John Lewis Reviews

2.7 Rating 2,398 Reviews
41 %
of reviewers recommend John Lewis
2.7
Based on 2,398 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier, Own Driver
Average Delivery Time
Over A Month
On-time Delivery
Greater than 40%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
Greater than 67%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week
Customer Service
1.3 out of 5
Returns & Refunds
Refunds Process
Difficult
Returns Process
Could Be Better
Read John Lewis Reviews

About John Lewis:

Uks biggest premium department store.

Visit Website

Write Your review

Tell us how John Lewis made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
John Lewis 1 star review on 9th July 2023
Clare
John Lewis 1 star review on 8th January 2023
Anonymous
John Lewis 1 star review on 5th January 2023
Alan
John Lewis 1 star review on 4th October 2022
Tim Clayton
John Lewis 1 star review on 22nd November 2018
SeanYeates
John Lewis 1 star review on 10th September 2018
Mrs F
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
This company has seriously deteriorated. I have had a terrible customer service experience today regarding a faulty Apple watch. I have been given the run around and passed around department after department with no resolution. I contacted the Head of Customer Service and what a dreadful experience that was too. I have been a loyal customer with John Lewis for many years and purchased a copious amounts of goods, but no more. A resolution was sort for my faulty Apple watch, which I was happy with and then they changed tactics and said the watch had to be sent away and repaired by an engineer. I have emails from customer service agreeing for me to purchase a higher value watch. Beware! Poor customer service experience when things go unexpectedly wrong.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I ordered made to measure curtains, a curtain pole and fitting in June 2022. I paid in full - almost £3000 at the time of ordering. There has been a saga of mistakes, incompetence and broken promises too unbelievable to recount here. 7 months later I still have nothing after taking 3 days off owork, making at least 20 phone calls and writing multiple emails. They were again supposed to deliver today - the fitter called to say they couldn’t find the pole in the warehouse so they went to another job. Customer services said the pole was in the warehouse but because the staff are all temporary they couldn’t find it. I don’t know who to believe. I asked for a refund and they said it was agreed by their manager and someone would call me today to process it. Nobody called. I was not surprised.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Took a whole day off work to wait for my delivery. Half arrived previously via dhl but the bulk of it didn’t turn up. The sum total of their effort was a phone call from a blocked number without a message…spammed me with reminders and that was it. Spent £5000 and suggest you think carefully about using this company. They would rather refund than have happy customers. Really poor company and customer service is nil!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Absolutely horrible experience with JL repairs centre! I purchased the Samsung S20 5G a year ago (with JL 3 years watranty. The phone started glitching.  After going through diagnostics with the JL technical team (factory reset, safe mode etc), I was advised to sent it in for repairs.  It was returned to me stating "fully tested with no defect found" and that it had been independently checked by the quality team to ensure it is fully working. It started glitching again after a few hours and I contacted JL and sent more pictures. Aftwr over two weeks, I contacted JL for an update only to be informed that the engineers had found damage to the handset and I would have to pay almost £300 for the repair. Shock because the phone lives in a wallet case, it has a screen guard and I am not careless with it - has not suffered impact or trauma, to the best nof my knowledge.  I can sincerely say that there are no scratches or dents on the phone. I have a spare (an old Samsung S9) and a work phone and all three are in my hand bag when I'm out.  The S9 is working perfectly (currently using it as main one while the S20 is with JL. We buy our electricals from JL (TV, fridge freezer) as well as beddings, towels etc, and I am extremely diassapointed with this experience from John Lewis repair centre.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
The furniture departure is a nightmare. We highly discourage any potential customer : do not get a kitchen fitted by John Lewis the designer gives you the impression that there will be a case manager. David Michael a rude employee of John Lewis, he never answered the phone, no replied to our text. The fitter was new in fitting John Lewis kitchen and everything we asked to do he said “I have to ask John Lewis”. The granite has a big scratch that John Lewis employee ( David Michael ) refuse to get in touch with the granite company to ask to do something about it .
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
