Utility Warehouse Reviews

1.5 Rating 387 Reviews
12 %
of reviewers recommend Utility Warehouse
1.5
Based on 387 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Postal Service, Courier, Own Driver
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week
Customer Service
1.5 out of 5
Returns & Refunds
Refunds Process
Difficult
Visit Website

Write Your review

Tell us how Utility Warehouse made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Utility Warehouse 1 star review on 18th April 2024
Anonymous
Utility Warehouse 5 star review on 13th January 2024
Mandy
Utility Warehouse 1 star review on 5th December 2023
Courtney Fisher
Utility Warehouse 1 star review on 5th December 2023
Courtney Fisher
Utility Warehouse 1 star review on 5th December 2023
Courtney Fisher
Utility Warehouse 1 star review on 5th December 2023
Courtney Fisher
Utility Warehouse 1 star review on 5th December 2023
Courtney Fisher
34
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
When we first started with UW their customer service felt more like the personal gold star service you get from a 5th generation family tailor. It was amazing. Unfortunately the last 2 years have been consistently atrocious. I cant list all the problems here but the low point was a 3 hour phone call and 5 different agents when attempting to let them know of a house move. Six months on we are still trying to do a very simple transaction. Each step takes hours of phone calls, numerous agents on each call and incorrect billing with ensuing threats that go with bills when unpaid. Their prices are good but really not worth the time and stress involved in dealing with them and the frustration that goes with dealing with a toddler who's locked themselves in the train toilet. Just the worst customer service i can ever remember with no responsibility taken and thats the reason we are looking to go elsewhere even if it costs more.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
I’ve been with UW for 10 years. I am very happy with the service. I like having all my bills (gas, electric, landline, fibre broadband, mobile) in one monthly payment. I am still on an old gas and electric meter and once I informed them I wanted the credit on my balance refunded they processed it within 5 days. They did offer that if I left the credit on my account they could reduce my bills, but I asked for the refund instead and they didn’t push back or try to talk me out of it. I have always been very happy with their customer service.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Landline : My neighbour has service with this incompetent company - he has MS and depends on lifeline due to falls and security for him and his family. Everyday I have to ring UW to sort out the external fault and we are now heading to day four!!! Everyday I am fobbed off by Tech Operations or Customer Service and they say “Open Reach” will fix the problem by 6pm - he has not been treated as a priority/vulnerable customer!! I have emphasised that if he has a fall, he is unable to get up by himself and currently unable to call Emergency Services or family for help - DISGRACEFUL! They will not let me speak to Senior Management or the CEO and no Customer Complaints Dept. !?! Look at all the other bad reviews left - pay a little more and go with a more professional company with good service……. To the CEO - sort out your customer service and complaints departments, procedures and care.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
I WAS ON THAT USELESS WAREHOUSE FOR 3 YEARS. THEY LEFT WHITHOUT BROADBAND FOR 14 DAYS . I WAS ABROAD MY MAMES AND DADDY WAS HOME BOTH OVER 70 YEARS. I PAY SOMEONE TO COME HOME 3 TIMES TO TRY TO FIX ON THE PHONE WITH THEM . AND NOTHING HAPPENS. I MANEGER TO CHANGE FOR BT . AND CHANGE MY GAS AND ELECTRIC. BUT STILL CHARGE ME FOR GAS AFTER 3 MONTHS. I SPOKE TO THEM 02/12/2023 AND PROMISE WILL STOP AND PAY ME BACK . AND NOW …. JUST CHARGE ME AGAIN . IN THE MOMENT IM PAY 2 DIFERENT COMPANIES FOR THE SAME SERVICE . LIKE I SAID USELESS WAREHOUSE WELL DONE
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
My mother has gone into a care home. I have authority to speak and passed all the security questions. But they have refused to cancel the services! Put in a complaint and promised a call back which did not materialise and when I did a follow up call asked and answered all SAME security questions and told failed security!! AVOID AVOID AVOID Once you sign up they will do whatever they can to prevent you from leaving. They owe my mother a substantial amount of money!
