Simple Moving Labor Reviews

4.37 Rating 1,167 Reviews
82 %
of reviewers recommend Simple Moving Labor
Read Simple Moving Labor Reviews

About Simple Moving Labor:

At SML, we take the most stressful part of your move - loading and unloading your rental truck or storage unit - and make it simpler than you could ever believe!

Visit Website

Phone:

866-767-5348

Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Movers arrived unprepared. Very disappointed.. No fault of their own. Told the person booking what I needed and totally disregarded what I said. I repeated it many times. It was just unloading a truck. I had to provided my own dollie to help the movers out.. Again, not their fault.... Lastly, it was an act of Congress to get confirmation....I called several times and they could never get the person (Anna) who I talked to. Very unprofessional. Didn't have a problem taking my money .....doubt I would use again....Workers were great but everything else is lacking.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
I had requested more than 3 movers for the project, but was only given 3. They also did not bring any supplies, like ropes or material to lay down on the floors to roll the dolly. The project took longer than expected, however, the last 4 hours of the project, only 2 of the 3 movers actually helped. The third mover (DeAndre) was asleep in his van because he was "tired". I also had discovered a woman had been in his van the entire day laying, after a pizza was delivered to the home for her that none of us ordered. Myself and my colleague had to work the entire day to help the team complete the project. I am extremely disappointed by the quality of work from the 3rd mover, and would not recommend keeping them around to help.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
The guys called and asked if they could arrive quite a bit early which was fine. I gave them flavored waters and they seemed efficient and fast. However when I went to unload, what a disaster. The fellow in the truck put things clearly marked with red "fragile" labels mashed in between other boxes on their sides, underneath heavy items, every which way. I could also feel that the load was uneven as I started driving. I heard the other guy reprimand him one time, "Those are ROCKS!" as the guy in the truck set my rock collection bin right on top of a stack of fragile boxes. But--there they sat. I had given these two guys a huge tip, too, which I now regret. I couldn't see the way things were loaded until I moved the bookshelves near the door. They were nice fellows, and fast, they didn't forget or drop anything, but did an irresponsible job packing the truck. They should have stacked the heavy banker's boxes and put the fragiles on top at the back. The more experienced guy should have taken the kid aside and set him straight. Whatever their hurry that morning, it cost me a decent move and broken items. Not happy.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Unprofessional, somewhat lazy. No uniform. One of the workers smelled of booze.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
The movers don’t show up til the very end of the window and then charge the whole time.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Your website states that the movers will come with dollies and tools, mine came with neither. This resulted in the movers being very slow, basically bringing in 1 box at a time. This is not good when I am paying by the hour and the job ended up taking about twice as long as I expected it should.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
We are sorry the crew did not bring the recommended tools or dolly. Thank you for letting us know so we can update your account Alex. When able, please reach out to discuss your account further. at 866-767-5348.
Posted 1 month ago
I was told 2-3 hours, and in the past (5 moves in 8 years) this is about what it took. Loaders took over 6 hours, (more than doubling the cost) didn't bring tools, shrink wrap, or proper dollies. Not happy at all.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Not a great experience. Not only were they several hours late, but they didn't know how to pack a moving truck and wouldn't take direction/suggestions. At the end, all of our stuff didn't fit. When we unloaded the truck, there was a ton of space in the back of the truck that could have been filled in as I suggested.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Truck was packed inefficiently requiring repacking 2/3 of the way into the move and then resulting in a full truck when a few feet had been guaranteed by the lead mover (to finish packing from another location). I provided a substantial number of moving blankets (they were not all used). Several items of cloth furniture were left very dirty due to failure to cover necessitating retention of a cleaning service.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
The mover were so fast and they didn’t organize the stuff and they were in hurry I paid for 2 and they did only 1 hour
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
They were late and the supervisor had an attitude right away. He acted like he was doing us a favor. I told Him that he was suppose to have 3 movers and all the equipment needed for moving and he acted like he didn't know what I was talking about. I had to show him the contract. He then told me he could only give me two movers for two hours and maybe an extra half hour. I was not happy. I had to call SML and complain. He was told to stay and finish the job. He was very rude and told me that I didn't have to call the company. He said that he would do the job without my call. He worked three hours and 15 minutes. I let him go early because I did not want to deal with him any more.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
