John Lewis Reviews

2.7 Rating 2,350 Reviews
42 %
of reviewers recommend John Lewis
2.7
Based on 2,350 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier, Own Driver
Average Delivery Time
Over A Month
On-time Delivery
Greater than 40%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
Greater than 67%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week
Customer Service
1.3 out of 5
Returns & Refunds
Refunds Process
Difficult
Returns Process
Could Be Better
Read John Lewis Reviews

About John Lewis:

Uks biggest premium department store.

Visit Website

Write Your review

Tell us how John Lewis made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
John Lewis 1 star review on 8th January 2023
Anonymous
John Lewis 1 star review on 5th January 2023
Anonymous
John Lewis 1 star review on 4th October 2022
Tim Clayton
John Lewis 1 star review on 22nd November 2018
SeanYeates
John Lewis 1 star review on 10th September 2018
Mrs F
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
I bought a MacBook Pro from John Lewis as it had been recommended to me for their good customer service. I experienced awful customer service with them. Not long after I got my laptop I started having problems with it, I tried to get in contact with them (which took several attempts) and then finally managed to book a date for them to collect it as it was still under warranty. They came to collect on the wrong day. Tried again, with no response. Eventually on the third attempt they came to collect AGAIN came on the wrong day and only by luck was someone home. Overall this process took 6 months to get my laptop collected. I appreciate that the issue wasn't covered under warranty but their customer service was terrible and offered me no advice or guidance with the situation. Would not use them again.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
my experience was negative. I bought a washing machine on 22nd sept with delivery on 29th. when completing the order i was very specific about time slot deliver, due working commitments i can't be at home before 4, so i booked the delivery for evening/night slot, until 9pm. To make sure i called to ask more info and explain the situation, they reassured me that they will pass my note and the delivery team will arrange the time slot suitable. 2 days ago i received a mail telling me that the delivery will be between 11 and 1pm. I called the customer service and explained that i am not at home. They told me they can't do anything about and wait for the driver to call me. Today i received a text message telling me they were on the way to deliver. I called again the customer service and same as before, they said they could not do anything about and to talk to the driver. Then i received a call from the driver and i explained again and the driver told me he could not deliver. I asked the driver to put a note for the customer service to call me and they did after couple of hours. They asked me to pay extra to choose a delivery time, after paying 700£, honestly i think is not fair to pay almost another 50£ for delivery. I refused and i asked if they can guarantee the delivery after 4pm, any day would be the same, i don't finish working before 4. They told me they can't guarantee the delivery time and i had to cancel my order, hopefully i won't need to chase them for the refund. Now i have to find another washing machine somewhere else. I know they are a big company and probably losing a customer won't change anything for them, but i would like to share my disappointment about the poor customer and delivery service. Of course i won't buy from them anymore.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
missed delivery date and still waiting. customer service is terrible, rude and very unhelpful
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Excellent as always and the same price as other merchants with the difference being the exceptional customer service you get from John Lewis. I returned an electronic item which I ordered by mistake and my refund appeared in less than a week. No quibbles No nonsense. Return was easy and free of charge at the local post office.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
John Lewis kindly agreed to reinstate a £100 voucher that had expired over one year ago, as it got misplaced in a house move.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Terrible experience! Would never order or encourage anyone else to buy from them again. Ordered a new washing machine on the Monday and was told it would be delivered on the Wednesday. I took a day off work without pay to wait in. Told it would be delivered between 13.15 and 15.15 and would get a phone call before hand, never happened. Eventually the driver turned up at 18.45 only to find the new washing machine was damaged. I asked John Lewis to redeliver on the Friday, was told would have to wait over a week for next available delivery slot! Told them to refund my money as I'm not going to wait another week. Spent nearly an hour on the phone trying to get the refund sorted to no avail. They then had the cheek to offer me a refund on one of their own e cards like i would want to buy from them again! So I lost a days pay at work, waited in all day for nothing as the product was damaged, then had to haggle most of the evening over the phone to get my money back from an overseas call centre and then have to source a machine from somewhere else. Thanks John Lewis!
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
USLESS! Placed an order for collection TWO weeks ago. Day after placing order receied email advising order not in stock and they will reorder. Called today to find out where order is and was told " would you like us to reorder it for you, but we don't know if it is still available?". Unbelieveable!!! I've been sat here for TWO thinking they had reordered the item automatically but instead they have been sitting on my money without reordering! Now they can't say if the item is still available to reorder! Beyond incompetent! Fed up with this useless store!
