Simple Moving Labor Reviews

4.43 Rating 942 Reviews
84 %
of reviewers recommend Simple Moving Labor
Read Simple Moving Labor Reviews

About Simple Moving Labor:

At SML, we take the most stressful part of your move - loading and unloading your rental truck or storage unit - and make it simpler than you could ever believe!

Visit Website

Phone:

866-767-5348

Write Your review

Tell us how Simple Moving Labor made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Hired this company to load our moving truck. Three men showed up and loaded the truck. Later that night I noticed missing property. I called the company and they don’t care. DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY!!!
Posted 2 weeks ago
Our move was across states and started out with three inexperienced movers who were booked for two hours but took almost four hours and in the process packed the truck where metal legs of tables were rubbing against wood furniture tops despite providing blankets that we had bought specifically for the move. They did some damage to the corner of a wall coming down the stairs which would have been avoided had they covered the furniture with a blanket. If not for my husband directing them, they would have done more damage to the house. They broke off a piece of furniture by attempting to push it when it was not fully on the truck. 13 pieces of furniture were damaged in the move and despite filing out a claim report and even receiving a claim number, the claim has not been resolved in three months. I have called over a dozen times with no answer and no response to the voicemails I have left. I have emailed numerous times with no response. It has become clear that they are simply avoiding this claim. I do not recommend this company and it is unlikely that they will post this on their "Our Reviews" page.
Posted 4 weeks ago
Their workers try to milk the clock and if you don't let them, they will walk off the job. They also do not come professionally dressed or with proper moving equipment.

If I could give a NEGATIVE rating, I would.
On the day of the incident, I spoke with 3 SML CS Representatives in reference to the "movers" (I use this term lightly) who "helped" (if that's what you want to call it} with my move the morning of Saturday, September 5, 2020. However, I was very upset and learning in real time all the items that had been damaged so I'm I was all over the place when speaking to a rep.

The morning of the move, one mover showed up at 9:01am (M1). The other showed up at 9:15am (M2). Not a problem - their arrival time was between 9:00 - 10:00 but it's still unprofessional.
All items had been broken down and were on the first floor in the family room and dining room except for two - a dresser and a chest. My main reason for purchasing a hand truck through Penske.
A full bag of blankets was shown to M1 and a blue tarp cover was draped over the sofa. I asked M1 if he wanted me to tape the tarp to the sofa, he said "no, this should be fine." The suggestion was made for them to use the blankets when moving my buffet, 2 china cabinets, dresser and chest. I only saw them use 2 blankets while moving items. The rest were stuffed in between items once on the truck.
I reminded both movers of the blankets and suggested to both users BEFORE they attempted to move the dresser to use a hand truck to move my dresser from upstairs to downstairs. They declined. This resulted in the big hole that is now in the back of my dresser.
I asked both movers to put the 9ft sofa and the tall china cabinet on the truck first. They declined. By the time they decided to put these two items on the truck, they had run out of space and had to move things around - they didn't lift these two items up and move them - they slid and dragged them from side to side/up and down THEN shoved blankets in between them.
I had a 16ft truck. Because of their unorganized packing, they couldn't fit a few items on the truck. M1 told me the charcoal grill, 2 small wicker chairs and a wicker loveseat and a 35' flat screen wouldn't fit. The patio furniture fit in my sister's truck, I left the flat screen for later and I was prepared to leave the charcoal grill, but, when I came back outside, it was on the truck. I later found out while unloading the truck MYSELF, that they had broken the handle - I have no ideas where the piece is to try to screw it back together.
The sofa, they somehow put a huge gash in the leg. I was on the phone with a representative while my sister and a Uhaul employee helped unload the truck so I couldn't get a picture of it. I noticed it while they were shoving it in and out of the truck to make room for another item.
I had two tall 5 shelves bookcase. NOW, I only have one. I found out while i was on the phone with SML that they had broken one of my bookcases in HALF.
Before we take off to go to the storage place, I show M2 the address to the storage place. I called out the name and address to M1 - he said he had it. They left in separate cars ahead of me. My address is 10-12 minutes away from the storage place. I drove the truck. I took a longer route to avoid turns and I drove slowly. So, it took me 15 to 18 minutes to get there. I STILL arrived before them. I call M1's phone - no answer. My sister and I open the truck to get started and M2 finally show up. He explains that M1 was pulled over by a police officer for a "stop and roll" M1 shows up 5 minutes later and says nothing.
I explained to M1 that I would like the heavy stuff to go in the back of the storage place and if he and M2 could get the heavy stuff, my sister and I will take care of the little stuff. He says fine and goes back downstairs while I continue to take some small items off the cart to place in the storage place. Meanwhile, my sister was waiting for the elevator when she ran into M2. She explains to him that we have a lot going on and a lot to move so could we please move a little faster. She comes upstairs to tell me that she thinks he was holding up the elevator because she was waiting for it for a while. I finish talking to my sister and moving some items around, I leave my sister to go back downstairs and that's when I find both of the "movers" by their cars.