My tv went for repair due to an intermittent fault where it won’t turn on. Whilst in for repair, the casing was cracked by the 3rd party repairer who denied it. I was told I had to pay for the repair or the remaining warranty was invalid because I didn’t have a photo of the back of the tv. I was also ridiculed for my lack of common sense for not taking a photo of the back of the tv, and there’s apparently no way to escalate a complaint! Terrible service - the 5 year warranty process is a joke! The service / repair process is woefully lacking. The customer care staff couldn’t care less! I’ll be buying my electrical hood from AO in future!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Terrible service. Paid extra for named day delivery (£7.50) and never arrived. No apology or communication from John Lewis. Never again will I order from them. The CEO earns over £1m per year and he can’t get a simple delivery right, what a joke. Rip off +++.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Always thought John Lewis was a great company with exemplary customer service. My latest experience has put that into question. I bought 2 portable induction hobs pre Christmas with a 2 year guarantee- all labelled as with John lewis (even the subsequent email confirmed this). Late last month they both blew the fuse and stopped working. I got on live chat to John lewis thinking it would be easy to sort out. After the longest live chat experience with a rather rude service assistant I was told that my "guarantee" was with tefal and not John lewis and they're only available Mon to Fri 10-4. I emailed John lewis to complain and have again been fobbed off with a platitude that its ok as tefal are actually open 8-8. I've since tried to email tefal and had no response and don't have time in my working days to wait on the phone to them. I've now asked for it to be escalated to a manager. I'll be thinking twice before shopping there again terrible customer service!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I made one order that fits me but they sent me a completely ten sizes different. So then today morning I called customer service and they said it was out of stock.Then I tried to talk to the duty manager but they did not pass the phone to the duty manager but they said the only thing that they can do is to refund me and that it will take 7 to 15 days.Also this is the second time in ten days that they did this to me and this is there fault and they didn’t even give me a gift voucher or anything for there mistake. Now slowly slowly John Lewis is having poor poor customer service and I asked that I don’t need a refund I just want the jacket that I ordered because it was expensive.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Terrible service / experience. Purchased a TV from John Lewis and decided to take the 0% option. Approved immediately but the e-agreement link failed. It failed again from the confirmation email. It failed again on the website and asked me to ‘come back later’ which I did and it still didn’t work. I call JL who can’t help and refer me to creation. Creation tell me that it’s a problem my bed because I’m using safari (I’m actually using chrome), it’s then a problem because of my phone, so I try a laptop (it still doesn’t work). The proposed solution is to send an agreement by post for me to return by post… in 2023… So I called JL to cancel the order. The woman tried to solely blame creation… I pointed out that I was buying from JL and creation are their recommended partner so poor service from them reflects on JL. She then said ‘well we have thousands of successful contracts every day’ like I should be happy with my poor service because others had a better experience. What type of reply is that. This is just amateur and reflects terribly on John Lewis.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I purchased a phone from John Lewis online and it went faulty. John Lewis utterly refused to give me an address to return it for repair. The service is honestly the worst ever I have experienced, the two-year guarantee they offer is pointless. I spoke to their manager "Shaun" who said they have a right not to accept goods back. Avoid John Lewis for anything technical. When I asked for a returns number they refused. Avoid this Company.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I placed my order for a Ninja AirFryer and a Sony 55" OLED TV on 11th January, total amount was £1,300. The first surprise was when only 5 working day delivery was free for it. When you pay more than a grand, they could do better I guess. Then they called me for checking the delivery slot, even if I had a meeting I quickly picked it up and said I work from home so they can come whenever they want. They said that's not a good enough answer so I had to call them back. The output of my call was a delivery timeslot for 18th January between 11:00 and 21:00. It was not a choice that was the only option. If you don't work from home you have to take a day-off. Why could not they just accept my come when you can statement? Then the gentleman arrived at 7sih PM with an LG TV instead of my SONY. I refused the delivery and the following day they wanted to discuss another delivery with 5 working day SLA. That was the moment when I said no way on Earth and I want my money back. I was told I can get an immediate refund which was a lie. If all good I can get back my money tomorrow so after 14 days I made my purchase. I had multiple discussions with the customer representatives but other than they are super polite they gave me only lip service. Even if the fault and poor treatment is obvious they did not involve their management. Just like a broken record saying the policy mantra. Like human droids. Either that's their mental capacity or they are threatened by their management not to escalate anything to them. The worst ever customer experience, I will never ever order anything from them because they are absolutely bunkers. They advertise everywhere the customer experience but in reality they provide nothing.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Bought a smartphone for my sons 18th Birthday It very quickly wasn’t working properly Returned it in December Poor customer service: did not respind to emails, did not return phone calls The phone went for repair and arrived back locked and unusable I was told to run the battery down as it wouldn’t switch off and then take it to a shop for reset I refused and complained Complaint was returned and I was told my contract was with Google and not JL and I needed to contact them It’s not clear whether the phone has been repaired as the reason it went off was because it didn’t recognise the passcode or Google have locked it. Either way it is the responsibility of JL to sort out. Appalling service Have reported the issue to Trading Standards
