SSE Reviews

1.1 Rating 402 Reviews
2 %
of reviewers recommend SSE
1.1
Based on 402 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Own Driver
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week
Customer Service
1.1 out of 5
Visit Website

Write Your review

Tell us how SSE made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Shocking company, I’ve contacted the ombudsman. Truly disgusting company
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
SSE Shafting the Self Employed Says it all... £150 for 6 units of electricity for 3 months.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
A complete muddle of our business accounts. Their is no going back for the utter mess this outfit has made for its customers. After years of dealing with them it has all gone sadly wrong.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Absolutely shocking service had a smart meter installed and my business was left with only part of the office working. Their engineers left us with no phones and broadband do not let them near your power. Complained and they said that I had to get an electrician out 😡😡😡
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
If any one is reading this please do not go with this company you will regret it, They seem to make life very difficult if they make a mistake that does not count They have made several mistakes on my account but i have had to get my solicitor involved do yourself a favour avoid them
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
My god what a bunch of imbeciles ...... ypu are passed from operator to operator for hours at a time and still they wont send out an engineer to replace a faulty gas metre , meaning no gas supply ...... this has been going on months now ..... how can they get away with it ....
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Very very disgusting service. Never ever open with them contract. However funny, as we had never ever had any contract with them, and they charged more than £200. Wthell?! They had create on my husband's name an account and they charged for 2months gas. We even didn't live there , and we paid for our supplier what we used . How they can charge for us when we even didn't had any business with them and we didn't live there ?? After 4-5months fight with SSE, they said they will sort the problem.. still nothing has been resolved , just send an other letter need to pay.. Disgusting! Stealing money! We take them to court now ! Absolutely absolutely insane.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
I have had a long running battle with SSE over my electricity charges which differ from the charges shown on my smart meter. a difference of £300 -£400 per quarter. Also my water heater does not switch off at end of night rate by two hours in favour of SSE. I have written to Customer Services and e-mailed them-no response. Have constantly phoned and the call handlers must be trained to tell customers what they wanted to here then did nothing. Took two payments from me on the same day in one month. SSE claimed that my bills are correct !!! To top it all SSE transferred my account to OVO along with my problems, otherwise passing the buck. OVO quite rightly refused to entertain my problems they state that it is down to SSE to sort out. SSE Customer Services are a total shambles. Come on SSE take some responsibility. OVO online accounts are in line with my smart meter readings and costings. Am awaiting my first actual quarterly account from OVO.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
This is without doubt the worst,most frustrating,impossible company I have ever dealt with.For two years I have been submitting meter readings,for two years they have insisted they have not had any!Their own employee read the meter,they still insist they have no readings!I try to get this sorted but may only speak to someone in Mumbai who is very helpful on the phone but nothing seems to penetrate to wherever this shambles is fun from.We are priority service(ha ha)which means s.s.e are supposed to read the meter,but they dont.If this shambles is ever sorted I will be changing suppliers Meanwhile I would advise you all to avoid s.s.e & ovo like the plague.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
I was sent an incorrect final energy bill after moving homes. I filled in the “tell us your moving” form and was never promoted to give any meter readings, or extra information. I phoned SSE to ask them to change it, and I was told that I clearly do not understand how energy bills work, and that I should “hang up and call back when I figure it out”. I sent a complaint with pictures of my meter readings to the (only) complaints email listed on their website. The website clearly stated that they would respond in a few days. Over the next 30 days I sent multiple follow up emails and phoned several times. I was told over the phone that SSE had received my complaint and were looking into it. However, I continued to receive multiple emails threatening my credit score and additional charges for not paying my bill on time. I phoned again to ask SSE to stop these emails, and I was told that I was contacting an email address that was no longer in use, and that no one had received my complaint. This made it clear to me that either SSE had lied about receiving my complaint, or they were not prepared to engage with me about it. I finally received my updated bill well over a month later and paid it very promptly. After I had paid the bill, I began receiving emails from debt collectors about not paying my original, incorrect, bill. Overall, SSE’s customer service was terrible. I was extremely polite to all SSE staff throughout the whole experience but I was met with rudeness and sarcasm over the phone every time. I was made to feel a fool and was left in the dark about my bills and finances for over a month. This left me very stressed and worried. I definitely will not be a customer with SSE again if I can help it.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
I have been on my phone for two and a half hours and sse put me through to ova then ova put me through to sse this was done four times and no-one has helped me they are a disgrace they say they can't find my acc on ova or sse I am now reporting sse they owe me £150 and said they would send it and then said they were not there is a lot of people sick of sse they don't help an hour and a half waiting for someone to answer I phoned at 11 30 this morning and I'm still waiting
