John Lewis Reviews

2.7 Rating 2,350 Reviews
42 %
of reviewers recommend John Lewis
2.7
Based on 2,350 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier, Own Driver
Average Delivery Time
Over A Month
On-time Delivery
Greater than 40%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
Greater than 67%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week
Customer Service
1.3 out of 5
Returns & Refunds
Refunds Process
Difficult
Returns Process
Could Be Better
Read John Lewis Reviews

About John Lewis:

Uks biggest premium department store.

Visit Website

Write Your review

Tell us how John Lewis made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
John Lewis 1 star review on 8th January 2023
Anonymous
John Lewis 1 star review on 5th January 2023
Anonymous
John Lewis 1 star review on 4th October 2022
Tim Clayton
John Lewis 1 star review on 22nd November 2018
SeanYeates
John Lewis 1 star review on 10th September 2018
Mrs F
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Awful experience buying on line, the John Lewis system failed at the checkout but took my money, £95 a week ago now and despite numerous efforts to complain through customer services ( that’s a joke) no one ever returns calls or emails, all you get is a standard email reply Over a week later and still haven’t got my £95 back. Never again.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Picked a box for our order wrong. Told them the day it arrived. We were informed they didn't keep spare parts, it took weeks it seems to realise me telling them I just wanted my box not a spare part was correct. Great you'd think? No of course not. Customer service is as useful as a bit of soggy lettuice in my opinion and despite it being an express order they can't ship it to me for ages. And further they expect me to take another day off work to sort out their own negligence at my own expense! Just no, never again, don't do it. Buy from somewhere else. I personally am begining to wonder if it's all a joke to them and I'mbeing discriminated against for their enjoyment. At least it feels that way in my opinion.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
I have an I phone and the camera stopped working under warranty JL say it has moisture damage so won’t repair it, the phone is IP67 rated and never been near water or any other liquid. You get passed to technical support who do not care, the phone has now been returned to me with marks where the front has been removed and it doesn’t work at all now! They are just another poor retailer not the JL of old! Beware the 2 year warranty means nothing!
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Needed to buy a new Smart TV. Had a look at different retailers and compared prices. We decided to visit the John Lewis store in Milton Keynes. They had a wide range of stock, the customer assistants were very helpful and helped us choose a TV suitable to our needs. It was in stock so we were able to take it with us that day. The staff in the collections bay were also very helpful and wheeled the TV out to our car and helped us load it into the car. Nothing was too much trouble and the staff were very polite and friendly.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Ordered chairs in January and paid in full. 13 week delivery quoted. Still not got them and latest update is it will be June at the earliest. Will be my last purchase from a company I used to think prided themselves in customer care.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Delivery is a joke one lie after another!
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
shopping online but they are now emailing me marketing rubbish. No unsubscribe button. You need to log in online and update your preferences. I hate that so much. WIll resist shopping there again. Just STOP EMAILING ME
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
I took the day off work and travelled for two hours to receive an order at the time confirmed by John Lewis. I waited for 3 hours (an hour passed the delivery time) and the package never arrived and no further notification. I was offered a slice of cake and a coffee at Waitrose as a 'sorry'. Really poor.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
If I could give these sorry motherfuckers a 0 I would. 1 star is just to high. This school needs be to shut down and everyone working there should be fired because they're all doing it for a paycheck and when you're working with someone's else kids, who are our tomorrows future it should definitely be from the heart. Mr. Fuller is the ringleader of the group only there for the dollars. I definitely would NOT SEND MY CHILD HERE!!!! PLEASE LOOK ELSEWHERE PLEASE!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Purchased a HP smart tank plus 559 on line as I am unable to travel to stores or get someone to for me only to find out that I have to arrange for the item to be taken to the store for repair .. they offer no other options and that I can take between 20 and 28 days for a repair .. discusting ... I only purchased on line as I cannot get to stores and now if I wa t something done then I have to go and drop off and then go and pick it up ... they have no options for those unfortunately unable to travel out
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Excellent service given by Josh in Computer department Cambs when purchasing an I pad and telephone cases. Also young man on till (name unknown). Could not have been better treated. Thank you Josh.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
