Utility Warehouse Reviews

1.5 Rating 382 Reviews
12 %
of reviewers recommend Utility Warehouse
1.5
Based on 382 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Postal Service, Courier, Own Driver
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week
Customer Service
1.5 out of 5
Returns & Refunds
Refunds Process
Difficult
Visit Website

Write Your review

Tell us how Utility Warehouse made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Gave me a favourable quote which I accepted and then put the monthly payments up by 20% six weeks down the line. Maybe it was a bad idea in hindsight switching during the winter as you tend to use more during this time. I bet after the summer the rate isn't reduced. Also you have to remember to read the meter as you don't get reminders like with the old supplier. The bills are confusing too. Only good thing was the switch went without a hitch.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 hours ago
Very bad company, wouldn’t trust or use them again, got pressured into putting in a smart meter & my bills we’re virtually double & they automatically took out £600 out of my account saying that the smart meter readings had been incorrect over the last few months. Utter rubbish but my word against there’s & wasn’t really a representative that made any sense when I tried to get a understandable explanation on how my bills were so inaccurate to what the meter readings had been showing. Very bad company and customer service
Helpful Report
Posted 5 days ago
UW over calculated bill, collected money but does not register money collected. UW keeps sending reminders and debt collection for money which was already paid in excess. Customer support keeps apologising but does not rectify mistakes
Helpful Report
Posted 6 days ago
Avoid Utility Warehouse at All Costs - A Nightmare Experience I am compelled to warn others about my harrowing experience with Utility Warehouse. From the beginning, we faced a myriad of issues that made dealing with this company an absolute nightmare. First, our gas, electric, and home insurance were activated before we legally owned the house, despite notifying them that our move-in date was the 19th. They assured us it would be corrected and that we wouldn't be charged for the previous owners, but this never happened. Next, someone on their team inexplicably added SIM cards to our contracts without our consent, leading to an unjustified monthly charge of £26. This unauthorised addition felt like a blatant attempt to sneak in extra charges. We were promised a combined monthly cost of £128 for our gas & electric bill, however, our first bill was a staggering £600, and we were told we weren't on the fixed monthly budget plan as agreed. Despite their assurances, they shifted the blame onto us, and the constant emails and calls demanding payment severely impacted my mental health. After countless hours on the phone, they admitted their mistake but still didn't honour the £128 rate. The broadband service has been atrocious, making it impossible to work from home due to poor coverage. Despite using ethernet cables and Wi-Fi extenders, the service didn't improve. When we decided to leave due to these issues, we were assured our early exit fees would be waived. Yet, we received an email demanding £500 for an early exit fee for just one service. Adding to the chaos, their team mistakenly cancelled our services midway through a month and then reinstated them, further complicating our contract and billing. This incompetence has caused immense stress, especially as I am eight months pregnant and struggling financially due to their constant errors and lack of care. In summary, our experience with Utility Warehouse has been nothing short of disastrous. I urge others to steer clear of this company to avoid the stress, financial burden, and frustration we have endured.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Horrendous…. Was at £0.00 June 23 , paid £1400 over 8 months moved and gave final readings, they took 1449.50 on DD, rang bank and got it revoked, now in dispute as sent in meter reading, just got another bill , increased to 1750.oo , contacted them and it’s on the system saying their readings are wrong !!!!!! AVOID
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Very poor customer service. When you call them you are kept holding on for ages and passed from one customer service agent to another to another and t0 another
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
The worst took 400 pound off me I've been with them for 4 years never a problem the moment I lose my job they turn into jackals cut my internet off every month as punishment said it was my own fault I couldn't read my bills because I was dyslexic then didn't even tell me but actually cancelled my internet so I couldn't talk to anybody or do any work basically they told me to join up again for another 18 months of Hell with them bunch of roaches don't even bother
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Worst company ever, it’s basically a scam company, we stated we did not want any contract because we were renting somewhere for a month and that we did not need a phone line or mobile and only wifi, btw the wifi never worked even when the box arrived, they signed us up to an 18 month contract and added everything to the contract despite us telling them and now they sold the debt to a debt collector because their to dumb to deal with the bill and provide how they came to what they did. Their liars. Avoid at all costs.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Take you money hostage and won't give it back. Gave readings every month and they never used them, they constantly use hugely inflated estimates. Even when I gave actual readings to close the account they lied and used estimates. Avoid!!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
