American Golf Reviews

2.07 Rating 72 Reviews
26 %
of reviewers recommend American Golf
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email

Write Your review

Tell us how American Golf made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Order didn’t arrive. No refund yet. Hard to get hold of customer service. No response from them
Posted 1 week ago
Email was not received to confirm order so reordered. I have to pay for returning additional pair. Customer service zilch!

Also had used Quidco and surprise, surprise that hasn’t shown up for either pair.

Will not be using this company again and will be sharing my experience widely so no one else makes same mistakes I did and has to pay the price.
Posted 1 week ago
Do not reply to emails, do not answer calls, online chat doesn't work!

Finally got through after 24 hours of trying and Lauren in the Warrington office doesn't know what the policies are and isnt allowed to speak to a manager,

DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY
Posted 2 weeks ago
Ordered items beginning of December
Not even dispatched by American golf as of today 2.1.21
Posted 2 weeks ago
This is NOT about Hambrook but American Golf online.

I ordered an item 2 weeks before Christmas and at 1730 on 23rd December was informed the order could not be fulfilled and was cancelled.

The email to tell me was extremely blunt and no solution offered. I appreciate this year Covid has made trade difficult but to deliberately leave it so late that an alternative would be impossible to source spoilt my Christmas and I had to suffer the embarrassment of not giving one of my family a gift.

I have been dealing with customer services who (to date) have not offered any solution or resolution to the issue just an insincere apology and suggested I should reorder in the future.

The item remains available to order via the website. Absolutely disgraceful service and I will be sharing via social media.

Please use your local pro shop as sadly, the online service is dreadful
Posted 3 weeks ago
Ordered and had no conformation on delivery . Terrible after sales . Basically take your money and don’t have the goods in stock to supply . Will never buy from again 😡
Posted 3 weeks ago
You shouldn't use COVID as an excuse for shocking customer service. Zero communication - try web chat to chase my order and it tells me no agents to please call, I call and get told the phone number isn't working(!?) email and you just get a generic auto reply. The website clearly says "Maximum 10 day standard delivery" This has passed, no notification, can't get hold of anyone. I work for an online retailer so I understand the current issues but people have ordered Christmas gifts in good faith. If you can't handle orders then you shouldn't be taking them, or at least be honest you have no idea when they will be received if you do order.
Posted 3 weeks ago
Avoid This Company
Absolutely Shocking Service
No Communication
No Goods Received
Posted 4 weeks ago
Placed an order on 12th December. No email to discuss when it will be dispatched. I emailed customer services twice,but they have ignored my emails.
I know it is Christmas and due to covid have extra problems,but nowhere on their website does it say that you will have to wait longer for your order
Posted 1 month ago
Ordered golf balls on 27.11.20 and had confirmation email. Since then have heard nothing!!! Sent an email to the After Sales enquiring if there are any updates and still nothing. Disappointed and very annoyed! Avoid at all costs
Posted 1 month ago
Ordered golf gloves on Dec 9th, received confirmation email. No dispatch email after several days, emailed American Golf yesterday, no response. Have noticed pending payment has disappeared from my bank account, so guessing they have no stock. Would have been more courteous to have advised me by email. I've now placed an order elsewhere, which has already been dispatched. Won't be using this company again
Posted 1 month ago
Ordered a pair of golf gloves for our son, on 9th Dec, and got confirmation of order email. As I hadn't received a dispatch email, I sent an email to American Golf yesterday, no response. I have noticed that my 'pending payment' on bank account had disappeared, so I'm assuming they have no stock of these gloves to dispatch. Might have been more courteous to have advised me by email. I've now placed an order elsewhere, which has already been dispatched
Posted 1 month ago
Will not refund if you buy item in error
Posted 1 month ago
Ordered from American golf 30 Nov and assured delivery in 3-5 days, its now 11. Dec and I am still waiting, after finally getting through to them on Tuesday after days of trying, I get told " You need to understand we are very busy".... No - you need to understand that customer service or lack thereof will make or break your business!!
The parcel is apparently already dispatched and with Hermes (the worst courier service ever) where its been delayed since Wednesday with no explanation ! Avoid this lot like the plague!!!!
Posted 1 month ago
I have tried to purchase from American Golf a Wilson Staff D300 SL Driver, I have now attempted to purchase the club from their website on 9 (yes nine) occasions using three different Visa cards from three different banks and on each occasion the payment hasn’t gone through and I have received a message of Refused FRAUD. These cards have been used subsequently at other websites without any problems. I have contacted their Customer service on three occasions, the first time they stated there was a problem with their payment procedure which was being rectified and that I should try again after two days, the second time I contacted them they said it was a banking issue and I should contact my bank to get it resolved and I should create an American Golf account as this might resolve the issue and on the third occasion I was told that it was fault with their website and I should delete my cookies on my computer and that this would perhaps solve the problem. I have also emailed their Sales Team outlining the problems.
It would appear that American Golf know they have a payment problem but are not prepared to tell their customers.
Their Customer Service Team are giving out conflicting advice and have no clue as to when the issue will be resolved and do not apologise for the inconvenience. American Golf will not allow you to purchase over the phone and to date have not replied to my email.
The word “shoddy” comes to mind.
Posted 2 months ago
DON'T SHOP AT AMERICAN GOLF. AVOID AVOID AVOID.