This has to be the worst experience I’ve had for a while. I preordered a new 42 LG tv from John lewis a month ago. This was to be delivered to my grandmas as she wanted to get a new tv. The preorder was fine but all the service after was shocking. DO NOT ORDER FROM THEM! After a month of waiting I got the email from John Lewis to say “great news, your tv will be delivered this week”. But only a few days later a received another email to say “sorry, there has been a delay in your order. It may be with you in a week, but if you have not received it within 90 days we will refund your order”. This lead me to have a quick look elsewhere to see if I had a backup option. I found the tv on sale at richer sounds and for £100 less. So I contacted John Lewis help line explained the situation and that they could fit it in the next few days. To my surprise I was informed that I should get the tv in the next week but that installation would have to be ordered separate and could be a few weeks later as I didn’t add it at point of order. I explained that it was not an option on a preorder and it had stated “someone would contact me nearer the time to arrange delivery”. The advisor said the best way to sort it out would be to cancel my order and reorder the whole lot again, and that would mean they could price match richer sounds and arrange installation at the same time as delivery. At this point I asked the question “but if I cancel it and reorder will it still get delivered in a week or, will I loose my place in the order?” I was told “no you will still get I within a week”. So later that afternoon I went onto my account and cancelled my current order and went to reorder the tv. I was a little shocked to find, that John Lewis themselves were now selling the tv for £100 less on their website, which means their slogan of “never knowingly undersold was a lie” as they had never communicated this saving to me. But when I went to reorder the delivery went up to 5 weeks. So I phoned the customer service line again and explained the situation and previous conversation. All the advisor could say was sorry but that this is how the system works and I would now have to wait 5 weeks for my order. I asked to speak to the complaints team. I got a call from the complaints team a day later who listened to the whole scenario and then explained that due to “their systems there was nothing she could do “ . So I asked just to confirm, they were initially going to charge me a higher amount event though “they never knowingly undersell” she apologised and said this is a retail environment and that they were looking to remove that price promise soon. And then I repeated that I have now lost out on the order due to their own advice and that there was nothing they were going to do to try and help me? She confirmed that was the case and that she could only apologise and it was “how their systems worked”. I really don’t understand that when they sell similar products to a lot of people on the high street how they intend to keep customers if this is the way they treat them. I’m just glad it’s me that’s had to deal with this and not my grandma. On the plus side richer sounds have been very helpful from first enquiry to installation they could not have done more and for cheaper!
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
First parcel was slow to be delivered. Second never arrived and now they say it is lost! They have also said it is out of stock! It is part of a set and they wanted me to order something else. No offer, nothing.
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
An abysmal recent visit to JL Norwich revealed a shocking culture change in store customer service. It is now puerile, unprofessional and not in tune with the varying expectations of customers. When doing business I do not wish to be their "buddy" nor constantly assailed and interrupted by persons who by their manner of dress are impossible to given as " partners". I would suggest that instead efforts could be better directed at improving the truly woeful range and availability in Menswear in particular. Furthermore it is not acceptable that 2 separate "partners" gave wholly wrong assurances about the benefit of " validation " of car park ticket. I do not by any means expect servility merely the same level of respect and professionalism I would naturally extend in business contexts.
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
I am a devoted JL shopper. However - my visit to the High Wycombe store today has left me feeling so disappointed. The range and display of products has declined significantly and some of the staff had little regard to customer service (electrical - home wear and fashion in particular). Staff do not look smart anymore and are now wearing jeans and sweaters making them hard to identify from customers. Please, please can you look to return to previous high standards. I had so much that I wanted to buy but lack of availability and care sent me home empty handed.
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
Second terrible experience when purchasing from John Lewis online. Bought a mattress from them, arrived via their DPD delivery service. Mattress was filthy and broken. Spoke with John Lewis customer services who arranged exchange the next day before 10.30 - mattress did not arrive. Then got text messages from DPD saying that the new delivery date had been changed. John Lewis customer service unable to help as have to wait for a different department to call back. Do not buy anything online from John Lewis.
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
