Utility Warehouse Reviews

1.5 Rating 392 Reviews
11 %
of reviewers recommend Utility Warehouse
1.5
Based on 392 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Postal Service, Courier, Own Driver
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week
Customer Service
1.5 out of 5
Returns & Refunds
Refunds Process
Difficult
Visit Website

Write Your review

Tell us how Utility Warehouse made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Utility Warehouse 1 star review on 18th April 2024
Anonymous
Utility Warehouse 5 star review on 13th January 2024
Mandy
Utility Warehouse 1 star review on 5th December 2023
Courtney Fisher
Utility Warehouse 1 star review on 5th December 2023
Courtney Fisher
Utility Warehouse 1 star review on 5th December 2023
Courtney Fisher
Utility Warehouse 1 star review on 5th December 2023
Courtney Fisher
Utility Warehouse 1 star review on 5th December 2023
Courtney Fisher
34
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
We have UW for electricity since our last supplier went bust, so we decided to get their boiler cover! Took us 3 months to actually get them to get an engineer for our so called Boiler service, in their policy wording it states Free Annual boiler service, that is the misleading part! What you actually get is a gas safety check, which is not a boiler service, but they say they are in ofgem guidelines and that is legal!! I would have thought that would come under miss selling at least so now we have to pay for someone to service the boiler, They won't be getting our money for their garbage next year
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Agent called today cold calling promising cheaper energy quotes and wife who is vulnerable fell for it made no mention of having to but broadband and mobile as well .he didn't even check about current contracts. So now on phone wanting to cancel no joy.YOUR STAFF HAVE A LEGAL RESPONSIBILITY TO PUT FACTS IN FRONT OF SUPPOSEDLY NEW CUSTOMERS .POINT KNE OUR TARRIFF IS CHEAPER THAN YOURS NOW .SO WHY CHANGE.WE NOW FACE OVER 1000£ IN EXIT FEES FROM 2 MOBILE CONTRACTS AND A BROADBAND. BUT LIGHT AT END OF TUNNEL ITS NOT GOING LIVE TILL NEXT MONDSY SO LOOKING FORWARD TO BEING LEFT IN DARK NO BROADBAND .BUT DID THE AGENT MENTION ANY OF THIS NO. BUT WHAT DOES HE CARE HE GOT HIS COMMISSION. AND LEFT A VULNERABLE CUSTOMER IN DANGER
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Stay well away. It's the most dysfunctional mess of a company I've ever had to deal with. Having to take them to court to get raise them into action.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Never had a problem , customer service polite and helpful.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Did not cancel additional services when cancelled main services. Make it very difficult to cancel bu saying its a different type of service then try to get around not cancelling. Company is a Multi level marketing company (read pyramid scheme) Avoid at all costs
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Awful customer service. Claim to be the ‘cheapest’ energy supplier. Whilst that may or may not be true, they recoup those savings through underhand and fraudulent means. I supposedly cancelled all services months ago, but still get a bill every month for a sim I don’t use despite calling several times. Incompetent charlatans to avoid at all costs.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
I had been a UW customer for a number of years, but this year after I moved house they really dropped the ball. Ignoring my initial readings, they went with the unbelievably high readings that the previous supplier gave them - resulting in an electricity bill for £195 for June - the height of summer when barely anything was switched on!! I switch to Octopus, and they straight away noticed that something was way off, and enter a dispute with UW - who are now refusing to accept Octopus' proposed opening readings, as they are lower than the ones UW started my account with (as they would be)! Never again.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
I am 78 and deaf. Really deaf, not just ‘hard of hearing’ I cannot sign. I am unable to use a phone. My only communication with this company is by email, or live chat, seemingly manned by robots. They can text me when it suits them. . They offer a two day wait for any response, emergency or otherwise, once you can navigate round the ever decreasing circles their website sends you on. I live alone, my recently serviced boiler needs attention urgently, as it’s not responding to the controls. I emailed yesterday, explaining my problem.. their usual email response, two days etc etc. This isn’t good enough.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
If I could I would give them a - 0. Everything is wrong with this company...unbelievable they have awards for customer service!!! what customer service? in my experience most of them are downright liars, I was told lie after lie, promise after promise for nearly a year and NOTHING was resolved. I have just won compensation after complaining to the ombudsman. the very worst company I have had the misfortune to deal with. AVOID AVOID AVOID
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
