how they have got a banking licence is beyond me they really need reporting to the fsa. If there was an option to give a zero star rating then I would I am reluctant to leave them even a 1 star rating!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Metro Bank blocked my account just before Christmas. I have provided all evidences they asked for and yet the won't unblock my account. The sad thing is whilst my friends from other banks are spoken to on the phone and are asked to upload evidences through a document portal with 24 to 5 days turn around, you'll have to send Metro Bank the documents through email with 7 working days turn around. After the 7th day, they won't bother to contact you. Its just horrible 😞 😢 😪 😔 .
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Im fuming. Got blocked out of my account on Christmas day for receiving money from a friend and my girlfriend. Then they asked for me to send their bank statements???. What???? To prove it wasn't fraud. Ive been with the bank for 10 years. Ive received payments from the same accounts for years. 2 weeks later still have not been able to access my money. But they still accepted my wages to go in, which I can't access either. I have been left without money for gas electric or food. Disgrace.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Outgoing payment held by Metro Bank and I have had to wait a combined 3 hours on the telephone to resolve matter, still unresolved. They kept passing me from 1 team to another. At a point after waiting on the telephone for good 50mins, customer service rep dropped the call. If I could give no star, I would. Poor service and staff are very lackadaisical the way they respond.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
My local branch is Uxbridge. Staff are unfriendly and some services nor available. Eg: if magic money machine is out of order, cannot deposit more than 5 bags of coins. But other branches are accepted. Staff said that its branch policy. But nothing written to explain at counters or Uxbridge branch. I have decided to switch my banking to barclays bank. Very disappointed
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Worst experience with a bank, Metrobank Cabuyao branch..grabe naubos ang oras and sobrang init wala man lang proper place para sa mga tao in line waiting para makapasok, nasa line na at 1pm...number 44..since malapit lang kesa masunog sa bilad ng araw umuwi ako and bumalik after an hour...my god!! Number 9 pa lang nasa counter ..hb na mga tao..nakapasok at 4pm...number 17 pa lang ang nasa counter...oh my..METROBANK CABUYAO pakiayos ang serbisyo at konting concern naman sa client na nakapila sa labas...
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Metrobank sta elena too slow ang mga teller, should provide extra teller Kung maraming Tao. Wala na magagawa mga customers nasayang na lahat ng oras sa pag aantay. Dapat iniintindi nyo mga customers na marami pa kami dapat gawin at hindi sa loob ng banko mauubos ang oras namin. Kung single transaction dapat may bukod na teller, parang sa groceries may basket lane. Yung iba need na gumamit ng toilet, yung iba natutulog na. Sana maim prove nyo service nyo, malaki oras at pera nawawala sa amin Kung ganyan katagal ang services nyo. Ganun din sa inyo tingin ko. Alam nyo na dapat gawin hindi na need ng ipaliwanag, matatalino naman kayo.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Bad experience from the start.. Went twice to their Branch just to open an account with them.. Compared to other banks, their interest are nothing.. you’re money won’t grow.. waste of investment.. no rebates.. This bank gave me so much anxiety with Bank Transfer issues too!! Even tried to apply for Credit Card since I already have Savings Account with them, total waste of time because they just rejected my application! When I finally decided to move/transfer to another bank, they charged me more P1k for closing my account with them.. Worst banking experience ever!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Metro Bank is rated 1.4 based on 133 reviews