John Lewis Reviews

2.7 Rating 2,331 Reviews
42 %
of reviewers recommend John Lewis
2.7
Based on 2,331 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier, Own Driver
Average Delivery Time
Over A Month
On-time Delivery
Greater than 40%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
Greater than 67%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week
Customer Service
1.3 out of 5
Returns & Refunds
Refunds Process
Difficult
Returns Process
Could Be Better
Read John Lewis Reviews

About John Lewis:

Uks biggest premium department store.

Visit Website

Write Your review

Tell us how John Lewis made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
John Lewis 1 star review on 4th October 2022
Tim Clayton
John Lewis 1 star review on 22nd November 2018
SeanYeates
John Lewis 1 star review on 10th September 2018
Mrs F
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
I've had an awful shopping experience with John Lewis over a few orders I made quite recently. Customer service don't listen too well and it's long and tedious going over the same thing a vast amount of times to get them to sort out problems. They also harrassed me for payment for an exchange and every time I phoned up to pay it they said I couldn't as there was no outstanding bill. It took ages to sort out and even after they finally sent me an invoice I was still asked for payment after I paid it. It got even worse when I returned items. £60 worth of items were not refunded to me. I have spent so many hours on their phone over the past month or so over the orders, it is beyond ridiculous. To spend ages again today on the phone to tell them about this and keep being cut off and having to ring back was unprofessional. I did get refunded most of it back but still £12 outstanding. They need cameras in their returns department. I have sent a photo of the proof of postage which contains the weight of the contents and box, not that they asked me for it but it proves what I returned. They don't seem bothered, they just want proof of what I've bought when they already know this from my account and that doesn't prove that I returned the goods. I am NEVER shopping with them again. It is far too much trouble, the sheer amount of errors made was outstanding and these missing items and what I was supposed to be refunded was the final nail in the coffin. Appalling service, worst I've ever experienced. I used the phone and email to contact them multiple times. I've been robbed basically.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 hours ago
Awful customer service..... We spent over £4000 on a new hardwood floor from them... The floor was fitted really badly and we had to really battle with JL and their customer "service" to get anything done. In the end we had to get an independent floor inspector to point out the very many problems, as JL couldn't be bothered to send anyone out to inspect the floor..... We are still waiting for them to refit the floor! We'd never use them again!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 days ago
Appalling service from John Lewis. I’ve always been a big supporter of the brand but I ordered a sofa and a recycle service and 8 phone calls later, and having had a slot today which was cancelled as they didn’t have enough room in the van, I now have to sit in from 7am-5pm on one of my weekend days, with no 2 hour slot as it’s an ‘emergency slot’. It’s an emergency of their own making. Will try to avoid getting anything non standard from them in future.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
John Lewis on-line shopping experience was the WORST I've ever encountered. I ordered an expensive item from them on 23/11/22 and booked a delivery slot between 7pm to 10pm next day delivery. They use a useless courier service called STUART..it is rank! They failed to deliver my item in spite of me paying £9.00 for delivery slot. Tried calling JL customer services(based in the Phillipenes) just as useless.Courier just cancelled my delivery as they say the driver couldn't find my place, tracking is useless and so is John Lewis customer service. NOT FIT FOR PURPOSE! Don't buy ANYTHING from this company, Steer clear-that's my advice!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
It’s not a problem with John Lewis itself, it’s the dispatch companies (theirs is based in Northampton ) and delivery companies they use . I am afraid there are clearly some dishonest staff working there, possibly extra staff taken on in the run-up to Christmas , as I have had problems at this time of year twice - just now, in late November 2022 and in December 2020. Both problems involved luxury items intended as gifts, both Chanel perfumes. In 2020 the item wasn’t delivered to my home, I had to chase up the package ( the abysmal Hermes had a huge number of complaints at that time). Eventually the 3 bottles of perfume arrived, obviously had been taken out of protective packaging , transferred to a flimsy plastic bag and posted through the door where they promptly all smashed to pieces. Someone had clearly tampered with the goods. I have just now picked up a package from Waitrose in Richmond which was meant to contain 2 items. The box was secure, properly sealed etc. When I opened the box, one item was missing. Guess what? A large bottle of Chanel EDT. It had not been packed with the other item despite the order and returns form showing it was there. I phoned JLewis complaints department and they were sympathetic, will pursue the complaint, and I am likely to get a refund/ replacement in the next week. This is too much to be a coincidence, though, and John Lewisneeds to thoroughly investigate what is going on in the dispatch centres and delivery firms which represent them. Clearly there some employees, possibly temporary staff, who are , not to put too fine a point on it, stealing certain types of item. The company is being scammed, as is the customer.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
DO NOT PURCHASE FROM JOHN LEWIS ONLINE. Ordered a three piece suite in June 22, and despite numerous Emails advising of it progressing to schedule, eventually after spending hours, days and weeks chasing x5 separate people, established we MAY get it by 10 weeks beyond expected date, without any guarantee!. Compensation offered was derisory and insulting. The old levels of Customer Service that used to exist from JL are a thing of the past. DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME AND GO ELSEWHERE!!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