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
The company are a joke. Can't get a bill right. They will (over) estimate your bills even if you send them the meter readings on the app and via pictures through their email system. Customer service is a joke. Was left on hold until the time maxed out at 1 hour. Don't waste your time with these clowns. You'll be on the phone to them hours at a time every month.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
well thanks guys for your reviews, glad I read them as was about to sign up, ill stick with British gas, might be more expensive but seems like you get what you pay for as they sound like a load of cowboys, thank you
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Today, I have spoken with your colleague Holly. She was absolutely polite, professionally and supplied me with the accurate information. Thank you Holly.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
A total scam! Stay away! Been charged £446 pm for. 3 bed house for 12 months. Have overpaid over £1,000. Told I will get funds back yet they are now asking me to send proof that I did not receive payment. I am escalating and taking them to court. Will never use and do not recommend this company!
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
I am compelled to express my extreme dissatisfaction with the plumbing services facilitated by Utility Warehouse's insurance cover. The plumber assigned to address our claim not only failed to complete the necessary repairs but also exhibited a complete lack of professionalism, leaving me with unresolved issues and a sense of frustration. We joined UW in October 2022 and never previously made a claim on our insurance policy. On 13th November 2023, we reported a blocked/slow shower drain and paid the £60 excess fee for a call out on the 14/11/2023. The engineer arrived late and bought soda crystals from the local store to pour down the drain. He then concluded that further works had to be carried out. We then had to call UW to rebook another visit for the 23/11/2023. On the 23/11/2023 the engineer arrived late again and spent 4 hours removing the drain pipes. He then said that a new part was needed and he would need to return. We did not hear anything from UW or the engineer after this. So we called UW on 02/12/2023 only to be informed that the claim was closed and the engineer would not be returning to the property as the shower is not included in the policy therefore we would need to contact another plumber. They did not even have the DECENCY to call and inform us that they were closing the claim. Not only have UW displayed a lack of professionalism, they started a job and removed pipes that were draining albeit slowly, and left all these pipes exposed without resolving the issue or putting the pipes back. So we no longer have a working en-suite shower. As a result of this, the exposed bathroom pipes now emits a disgusting sewer odour which can be smelled from the bedroom. We were also never contacted for a boiler service. So we booked an appointment for 25/11/2023 only to be told that the service could not be done on this date due to “colder weather and not being a priority”. The next available date to service our boiler is 8th January 2024! In light of this regrettable experience, I implore Utility Warehouse to reevaluate their service standards and take appropriate measures to rectify the issues I have encountered. As a customer, I find it disconcerting that a company of this stature could allow such a lapse in service, and I strongly advise potential clients to exercise caution when relying on Utility Warehouse for their insurance needs based on my unfortunate experiences, which has now lead me to consider switching to another energy supplier!
Utility Warehouse 1 star review on 5th December 2023 Utility Warehouse 1 star review on 5th December 2023 Utility Warehouse 1 star review on 5th December 2023 Utility Warehouse 1 star review on 5th December 2023 Utility Warehouse 1 star review on 5th December 2023
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Incredible neglect and incompetence shown from this company in regarding my issue. I made several enquiries to be changed a gas meter, I was ensured that someone will call me to make an appointment, but,bas expected nobody get in touch with me. I am paying from years an uncertain amount of money, based on a wrong estimation. I am shocked by such low level of inability to manage the customers problems, is absolutely impossible to receive the proper and adequate support from the company.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Utility Warehouse hasThe most appalling customer service. I have been calling them every day this week to register they keep transfering me to a different team again and again. I have been kept on the phone for hours. Avoid at all cost.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Owe me £600+ refund and compensation for 6 months of errors and shambolic advice, and won't even respond to me now. Sadly having to speak to a solicitor as they are quite clearly ignoring me. Have called, have emailed, all promises by them broken and now radio silence after the impact of what they did has really damaged me. Bizarre behaviour, I thought they were better than this.
