Metro Bank Reviews

1.5 Rating 81 Reviews
11 %
of reviewers recommend Metro Bank
1.5
Based on 81 reviews
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone
Visit Website

Write Your review

Tell us how Metro Bank made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
darkwebprogrammer@gmail,com are legit when it comes to hacking funds, they got me $15,000
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Company very poor performance. Reseting password is impossible. Instructions on website not accurate. PLDT phone offline for 2 weeks. Does not answer emails for months. Updating mobile phone & mobile, offline. Not sure when it will resume. Head of Branch clueless. If you are abroad, beware of Metrobank. Impossible to communicate and resolve issues. Very poor performing bank.
Metro Bank 1 star review on 26th April 2022
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Not suitable for businesses. Relationship managers change almost monthly. Hamza who was ours was completely clueless.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
beyond belief awful service - 3 months to open an account and still counting - took a photo of one of the account holders and then complained it dignity look like them - STAY AWAY - would give zero stars if possible
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Metro bank restricted my account without informing me, they block my account for no reason. I called 3 times and everytime they said we will email relevent team to contact you which they didn't, then i called and told them want to close my account with mero, next day they emailed me saying after carefuly reviewing your account we are unable to continue banking with you so we gonna close your account. I didn't do anything wrong, i used my account only 5 months and i only used for shop on amazon but today i went bank and the guy said he can't see the reason on the system but it says i breached terms&conditions. He didn't give me my money back and he said he has to fill the form and send it to the head office then they will transfer the money to my other account and he would only do it if i give him my other account statment and god knows how long that's goning to take. I checked online and Metro bank is blocking all the iranian's bank account in UK without explaination. They are descreminating UK residents because they born in iran and i born in iran as well. I opened this account in 2018 but just at the end of september 2021 i started useing it, first time my account got blocked when i was buying something on etsy and this time they block when i was buying on amazon. i am a disabled person and this is how metro bank discreminated me. I have a bank accounts with Barclays and Santander for so many years and they never treated me like this SHAME ON YOU METRO BANK I HATE METRO BANK
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
Metrobank is so cold-hearted and ruthless. I requested multiple times for the reversal of a late charge because I paid 25 hours late due to the reason that we were hit by biggest typhoon in the Philippines and got rejected all the time. No compassion and consideration for regular people because BUSINESS for them is BUSINESS. Totally disappointed!
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
I waited to review my safe box deposit nearly 50 minutes today
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
Hello was in Fulham metro to day staff not helpful very rude
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I'm in disbelief that these people are allowed to treat people this way and stay accredited. Please never trust these people with your money. their own staff are trained to fob and lie to customers. Their supposedly amazing customer service has disappeared, this is what drew me to them 7 years ago when I switched. Big mistake, I have since learned the smiles are there to mask the lack of willingness and ability to actually help the customer with any solutions. And after tonight's interaction I can see that they have given up bothering with the niceties too. The straw that has just broken the camel's back for me is that I have just called in the middle of the night as I have been ripped off by a faulty cash machine and was treated so awfully by their representative named KWAME from the card security team, who did nothing at all to help and tried to fob me off the phone. Obviously anxious, I asked him to leave a note on my account so that when i call tomorrow this can be verified as I cant afford to lose the £70 through lack of detail, I practically had to beg him for this, i then realised it was because he couldn't be bothered to go through security with me to actually access my account despite speaking as though he knew who i was and had my account open in front of him. When he reluctantly does so, he says he has left a note on my account and starts talking about a "cash advance" something i have never heard of and had nothing to do with my enquiry, he then retracts his statement and repeats back my predicament in minimal detail I then asked him if he could record that I asked him to note the cash machine's postcode. He tells me he can't do this and this is not how it's done or how he was trained. HE told me that the cash machines details are already recorded on the system and that he has the postcode in front of him, I tell him that i just want to be able to verify that i have made contact as soon as i possibly could to which he got aggressive and impatient. I ask him to read back the postcode he has in front of him to check it is the same as the one i got from the premises he then starts stuttering as he has been caught in yet another a LIE, the postcode was not there and he refused to note it on the account. at this point I ask to speak to his supervisor, he tells me there is no supervisor on the floor, so I ask him how I make sure his supervisor will know that it is he that i am talking about when i complain or call back in the morning. He claims that his details are on my account, he gave me no verifiable information for the follow up, I ask him if calls are recorded and he said yes and you can request that recording, so I do and it turns out that was a lie too. At this point im both irate and worried for my finances in the middle of the night. I asked him for his supervisors name, he refused, so I tell him what I have noted from the phone call so I know what to say when i call tomorrow and he hung up on me, leaing me wondering how will I survive if this goes wrong. I'm shaken and worried about my finances, the machine has taken £70 from my account and not dispensed the cash, this is a lot of money to me so I made sure to call the bank as soon as I got home, after checking my banking as i can see the transaction and that my balance has gone down. That money pays all of my utilities/ bills and my weeks food for both me and my disabled mum, in fact i take it out in cash so that I know to be careful and not overspend which is easier if you physically have the cash in front of you and can see how little you have left after each purchase. I honestly don't know what I will do if this money is not returned quickly. Please do not trust these people and let them put you and your family in this much uncertainty, distress and be treated so poorly.