Nationwide Reviews

3.19 Rating 69 Reviews
57 %
of reviewers recommend Nationwide

Write Your review

Tell us how Nationwide made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Using their visa disputes service was an awful experience. Their methods of communication are arcane, unprofessional, unbusinesslike and with silly mistakes. If you complain the response is generated by being judge and jury ie they judge themselves favourably . Their ratings are heading south and they seem to be quite unfazed by detrimental reviews.
Posted 1 week ago
They are scum, u can have a mortgage or account for years, avoid, avoid, avoid! 🤮
Posted 1 week ago
If I could give 0 I would. At Christmas a glitch from my partner’s personal account meant his share of the mortgage didn’t go through, though my share did. Nationwide’s response? Move us into the standard mortgage rate. Apparently it happened last month but no one told us. This is pretty typical of them to be honest. Don’t bother using their online forms, nothing get through to them from it. Since our Covid payment break ended they’ve sent us letters every month to say our mortgage is in arrears when it isn’t. You get mixed messages, no one says the same thing as each other. A few years ago, we both had good jobs and good credit and they take our overdraft off our joint account - to this day we have no idea why. They contacted and text my partner about my credit card - I didn’t register his number when I set it up so data protection clearly means nothing. I have never seen such a shambles before.
Posted 3 weeks ago
After trying for months to get a refund from my travel agent regarding Covid pandemic cancelled flights, I was advised to try section 75 as I had paid by Nationwide credit card.What a waste of my time and effort.I filled out on line forms and providing photo evidence of flight e tickets and travel agent apology letter.After 8 weeks I received a letter from Nationwide who required me to provide evidence of the cancelled flight! The fact that in June there were no flights anywhere this seemed to be a ridiculous request.Take my advice,don’t count on Nationwide to get you your money back.
Posted 1 month ago
To start with, this organisation advertises itself as not having to look after shareholders. It doesn't need to make a profit, just a surplus (it makes a HUGE surplus). It claims to be here for its members. Why, then, did it close the Cookham branch, which had been open for many years and was the only 'bank' in the area? How did that serve its members?
It offers puny interest rates whilst pretending to look after those who are long standing members (in my case +35 years) and there are a number of building societies who offer considerably more on sign up. To transfer money to new payers involves using a little plastic machine, which stops working after a few years. When applying for a new machine, one is told by this gracious organisation that it will be given free (expect it in 3 days) but future machines may be charged for. 8 days later, I'm still waiting.

Thank you, Nationwide, for a lovely 30+ years, but there are other institutions which offer far more. Most of my money is now going to STARLING.
Posted 1 month ago
Thanks nationwide, took me 10 min to open an account,and got my new account straight by a text message... 👌👌👑
Posted 1 month ago
Have been a customer for a number of years however payments are being declined despite more than adequate funds this seems to happen on a regular basis now. customer service now a long way from what it was ,seems its my fault spending my money on a long-awaited night out. cheers again for freezing my card I really enjoyed the long 8 mile walk home in the pissing rain
Posted 2 months ago
this company is a bunch of crooks who blocked my card and