I called customer services as my landline was not working.I was told it was my equipment,so I bought a new phone.I asked my grandson who is more technically knowledgeable than me to come a connect it It was still not working.We then asked my neighbour who is also technically knowledgeable,he tried his phone to no avail.They both came to the the same conclusion,that it's the BT box ,and not my equipment.I have been without my landline for 4 days and also the added cost of a new phone which is an extra expense which was not needed.I have just lost my husband so I can do without the stress.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Billed for energy for 7 months at a property I moved out of last march. Whilst the new tenants where also being billed by UW. I have been trying to get over £1500 back from them since october My april bill has just arrived and they are now trying to get £256 from me for last aprils bill, where I have already paid more than £400 for that month. Even though the house was empty from the !0th March. How could i have used £650 worth of energy in 10 days? They will happily take the £256 from the money they already have of mine. I will be cancelling all the services i have with UW. Do not trust the company.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
AVOID !!!AVOID !!!! AVOID !!!!! Said to the Representative on the Phone YOU ARE SCAMMERS CHARLATANS PAID MY BILL UP TO DATE NOW SAY I OWE 2 MONTHS ENERGY WHEN NEW RESIDENTS HAD TAKEN HOUSE OVER 2 MONTHS PREVIOUS THIS COMPANY OWES ME MONEY FROM MOVING OUT NOW SAYING 2. MONTHS IS OWED BY NEW RESIDENTS BUT WANT ME TO PAY THEIR BILL SCAMMERS !!!!!! SCAMMERS !!!!! SCAMMERS !!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Continued to change me after I had cancelled my subscription and they still owe me money.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
I was happy with service at first, put on budget plan then was informed my bill would increase to £21 pm instead of decreasing as from april 24. I contacted them and they told me i was in arrears, also had gas deficit of £350!!! I contacted uswitch and was quoted £171 by British Gas where as UW quoted me£222 pm!! I have now left UW only to be given an extra bill for past month of £135!!!! In total they say I owe a massive £485, in which i jjust cannor afford. I am already paying British gas for energy service,and UW for arrears. Also i was told i am in credit with UW- no mention of this now in demanding final bills! I am shocked and disgusted. I would avoid this company like the plague!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
I wouldn't even give them one star. Utility Warehouse are sociopaths who seem to seek enjoyment in causing distress to vulnerable people. I have had nothing but problems with them cutting my gas and electricity off for the past two years, leaving me with no access to services overnight in the middle of winter months. They finally transferred me over to a credit meter, which I was relieved so I wouldn't have to deal with them anymore. But no, they want to inflict more emotional stress and damage by sending Churchill Recovery Solutions to my door to 'discuss moving to a credit meter'. I've read online that Churchill Recovery Solutions are bullies and Utility Warehouse have sent them to peoples homes who aren't even in arrears. I am not in arrears and do not owe them any money, so I can't fathom why they would send a recovery agency to my door to discuss moving to a credit meter, when A) I'm already on one now, and B) why can't they pick up the phone and discuss it with me themselves? I have now specified to them that I want to leave and switch energy provider (for the sake of my own sanity before I have a mental breakdown because of them) and they're still acting the goat and not giving me a straight answer when I asked if they'll waive the exit fee for the exceptional amount of stress the consistently cause me. Honestly, do not give this company your custom, unless you enjoy being harassed and made to want to unalive yourself at every interaction.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Appalling, we had to contact them about boiler service, shoddy job because it started to leak soon after and is still leaking after replacement of part, our kitchen wall is damaged by now and no sign of engineer today!
Utility Warehouse 1 star review on 18th April 2024
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Absolutely awful company. Had both at home and for my business…. Currently has to stop my direct debits due to them wanting to charge me £19000 in Dec 2023. I had paid £430 a month on average which was way above the average charge for my unit. Rang several times with no answers no reason as to why we had this change. Still trying to charge me £3400 a month even another company has quoted £340. Still going through dispute but keep away
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
If I could give less I would put them in minus 10. When moved in 18 months ago left me without gas in sub zero temperatures with baby. Eventually they found fault was meter and swapped it. 18 months later I am moving away from area. Looks like the payment plan I opted for on smart meter as been estimated for 14 months. No one from utility bothered to let me know. I have not lived in the house properly since November 2023 just odd days. Moved out properly in 2024 and from monthly bills of just over £85 been hit with exit bill of over £600 Digusted at the service I have received from start to finish. DO NOT GO WITH THEM THEY ARE RUBBISH AND DONT CARE
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
This is the worst service provider I have ever had! The amount of bills is astronomical, I have been waiting for 4 months for a card with which I could top up gas and a key to top up electricity. I paid £70 for this pleasure and received nothing. I also have internet from them, at the moment my financial situation is worse and I paid £90 of the bill (the total amount is £190) and reported that I would be a week late with the payment of the other half. Then my services were disabled without any warning! When I called customer service, I was told that if I pay in full today, my services will be reactivated within 3 months. This is one big scam!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Very bad customer service inflated my bills to over 800 pounds a month tarif was increased to over £1.08 per unit and kept rising when asked about it told if I didn’t like it I was free to move to another company so moved and now paying £0:29 per unit
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Utility Warehouse is rated 1.5 based on 382 reviews