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I have always found metro bank to be a good bank. Whenever I have had to go into my local Chelmsford metro bank I have always found the staff to be happy helpful and just really nice people. I'm not very good with technology and they are always patient with me. Nothing is too much trouble. Also when I have have needed to call the bank I have always found the person to be nice and polite. Great bank.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Erm so they don't have like a support email you can write them to... Which is extremely frustrating cos I hate calling over the phone. And there are like several generations now that don't do calls only email and text and yet no email or online chart. What a joke! And!! I wanted to send them a complaint about this but guess what you can't email them your complaint either...you can call them or write a handwritten letter... what a joke of a bank...
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
This is the worst bank! I have made countless follow up for cheque pick up but they always send me templated response, or worse they never respond at all!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I have been waiting for 3 months for the cheque pick up request from my refund that has been processed for a year!!!!!!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Do not like the metro bank new online. It’s absolutely ridiculous and does not work with all browsers. Gone into the branch asking to open an account, 3 hours wait. Rude lady spoke to me. I used to love Metro bank now it’s gone down the drain.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
My account got locked. I live overseas and due to pandemic, I can't even use my money as Metrobank atm have only limited access to certain few countries. Been contacting the customer service since August! No reply. NO reply. Now I even can't access my account as the bank had changed phone app policy!! Very poor service!! I would not recommend Metrobank bank!!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Never have I ever felt so hopeless, helpless than when I walked into the bookkeeping area had a conv. W/ a young gentleman @ reconciling my acct for 2(two) discrepancies on or about Wed the 10th Nov 21. WHY do you make it the acct holders responsibility to call the business of said fraudulent activity? It's likely not going to heed success. The position if customer SVC will be more likely to have such financial expediting return. I still have not called the 2 businesses where my own $, not the criminals, was taken out for the benefit of the criminal. My account continues to go into OD mode and now I know why! But ...I'm only the pieon!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I was scammed by an online merchant imitating official government website. I didn’t receive anything but a fake passenger locator form with wrong name hours after my flight. I raised concerns with the customer services as I thought it was a genuine government website and they stated they need bank details to verify my ID but no charge was declared. Many passengers fell victim and issued successful chargeback with their banks. Not Metro Bank which took the side of online fraudsters. Needless to say the website doesn’t even exist as it has been removed by Greek authorities. I received a letter from Lauren Tipping from Metro Bank “respectfully suggesting” me to go to the merchant direct. This despite several unanswered emails which they have on record but haven’t read. I’ve tried to call Metro bank and was transferred from one clueless adviser to another for over 1 hour and 20 minutes. Total shambles. Regardless of the outcome I’m going to close my account with them. This is no longer serious bank with competent staff.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Poor customer service!!!! I am trying to change my phone number from their call support / email support. I sent documents through email and even confidential documents multiple times just to have it fixed, for nothing! They were not able to help me!!! So now i cannot access the money in my acct since they switched to that new website that is sending out that one time password through phone!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
They keep on taking money out from the account during a transaction without you knowing they've taken it. If you are not going to keep tabs on your transactions, you would not notice they've been taking money out from you for facking Free
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
The old online banking was so much better than the new one! You was not limited to what you can do. The best part of the old version was you can search a transaction and see all the payments you have made to that one person, now you have to go through each month and search the transactions one by one which is time consuming. I have never hated a online banking app so much untill now!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
We are a New Business so of course would like to set up a Business bank Account. This is our first start up business venture. Metro bank says - "Banking for businesses that put people first...." Also Metro bank says – “No we don't want any newly set up business as a customer....” After being declined online, Obviously, this brand-new business entity does not have a credit history - it’s a few weeks old. I rang a lovely person at Metro who was very polite. She said Metro bank has run a credit search and declined because we do not have a credit history. Me - Ok - but how do we work around this because (a) we are a new business and (b) we want to become a customer of Metro Bank. Metro bank – “No way......”. So – at some point in the future with hardwork/blood/sweat & tears willing - our new business has a very credible & solid credit history - I really must remember to switch and bring all our money and give it to Metro Bank.....(I do love a bit of sarcasm......) Good Luck to Metro Bank for the future - our paths will never cross again....
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Metro Bank is rated 1.5 based on 81 reviews