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Probably the worst energy provider. Their customer service is SHOCKING. I’ve been sent a gas and electric bill saying I’m in debt, however I have a smart meter and have never been a direct debit customer. Everytime I call up to enquire why I have been sent this bill they hang up the phone on me?
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Terrible company. Stay well away they are beyond disgusting!! They are literally a legalised MAFIA, the worst customer services I’ve ever had to deal with.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Worst customer service I have ever had to deal with. Been a customer for several years no problems. Recently received a letter stating I owe them £825 in debt which they will begin taking at £28 a month. This confused me as I have only ever been a prepayment meter customer. I have never had an account that could go into debt in the first place. Definite error. Emailed their complaints team with all relevant details for ID and explained I am a disabled customer on benefits and have no means to call them as i can't afford credit at the moment. 4 days later a reply says I need to call in ty goodbye. Replied the obvious. 3 days later I'm asked to provide info for ID purposes ty goodbye. Replied with said info Again. 2 days later I'm asked for the info from the screens on my meter. No explanation of how to get them. 3 days later I'm told how and provide pics of those screens. A week passes so I email for an update and I'm told I need to call in because it does appear there is a debt on my meter.... Honestly. The worst. Company. Ever. I am sick of being fobbed off with a 1 sentence email so some overworked peon can say he actioned a complaint. I will be looking into legal action because this is honestly robbery. I'm being told "You owe us £825 But we don't know why. You have to call us to fix it" and good luck with that when it's a 30min call queue every damned time you manage to borrow a phone. Never been more infuriated by a company in 39 years on this planet.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Poor service,staff refusing to let me speak to managers to deal with complicated issues they caused over meter numbers and accounts muddled when meter keeps going wrong .Even smart meter problems ,like others said your on the phone for over an hour or more in queues then the person who answers can't be bothered or gives that opinion and then besides your on wrong department tries they say to transfer you and phone goes dead ,end of call. This problem has been on going from July 2022 and still ongoing on and now I find out that even though my electricity account is PAYG by smart meter and I been topping up ,they now decided I owed them money for my electricity account and taken 200.00 from money they had on a different account I knew nothing about that had credit on it including my good will money ,luckily ombudsman are supporting me with this dreadful company. I have never had such a dreadful, unprofessional company ,I have use SSE for about 36 yrs ,nothing like this to the last year. I have requested a manager rings me to sort this out ,no call ,just cannot be bothered.Goverment needs to sort out these companies. The joining with OVO have made it even harder for customers and their staff from my evidence because they can't decide if your with sse or ovo when you ring up and your a bouncing between departments,no one accepting your account is with them. They need to get a grip of the company and treat their customers with respect and honesty
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Never in my life have I dealt with such a totally unprofessional company one hour minimum for someone to answer my calls then the person cannot understand me and I cannot understand them either passed on to another operator and another asked to hold then the phone goes dead, tried the uk call centre and again no one from the uk answered, had a bill saying I owed £894.13 then another to say I owed nothing then another to say I owed £675.86 all this knowing I have a prepaid meter with a key charged up at the post office honestly how hard can it be but because they don’t understand my language properly it is impossible, I am actively looking to move suppliers
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Overcharged for bill after moving home from pre-pay meter (£232), refused to let me pay at the time, didn't want to help at all and then took us to court with a £726 bill, which is now costing us £959 because the phone with photo evidence on got broken. They're customer services are bullies, unreasonable and miraculously everything you provide to them will 'disappear', so keep your records for a long long time as it might come back to haunt you
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
SSE have been absolutely diabolical and I would urge anyone to avoid. I moved in to my new house in January and wanted to switch my energy from pay as you go meter to a standard direct debit tariff. 3 times now over a period of 4 months they have told me it would be switched over and it hasn’t been and nobody has offered me an explanation as to why. I have also waited in all day for an engineer to supposedly come out who never showed up. I have put multiple complaints in and yet nothing has been resolved. On two occasions I have been told a manager will ring me back and nobody ever has. Customer service is the worst I have ever known. I will be switching energy companies ASAP.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
3 days onhoing no gas because of card fail. Absolutely awful. Zero stars
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
9 months of dispare after what should have been a simple problem. Ever after leaving on the 1st April for a better performing company still having problems with their accounts department They do not appear to have been informed that new smart meters were installed on the 17 th January and think that ex customers will willingly pay grossly over estimated bills. This is close to fraud
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
SSE is rated 1.1 based on 402 reviews