At first, I don't say anything. I just notice they're on the phone. So, I take out my phone to call SML, but instead, I walk over to say something to them. After asking them SEVERAL TIMES "what's wrong", "what happened", "what's going on" and getting NO ANSWER - neither one of them could look me in the face, that's when I heard the SML representatives voice say "well, we still owe a service to this client" M2 responded "well, we are not going to be able to complete this move" and he hung up on her. They got in their car and drove away.
It has been 3 weeks and I still have no clue as to what happened. I sent in a claim form a few days after my move and I haven't received any new information, just a cut and paste copy of their claims policy.

WORST EXPERIENCE EVER!
Posted 4 weeks ago
We used Simple Moving to supply people to load and unload us on our move from Wisconsin to Indiana. It was the worst experience we have ever had. we have moved 16 times in the last 25 years due to our jobs and we have never had such incompetent movers.The packers did a terrible job. They did not know how to pack a truck, things were all over when we opened the truck. The unloaders simply didn't show up, we were told they couldn't be contacted and they would "try" to find someone for the next day. We ended paying some neighbors to help us unload. Do not ask these people to supply your loaders. Get your own!
Posted 1 month ago
DO NOT TRY TO USE SML. DO NOT LET ANYONE YOU CARE ABOUT TRY TO USE SML. I paid for help that Simple Moving Labor (SML) left me without on my move day. SML was unreliable, uninformed, unprofessional, and falsely advertised their services. 08/18/2020, I used SML’s online system to schedule a three-man team for my 09/04/2020 move. 08/21/2020, I called SML to validate my online confirmation, and verify details regarding moving a piano and the associated fee. I was told I would receive a call before the team arrived 9-10AM ET on move day, which did not occur; 09/04/2020, I called SML shortly after 9AM to make sure the crew was on the way. Each of the three men arrived individually by 9:30AM, were not friendly towards me, nor one another, and were not aware of the details of the move, per the paperwork in their hands. After I explained the move needs and walked them through the property, the team was unprepared and unwilling. They were not getting along with each another. Minutes later, I discovered one of the crew had left, while the other two leaned against my move truck, offering no explanation – told me to call SML. I called SML and was further appalled by the lack of communication and accountability; SML management informed me they were not insured to move the piano and generally unable to complete the move, as previously confirmed. The remaining two workers left without speaking to me, while I was on the phone with SML. What kind of company hires a crew that walks off the site without warning… SML should be ashamed. I, then, had to find my own replacement same-day movers. I certainly learned why SML rates are lower – it matches the quality of their service. I am currently awaiting full refund from this joke of a company, which does not right their wrongs. DO NOT TRY TO USE SML. DO NOT LET ANYONE YOU CARE ABOUT TRY TO USE SML.
Posted 1 month ago
My movers showed an hour late. No one called and I had started unloading myself. This caused extra charges for truck rental. Supervisor was to call and make it right, but of course that never happened. The movers were nice, but the company is disappointing.