charged me 12 pounds late payment fee with a balance of fourteen
pounds and never notified me
Posted 2 months ago
Rude staff member asked me where did I get the cash I was depositing . None of her business. I"ll be closing my account soon . Can't stand this bank ..good riddance.
Posted 2 months ago
Diifcult to deal with I would reccomend going elsewhere
Posted 3 months ago
Worse bank EVER!!! I would never recommend this bank to anyone!! My son as had nothing but hassle ever since we went to the local branch to open him a account up, hes only 17, so myself and my son popped in, we both took I.D ( i took mine for my own piece of mind and in case they requested it ) my sons passport was in date, took all needed letters also the normal stuff proof of address etc! He received hes bank card, was able to use it a few times, then hes card was blocked, so called the local branch said come down and we can look into this for you! We did, the manager, said they couldn't see any problems and to wait 24 hours, and call the number on the back of the bank card, ( as my son still has money in hes account ) called and said yes no problem, we will lift the block we waited another 24 hours, still the same problem! Blocked, went back to store, then was told the passport was out of date!! ( LIE LIE LIE ) IT WAS IN DATE A DAY OR 2 before it ran out! So again the manager, said there SHOULD BE NOOOO PROBLEM not to be able to use the account! Called again.. The help line what ever it is... And still will NOT unblock the card!!!! What a joke it is!!! No one at all wants to help and you STILL have my sons money!! Unfortunately hes nan, who is pretty old wanted to send him a early birthday gift and added funds in to that account, ( instead of mine ) and now we need to try and work out how to get all the money out of hes account and just completely CLOSE IT DOWN!!! like what more do you want!?!? BLOOD!! I'm fed up of me and my son been passed from person to person going over the same thing again and again!!! I hope other people, bank with any bank BUT this one! Now have to spend my morning making more calls, to see how we can get this money back and to just close the account!! Thank you for absolutely NOTHING!!! nation wide. Fuming
Posted 3 months ago
THE WORST BANK EVER!!!!!
They are so so bad, I completed a switch application from Natwest to Nationwide, two days later nationwide declined my application which i was fine with and took it on the chin.. not like i dont have an account with 3 other banks. Well nationwide STUPIDLY did not cancel the switching process like I**TS. 9/10/2020 a large sum of money went from my natwest account and my natwest account was shutdown meaning it had gone to Nationwide.. 6 days later nationwide are saying they sent it back when natwest are saying they have no funds from them recived so where has my money gone? into the AIR? Lydia from nationwide customer services is the only person who is trying to help me calling me everyday and emailing back and fourth for me. I have no problem going to court about this nationwide f***ed up majorly and even natwest are saying they have messed up majorly. If i dont recieve my funds back from nationwide after the stress they have put me through i will make them go through hell like i have the past week with all my money taken out of my natwrst account. such a bad bank sosososososososo bad no one dare try switch to this bank stay with your bank!
Posted 4 months ago
Bad, bad service. They threatened to close my account when k couldn't open another. The reason = a relationship breakdown due to their horrible service!
Posted 4 months ago
Brianna Johnson was very helpful in answering all my questions about pet insurance
Posted 5 months ago
Have been sent emails for years saying how easy it is to get an online account.
I am fully computer literate, run payment proxies, and have an online account with another bank that gives me no problems whatsoever.
However, my income was arranged with Nationwide and I have been completely unable to get an online account throughout this pandemic. This has forced me to walk to cashpoint and use cash because I cannot check my account online. I'm in my 60s and there's a pandemic going on. I have given them every verification, contacted them by phone, and have been sent a number in the post, but I still can't access my account because it requires a card reader that they have NOT sent me, even though they said they would. Bravo, Nationwide, and I mean that most sarcastically, you are the most obstinately useless service I have ever encountered. You will never get access to the bulk of my money and the services I require and I will get rid of you as soon as I can arrange it.
I've communicated with this company by live chat, email, and telephone, how come this review site only offers one option?
Posted 5 months ago
Spoke to Claire at Ramsey Cambs branch who is a credit to Nationwide. She has always looked after my mum and showed real customer service. An absolute brilliant service from Claire thank you
Posted 6 months ago
A real Nanny Bank. As others are beginning to say this is moving quickly into the awful bank category. Very over zealous in freezing accounts. My on line account has been frozen over a month as they 'thought' i was been scammed over one payment. They never inquired about my disabilities or virus shielding issues that preclude getting to a branch. I have had no ongoing update.
Posted 6 months ago
Worst bank ever ,after i have done my tax return they blocked my card and for 6 weeks i couldn't use it ,im also after a cancer treatment and this situation broke me down
Posted 6 months ago
Have been with Nationwide about 5 years
Quite simply, I cannot fault this company for it's service, clarity of product information and friendliness of staff both on the telephone and face-to-face
Posted 8 months ago
I reported fraudulent activity in Jan 2020 where NBS were unable to retract funds from the third party. Upon negotiating with the third party to recoup funds I notified NBS of the defrauded funds crediting my account in the third week of March a week prior to the transaction so they are aware of the situation. A week later my account was frozen and the funds were taken out by NBS without any warning or consultation. I was alarmed as I kept NBS in the loop as to circumstances of the fraud and negotiations to have the funds returned.

2 months later they then decided to freeze my wife’s and parents Nationwide accounts, again without warning or a phone call and have spent endless hours trying to get to the bottom of their negligence and unprofessional staff in their Fraud Support team. My nightmare lives on as I trying to get answers only to be asked to email the Account Review Team who have not responded in over 3 weeks.

To request information they have asked me to complete a SAR which they’re meant to legally respond within 28 days and have failed to do so and then asked to bank elsewhere whilst they hold my funds.

Please stay well clear from Nationwide and do not waste your time and effort with a reckless bank who have zero consideration for the well being of their customers in such horrific times. Shame on NBS!!
Posted 8 months ago
Nationwide is rated 3.19 based on 69 reviews