We have been with UW for many years and no problems (or so we thought) until we moved house 17 months ago and asked for a smart meter to be installed immediately! Our 1st bill was £269 over £100 Gas I tried to explain we had no boiler for 3 weeks so had no gas! But paid the bill and asked again for a smart meter again, our bills from then ranged from £350 to over £600 one month, after asking several times for a smart meter to prove we were not using what you were charging us, five months ago I questioned the bill for the umpteenth time and said I would NOT be paying another bill until we had a smart meter installed! Within 2 weeks our smart meter was installed. Well that just proved what we were using! We haven’t spent more that £80 per month since it was installed. So tried again and contacted yourselves saying what we had said numerous times before that we were not using what we were paying for, in June alone it was just under £500? But was told nothing will be refunded as our meter said we used it? So frustrating they have given us no support or help with this issue, we will be forwarding our bills to the ombudsman for support, and will then be changing our supplier! They have given us no choice! Our notes tell them every time I have queried our bill, it is so much money we are out of pocket. NOT A RECOMMENDED ENERGY SUPPLIER
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
The company are trying to charge me for gas that was cut off at the street. They are incompetent liars who should be forced out of business. Of course I’m stuck in debt with them : standard tactic. Perhaps they need to send more reps on holiday. Avoid avoid avoid
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
"Despite a rocky start, my journey with Utility Warehouse began with optimism in January. The promise of streamlined electricity and broadband services bundled at £129 a month was enticing. However, my initial bill was shockingly high, overcharging me hundreds of pounds for a mere 13 days of electricity. Even with a smart meter, the estimated rates persisted, demanding an unreasonable £400 monthly. Frustration grew as my efforts to resolve the issue were met with unsatisfactory responses, leading me to seek the intervention of the ombudsman. While the ombudsman set a resolution deadline, Utility Warehouse unfortunately failed to meet it, leaving me frustrated. Although my experience has been challenging, I remain hopeful for a positive resolution in the future. Save yourselves the bother and do not sign up with this company.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
The experience is the worst I have ever had. The UW seller who was introducing me their offer ensured me that they would sort out the switch from my other suppliers - energy, gas and broadband without me having to do anything like contacting them and cancelling my contracts. And UW did nothing! The result was that my previous suppliers kept sending me blls and charging for the period I wasn't using their services anymore as been taken over by UW. So they are absolute cheaters, didn't do what they had promised and caused extra costs to me. When I was investigating they told me that with broadband they don't send any notification to the previous supplier because once they had taken over the landline it is the sign for the previous company that their service finished, when I contacted the previous supplier IT appeared that the landline hasn't been taken over, that installed the news landline and didn't notify the previous supplier at all. As that company required notification and cancellation of the contract with appropriate time so this promised wasn't kept at all, moreover I was misleaded by them that caused additional fees for me and lost plenty of time on phonecalls. The other thing gas- they ensured IT will be taken over however IT appeared that it wasn't. And they calxilated my bills for everythong incouding gas and finally charging me more event excluding the gas.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
I was about to sign up but the call operator put me right off, very bad attitude, talking down to me and trying to bully me into paying for more than what I’d use. Shan’t be bothering now
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
AVOID AT ALL COST! Took money for a service they didn't provide..! The most DisOrganjsed and Fraudulent company if have Ever Experienced! You have been WARNED!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Rubbish .. income protection an absolute joke ..
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Never go with this company. They have the worst customer service I have ever experienced. It was impossible to resolve any issue. They said on the phone they had closed my account several times and I continued to get charged for not using anything. Was laughed at on the phone by customer service who were incompetent at best. Was told to close my account I had to speak to 3 different teams and wait on hold for hours. These were electric team, phone team and insurance team. I still haven’t resolved my issue as I ran out of time and they closed and have been losing so much money as a result of this whilst paying a new provider as well. I would never recommend this company to anyone.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
UW have stopped supplying electric to my house 4 days before the transfer to my new supplier takes place. I have phoned uw and been lied to on the phone by their representatives. This is absolutely disgusting and surely illegal to leave someone in a house with no electric supply. Especially going into the winter months. I asked to make a complaint on the phone and the representative was taking the mick. May I ask what the complaint is? I think the fact of being left with no supply. I'm off to also speak with trading standards and a few newspapers. Imagine if this was your mother or grandmother they had done this to???