I went into American Golf on the 04/08/2020 and asked If I could hit a few shots with the demo Vokey Wedges in their simulator. Store assistant gave me the 52 degree, 56 degree and 60 degree demo wedges. I liked them all and bought all three for
£430 (Yikes I know). Thankfully they had the 52 degree in stock but had no stock of the 56 and 60 degree. I was told they would need to be ordered in and this could take up to 5/6 weeks due to the pandemic. Not ideal, but fair enough.

Gets to the first week of September (5 weeks from purchase date) and I phone them to get a status. I'm told there's been a delay and it'll be end of September now (Grrr, annoying but I can live a few more weeks). Gets to the end of September (8 weeks from purchase date) and I phoned again to be told that Titliest still haven't shipped them. At this point I kicked up a fuss on the phone saying that's unacceptable you quoted me up to 5/6 weeks when I bought them. I also checked on clubhouse golf and affordable golf BOTH websites had Vokeys for the grind and bounce I bought in stock. Somebody in my golf club had also ordered Vokeys through the Pro shop at a similar time to me and both his wedges had arrived at this point! I told this to the store assistant to which he said he'll try and source me the clubs from other American Golf stores. A few hours later he phoned me back to say he'd sourced a 60 degree but not a 56. A few days later i was able to pick up the 60 degree a mere 8 1/2 weeks after buying it. Still no 56. Plus - why did it take me kicking up a fuss for him to ring around stores to find the wedge? This should be getting done the second their quoted wait time is coming up, not 8 weeks after purchase date and certainly not after me complaining about it - Poor customer service in my opinion. Anyway, was told the 56 would arrive on the 05/10/20. On the 6th of October I phoned up to get a status to be told the 56 would arrive on the 14th October at the latest. Surprise surprise the 14th came and no 56. Was told it would be there by the end of the week if not at the absolute latest 19th October. On the 20th October I phoned up and was told it still wasn't there. Finally on Friday the 23rd October 11 weeks and 4 days after buying the club it eventually arrived.

I collected the club and spoke to the store manager and told him this service and lead time was not acceptable especially when other golf stores had them in stock weeks ago. I asked for some form of compensation in the form of a voucher/freebee/box of balls or anything as an offer of goodwill. Was told no he wasn't allowed and due to the club being a "Custom club" they can't offer any compensation for delays. The store assistant told me that if I phoned titliest direct they may give me some form of freebee. Seriously? Is this guy for real? He's actually asking me to contact their suppliers direct. I couldn't believe it. Politely told him I'd bought the club off American Golf and not Titliest and it wasn't down to me to chase the suppliers up. Anyway, after strongly voicing my opinion i left the store feeling incredibly unsatisfied with their customer service.

A few things:

1) How an earth is me trying the demo Vokey club liking it and deciding to buy it classed as a custom club/fit? There was nothing custom about my clubs! They were identical to the demo ones.
2) I was told during purchase it would take up to 5/6 weeks. It took one club 8 1/2 weeks and one club 11 1/2 weeks to arrive. 11 1/2 weeks for ONE Club!!! Thats nearly 1/4 of a year!
3) Why was it me constantly having to phone the store and ask for updates? Also staff didn't seem to do anything to resolve the problem. They just passed the blame onto Titliest (the supplier) not taking any accountability for their actions and the lead times they'd quoted me. Classic case of "Its the suppliers fault we can't do anything about it". Bore off, yes you can. Pick the phone up, get me a realistic delivery date off Titileist. Phone other stores asking for stock, Ask me If I'm comfortable with an alternative grind or bounce for 56 as an alternative. Just do something other than the blame game please. ITS TERRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE.


Overall shocking service from American Golf. I will never ever shop there again please avoid at all costs. There over priced and just a bunch of salesmen trying to push a sale. You can get much better service in local pro shops or local driving ranges. Just avoid.

Currently going through the route of customer service. I am not giving up until I am offered some form of compensation for this ridiculous service.
Posted 2 months ago
I tried to spend a £160 voucher. Needless to say it didn’t work, I ordered a top for £139 and neck warmer for £22+ So there was a £2+ balance I tried to pay by visa and it didn’t work. Tried it again but my voucher had no credit. So I have lost £160 and have nothing to show for it. Why do we have to put up with such awful service?
Posted 3 months ago
Today I drove 85 miles round trip to try on some jackets at the Perborough American Golf Pro shop. Incredulously I was told that I had to buy each one I wanted to try on and if it didnt fit they would refund the money, where did that plan come from? In view of the distance I had driven I did pay for and try a Ping jacket, it didnt fit and they did refund the money, but I lost the will to go throught his process another two or three times with different jackets and sizes. I did want to buy a couple of shirts, a jacket and some shoes!! I left with nothing, its a somewhat worse experince than shoppining on-line. Needless to say Iwont be back. Davis
Posted 3 months ago
Don’t shop at American golf Trent park rude unhelpful staff clueless about golf in general just sales people will sell you any thing just to get a sale you can get much better deals else where online golf are the same company avoid to.
Posted 3 months ago
Poor Customer Service
Posted 3 months ago
American Golf is rated 2.07 based on 72 reviews