My loaders were fine. Showed up on time. One (the lead loader) was great. The other was just out of high school and had some trouble moving the furniture, but was okay. The unloaders NEVER showed up! They called about a half hour after the end of their scheduled arrival time saying they were lost and about an hour away. I gave them the address, but they said they didn't have a working GPS so would not be able to make it. SML never offered to send a replacement, so we did the whole job ourselves. Will never use again.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
No crew leader appeared until job was over. Truck was not loaded per your information on the website. The job, which took over 3 1/2 hour could have taken less had the individuals worked in tandem. Most of the time 1 individual stayed in the truck while the other loaded boxes on a flatbed. Left dolly outside when they could have used dolly to move boxes. To move my furniture they did not use blankets provided until they were loaded on the truck. My dining room chairs were not covered and damage was sustained. People should be made aware that you are just a middle man and contract out your jobs to other moving companies. Had I known this up front I may have not used your company. Will I use your services again, the answer is no.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Moving team showed up on time and moved rather quickly for the first half or so. Then they started really taking their time and ended up damaging several pieces of furniture and didn’t bother bringing it to our attention or apologizing despite hearing them discussing among themselves the damage they had done. I’ve moved several times loading and unloading this furniture myself but one time with this crew and I have some banged up things to show for it now… Probably my last time using SML.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
most of the wood furniture was damaged. numerous boxes (at least 20) were marked top/do not stack, were stacked. furniture that could not come apart, and they were told NOT to take them apart were broken apart. clowns.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
We are sorry to hear this. Looks like you have been in contact with our customer support team and we sent over the claims process email a couple of days ago - Don't hesitate to give us a call if you have any questions.
Posted 6 months ago
Movers were late. Supposed to arrive between 1-2 pm, did not arrive until 2:25pm. They were friendly, but were extremely slow. They seemed very out of it when they arrived, which seemed to wear off throughout the two hours, so got better as the time went on. The one lead gentleman was good at packing the items into the truck, but the other two really were simply just muscle. I would not hire again.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Sorry to hear it did not go well. Don't hesitate to reach out to discuss your account with our staff so we can try and make it right.
Posted 6 months ago
My movers showed an hour late. No one called and I had started unloading myself. This caused extra charges for truck rental. Supervisor was to call and make it right, but of course that never happened. The movers were nice, but the company is disappointing. Luckily there were only boxes and no furniture involved in my move.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
The first crew arrived with no lift straps. We offered them 2 dollies, which they refused to use. They unwrapped all of the furniture we prepared for the move. Every piece they unwrapped is damaged. I watched one mover stack and drag the drawers from our dresser across the truncated domes of metal in the truck. I watched him repeatedly slam and scoot a bench against the top of the dresser, cracking, chipping and rubbing off the finish. These movers intentionally damaged multiple pieces of furniture. Multiple pieces have multiple chips, scratches and gouges. The unloading crew was great. Showed up with straps and even placed and unwrapped the furniture for our inspection. One commented, "What a shame. Some people just don't know how to do the job." This company needs to set norms for the safety of the clients' property and the movers. We will not use this company again.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
My experience with Simple Moving Labor was not so simple. Before the move I had several contacts via phone and e-mail with the office. Each time they had entered the address incorrectly, and I corrected it for them. I received a phone call that they couldn't find my location based on the address. (They could've done a quick search on google maps to verify the location.) After correcting my address with them three times, I received a phone message less than a week before my move date saying they had finally figured out where I lived, didn't have a loading crew in the area, a crew would have to travel over two hours to get to me, so they would not be doing the move. This, despite the fact that their website showed sml servers in three towns roughly 60 miles from my location. The manager that called me offered extra discounts if I ever needed their services in the future. However, this company has lost my confidence.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
The movers at my move out location broke the legs on my hutch and never told me. The movers at my move in location found the broken Legg’s and sent pictures along with my account info to SML and I never heard anything back.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Simple Moving Labor is rated 4.37 based on 1,167 reviews