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
I am penning down this review with a sense of disappointment and frustration. My association with UW dates back a few years, and for the most part, it was uneventful and pleasant. However, recent experiences have left me with no choice but to voice my concerns. In April 2023, I opted for a smart meter installation, which promised convenient, accurate billing as my meter readings would be transmitted remotely to the energy company. To my dismay, the first bill following the meter exchange totaled an astonishing £4,379.83 (comprising Gas-£4,379.83, Electric-£271.66, Broadband-£40), it is also worth noting that I live in a 3 bedroom house, with my wife and 4 children (age 2-10). This amount was wildly inconsistent with the readings reported by my smart meter. Engaging in numerous phone calls with UW, they eventually revised the bill to a more reasonable £290.91, accompanied by assurances that my subsequent bills would accurately reflect the smart meter data. However, my astonishment knew no bounds when my August bill arrived, once again bearing no resemblance to the data from my smart meter. To be precise, my smart meter indicated Gas usage of £43.05 (471KWh) and Electricity usage of £91.14 (252KWh), totaling £134.19. However, UW's bill amounted to a staggering £870.51, with Gas accounting for £780.30 and Electricity for £90.21. This glaring discrepancy prompted me to file a complaint with UW, both via phone and email. To ensure a documented record of my grievance, I initiated the email complaint, but unfortunately, the responses I received were far from satisfactory. In one of their email responses, UW claimed, "We haven't received an up-to-date meter reading from you or an engineer for a while. This means we’ve been estimating your usage during that period." I promptly reminded them that I had been informed my smart meter would obviate the need for me to manually submit readings. I even included previous bills that clearly displayed smart meter readings. Yet, their email responses continued to be perplexing. Frustrated with the lack of resolution, I resorted to contacting UW's customer service via phone. During these conversations, UW's representatives insisted that the exorbitant bill of £870.51 was accurate. This assertion left me incredulous, especially when they mentioned recalculating bills dating back to December 2022, despite the meter exchange occurring in April 2023. My second complaint pertains to how UW handled my initial grievance. After numerous calls with UW's complaint team, they remained adamant that the £870.51 bill was correct. They offered me a mere £100 and a payment plan, which I deemed unacceptable. Subsequently, they revised their offer to £150, still accompanied by a payment plan, which I also found inadequate. This impasse led to the issuance of a deadlock letter by UW. However, the content of the deadlock letter was starkly different from the essence of my complaint. In the letter, UW claimed to offer me £300 as a goodwill gesture, a stark contrast to their previous offers. I immediately responded, pointing out the discrepancies in the deadlock letter, only to receive a response the following day, simply reiterating the deadlock status and suggesting I escalate the matter to the Energy Ombudsman. This entire experience has left me deeply dissatisfied with UW's services. While they may claim to be the cheapest energy company, the manner in which they handle billing discrepancies and complaints suggests otherwise. I would advise caution when dealing with this company, as they appear to employ tactics that may not align with their purported commitment to customer satisfaction.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
I have been with utility for the past 3 years and I honesty tell that they are most awful company to have as your supplier. It is really hard job to get through to customer service and if you do,rest assured that this company do nothing to solve your technical issue with their shady meters and the energy display unit. I have had nothing but stress with this company, even if you go on line to them to put your issue, the what so called the help team yry to pass on to customer service and no matter how many times you address the issue, I can promise you that you end up with a negative most stupid answers. I can honestly let you know That you end up bashing your head on the wall abslouty stressful reply from what is called the help time, they should be called bunch of clowns. I am still with this awful company, but I had enough of their shabby service. Seriously considering changing my supplier and now searching for none hassle company, as I had enough of this company technical issues which they keep brushing them under the carpet, no matter how many time I make precise detailed issues.
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
Utility Warehouse is rated 1.5 based on 392 reviews