Bought a Dishwasher. Phoned before delivery. On time and helpful.
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
Having had a representative to measure up for curtains I was told that it would be a wait as it was just prior to Christmas. Totally understandable, except the next day I had an email saying the fabric was out of stock. I phoned up to be told that the email was a mistake and that I would receive my curtains in February. This I did not worry about as they are large curtains covering a whole wall of glass doors and glass panels. The curtains arrived mid February and the box that they arrived in was dirty battered and torn box. The curtains at first view seemed to have not been damaged and so they were hung. looking at the thermal linings each curtain had 4 or 5 marks on each curtain. One or two were quite small like pen marks but others looked like somebody had stood on them with a dirty shoe. John Lewis were efficient at dealing with the problem but not in a satisfactory was. My only options were to take the curtains down and return them (leaving the plate glass exposed during the coldest part of the year as they were not prepared to supply anything to cover the windows. They also offered £130 (20%) refund. I really wanted the curtains returned and rectified but was not prepared to sit with no thermal covering and so had little option but to accept the payment and use it to get them cleaned my self (24 hrs). John Lewis were intransigent in its offer it was take it or leave it. the product had it not been marked were very good it is just the approach to the problem that left a lot to be desired.
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
I purchased three appliances from John Lewis online. On February 1, 2022, we purchased an AEG dishwasher and a Bosch Fridge Freezer for a combined total of £1378, delivery scheduled for 24 February. On 1 March 2022, I purchased a Bosch dishwasher for £549, delivery scheduled 8 March. I'm sure that the products are great, as I've always had good experiences with these brands. In fact, I can now confirm that the dishwasher and the washing machine are fine. However, this relates to John Lewis' abysmal customer service skills. The Fridge Freezer was defective and did not work. This was particularly troublesome as we had no alternative means of refrigerating or keeping our food having moved to a new house. John Lewis insisted that I had to have a Bosch engineer physically inspect the product before I could get a replacement. This could not occur according to Bosch until March 15th! Fortunately, they were able to come out (finally) on the 10th and spend less than 10 minutes telling me, yes, indeed, the fridge does not work and is defective and needs to be replaced. There are copious notes of my multiple conversations with JL's customer service and technical departments. I’ve lost countless hours and money spending wasted time on dealing with this issue. JL's attention to this problem was and remains unacceptable. Whilst they hold your money for these purchases, instead of immediately remedying the situation by sending a new fridge and taking the one that doesn’t work away, they require one to wait nearly a month to have a working fridge (something that has not yet happened). All this, knowing I had no refrigerator and a family with small children. They should have the common sense and decency to understand that a fridge / freezer is a necessity for keeping and storing food stocks in modern times. It is not acceptable to treat the product like any other product under the Consumer Rights Act where you have a 30-day grace period to remedy it. Apparently, the only option I had as a customer in this country is to spend additional out of pocket to purchase a new fridge and have it delivered right away and then wait for JL to issue a refund once they finally got around to having Bosch tell them the fridge does not work, as if they were unable to accept my word for it. If I had known how utterly vacuous JL's service would be in this regard, I would have done that straight away. But, I wrongly assumed that they could make rational, intelligent decisions for themselves that were customer-centric, instead of corporate office focused. To date, I still don’t have a working refrigerator having been strung along within the 30-day grace period to wait for a replacement. JL did not even have the foresight or will (economically or otherwise) to simply hire a truck for a special delivery. In America this would have been resolved WITHIN 14 HOURS and I would have had a working Fridge on the 25th of February a day after realizing this one did not work - no questions asked. Of course, I understand, it is much cheaper to have a full team of customer service specialists to tell a customer “so sorry,” rather than spend additional money to solve a problem. Brilliant. No thanks for the service. Abysmal.
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
Ordered some curtain which I then found cheeper else where. Thought I would be able to get a refund under their price promise of never knowingly undersold. However since I’d ordered click and collect and other store did not offer click and collect they would not price match. However, if I returned the goods and went into the store they would price match. Just wriggling out of a commitment and their slogan “Never knowingly undersold” is just words to con the shopper. I think John Lewis are loosing the plot generally and will be loosing loyal customers.
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
John Lewis is rated 2.7 based on 2,350 reviews