John Lewis Reviews

2.7 Rating 2,395 Reviews
41 %
of reviewers recommend John Lewis
2.7
Based on 2,395 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier, Own Driver
Average Delivery Time
Over A Month
On-time Delivery
Greater than 40%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
Greater than 67%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week
Customer Service
1.3 out of 5
Returns & Refunds
Refunds Process
Difficult
Returns Process
Could Be Better
Read John Lewis Reviews

About John Lewis:

Uks biggest premium department store.

Visit Website

Write Your review

Tell us how John Lewis made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Bought an expensive laptop and paid extra for the set-up service. Walked around for a couple of hours then came back and waited in computer area as it wasn't ready yet. Security guard approached me as if I was an unsavoury loiterer and wanted to know what I was doing. I'm a well kempt old lady who exudes class and sophistication, so this was uncalled for. Just then, they came back with my laptop. Computer guy was excellent and I thanked the manager, who was a 6ft dude that is now a woman. Deep voice, gigantic man-feet and man-hands that could snap my neck like a twig. In a floral dress. The world sure ain't what it once was. Then I went home and had a lovely cup of Earl Grey to revive me.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 days ago
When did your customer service become so awful. We bought a tv in November, gone faulty in may, reported via WhatsApp. That took 40 mins when would have been about 15 on the phone. Then contacted by repairer to send serial number/model number and picture of fault to order part. Took today off work as they were coming to I assumed repair the tv but no it was to collect it which I refused as I don't think it's acceptable being left without a tv for 5 days. I rang john lewis up sounds like an overseas call centre( I don't know if that's the case). They couldn't get through to repairer as they were asking for a loan tv although the repair man who came today said they don't do loan tvs anymore. Asked to ring back at 4, just done and again can't get through to repairer so they sent an email. I asked to speak to complaints but whoever I spoke to would not put me through and said they would tell me the same. What a shocking service, I think the tv should just be replaced 6 months old. I shall never buy from them again. Ref 240530-000284
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
On my first trip, my suitcase sustained damaged. It has a 10 year guarantee, but didn’t even survive one journey. So disappointing! I hope there will be no problem with getting a refund as it is clear that the construction was made of inferior material.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Went in to shop to buy 5 items. Combination microwave. Bread maker. 2 pairs of Egyptian cotton sheets. A large cup and saucer. A bedside table lamp. Came out with ONE item…the bedside lamp.All others were out of stock…except the cup and saucer, but I was not allowed to buy only one! What on earth has happened to JL? I will not buy these items from their online site nor will I ever be visiting a JL shop again.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
An order I placed as click and collect apparently either didn’t arrive or was damaged on arrival at the pick up point. No problem, these things happen and a quick call to Customer Services resulted in a prompt refund. Imagine my surprise when 9 days later I received another email to say the order had failed to be picked up in time and was being returned to the warehouse!!!. The item was no longer available on line for order….I was so upset 😭
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Order only partially delivered , what we did receive was faulty, three months on we are still waiting , customer services appear good at saying sorry , but no practical help , always used John Lewis never again
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
I'm extremely disappointed with the customer service provided by John Lewis on this occasion. Recently, I purchased a pendant that turned out to be faulty. I diligently followed all the procedures they requested, investing around three weeks of my time in the process. Despite my efforts, they were unable to resolve the issue and directed me to the manufacturing company. Once again, I followed all the instructions provided by the manufacturer, but to no avail. Even after reaching out to them via email, I received no response. When I raised a complaint about the situation, the only solution offered was to exchange the faulty pendant for a new one. However, by this point, I had already incurred expenses for an electrician to install the pendant. John Lewis's suggestion was for me to once again pay for the electrician to replace the faulty pendant with the new one they offered. Their gesture of goodwill—a £25 voucher—barely covered a fraction of these additional costs. It's incredibly frustrating that John Lewis refuses to take responsibility for the products they sell. This lack of accountability makes me question whether I should continue to support their business. I requested that they cover the cost of the electrician, given that the fault lies with their product. However, the representative I spoke to seemed unaware of the situation and promptly denied my request. I also proposed the idea of John Lewis sending someone to deliver the new pendant, remove the faulty one, and install the replacement—a solution that would alleviate the burden on me—but this suggestion was dismissed. If given the choice, I would strongly advise purchasing from a company that stands behind the products they sell and takes responsibility for any issues that arise.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
They have everything, and the staff were very helpful on helping me choose sheets and thread count for my price range. Also for explaining the different materials and jargon to help me navigate the best set for our bedroom.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Unfortunately, John Lewis has become completely untrustworthy. I bought an Apple laptop from them, it failed very quickly (less than thirty days) and they are refusing to replace or refund it. John Lewis used to be good; now you are better off buying elsewhere. They are no better than Mike Ashley type stores - in fact worse, as the prices are high but the staff won't accept returns; at HoF/SD, prices are low, quality is commensurate, but if something actually fails you get a replacement.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