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Don't be sucked in by their two year guarantee on electrical products. After developing a fault with an actifry, still under their supposed guarantee, a very abrupt representative refused to have it repaired or exchange it and referred me to the manufacturer's. That in itself deserves another review as getting it back to them is no easy task although they do guarantee for two years. I paid the higher price with John Lewis compared to other retailers because I believed if there was a problem I could return it back into the store rather than, as a full time worker, have the hassle of getting it picked up via a courier to return to the manufacturer. You may fooled if your appliance only has a one year guarantee that John Lewis will cover you for the additional year but after my experience of them passing the buck I wouldn't count on it .
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
3 items I ordered did not arrive despite receiving an email that they were delivered. One item was incorrect - I ordered a dress from Ted baker and received a jumper from phase eight! Still awaiting refund and how to return the jumper - I was sent a link via email but it doesn't work. I have been told I won't get refunded for the dress if I don't return the jumper. Very annoyed.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
The driver took a picture of the opposite side of the road while was driving and drive away without even stopping. I was in front of the door and thats why he took a picture of the other side. Lousy company I have the picture to prove 🤦🏻‍♂️
John Lewis 1 star review on 8th January 2023
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Putting together a new TV from John Lewis I unfortunately managed to lose one screw. I've just spent 45 minutes on the phone being passed from pillar to post trying to obtain a replacement. I was told that Technical Support would help, only to be told by them they could not. All this via what sounded like foreign help desks and difficult accents. Thought about going to JL local store where they must assemble TV's for display, but then thought I'd ring the TV maker LG. LG were brilliant. Within 3 minutes an order was raised for a replacement free of charge to be sent by post. I remember when JL was renowned for service but they seem now to have completely lost the plot. It seems it's beyond them to imagine the manufacturer (with whom they must have a relationship) might be able to help. No amount of "awesomes", "brilliants" and "have a nice day" from JL can make up for this shoddy service. Next time I'll be going to Richer Sounds.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Can no longer trust this once great company, boss earns £999k JohnLewisRetail while they cancel gift cards and refuse to honor the value, no expiry date on cards find out when you try to use them, be warned.It says; "This gift card will expire 24 months after the last transaction on the card." There is no expiry date on the card so if you have not used it, should still be valid!
John Lewis 1 star review on 5th January 2023
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Over the Christmas period, I went to shop at your store in Cheadle only to find out you now allow dogs into the store. I cannot understand why you would think the majority of people shopping in the store would approve. You are catering to a minority for monetary gain only. Next you will be allowing dogs in the cafe areas. I won’t be shopping there again.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I bought several items totally £506 in Black Friday sale & one item costing £212 was delayed & then a fortnight later cancelled. I was very unhappy about this & when I complained to John Lewis about this terrible experience they told me I got my £212 refund so I should be Happy & by Law they have done nothing wrong & they just shift the blame to their suppliers rather then accept responsibility. I ultimately escalated my complaint to Director relations & the persons I dealt with were absolutely & utterly useless & it’s amazing they are employed in a Capacity of Customer relations Manager. There staff in this department are very arrogant & condescending and are beyond useless, the standards of John Lewis have absolutely collapsed just overpriced & terrible customer services. They seem to be only interested in profit nothing else & I feel the company could save a fortune by closing the Directors Relations office who are useless & customer unfriendly & if you complain they insult you by their complete negativity & offer no outcome to resolve your complaint. I would give this company a minus & I think it is one of the worst retailers I have ever dealt with & I would highly recommend if you go to other retailers who appreciate your business.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
John Lewis is rated 2.7 based on 2,398 reviews