Simple Moving Labor Reviews

4.37 Rating 1,167 Reviews
82 %
of reviewers recommend Simple Moving Labor
Read Simple Moving Labor Reviews

About Simple Moving Labor:

At SML, we take the most stressful part of your move - loading and unloading your rental truck or storage unit - and make it simpler than you could ever believe!

Visit Website

Phone:

866-767-5348

Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
The actual loading and unloading went well. The movers were prompt and did a good job overall. I was overcharged (the unload took less than two hours, but I was charged for 3 hours). I didn't receive a response to two emails I sent requesting a refund for the overcharge. I have disputed the overcharge with my credit card company and I will never use SML again.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
The original movers were to meet me at my storage unit at 8-9am. When they didn't who up, I tried to call, but was on hold for several minutes and requested a callback. When called back, the call was dropped when I answered. I then called back, waited on hold for ~45 minutes, and was told the movers cancelled and a new crew was to contact me with a new time. After several contacts with commitments to show at various time frames, they finally arrived at ~2:50pm. I was in the hot sun waiting for almost 7 hours based on missed commitments and promises! This was my 3rd and final use of SML.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
The loading movers in Florida were slow, I was not impressed. I attempted to report the second movers in Chester, VA for the scam they tried to pull, I have never been contacted back again. They did no work, I was charged for services, and I incurred a financial loss due to the theft attempt. I had to pay another company $400 to unload my truck. I have not received my money back from simply movers, plus I have proof of my claim. I regret not calling the police. Poor customer service. I will post this information as often as possible. Worst moving company ever. I will make sure no one within my reach ever employs your company.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Two young people came with no adequate tools. They didn’t know what they should be doing. I simply wanted my time and money.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
notified 36 hours prior to job that no movers were available.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Luke Seibolt, we are happy to know the unloading was performed without an issue and apologize for not being available for your loading.
Posted 1 month ago
This service is a bit of a scam. I specifically called and asked if I needed to hire an additional person a week prior to the move date as we were moving to a third floor apartment without an elevator. I was informed that "the crew" did not feel that was necessary. On the moving day it I asked the moving crew if they though they would need a third person, they said they they should have had one more person to make the move in 2 hours. I was instead charged by SML for 3 additional hours of labor instead of hiring an additional person to complete the move in the allotted time as requested. The company that SML hired was great, but I felt I was overcharged for no reason when I had specifically called prior to the move to address the issue at hand.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
We are sorry the crew wasn't able to provide a third worker for your unloading Tiffany. Your feedback is appreciate and will be added to your account. Don't hesitate to call us at 866-767-5348 if you would like to discuss further.
Posted 1 month ago
Workers burned out and couldn't continue after 2 hours even with breaks. Also they had no experience with stairs and no regard for our stuff. Multiple things were damaged and found after the movers left. It was a waste of money.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
I was charge for my initial deposit two times. Many, MANY emails and phone calls later, and no one has any interest in correcting the issue. Please note that it is the initial deposit of $110 that was made online, on their site, that is incorrect. Other than this, the service was great.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Terrible. Would give a 0 if possible. Movers stopped loading truck while it rained (which is fine), but refused to start again once the rain stopped. One mover completely quit and LEFT! A job that should’ve taken two hours took four because I had to wait for a replacement mover AND they forgot my paperwork and I had to wait for them to retrieve that at the very end of the job. This move was for a small one bedroom and I had very few items & boxes that didn’t even fill half of the 12’ rental truck once completed. KEEP IN MIND THIS WAS ONLY TO LOAD THE TRUCK, (not to load, drive and unload) and it took from 8:15 a.m. to 12:40 p.m. for one bedroom of very bare basics. THE ABSOLUTE WORST and will never use again. AVOID THIS COMPANY!!! The stress, the negotiating for money back (which I didn’t get), and the one mover just up and leaving made this an absolute train wreck of an experience. Nothing was broken, but one bedside table was scratched really badly on the top and won’t be something I can hide or repair as it is a painted metal piece. AVOID & USE ANYONE ELSE!!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
No one came
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
The movers did show up and they did load the moving truck so if that's enough for you then hire this company. If you mind, as I did, having a mover quite literally get into my face and say: "look, I've been doing this for years, you don't know how I plan to load this truck" and then as I started to walk away, under his breath, say: "just shut up" because he was asked to take an unwrapped and un-tied down lamp down from on top of stacked boxes, maybe consider another company. Sadly, that wasn't all, my sofa, which is a light tan, cotton fabric, was covered with plastic for protection but the movers removed the plastic and the same mover who had mumbled for me to "shut up" grabbed multiple pillows off with his sweaty, dirty hands, stuffed them under his arms and carried them off. When I said "ohhh, wait I'll take them" he turned his body from me to hold onto the pillows and took them to the moving truck - unwrapped where he just threw them on top of boxes. But wait there's more. I own a very expensive treadmill that was taken apart to temporarily go into storage. It too was wrapped to keep any dust or bugs that may be in storage off of my treadmill. It too was unwrapped and when it was a couple of wires became exposed. I had come into the room when I heard them grumbling and removing the plastic cover I purchased specifically to keep it safe. when I saw the wires I said "wait, I have some blue tape to keep them in place" when I returned with the tape, the wires had been wrapped around another piece of frame and knotted. I was SO angry with the service, that I canceled the Simple Moving Labor that I had scheduled for the following day to unload the truck and even after me telling them about my experience, they said "well, we're going to charge you anyway because you didn't give us 72 hours cancellation notice." BEWARE. Poor, unprofessional service and a company (SML) that really doesn't care. Once you book them online they're taking your money regardless. Make sure you only put that deposit down if you have MORE than 72 hours to cancel and if your movers don't listen to you; bully you; tell you to "shut up"; stain your furniture with their smelly, sweaty armpits; and tie you expensive treadmill wires into a knot TOO BAD! No reason is apparently bad enough to be allowed to cancel without them charging your credit card anyway.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Late. Broke down on highway. I went to pick up the movers. They forgot paperwork and I never signed the forms. Boss man said he’d drive back with receipt but never showed up. Very poor service.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Showed up over an hour late, damaged walls and changed start time on his sheet to earlier than arrival “because he couldn’t find the address” even though I gave detailed driving instructions to SML The “manager” spent a solid 30 minutes on the phone trying to figure out a medical appointment while at my home and on the clock. Will never use them again