Luckily there were only boxes and no furniture involved in my move.
Posted 1 month ago
Very professional, friendly, careful and caring.
Will use them again and pass the word on.
Posted 1 month ago
This was the worst experience we have ever had with a moving company. After they arrived almost 7 hours after our scheduled time, the 3 guys wouldn't take their ear buds out, and were constantly looking at their phones. They totally disrespected our belongings, dropping, throwing and unwrapping our items. They were extremely slow, and had no idea how to load a truck. We had to rent another truck and storage for the items they didn't fit in the truck. We now have to rent another truck and fly back to AZ to pick up the rest of our belongings. There were many items damaged, and then we were charged additional fees because they did such a terrible job. I would never recommend this company, and neither would any of our neighbors that saw the type of work they were doing.
Posted 1 month ago
I live in an apartment in White Plains New York. My friend in the same building I live in recommended SML after she was ecstatic with her move. So I hired SML for a very "simple" move. I moved from the 8th floor to the 7th floor. had a full size bedroom dresser, high boy, a large mirror for the dresser, one drop leaf table, a large dining room table and one TV entertainment center.
I originally hired SML for 2 hours but lo and behold, they were done in one hour. You heard right, ONE HOUR!

My wife and I are extremely happy with the professionalism AND the expediency the 3 men were.

Thank you SML and I will hire you again!
Posted 2 months ago
They don't actually move your stuff, they send other company's (presumably subcontracted) to do the move. They don't check the quality of the movers they use and (at least in the Metro Detroit Area) are not worth a plugged nickel.
Posted 2 months ago
The 2 men who loaded my Pod were incompetent to say the least. a 2 hour job turned into over 5 hours. In the very beginning I pointed out several large items that were optional to take depending on space including 2 older couches. When they said they would not fit I posted them for free on Marketplace. 3/4 of the way packed they fit them in. Shortly after they asked me to point out which other items were not priority - majority of it was. Told them to remove one of the couches since the other one was buried which of course took more time. Still ended up leaving a truckload of items behind which I paid someone to remove since we were leaving right away. Left behind kitchen table, full bed frame, chairs, 10 x 12 carpet I was assured would fit and many, many household items I now need to replace. It was exhausting and exasperating. We set out for the first leg of our 14 hour drive 5 hours later than we planned. When I contacted customer service in the next state I was told there was nothing they could do since the loaders weren't still at the house. Said they would have worked with them during the process. Seriously??? If they need a babysitter to do their job correctly they are not right for the job. A manager left me a message 4 days later that I would be credited 10% so my $250 load was now only $600. I cancelled the unload job planned through them. The grand finale was 8 days later when the Pod arrived to find numerous items broken and damaged. Unused blankets thrown in at the end while wood furniture was scuffed, scraped and damaged. Light containers stored under heavy ones were crushed and broken. Newly hired unloaders were shocked at what they found. Contacted customer service again only to be emailed a form for damage claim with another company. BEWARE they only cover damages done WHILE loading or unloading - NOT during transit. So no matter how poorly the Pod was packed it is not their responsibility! Find a smaller, local company at each end of the move who stands behind their work and cares about your belongings. It was an expensive lesson for me.
Posted 2 months ago
Let me summarize what the problems were- EVERYTHING! DON'T do it! If you use SML you are going to have your time and money ripped off. Now looking back at the whole process and problems with SML I feel pretty stupid for having used them in desperation to get a sooner move date after they screwed me out of the move date we had initially agreed on and for which signed a service contract had been done. I also erroneously thought I was getting a better price...until I figured out they had ripped me off resulting in an astronomical total charge of over $1200 collected from my checking account in 3 different increments including an unexpected charge of $675 the day after service to move a single box truck full of furniture that about 30 minutes away. They did not keep their word on a single detail.
I moved to a tiny house of about 800 sq ft so I only moved enough from my storage unit to fill the 800 sq ft except for 4 items of furniture that I had them off load to a storage shed about 20 feet from the front door of the house.

