Simple Moving Labor Reviews

4.39 Rating 951 Reviews
83 %
of reviewers recommend Simple Moving Labor
Read Simple Moving Labor Reviews

About Simple Moving Labor:

At SML, we take the most stressful part of your move - loading and unloading your rental truck or storage unit - and make it simpler than you could ever believe!

Visit Website

Phone:

866-767-5348

Write Your review

Tell us how Simple Moving Labor made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Had four teenagers show up at 1:55 fro a 1-2 window. Whatever. As we were working, they stood there watching us, not offering any help. When we finally told them what to do, one watched the other three teens almost drop a squat rack on top of a priceless family heirloom.

They took offense when one was told to “get your hands out of your pockets and help”. Then they left. Completely unprofessional, unprepared, and did not come equipped to lift a finger.

This entire setup feels like an elaborate mousetrap. They were there to milk the clock and had no intention of ever lifting heavy items or listening to their customers.

These were not movers, these were children and acted as such. Them quitting within five minutes of arriving was a blessing in disguise. I called a couple friends over and we completed the entire load in 2.5 hrs. I’m confident the “movers” would have damaged walls, personal belongings, and didn’t have the experience to make everything fit into two pods. Abhorrent experience.

Look elsewhere for moving help.
Posted 4 weeks ago
Trying to confirm a booking for 4 days now with 3 failures at them returning the call, only to find out they cannot do the time and date they led us to believe was good. Now reading the reviews it was probably a good thing we aren't using them- don't know how their average on reviews comes up to 4.4......
Posted 1 month ago
My experience with SML was horrible! I will never use SML again, and would not recommend SML to anyone.

I used SML for loading and unloading in connection with a move (4 bedroom house) from Chicago, Illinois to Knoxville, Tennessee.
During the loading, SML's movers destroyed a very expensive Thomasville mahogany china cabinet. I took photos and called SML and reported the damage at the time it occurred. I also noted the damage in the paperwork I signed when SML's movers finished the loading. SML sent me paperwork, which I completed and submitted to SML's claims department, along with photos of the damaged China cabinet, within one week. It has been nearly FIVE MONTHS since I submitted my damage claim to SML and I have not received any response from the company, despite calling SML's claims department six times and leaving messages (you always get voicemail when you call SML's claims department, never a real person).
Posted 1 month ago
The movers packed and loaded nicely. But unloading was a disaster which led me to file 2 claims for damaged antique furniture. Three weeks ago I submitted an invoice of the repairs made. I’ve left numerous emails and messages to no avail. I decided not to file a claim on my 19th century French provincial China cabinet. The movers were upfront about the scratch but denied damage on top which I saw after the fact. Rather than move it back in my house through wide open front door, they chose my garage through a small door in laundry room banging the top. Unfortunately I picked the wrong simply moving company with the worst reviews.
Posted 1 month ago
Check the BBB for all the complaints mine included - it was a terrible and costly choice.
Posted 1 month ago
Check all the complaints at BBB - mine is included - What a terrible and costly choice I made.
Posted 1 month ago
We hired three men to help us load in AZ and unload in NC. One guy on each team was experienced and the others were worthless. My wooden furniture was not wrapped at all - they put legs of one sofa with screws pointing out inside my leather Stickley sofas and of course the inside got scratched. Another two pieces got scratched and my TV entertainment center the leg got busted. I'm very disappointed and want a refund!
Posted 2 months ago
This was the worst moving experience we have ever had! Our movers were supposed to show up at 8:00AM and nobody showed until almost 3:00PM. The 3 "movers" that were sent had no idea what they were doing, but were so consumed with their cell phones and ear buds, they wouldn't even respond to our questions and suggestions. They dropped, threw and damaged most of our belongings. They loaded the truck so badly that we were forces to rent another 2 trucks and a storage area to complete our move. When we unloaded the 1st truck we could see that when they got tired of loading, they just put the mattress on end to hide the fact that the center of the truck had not been loaded. We have submitted damage claims, and have gotten no response from the electronically submitted one, and the one that we sent in the mail was returned "undeliverable". To top it all off, they made an additional charge to our card because these 3 boys were so slow. Whatever you do, don't hire this company!
Posted 2 months ago
This is a HORRIBLE company. Do not use them!! Had 2 separate crews, BOTH dropped and trashed our furniture, dropped a TV, dropped my washing machine, just threw boxes into the truck. Sat around and yakked, I could keep going on, but you get it.... the company itself will not pay the claim. They are just horrible. You would be better off throwing your things in the garbage...
Posted 2 months ago
Hired this company to load our moving truck. Three men showed up and loaded the truck. Later that night I noticed missing property. I called the company and they don’t care. DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY!!!
Posted 3 months ago
Our move was across states and started out with three inexperienced movers who were booked for two hours but took almost four hours and in the process packed the truck where metal legs of tables were rubbing against wood furniture tops despite providing blankets that we had bought specifically for the move. They did some damage to the corner of a wall coming down the stairs which would have been avoided had they covered the furniture with a blanket. If not for my husband directing them, they would have done more damage to the house. They broke off a piece of furniture by attempting to push it when it was not fully on the truck. 13 pieces of furniture were damaged in the move and despite filing out a claim report and even receiving a claim number, the claim has not been resolved in three months. I have called over a dozen times with no answer and no response to the voicemails I have left. I have emailed numerous times with no response. It has become clear that they are simply avoiding this claim. I do not recommend this company and it is unlikely that they will post this on their "Our Reviews" page.
Posted 4 months ago
Their workers try to milk the clock and if you don't let them, they will walk off the job. They also do not come professionally dressed or with proper moving equipment.

