Poppy's Picnic Reviews

4.9 Rating 1,806 Reviews
98 %
of reviewers recommend Poppy's Picnic
4.9
Based on 1,806 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier
Average Delivery Time
Next Day
On-time Delivery
100%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
100%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Nice food. My dog loves it but she requires over double what was calculated using poppys calculator. Which makes the food much more expensive than I had originally thought.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Hi Natasha Thank you for the review... We've tried to contact you through a curiosity call and email. It's great to see that your dog loves our food. However, we are disappointed to see that you are feeding double. This seems unusual. If you let us know when you are free, we can check if you have used the correct calculator and assist you. Much Kindness Debs and Poppy
Posted 1 month ago
Amber seems to love her good and it arrived promptly so I can say that so far so good. However something I ordered was missing from my parcel plus the food was cold but soft. I email to query if the food was supposed to be frozen and if it was safe and also to let them know that the dental sticks I ordered were missing. I got no response which was disappointing.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Hi Jessica & Amber Thank you for your feedback We are disappointed to see that you had an error with your order and received no response from an email you sent. I have searched your email address in our system and was unable to find an email from you. I emailed you immediately to see if you could forward the email you sent to us. This will allow us to see why we didn't receive your email. It's important to us that all emails are responded to promptly. We look forward to receiving the email. With regards to the cold but soft food, we have emailed you our guidelines and a response to the missing treats. It's great to see that Amber is loving her food. Please let us know if we can help with anything else. Much Kindness Debs and Poppy
Posted 2 months ago
This latest batch of beef mince doesn't seem to have much veg or other ingredients in it. Its usually quite visible in previous batches, but this time looks like a lump of tinned meat. I also sent an email saying it was unfair that because I don't have freezer space to make a free delivery value order, I have to pay delivery charge every 3 weeks. Surely there could be a discount for repeat custom to compensate? The email reply I got wasn't answering my original question. Felt like a standard response, not actually listened to.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Hi Jo Thank you for your review. We welcome all feedback on our products or service. We currently offer free delivery for orders over £65. If you have restricted freezer space, maybe find a neighbour or local friend who would be able to combine orders with you - taking the total price over £65 - and save on the delivery charge that way. We know many customers who successfully order with us under this arrangement. It also helps the planet as it reduces packaging and carbon footprint. Much Kindness Debs and Poppy
Posted 4 months ago
Sadly she wouldn’t touch either of the flavours I bought. It did not look very appetising, being mushy greyish balls but then that’s a human response. I gave it to a friend whose dog loves it,
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Hello Thank you for your review. We do aim to please everyone - dogs and humans alike - and we use all feedback like yours to improve our product. We don't add gas to our packs to keep the meat artificially pink, and this can make for an unfamiliar sight. I am glad to hear your friend's dog enjoyed the food and we are very happy to know it did not go to waste. Good luck on your raw journey. Much kindness Debs and Poppy
Posted 4 months ago
Lovely products but the biggest problems are the packaging department and the supplier of the meat ( butcher). Too greasy too much fat and extremely dry sometimes.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Hello. Thank you for your feedback. Our meat is sourced from a range of local suppliers and we work closely with them to ensure we can trace back any issues if required. We always encourage our customers to email our customer service team if are any packs or deliveries which don't meet with expectations. It is important to note that we focus on purchasing British meat which can result in seasonal variation, and we do not buy meat from all over the world purely to make a consistent product all year around. It's great to hear you like the products! Much kindness Debs and Poppy
Posted 4 months ago
Good quality of food for furry friend but i have had a few issues of late with food arriving damaged or just being left on the door step in full view not safely as specified by DPD, the food that was damaged was changed immediately which was excellent customer service but I expressed my concerns a while ago about not receiving the full amount of food I.e 450g in pack, I measure them out to split up and they are very rarely the full amount they are usually around 425g or 433g which over time adds up to quite alot missing, I'm not sure why this happens as surely it should just be weighed to 450g then packaged!!! I like the company but to be honest with the issues I have with food amount and the delivery process ie food damaged/ wrong amount, sometimes defrosted, DPD not very good at leaving box safe and now the prices are creeping up I may have to look for an alternative company to be honest.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Hello Charlotte Thank you for your review - it's great to hear you are enjoying the quality of our food. I have passed on your observations regarding the pack weights to our production manager for him to investigate. We are sorry to read about your ongoing frustrations with DPD and its delivery service. We will pick this up with them on your behalf - I urge you to complain to them directly as well as we find it often helps to have both company and customer get in touch with them about these issues! Much Kindness Debs and Poppy
Posted 5 months ago
Bertie did not like the food, it arrived brown on the top and red in the middle he has vomited a couple of times since trying a bit, whether dit was the food or just a stomach upset that I don’t know.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Michelle & Bertie Thank you for the review - We're sorry to hear that Bertie has been unwell - we hope that Bertie is feeling better now When you contacted us you didn't mention that Bertie had an upset tummy... We may have been able to help with a feeding plan or help with the transition from dry to raw. The discolouration in our meat is completely normal. We don't use nitrogen in our packs of mince. This means that once the mince is exposed to air the colour can change. Our ingredients can make the meat appear to have a slight tinge. This is due to the green cabbage, kelp, parsley and spirulina. Sending lots of love to Bertie Much Kindness Debs and Poppy
Posted 1 year ago
Unfortunately my dog would not touch it
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Patricia Thank you for the review We're disappointed to see that your dog hasn't enjoyed our food. Our Customer Care team are always available to offer help, support and tips on transitioning. Please contact us if we can help in any way. Much Kindness Debs and Poppy
Posted 1 year ago
