John Lewis Reviews

2.7 Rating 2,388 Reviews
41 %
of reviewers recommend John Lewis
2.7
Based on 2,388 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier, Own Driver
Average Delivery Time
Over A Month
On-time Delivery
Greater than 40%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
Greater than 67%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week
Customer Service
1.3 out of 5
Returns & Refunds
Refunds Process
Difficult
Returns Process
Could Be Better
Read John Lewis Reviews

About John Lewis:

Uks biggest premium department store.

Visit Website

Write Your review

Tell us how John Lewis made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
John Lewis 1 star review on 9th July 2023
Clare
John Lewis 1 star review on 8th January 2023
Anonymous
John Lewis 1 star review on 5th January 2023
Anonymous
John Lewis 1 star review on 4th October 2022
Tim Clayton
John Lewis 1 star review on 22nd November 2018
SeanYeates
John Lewis 1 star review on 10th September 2018
Mrs F
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
I bought my apple laptop from John Lewis in 2021 with a 2 year warranty. The keypad became faulty. I phoned John Lewis and was told to return the item to my local Waitrose. I was given no tracking number or QR code. Waitrose explained that the John lewis customer service has been outsourced and they don’t understand their protocols. After an hour on the phone I managed to give John Lewis a tracking number from Waitrose. 2 days later I received an email saying the item cannot be refunded and was on its way back to me via DHL. When I spoke to John Lewis Customer Service they said that the laptop was on its way back to me, as they connect give me a refund. i explained that the product was faulty and that I didn’t want a refund but that it needed to be looked at by their technical team as it was faulty, I was told to return it to them when i received it back. The laptop has never arrived, this was over a month ago. The tracking number from DHL does not work and JL assured me it was collected. I phoned customer service every few days. they say they will look into it but never do. Effectively John Lewis has lost my laptop and with my identity. John Lewis have taken no responsibility for this issue. or done anything to resolve it. each time i phone i am told the same thing but there is no progress. I now have no laptop, no compensation and no way of speaking to anyone that can help resolve matters. I would think very seriously about purchasing an expensive item from John Lewis again as their customer service is completely incompetent, unhelpful. i have been left without a laptop and with no one i can speak to who will resolve the issue.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Don't trust John Lewis Don't trust John Lewis, they advertise one thing and send you something different. Then they lie and blame the manufacturer for the JL website falsely advertising this. Amazing social media as I'm in contact with other customers who have had similar experiences. JL the longer this takes the more negative feedback you will recieve. Also this contacting contacting trading standards.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
It is so sad and distressing that one of our UK leading stores has deteriorated so much. Useless online support, incompetent customer service agents by phone and uncaring staff in the store. returned two items in the store but they processed only one and refunded only one so we spent the next 4 hours chasing customer service agents on line and by phone with no avail. Naturally, you cant contact the store nor is there anyway for them to call you back...incompetence at its highest. Let's hope their next Chairperson brings back JLP to its glory days where customer was always first
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Worse customer service ever. Signed delivery that was never signed or given to me found damaged outside the warehouse next to my workplace. John Lewis did not take responsibility and I lost £400.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Goods arrived via DPD damaged. Called John Lewis Customer Service. Was told that we'd have to send pictures. Replied we would send three items back as two were damaged. It took lots of "holding the line" then transfer for us to arrange a collection with Evri (who have lost items for us before) and it will take five days to process refund. Very unimpressed with customer service. Won't be using John Lewis again. I guess that's why their business is going down the pan.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Purchased a new washing machine which was installed on Monday Fitters disturbed piping causing constant leak under sink .Phoned technical services couldn’t come until Thursday to fix this .Call centre staff find it difficult to understand your issue and there is no one to speak to express your frustration .Having used j Lewis for years this is one customer you have lost .
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Awful experience doing simple exchange with gift receipt. Wasted hours jumping through hoops and emailing..and then over an hour trying to sort. Asked specifically that they dont bother my relative who is very ill yet they continued to email...5 times in one day. The worst after sales ive ever experienced
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Total disgrace the hidden reviews are right! Ipad pro went wrong 12 hours!!!!!!!!!! outside of the warranty they could not careless! Apple stated it was first turned on Christmas day as stated by apple, the mighty John Lewis customer service live up to the reviews online why buy from them. I spend thousands with them for work and personal not anymore i am done! I am actually speechless about the disgusting level of service i have experienced.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