If I could give a NEGATIVE rating, I would.
On the day of the incident, I spoke with 3 SML CS Representatives in reference to the "movers" (I use this term lightly) who "helped" (if that's what you want to call it} with my move the morning of Saturday, September 5, 2020. However, I was very upset and learning in real time all the items that had been damaged so I'm I was all over the place when speaking to a rep.

The morning of the move, one mover showed up at 9:01am (M1). The other showed up at 9:15am (M2). Not a problem - their arrival time was between 9:00 - 10:00 but it's still unprofessional.
All items had been broken down and were on the first floor in the family room and dining room except for two - a dresser and a chest. My main reason for purchasing a hand truck through Penske.
A full bag of blankets was shown to M1 and a blue tarp cover was draped over the sofa. I asked M1 if he wanted me to tape the tarp to the sofa, he said "no, this should be fine." The suggestion was made for them to use the blankets when moving my buffet, 2 china cabinets, dresser and chest. I only saw them use 2 blankets while moving items. The rest were stuffed in between items once on the truck.
I reminded both movers of the blankets and suggested to both users BEFORE they attempted to move the dresser to use a hand truck to move my dresser from upstairs to downstairs. They declined. This resulted in the big hole that is now in the back of my dresser.
I asked both movers to put the 9ft sofa and the tall china cabinet on the truck first. They declined. By the time they decided to put these two items on the truck, they had run out of space and had to move things around - they didn't lift these two items up and move them - they slid and dragged them from side to side/up and down THEN shoved blankets in between them.
I had a 16ft truck. Because of their unorganized packing, they couldn't fit a few items on the truck. M1 told me the charcoal grill, 2 small wicker chairs and a wicker loveseat and a 35' flat screen wouldn't fit. The patio furniture fit in my sister's truck, I left the flat screen for later and I was prepared to leave the charcoal grill, but, when I came back outside, it was on the truck. I later found out while unloading the truck MYSELF, that they had broken the handle - I have no ideas where the piece is to try to screw it back together.
The sofa, they somehow put a huge gash in the leg. I was on the phone with a representative while my sister and a Uhaul employee helped unload the truck so I couldn't get a picture of it. I noticed it while they were shoving it in and out of the truck to make room for another item.
I had two tall 5 shelves bookcase. NOW, I only have one. I found out while i was on the phone with SML that they had broken one of my bookcases in HALF.
Before we take off to go to the storage place, I show M2 the address to the storage place. I called out the name and address to M1 - he said he had it. They left in separate cars ahead of me. My address is 10-12 minutes away from the storage place. I drove the truck. I took a longer route to avoid turns and I drove slowly. So, it took me 15 to 18 minutes to get there. I STILL arrived before them. I call M1's phone - no answer. My sister and I open the truck to get started and M2 finally show up. He explains that M1 was pulled over by a police officer for a "stop and roll" M1 shows up 5 minutes later and says nothing.
I explained to M1 that I would like the heavy stuff to go in the back of the storage place and if he and M2 could get the heavy stuff, my sister and I will take care of the little stuff. He says fine and goes back downstairs while I continue to take some small items off the cart to place in the storage place. Meanwhile, my sister was waiting for the elevator when she ran into M2. She explains to him that we have a lot going on and a lot to move so could we please move a little faster. She comes upstairs to tell me that she thinks he was holding up the elevator because she was waiting for it for a while. I finish talking to my sister and moving some items around, I leave my sister to go back downstairs and that's when I find both of the "movers" by their cars.

At first, I don't say anything. I just notice they're on the phone. So, I take out my phone to call SML, but instead, I walk over to say something to them. After asking them SEVERAL TIMES "what's wrong", "what happened", "what's going on" and getting NO ANSWER - neither one of them could look me in the face, that's when I heard the SML representatives voice say "well, we still owe a service to this client" M2 responded "well, we are not going to be able to complete this move" and he hung up on her. They got in their car and drove away.
It has been 3 weeks and I still have no clue as to what happened. I sent in a claim form a few days after my move and I haven't received any new information, just a cut and paste copy of their claims policy.