Utility Warehouse 1 star review on 29th November 2023
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
I am still waiting for the new gas meter, and as I was expecting, nobody call me to arrange an appointment, to be changed . I am not able to read the real consuming from some years, and even I have reported this issue many times, nobody has changed the broken gas meter. I have addressed in all ways to the company, yet seem there is not any solution. I will go further with my complains maybe more other years, I could not describe how perplexed I am for such incompetence and low, low level of supporting customers.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
This company is one of the worst for customer service. Not able to cope with a landlord paying bills.Despite property being unoccupied and no electricity or gas being used continuing to demand payments. The departments of the company don't communicate with each other and make the same mistakes and demands . I would never want to have any dealings with this company ever again. Hours spent on the phone in queues waiting to speak to customer service .I would advise paying a bit more for gas and electricity rather than have any dealings with Utility Warehouse. I advise no one to get a job there either.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
I am just leaving UW for the second time. The first time we left because they totally messed up a house move. We were reluctant to go with them again but at the height of the energy crisis they were marginally better value on a non fixed deal than anywhere else. We took out utilities and cashback card only so weren’t eligible for a fixed price deal (they’ll try to trap you into extra services with that one). I recently noticed that we were £1200 in credit. It took 2 weeks of backwards and forwards with customer service to sort that one out and they used every moronic excuse they could to delay repaying us. Whilst I was having that argument, our cashback card stopped working for online purchases which means our food shopping. We had just loaded it up with £1000 and couldn’t access to buy our food shops. I spent hours on the phone being given incorrect information and was told it was Tesco’s problem and that I couldn’t withdraw money in time to pay on our usual account. This happened 2 weeks in a row and we finally cancelled our contract and found a supplier on a fixed contract paying over £100 less per month. I am still arguing with UW 2 months later and one of them just put the phone down on me whilst I was trying to sort out the litany of incorrect advice, lies and false assurances that are putting my credit score at risk. I don’t care how much cheaper they seem - we will never use them again. Please excuse me whilst I go back to trying to work out their impenetrable bills AGAIN. I can’t wait to delete the app (suspect another few years and it’ll all be sorted).
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
They are stealing money from my mum. Her insurance company canceled the policy, provided by UW. In the UW policy it states that if the customer cancels they will have to continue paying until the policy ends. In this case the customer did not cancel, the company did. Yet they continue to take her money. Even after several complaints. She is listed on their system as vulnerable. They tried to plicate her with £32. Disgusting. Avoid Avoid Avoid
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
I made the mistake of having a full package with my property. Absolutely shocking company will never use them again. Worst company out there! The amount of stress this company has caused me from mistakes they made and I took months to rectify them. AVOID AVOID AVOID
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
We have UW for electricity since our last supplier went bust, so we decided to get their boiler cover! Took us 3 months to actually get them to get an engineer for our so called Boiler service, in their policy wording it states Free Annual boiler service, that is the misleading part! What you actually get is a gas safety check, which is not a boiler service, but they say they are in ofgem guidelines and that is legal!! I would have thought that would come under miss selling at least so now we have to pay for someone to service the boiler, They won't be getting our money for their garbage next year
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Agent called today cold calling promising cheaper energy quotes and wife who is vulnerable fell for it made no mention of having to but broadband and mobile as well .he didn't even check about current contracts. So now on phone wanting to cancel no joy.YOUR STAFF HAVE A LEGAL RESPONSIBILITY TO PUT FACTS IN FRONT OF SUPPOSEDLY NEW CUSTOMERS .POINT KNE OUR TARRIFF IS CHEAPER THAN YOURS NOW .SO WHY CHANGE.WE NOW FACE OVER 1000£ IN EXIT FEES FROM 2 MOBILE CONTRACTS AND A BROADBAND. BUT LIGHT AT END OF TUNNEL ITS NOT GOING LIVE TILL NEXT MONDSY SO LOOKING FORWARD TO BEING LEFT IN DARK NO BROADBAND .BUT DID THE AGENT MENTION ANY OF THIS NO. BUT WHAT DOES HE CARE HE GOT HIS COMMISSION. AND LEFT A VULNERABLE CUSTOMER IN DANGER
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Utility Warehouse is rated 1.5 based on 387 reviews