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Quick and efficient.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Usually, you can guarantee on John Lewis to provide great products with a fantastic level of service. I would choose to buy items with them rather than anywhere else based on this. However, their customer service seems to have taken a downward turn, which verges on rudeness. The instructions given by the customer service staff member to upload photos of our damaged item were given at lightning speed, even after being asked to please go more slowly. After being put on hold while my photos were being uploaded, the member of staff came back online to ask 'are you done?' and after my reply of 'yes,' promptly hung up the call. What a way to leave a lasting impression! Oddly, this part of the experience was even worse than receiving a damaged item!
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
The customer care are hanging up during the query of the problem. They book deliveries without a call. You place an order and then you are left without any information about your order. Or not real information as the e-mail says the item is out of stock (after I paid for the product), customer care says there are still 30 in stock, and other customer care person says they can't really understand what my issue is. So even if I paid almost 2,000 £ for a product, and I have no clue if it will be delivered, when, or no saying in this type of decision, it is mainly a response of: "so what", the customer care person being more concerned that my surname is an odd one, than with my actual query.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Failed to show for a pre booked fitting appointment. Paid in full months ago as curtains are made to measure. No call, no email, 3 days after still no response. In summary they have my money & have my curtains with no explanation or apology as to why they simply didn’t show up. Are John Lewis cowboys? Why has nobody been in touch to resolve this matter? Are John Lewis thieves?
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Bought a brand new dishwasher (c£1k Bought a brand new dishwasher (c£1k - order number 366356563) and paid £90 for installation. The dishwasher was installed on Thursday 11th August and was passed by their install team as fine. I turn on my new dishwasher and it starts leaking at the waste pipe. I get in touch with customer services (0345 all the way and costing me again!) and they say the quickest they can get someone out is Weds 18th. Until then, I am told I cant use the dishwasher and because of the positioning of the waste outlet, it also means I cant use my kitchen sink as any water going down the sink will now cause the dishwasher connection to it to leak water. Frustrated at having to live without my kitchen sink, I tell JL team politely that if I can get a plumber to fix it sooner I will, but I will be expecting my installation fee back. I get a plumber in next morning and he tells me the JL team have omitted the washer from the connection and that the dishwasher piping/outlet is positioned wrong - needs to be higher than the waste. Now JL is not even thinking about refunding my £90 installation fee - I paid twice effectively by having to get a plumber in to fix their mistake. Wont be back to JL. Gone way downhill. I went to JL as I felt it would be a better bet than a cut price online retailer due to customer service. I was wrong. Should have saved cash by going elsewhere.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Having problems with the change over of Partnership card to NewDay. Submit application on-line together with phone code, press submit, and it is blocked. There must be an easier way. It is no good the help line telling me the changeover won't happen until 31st October; I need to get my regular renewals sorted out before then, and not at the last moment. Would it not be easier to give us all a new card automatically?The two screeds I have received do not mention anything like that,.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Very good promotions with 30% off normal stock on many lines click and collect available next day with free returns if required.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Ordered some items on next day click and collect. One was damaged in the post which was bad luck but John Lewis said they would send a replacement. After this I had no further communication on when the replacement would arrive so I had to keep going back to the click and collect shop to check. When I did arrive I never had any notification from John Lewis that it had been delivered. Poor communication and made what should have been an easy delivery option take lots of time.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Used to shop at John Lewis alot but today I swore there is no way in hell I place another order! Got 2 open cases with them, everytime you call you speak to someone new who asks you 200 questions and does nothing at the end! Case1- Ordered 2 highchairs last year, after a month they were finally delivered! Now we have issues with the warranty, I have already sent a video of product 4times and they keep asking me to email it again! I'm stuck in an endless loop with this case! requested a call from a manager which hasn't happened yet. Case2- Ordered two scooter, one arrived and one still in transit. I spoke to someone over the phone who advised me to place another order and they'll refund me the delivery charges and I will receive a refund for the item that's never been given to Royalmail. I placed a new order for Nextday delivery and guess what!!! No refunds have been made and the delivery charges refund didn't go back to my card, they issued a gift voucher for me and this wasn't what we agreed on, im disgusted, disappointed and I feel tricked. There is no way I order from this company again. What was even more fraustrating is the customer service advisor kept intrupting mr, she didn't even allow me to finish one single sentence. I was speaking to her when she put me on hold and I was still talking when she wished me a good day and hung up the phone. 1- Case number: 20314875 2-Case numbers: 20468424 All I want is for them to resolve these issues and get it done with! tired of spending at least 30 mins on the phone every single day for the past 3 weeks!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
The quality of components sold is the best, and even with a guarantee. The price is pleasant.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
A below average company
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Great service ordered a washing machine which arrived quickly and was a good price. Easy to use website
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Excellent quality products
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
John Lewis is rated 2.7 based on 2,350 reviews