I know the following text has some grammatical errors but I am trying to get this out as quickly as I can in order to hopefully keep others from getting ripped off and get myself back to work.
I will include some details in the body of this review in hopes that it helps some other poor customer keep from getting duped by these crooks. Details follow but the summary is this: They fumbled on every part of the deal. They massively overcharged me. There was a lack of transparency about the service contract and how the charges would be racked up. They kept me off and on the phone for hours. The crew was late. They overcharged me by several hundred dollars. The crew wasted an hour of time after showing up later than they had promised 2 hours before they arrived. They marked the invoice for a start time that was 13 minutes prior to their arrival. The third set of charges they took out of my account included being charged for the 13 minutes prior to arrival. I also got charged for the time they wasted trying to get the refrigerator through a door that was narrower than the refrigerator was wide according the tape measure. I initially spent hours on the phone with SML. They kept messing up the service contract such that I had to sign 4 different ones then they had they called the day after we finally had had a signed and accepted service agreement to let me know they wanted $125.00 more dollars than we had agreed on in the prior service agreements. Then after they had messed the service agreement process up thoroughly such that it took 2 days to get it done they had said they no longer had availability for a crew to move me on the day we initially agreed upon and would be the middle of the following week before they could move me. I gave up at that point and went back to calling my list of comparable movers at which time I found that they too were all booked up for at least 3 or 4 more days. I was on a time line. I felt like SML should try to help me given that they had basically screwed me out of the planned move date by way of their process and administrative errors. I called SML back, expressed my concerns, and asked to speak with a manager. I was then connected to a nice lady named Brandy in lower management who helped me at least get a move date only one day later than the one we had agreed on several days before.
I only actually used the SML service to move was because there was one very nice and professional lady there named Brandy that seemed to have gotten everything straightened out including getting me an earlier move date that I was able to get otherwise. There plenty of options for the move date I chose before I wasted my time on SML for 3 days only to be told there was no way they could get a crew there on the date indicated on the first 2 signed service agreement. Then on the day before the set move date they called, wanted another $125 and to ask if the crew could start between 8 and 9 AM on the move date. I already had plans related to the move that filled the morning hours up. I agreed to meet them at 9AM or a little before. I got there at about 8:50 AM to meet the moving crew and truck. They called me and said it would be between 10 and 10:30 AM before they got there. They arrived at 10:58 AM. I noticed on the work order sheet that they wrote the time down as 10:45 AM on a pre-filled invoice. I didn't worry about that little bit of a misrepresentation and cost until I discovered the SML had charged my account again for more than the original cost quote was altogether. The moving crew themselves weren't bad but they wasted almost an hour trying to get my refrigerator into the kitchen through a door that clearly was too narrow by way of the measurements. They took the doors off of the refrigerator and tried all kinds of angles but it was clear to me that it just wasn't going to work. After about 45 minutes trying they finally gave up, went back to the door that the prior refrigerator of the same size had gone through with ample clearance, and then put the doors back on. And here is the worst thing of all... the next day they billed my account for more than the initial quote they gave me and that I had already paid. Then when I called SML back and spoke with a manager named Sandra who was not pleasant and quickly assured me that SML was totally in the right here, emphasized the small print on the much belabored service agreement, and that I would get no further help from SML because as she put it "You are wrong!"
I should have stuck with the All My Sons Moving who I have gotten personal recommendations on but skipped over because when I called them back after SML botched the process including our agreed upon move date which caused me to start all over again the day before I was supposed to move. All My Sons and others were booked up for days past my move date. That is the only reason I called SML back and asked them to do the right thing and honor the initial service agreement and get me moved on the date we agreed on. Then I took the SML bait because they were able to move me only one day later than they had initially agreed on.
If you add up all of the costs associated with the move caused by SML including extra rent on 3 different places (was paying separate rent at hotel for my son who had been in Covid quarantine since coming home from Florida), the $675+ dollars above the agreed upon and reasonable cost for SML services, and additional weekend of utility charges, hours of time during the evenings and work day...all together this move to a tiny house with 4 total rooms 30 minutes away costed me over $2,000.00. Do yourself a favor and call ANY moving company other than SML.
Posted 2 months ago
If I could give this company 0 out of 5 stars I would. This is the WORST moving company, DO NOT USE THEM!!!!

All we used was the labor service, so the 2 crew members only had to pack and unpack our items. We had a full 2-bedroom apartment that we needed moved to a storage unit. The crew showed up with one dolly for the whole move. Took 45 minutes to move one couch and the whole moving process took 6 hours.