WORST EXPERIENCE EVER!
Posted 4 months ago
We used Simple Moving to supply people to load and unload us on our move from Wisconsin to Indiana. It was the worst experience we have ever had. we have moved 16 times in the last 25 years due to our jobs and we have never had such incompetent movers.The packers did a terrible job. They did not know how to pack a truck, things were all over when we opened the truck. The unloaders simply didn't show up, we were told they couldn't be contacted and they would "try" to find someone for the next day. We ended paying some neighbors to help us unload. Do not ask these people to supply your loaders. Get your own!
Posted 4 months ago
DO NOT TRY TO USE SML. DO NOT LET ANYONE YOU CARE ABOUT TRY TO USE SML. I paid for help that Simple Moving Labor (SML) left me without on my move day. SML was unreliable, uninformed, unprofessional, and falsely advertised their services. 08/18/2020, I used SML’s online system to schedule a three-man team for my 09/04/2020 move. 08/21/2020, I called SML to validate my online confirmation, and verify details regarding moving a piano and the associated fee. I was told I would receive a call before the team arrived 9-10AM ET on move day, which did not occur; 09/04/2020, I called SML shortly after 9AM to make sure the crew was on the way. Each of the three men arrived individually by 9:30AM, were not friendly towards me, nor one another, and were not aware of the details of the move, per the paperwork in their hands. After I explained the move needs and walked them through the property, the team was unprepared and unwilling. They were not getting along with each another. Minutes later, I discovered one of the crew had left, while the other two leaned against my move truck, offering no explanation – told me to call SML. I called SML and was further appalled by the lack of communication and accountability; SML management informed me they were not insured to move the piano and generally unable to complete the move, as previously confirmed. The remaining two workers left without speaking to me, while I was on the phone with SML. What kind of company hires a crew that walks off the site without warning… SML should be ashamed. I, then, had to find my own replacement same-day movers. I certainly learned why SML rates are lower – it matches the quality of their service. I am currently awaiting full refund from this joke of a company, which does not right their wrongs. DO NOT TRY TO USE SML. DO NOT LET ANYONE YOU CARE ABOUT TRY TO USE SML.
Posted 4 months ago
My movers showed an hour late. No one called and I had started unloading myself. This caused extra charges for truck rental. Supervisor was to call and make it right, but of course that never happened. The movers were nice, but the company is disappointing.

Luckily there were only boxes and no furniture involved in my move.
Posted 4 months ago
Very professional, friendly, careful and caring.
Will use them again and pass the word on.
Posted 4 months ago
This was the worst experience we have ever had with a moving company. After they arrived almost 7 hours after our scheduled time, the 3 guys wouldn't take their ear buds out, and were constantly looking at their phones. They totally disrespected our belongings, dropping, throwing and unwrapping our items. They were extremely slow, and had no idea how to load a truck. We had to rent another truck and storage for the items they didn't fit in the truck. We now have to rent another truck and fly back to AZ to pick up the rest of our belongings. There were many items damaged, and then we were charged additional fees because they did such a terrible job. I would never recommend this company, and neither would any of our neighbors that saw the type of work they were doing.
Posted 4 months ago
I live in an apartment in White Plains New York. My friend in the same building I live in recommended SML after she was ecstatic with her move. So I hired SML for a very "simple" move. I moved from the 8th floor to the 7th floor. had a full size bedroom dresser, high boy, a large mirror for the dresser, one drop leaf table, a large dining room table and one TV entertainment center.
I originally hired SML for 2 hours but lo and behold, they were done in one hour. You heard right, ONE HOUR!

My wife and I are extremely happy with the professionalism AND the expediency the 3 men were.

Thank you SML and I will hire you again!
Posted 5 months ago
They don't actually move your stuff, they send other company's (presumably subcontracted) to do the move. They don't check the quality of the movers they use and (at least in the Metro Detroit Area) are not worth a plugged nickel.
Posted 5 months ago
The 2 men who loaded my Pod were incompetent to say the least. a 2 hour job turned into over 5 hours. In the very beginning I pointed out several large items that were optional to take depending on space including 2 older couches. When they said they would not fit I posted them for free on Marketplace. 3/4 of the way packed they fit them in. Shortly after they asked me to point out which other items were not priority - majority of it was. Told them to remove one of the couches since the other one was buried which of course took more time. Still ended up leaving a truckload of items behind which I paid someone to remove since we were leaving right away. Left behind kitchen table, full bed frame, chairs, 10 x 12 carpet I was assured would fit and many, many household items I now need to replace. It was exhausting and exasperating. We set out for the first leg of our 14 hour drive 5 hours later than we planned. When I contacted customer service in the next state I was told there was nothing they could do since the loaders weren't still at the house. Said they would have worked with them during the process. Seriously??? If they need a babysitter to do their job correctly they are not right for the job. A manager left me a message 4 days later that I would be credited 10% so my $250 load was now only $600. I cancelled the unload job planned through them. The grand finale was 8 days later when the Pod arrived to find numerous items broken and damaged. Unused blankets thrown in at the end while wood furniture was scuffed, scraped and damaged. Light containers stored under heavy ones were crushed and broken. Newly hired unloaders were shocked at what they found. Contacted customer service again only to be emailed a form for damage claim with another company. BEWARE they only cover damages done WHILE loading or unloading - NOT during transit. So no matter how poorly the Pod was packed it is not their responsibility! Find a smaller, local company at each end of the move who stands behind their work and cares about your belongings. It was an expensive lesson for me.
Posted 5 months ago
Simple Moving Labor is rated 4.39 based on 951 reviews