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
I had a absolutely terrible experience with SML. Twice! I hired a two person crew for my load in Edenton NC, and a few weeks later, another two person crew for the unload. For both bookings, the crew never showed up. While I did receive multiple calls for the office staff, asking how the move was going, I told them I had no crew and we were still waiting. With both bookings the representatives tried to reach the missing crew multiple times, but could not locate them, or give me a status on where they were, or when they might actually arrive. For the first booking for a loading crew, the representative finally found. replacement crew, but they did not arrive until the sun was going dow, so we did the entire load in the dark. For the second unload booking, that rep also finally found a replacement crew, but I had already unloaded most of the storage container myself by the time they had arrived, as we had been waiting for almost four hours for them to arrive. Both the reps on the phone were professional and very apologetic, and the replacement crews were helpful, if not exhausted from their earlier bookings. However the fact that there seems to be no accountability for your crews leaves the customer high and dry when they need your service most. You made the stress of moving 1000 time more difficult. The rep I spoke with during the loading experience, made multiple apologies and promised to make an adjustment on our billing for the problems, but no adjustments were made. The unloading crew claimed 2 hours on the sign off sheet, even though I indicated they arrived at 4:30 and left at 6:00. So I paid for two hours, to unload most of the job myself, while I only had a crew on site for 1.5 hours. And again, I was charged the full price for the job. SML was the recommended provider offered by PackRats, the storage container service we used for the move. I have share my incredibly frustrating experience with them. I strongly recommend you change your hiring practices when approving your moving crews, as your service is completely unreliable in it's current state. SML failed both times I booked them. I can not recommend them as a service provider. (I would rate the 0 stars, but this review system forces me to assign a one star.)
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Thank you for reaching out Randy. Sorry we had to find a replacement but I am glad we were able to find availability for your unload. Please reach out to us at 866-767-5348 to discuss further.
Posted 5 months ago
I understand that SML contracts out for services but the individuals who did our move banged up walls, left marks on the carpet, left items in the back of the moving truck, and also threw their garbage in the back of the moving truck before closing it and saying they were finished. Oh, and did I mention that they were also very late in arriving? Multiple excuses were used. Very disappointed. I would never use this service again.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Sorry to know there was damage and service did not meet the mark. Please reach out to us at 866-767-5348 to discuss possible resolutions.
Posted 5 months ago
Only 1 guy showed up for the move, I hired 2. I ended up having to help with a good majority of the heavy items. I contacted SML during the process and they did nothing about it. I only received a small refund from the money I paid up front, in my opinion I should have received a discount for their mistake. I would explore other options if you need moving help and would not recommend SML to anyone.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
A lot of my things were damaged when we unpacked the truck they did not wrap things like they should have to keep things from getting scratched and broken they had plenty of blankets
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
We are sorry to hear anything was damaged - Please reach out to us so we can better understand what occurred. 866-767-5348 ext. 5 for the Claims Department
Posted 6 months ago
Terrible experience
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Sorry we missed the mark. Don't hesitate to give us a call so we can better understand what occurred during your service.
Posted 6 months ago
I will never use this company again! Gave me a price for 2 hours, stated it took 3 hours and 10 minutes then rounded up to 3.5 hours. When I questioned then how much to add an additional mover to assist they informed me it would be better to keep just 2, which it would have been cheaper to get the 3rd mover! Not only did they not contact me regarding additional 1.5 hours they would charge, they just Charged my card. I’m still waiting on an invoice which they mentioned my wife signed with a time of arrival and a time of completion. 3 hours and still haven’t received anything. This explains why they were taking their time and have only one mover bringing items while the other was in the pod. This is the reason I figured 3 movers total would be better. Although they assured me no 2 is good. When we unloaded in 2019 we had more belongings and it took 1.5 hours to unload with only 2 movers. Being we have gotten rid of couches/bed/clothes (boxes) and it now taking much longer to load is beyond me! I was at work, my wife was home with kids. So they seemed to take advantage of this situation and take their time. I will never use this company for any future moves!
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Thank you for reaching out. Notes indicate you spoke with our rep earlier got this all sorted out. Let us know if there is anything else we can do to help.
Posted 6 months ago
Had four teenagers show up at 1:55 fro a 1-2 window. Whatever. As we were working, they stood there watching us, not offering any help. When we finally told them what to do, one watched the other three teens almost drop a squat rack on top of a priceless family heirloom. They took offense when one was told to “get your hands out of your pockets and help”. Then they left. Completely unprofessional, unprepared, and did not come equipped to lift a finger. This entire setup feels like an elaborate mousetrap. They were there to milk the clock and had no intention of ever lifting heavy items or listening to their customers. These were not movers, these were children and acted as such. Them quitting within five minutes of arriving was a blessing in disguise. I called a couple friends over and we completed the entire load in 2.5 hrs. I’m confident the “movers” would have damaged walls, personal belongings, and didn’t have the experience to make everything fit into two pods. Abhorrent experience. Look elsewhere for moving help.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Simple Moving Labor is rated 4.37 based on 1,167 reviews