This company claims they are "professional movers", but they are anything but that. The movers were very young and slow moving.

We called to file our complaint the same day that they moved our stuff. Sandy and Robert (managers) said that there is nothing they could do for us since we did not call "during the moving process". If we would of known this, we would of done the move on our own or went with another company. What a joke. Again, DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY! Save yourself the anger, time, and money and go with someone else.
Posted 2 months ago
The first crew arrived with no lift straps. We offered them 2 dollies, which they refused to use. They unwrapped all of the furniture we prepared for the move. Every piece they unwrapped is damaged. I watched one mover stack and drag the drawers from our dresser across the truncated domes of metal in the truck. I watched him repeatedly slam and scoot a bench against the top of the dresser, cracking, chipping and rubbing off the finish. These movers intentionally damaged multiple pieces of furniture. Multiple pieces have multiple chips, scratches and gouges.

The unloading crew was great. Showed up with straps and even placed and unwrapped the furniture for our inspection. One commented, "What a shame. Some people just don't know how to do the job."

This company needs to set norms for the safety of the clients' property and the movers.

We will not use this company again.
Posted 3 months ago
I Was scheduled for 1-3pm Our truck was locked up without keys. Ran all over town to find a new truck and the movers called to let us know they were at the storage waiting for us. We explained that we we’re looking for a new truck and no matter what we will pay for the 2 hours plus whatever extra hours the guys would be on site and not to release them. Faye told me ok but they had another move at 6pm. We showed u at 2:58 no movers in site contacted them and they would not come back to help. I flew in from Houston and my move was a disaster. Thanks to Simple Movers for saving the day.
Posted 4 months ago
They were great for scheduling, however, WHEN they do make a MISTAKE no one responds. Broken antique said claim would be 20-25 days, been almost two months, no response. Very valuable piece and they said they would pay 0.6 cents per pound? For an 1880's sideboard in mint condition? OR WAS in mint condition. Would never use them again. When someone does a wrong they need to fix it. I am going to put bad reviews wherever I can. No one answers phone or returns the messages left. I am super ticked and considering a lawyer. That is what went wrong!
Posted 4 months ago
Moving date: 12/3/2019
My use of Simple Moving Labor was for a 'simple' move of 3 pieces of furniture all within the same city. The contract was done via email/phone. Simple Moving showed up on time, loaded the 3 pieces, went to the 'unload' location, unloaded the furniture AND placed them in the location as I requested. They also put my 2 pieces of old furniture in the garage so it would be easier for me to put them outside on trash day. I have no complaints and I would gladly use Simple Moving Labor again.
Posted 9 months ago
My experience with Simple Moving Labor was not so simple. Before the move I had several contacts via phone and e-mail with the office. Each time they had entered the address incorrectly, and I corrected it for them. I received a phone call that they couldn't find my location based on the address. (They could've done a quick search on google maps to verify the location.) After correcting my address with them three times, I received a phone message less than a week before my move date saying they had finally figured out where I lived, didn't have a loading crew in the area, a crew would have to travel over two hours to get to me, so they would not be doing the move. This, despite the fact that their website showed sml servers in three towns roughly 60 miles from my location. The manager that called me offered extra discounts if I ever needed their services in the future. However, this company has lost my confidence.
Posted 1 year ago
I moved from Pennsylvania to South Carolina and hit traffic delays along the way. Reuben, the coordinator, called the morning of my scheduled unload to confirm all was ago. I told him I might be on the late end of the hour window I had been given for my movers to arrive. He kept in touch with me along the way and had them waiting for me when I pulled in. Anthony and James were wonderful - attentive, careful, knowledgeable, personable. My money was well spent. I not only look forward to moving my belongings out of storage, but having Anthony and James back to do it will be icing on my cake!
Posted 1 year ago
Scheduled arrival for 2 laborers
was 2pm to 4pm. Workers arrived 3.5 hours later. Found out contract labor subs called at 6pm to schedule same day. Poor communication on SML part.
Posted 1 year ago
Simple Moving Labor is rated 4.43 based on 942 reviews