I bought my apple laptop from John Lewis in 2021 with a 2 year warranty. The keypad became faulty. I phoned John Lewis and was told to return the item to my local Waitrose. I was given no tracking number or QR code. Waitrose explained that the John lewis customer service has been outsourced and they don’t understand their protocols. After an hour on the phone I managed to give John Lewis a tracking number from Waitrose. 2 days later I received an email saying the item cannot be refunded and was on its way back to me via DHL. When I spoke to John Lewis Customer Service they said that the laptop was on its way back to me, as they connect give me a refund. i explained that the product was faulty and that I didn’t want a refund but that it needed to be looked at by their technical team as it was faulty, I was told to return it to them when i received it back. The laptop has never arrived, this was over a month ago. The tracking number from DHL does not work and JL assured me it was collected. I phoned customer service every few days. they say they will look into it but never do. Effectively John Lewis has lost my laptop and with my identity. John Lewis have taken no responsibility for this issue. or done anything to resolve it. each time i phone i am told the same thing but there is no progress. I now have no laptop, no compensation and no way of speaking to anyone that can help resolve matters. I would think very seriously about purchasing an expensive item from John Lewis again as their customer service is completely incompetent, unhelpful. i have been left without a laptop and with no one i can speak to who will resolve the issue.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Don't trust John Lewis Don't trust John Lewis, they advertise one thing and send you something different. Then they lie and blame the manufacturer for the JL website falsely advertising this. Amazing social media as I'm in contact with other customers who have had similar experiences. JL the longer this takes the more negative feedback you will recieve. Also this contacting contacting trading standards.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
It is so sad and distressing that one of our UK leading stores has deteriorated so much. Useless online support, incompetent customer service agents by phone and uncaring staff in the store. returned two items in the store but they processed only one and refunded only one so we spent the next 4 hours chasing customer service agents on line and by phone with no avail. Naturally, you cant contact the store nor is there anyway for them to call you back...incompetence at its highest. Let's hope their next Chairperson brings back JLP to its glory days where customer was always first
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Worse customer service ever. Signed delivery that was never signed or given to me found damaged outside the warehouse next to my workplace. John Lewis did not take responsibility and I lost £400.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Goods arrived via DPD damaged. Called John Lewis Customer Service. Was told that we'd have to send pictures. Replied we would send three items back as two were damaged. It took lots of "holding the line" then transfer for us to arrange a collection with Evri (who have lost items for us before) and it will take five days to process refund. Very unimpressed with customer service. Won't be using John Lewis again. I guess that's why their business is going down the pan.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Purchased a new washing machine which was installed on Monday Fitters disturbed piping causing constant leak under sink .Phoned technical services couldn’t come until Thursday to fix this .Call centre staff find it difficult to understand your issue and there is no one to speak to express your frustration .Having used j Lewis for years this is one customer you have lost .
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Awful experience doing simple exchange with gift receipt. Wasted hours jumping through hoops and emailing..and then over an hour trying to sort. Asked specifically that they dont bother my relative who is very ill yet they continued to email...5 times in one day. The worst after sales ive ever experienced
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Total disgrace the hidden reviews are right! Ipad pro went wrong 12 hours!!!!!!!!!! outside of the warranty they could not careless! Apple stated it was first turned on Christmas day as stated by apple, the mighty John Lewis customer service live up to the reviews online why buy from them. I spend thousands with them for work and personal not anymore i am done! I am actually speechless about the disgusting level of service i have experienced.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
John Lewis have behaved in a totally irresponsible way in mishandling my order for a new tv. Having confirmed the order, issued the guarantee and advised me that the package was with the courier they have now said that the order will be rescinded and the money refunded in about 5 days. They have given me absolutely no explanation of reason as to why they have cancelled my order. Their performance can only be described as absolute rubbish. On this performance I will not deal with them again and I suggest that other potential purchases should consider whether they have any other options. If they have they should avoid John Lewis.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Totally a terrible experience with John Lewis brought a washing machine only lasted a month contacted John Lewis and they refused to do anything about it as it went couple days over the 30 day return period even though it was faulty not happy and will never use John Lewis again be very careful using this company
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
This company is doomed , they try to compete with online retailers offering a free 5 year guarantee on their Tv's , when you come to claim you find out that this is not worth anything and the customer service center is not helpful at all. I am never shopping here again , i might as well save some money buy getting it online. Bye Bye John Lewis , such a shame as you used to be such a good company.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
John Lewis is rated 2.7 based on 2,395 reviews