John Lewis have behaved in a totally irresponsible way in mishandling my order for a new tv. Having confirmed the order, issued the guarantee and advised me that the package was with the courier they have now said that the order will be rescinded and the money refunded in about 5 days. They have given me absolutely no explanation of reason as to why they have cancelled my order. Their performance can only be described as absolute rubbish. On this performance I will not deal with them again and I suggest that other potential purchases should consider whether they have any other options. If they have they should avoid John Lewis.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Totally a terrible experience with John Lewis brought a washing machine only lasted a month contacted John Lewis and they refused to do anything about it as it went couple days over the 30 day return period even though it was faulty not happy and will never use John Lewis again be very careful using this company
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
This company is doomed , they try to compete with online retailers offering a free 5 year guarantee on their Tv's , when you come to claim you find out that this is not worth anything and the customer service center is not helpful at all. I am never shopping here again , i might as well save some money buy getting it online. Bye Bye John Lewis , such a shame as you used to be such a good company.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
very poor service very poor service , ordered £300 headphones on the night-time there was 3 in stock ( great ) by the morning i got an email saying it was no longer in stock but may come in stock in the next 28 days and after 28 days i would get a refund ? ( not great ) i immediately phone them to let them know to cancel straight away and refund me , guess what , they put my order throught after knowing it was not in stock , now i am waiting for them to post the item which i have to refuse delivery then wait up to 28 days for a refund ... how about that for first class service
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
The advisers in the Technology department were excellent. They assessed my requirements - and needs. They were patient as I thought though my options. Excellent advice. Very professional and helpful.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Was purchasing a bag with the price tag on it . It scanned 75 pounds higher. I was told prices had gone up. Will never shop there again. Staff disengaged and overall felt like a bargain basement store
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
I ordered an iphone 15 over the phone and my order was accepted. A few days later they rejected my order via email without a proper explanation so i phoned them and they did not know why either. I asked could i use a different card and they said yes. When they checked my order they said it was out of stock. So they had sold the phone they had earmarked for me without waiting to hear from me or phoning me to see what i wanted to do about the matter. I did not even get an apology. All customer services said is it might come back in stock then you can reorder they are a joke. So if you order off jonh lewis and its accepted do not rely on getting your order. I would steer clear of this inept company at all costs and find yourself a reputable company that cares about the customer. Also they have ignored my complaint
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
I bought a Samsung steam cupboard. Totally unfit for purpose. Does t actually do anything but you refuse to refund. Appallingly
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Ordered a modern large LED TV. They came and installed the wrong one! They wouldn’t come and re deliver at a convenient time. Spent ages in the phone. Some services folks were abrupt, and the message is “tough, you have to fit in with us”. Didn’t come first thing when they promised for the re delivery. Offered tiny, insulting compensation that wouldn’t even cover the time on the phone. Installers “ok” no more. Forget the old John Lewis. That’s gone. But direct from manufacturer or a decent online site
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
What has happened to John Lewis?it used to be such a fabulous store. Now it’s a shadow of its former self. I pre-ordered the new iPhone on their website. A week later when the date arrived for the phone to be despatched, they cancelled the order because they didn’t have enough stock. They didn’t simply tell me that it would be delayed while they waited for more. They cancelled it. They’ve done this to others. They’re getting more stock in, they just couldn’t be bothered to use that for the customers that had pre-ordered, preferring to cance the order and disadvantage the customer instead. I could (and should) have ordered from one of their competitors who treat their customers better. Well, at least I know for next time. Their pre-order system is useless. Their customer service teams are pointless and I’ve spoken to several people now. All most pleasant, but none of them able to help. They just don’t understand the customer anymore. If you’ve also had your iPhone 15 order cancelled, I encourage you to review John Lewis here and warn others of the appalling service you’ve received from this once great l, but now pathetic retailer.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
The most appalling customer service I have ever received. It's not even close. John Lewis delivered & installed a washing machine that flooded and damaged my property & the property below. John Lewis have failed to take any responsibility. MONTHS later I still have a non-working washing machine, water-logged floor, and no compensation or action from JL. UPDATE: All "enquiries" have been carried out and John Lewis has still not taken responsibility. They are the sorriest excuse for a company. Pathetic and dishonest. I will never use their services again, and will be taking my complaint to an external body.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
I order tv and I paid extra money for the next day delivery, and they called me before 1 hour of my estimate time to deliver it, they said ur order didn't arrive if u want next Tuesday, the funny things I have to wait 5 more days
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
John Lewis is rated 2.7 based on 2,388 reviews