Purchased this food due to it being bone free, was disappointed to find its not. Additionally to subscribe actually works out more expensive than purchasing as a one off, go figure! Other retailers are the other way round, purposely to encourage repeat purchase.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hello Anonymous Thank you for your review We were sorry to see that you had a piece of cartilage in your food As previously mentioned this is in fact cartlidge and not bone Our subscriptions do offer 10% off and the added peace of mind that your order will be delivered on a regular basis,so you never need run out of food. If there is anything that we are able to help you with in the future please let us know Much Kindness Debs and Poppy
Posted 1 year ago
Arrived quickly. I have been using for a week now. Convenient meat balls. My dog likes the boar a little but refuses the chicken completely. I have tried it raw, cooked it and mixed it with biscuits - nope. Only one of the packs came in eco packaging (this is the reason I chose this). I would also like the address to return the large amount of insulation polystyrene please - this could be printed on the box or possibly picked up during future deliveries. Thank you, Sharon
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Sharon Thanks for your review. Oh we're pleased to see that your pup is enjoying our wild boar...... chicken can vary sometimes , dependant on the seasons. You can return the polystyrene to us by requesting a label which we email to you. We have a page on our website dedicated to returning your polystyrene. Also, at regular intervals we message out as a reminder. If customer care can help you with anything , please let us know Much Kindness Debs and Poppy
Posted 1 year ago
Delivery and presentation excellent. However, unfortunately my dogs wouldn’t eat it.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hello Jacqui Thank you for the review..... sorry to see that your dog didn't enjoy our food Our customer care team are always available to help with any guidance needed and feeding tips. The transition to raw , and or getting use to a different recipe can take time. If you would like to speak to me , please message in and let me know Much Kindness Debs and Poppy
Posted 1 year ago
Delivered on time, everything well packaged and order all correct. Unfortunately neither of my two dogs seemed that keen, I don't know if they have gone very fussy, but they are not eating their portions with gusto like they did when I first put them on Raw.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Carole Thank you for the review - Sorry to hear that your two dogs aren't enjoying their Poppy's Picnic If you would like to speak to our Customer Care Team we'd be happy to talk through tips with you Much Kindness Debs and Poppy
Posted 1 year ago
Our dog wouldn’t eat it raw so we had to cook it, but she only ate a little bit.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Karen Sorry to hear that your pup didn't want to eat our food raw. We do have lots of tips on our website and the customer care team are always on hand to help and assist you The transition period can be different for every dog. If you would like to try again then please let us know and we will help you. Thank you for your feedback Much Kindness Debs and Poppy
Posted 1 year ago
Carton can not be resealed and I had to put it into another container.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Martine Thank you for taking the time to reply. Our food has to be sold in sealed packs to comply with DEFRA (lids aren't allowed, or removable and sealable film). We will be selling (and giving away for free with subscriptions) a container for your fridge soon - but do have a look in your local supermarket or on Amazon. Very best to you Debs and Poppy
Posted 1 year ago
My puppy won’t eat the raw food
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Janette Thank you for the review - If only you had contacted us - we would have been able to help and assist you. That's what we are here for ... Our website is full of helpful tips and tricks for pups / dogs just starting out on their raw feeding journey. Much Kindness Debs and Poppy
Posted 1 year ago
Although the food is good quality, I ordered a chicken dish for my dog who is allergic to red meat, only to find that the ingredients include beef offal. This information was not on the website.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hello Pauline. Thank you for letting us know that you find our food of good quality. We're sorry to hear you could not find the ingredients list. As I mentioned on the phone all our ingredients are listed on each of the product pages under the 'ingredients' tab. If we can help you with anything in the future please let us know. Much Kindness Debs and Poppy
Posted 1 year ago
My dog likes the food. One concern I have is when the food arrived it wasn’t in an ice pack. I would like to be sure it’s still safe to feed my dog as this was the case.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hello Claude Thank you for the review and your feedback So pleased to hear that your dog is loving our food We don't use ice-packs - our insulated courier boxes have been specially designed for 48 hour transport time, and each pack keeps the other pack cold - a bit like when we huddle together to keep warm! The food is safe to pop in the freezer ,defrost as and when you need it and perfectly safe for your dog to eat. Our customer care team are always on hand to help you - if we can be of any more help please let us know Much Kindness Debs and Poppy
Posted 1 year ago
The packaging and the service is great…The food itself is quite sloppy compared to other raw food I’ve used. Our Frenchie licks this food up, others he chomps and eats as normal…It's like a paste that you spoon into the bowl. Maybe batch issue.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Joe Thanks for the review and your feedback- Our different recipes can come in different textures - dependent on the range and variety I can see the dates of your orders and can report we haven't had a batch issue. Please let us know if you would like to try any of our other ranges for your Frenchie..... We would love to help and talk you through them Much Kindness Debs and Poppy
Posted 1 year ago
Quality of the meatballs was very poor - nice idea but would be improved if better quality meat was used instead of puréed meat
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Oh no! Let's sort this. Firstly we would never ever use 'pureed meat' in our award winning meatballs. We only use human grade ingredients (and due to the downturn in restaurant use we are currently using Angus steak in our beef meatballs and local Wiltshire lamb). Our ingredients go through a mincer which needs to be a certain size to make sure the bone is suitable for smaller dogs. I will bring up your comments with our production team and hope we can sort everything out when you next order. Much kindness x
Posted 1 year ago
I made my first order with Poppy’s Picnic following the feature on James Martin’s Saturday Kitchen. Quality of the fresh meat and treats is very good and our dogs love it, however, the order was incorrect and after leaving a voicemail we have still had no response. Quality is great, customer service......not so great !!!! Hopefully we’ll get a response following a further email!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Poppy's Picnic is rated 4.9 based on 1,806 reviews