smarTours Reviews

4.39 Rating 1,114 Reviews
85 %
of reviewers recommend smarTours
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
communication channels
Telephone, Email
queries resolved in
Under an hour
Read smarTours Reviews

About smarTours:

smarTours is a leading provider of direct-to-consumer, affordable travel experiences to exotic global destinations. The Company offers travelers curated, pre-packaged itineraries to over 40 destinations across the globe. By offering tours directly to consumers, the Company provides premium-quality experiences at value prices, and as a result, has cultivated a highly passionate and loyal community of repeat travelers. More than 200,000 travelers have taken a smarTours trip since the founding of the Company in 1996. smarTours is… the smarter way to see the world.

Phone:

800-337-7773

Email:

info@smartours.com

Location:

545 Eighth Ave. Suite 2250
New York, NY 10018

Write Your review

Tell us how smarTours made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photo to this review?
Upload Photo
(only JPEG and PNG files) (optional)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
The driver and guide needs a microphone as I never could hear him. Neither could the people in the 3rd and 4th row. Too much time spent driving from one park to another. up to 5 hrs. The balloon ride was too crowded.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 day ago
Good pace to see so much but there is a lot of walking....many on the tour we were in could not keep up the pace and amount of walking in a day. The local guides were all very good especially the guide on the Amalfi Coast (sorry I forgot her name). Massimo,our overall guide at times was very informative but he lacked enthusiasm for his position. It would have been nice if he made an effort to remember our names, a minor touch but important. Glad we got to see Venice before the high tides have put it under water! Overall an excellent tour of Italy’s beauty, historical treasures and of course wonderful food and fine hotels.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 day ago
We enjoyed the trip because of our tour guide Sigrun Eiriksdottir , she took individual care for everybody in the group .
Helpful Report
Posted 1 day ago
Everything was well taken care of and professionally organized - will use SmarTours again.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 day ago
Guide in Bucharest was I’ll prepared. Had trouble tracking her down when we arrived at hotel on our own. She left no info about when and where to meet next day
Helpful Report
Posted 1 day ago
Tour guide was outstanding! Hotels were outstanding! Food was not very good on dinners provided but breakfasts were very good. Hours for accessing tours were not acceptable--1:00 a.m. wake-up call for one tour, bags out at 4:30 a.m. a few times. Everyone was tired; around 60% of the people were sick.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 day ago
I have traveled with Smartours before and was unhappy with a few things this time. First of all there was no help with the flights when we required advanced seating due to disability. Neither Smartours nor British Air would help us. Even though we are a group, we should be able to get assigned seats beforehand even if we have to pay extra. We were unable to do any of that. Also our guide who was informative and very nice, was not like most guides. He did not stay around to see if we got to our rooms okay upon check in and was therefore not there if we had a problem. He also walked very quickly without checking if he had lost anyone behind him and he disappeared often when we had a local guide. This was very unusual and not what I am accustomed to. The hotels were ok although especially in Dubrovnik, not a all centrally located. The first or second hotel had horrible toilet paper and no AC and not a great breakfast. We thoroughly enjoyed our tour however because the countries of Croatia/ Slovenia waere beautiful and the people on the tour were great so despite some inconveniences, we still had a wonderful time. Plus we lucked out with the weather. I do think after the park with the waterfalls and lakes, we should have been picked up and taken back to our hotel as walking 200 steps up after a full afternoon of walking was very difficult for many people.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 day ago
The tour guide was excellent!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 day ago
There is only one reason that I can't give five stars to our SmarTours tour. It seemed a bit odd that an experienced tour company could fail to mention and consider that this tour took place during one of two "Golden Weeks" in China wherein about 70 to 80 million Chinese tour all of the big tourist places, causing crowds about two to three times normal. Alas, we never got to see Tienanmen Square because our bus couldn't get to the place; and we spent a good portion of our visit to the Terra Cotta Warriors squashed flat against the walls by the massive crowds. Everything else about our tour was first rate from our tour guide Ma; to how he and our bus drivers found ways to make everything fun and interesting; to the good nearly all Chinese food; to great free bottled water; to our hotels; our great fellow tourists; and all our tours. Pack light; and have a good time if you go to China with SmarTours. Just don't go the first week of October!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 day ago
Everything went according to plan.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 days ago
Our guide in Morocco was excellent. The hotels were OK but could have been better.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 days ago
Good tour guides and beautiful places.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Pollman tours rep, Francis did not act as a worthy representative, was confused, not organized,had not done his homework .Did not get the group to meet each other before going on the safari. One of the Driver / Guide Evans did it on the last day!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
excellent tour director .Romina is a gem who is helpful knowledgeable and friendly
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
It was well planned and the Guides were both fantastic. We had an issue with a name having two letters mixed up and the office in the US was very helpful with getting it fixed.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
We enjoyed the Cuba Up Close tour to Havana, Ceinfegua and Trinidad, Sept 1-Sept 8,2019. Julie, the tour guide, Americal and Mr Jose were awesome and attentive. The Smartour daily schedule was quite full and we wished there could have been more down time for the markets/shopping, one early evening drop off or one late morning pickup. The restaurants menus were very good, lots of stairs two - four levels up. Overall a good tour that could have been better with minor adjustments to to the daily schedule. Thanks for the two bottles of water daily.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
We had a great time on our trip to Bangkok, Singapore, Bali, and Hong Kong. BUT we were disappointed with the hotel in Singapore. The hotel in Singapore was not as nice as the other hotels. The rooms were outdated and the beds were very small. The rooms needed to be renovated, it was not the standard that we normally expect OR have with smartours. The lobby of the hotel had been renovated, but the rooms were not. We would recommend finding another hotel. We use smartours over and over again because we know that the standard will be high. But in the case of the Singapore hotel room, we were very disappointed with the outdated room. Thank you! James and Barbara Boney
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
The hotel in Fiji had alot of ants in it. That is not acceptable. The tour guide was hard to communicate with. The rest of the tour was good. I loved Cairo and our tour guide was excellent the same with Sydney.
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Tour on the whole was good. Tour guide was good, very sweet. Problems - I filled out a food preference form and sent it in before the trip. There was a welcome dinner where my husband and I could only eat salad because Yuko had not received the form, and the hotel could not make anything else. At another dinner, we did not receive sushi even though we listed the type of fish we could eat. On other tours, hotels were able to come up with last minute meals if we could not eat the provided food. There should be some optional night activities. I would have liked to experience a tea ceremony. Weather was very hot when we were there, and we were only given a bottle of water if we had a full day tour. Water doesn't cost that much and it would have been nice to have water every day. Everyone on the tour shared this opinion. I enjoyed the optional Nikko tour - one of the best optional tours I've ever taken. The stop to make postcards was fun. It also gave us a chance to buy reasonably priced souvenirs and gifts.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
The time I expended with smart tour was great except the 2 days scheduled to Suzdal, I feel that there was no need to go outside Moscow 5 hours in the middle of not where, when in Moscow is so mach to do, I really feel that with those days we can took more of the trip and be less tier.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
smarTours is rated 4.39 based on 1,114 reviews