I bought two mattresses in-store for my children. We are moving into a new flat. I asked 5 times specifically: "will the mattresses be delivered on 18 November otherwise my children have no place to sleep". Answer 5 times: "yes sir yes sir please don't worry sir it will happen on that day". We are now 18 November, and I have been told the mattresses will not be delivered. Company has point blanked refused to show any flexibility to fix this problem which is entirely of their own doing. Company obviously does not think its customers' children deserve some higher level of priority. Never have I seen such a compound of incompetence and disregard. Awful is the only single word for it.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Have shopped with John Lewis for years and had always found them amazing and extremely reliable when it came to product quality and customer service. If there was ever an issue they would go above and beyond to resolve and make sure that I (as the customer) was happy with the resolution and not inconvenienced. This was what kept me coming back to them. That was until I purchased four of their Anyday suitcases cases and they all broke on first use. The fact they broke was bad enough (especially as had a child in ICU and needed luggage to stay with him - which John Lewis knew!). However, whilst they come with a 10-year guarantee this meant nothing. After weeks of trying to seek resolution for the broken cases, including writing directly to their Chief Exec, I ended up having to raise a claim via the Courts as I did not accept their refusal to provide a refund and the only remedy they offered was to exchange for more expensive suitcases at MY cost. Now being harassed by their legal team for having the audacity to escalate this via the Courts despite trying to seek resolution with John Lewis for weeks. Unfortunately their legal team do not seem to have been briefed on all aspects of the history of this case. I purchased from John Lewis as I thought they sold quality products and if something went wrong (which we all know it can), they prided themselves on Customer Services and would resolve....how mistaken I was. Seems this is the John Lewis of old...and whilst they paint a caring portrayal in their Xmas ad, don't be fooled! Despite knowing I had a sick child, all I got (and am still getting) from them was harassment and grief for trying to get resolution for issues that could easily have been resolved with some basic customer service skills. I guess their £99m loss reported for the first half of this year could be a driving factor for why they are trying to change their ways. However if that is by offering inferior goods and service I am concerned how this will impact customer retention as they are loosing what used to be their USP - quality goods and high levels of customer service. I for one had been a long time customer of the John Lewis partnership - most homes have been filled with furniture and purchases from there, weekly Waitrose shops and I even had a John Lewis gift list for my Wedding. However, I will never purchase from John Lewis or Waitrose ever again based on this experience!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
I buy quite a lot from John Lewis and their service and delivery are prompt and well packaged. Their returns are easy and fuss free with Royal Mail or Waitrose.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Atrocious customer service despite premium pricing. Ordered curtains and blinds for nearly £3,000. Paid for in March 2022 and finally installed in October 2022. I had to call every few weeks for updates only to be given pathetic excuses but never an exact date. When they did give those dates, they missed them. No apology at any stage. When I asked them to rectify a fault in one of the products, they did so (cost £90). They asked me to pay that and upon complaining, they waived that as a 'goodwill gesture'. Not enough for such terrible service on an expensive purchase. Avoid their Home Furnishing service at all cost. Not worth the overpriced premium we paid. No apology to date on the 6 month delay btw.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
I bought an iPhone XS from John Lewis. I chose JL because of its well-known 2 year guarantee for electronic products. The phone's Facial Recognition system failed after the first year. I returned it to JL under its warranty. That was in February 2022. Apparently they have a policy of fixing it within 28 working days. JL originally refused to repair it claiming their engineer's had diagnosed the fault as being caused by 'liquid damage'. They then offered me a 'repair by exchange' for £554 (sounded like a refurbished 'new' phone for me, presumably they kept my old one) I looked after my phone and could not understand how liquid damage was possible. The model is even meant to be waterproof to a certain depth of water for a certain time! But JL then doubled-down and said the only Apple Authorised Repairer they used - Amsys - had inspected and photographed the insides of the phone. They sent two photos with red circles around the 'liquid damage' marks. The purple colouring in the photos was odd. Independent phone engineers said the photos did not show water/liquid marks. I don't think it was even true that they just used Amsys - but the course of events was littered with lies like this. I had my phone returned and set about my own enquiries. I was told that if I obtained my own evidence, they could reconsider repairing it - almost like this had happened before..... An Apple Store's Genius Bar inspected the phone and found no signs of liquid damage. They said they would have replaced/repaired it without quibble (note to self:- ~Buy from Apple Store next time). JL surprisingly then said the Apple Store's Genius Bar was not sufficiently qualified to report on the matter. So I took it to another Apple Authorised Repairer which they did approve of. They also confirmed there was no liquid damage. Most interestingly, neither repairer found anything matching the purported photo evidence sent to me of 'liquid damage'. I have photos of the inside of my phone that show no such 'corrosion'. JL cannot account for these photos now and have been trying to pass the buck to Amsys. I have even been told they do not use Amsys any longer. They do not say it is because they realise they use fraudulent photos to support their diagnoses - but it is consistent with it. I take the use of fake photos to support their case particularly seriously and am owed a full and cogent explanation - which they have so far refused to give. On the strength of my own report, JL agreed to take my phone back at the beginning of August and inspect it again - this time not through Amsys. Without any expression of regret, apology, surprise or enquiry, they then agreed there was no water damage and would repair it via this different Apple Authorised Repairer. The chasing of JL by me then recommenced. I had wasted hours on the phone and keyboard as well as going to and fro from repairers. At first I was told it would be £314 to repair; that became £523 before eventually reaching £622. Phone calls over the last two months or so have been exercises in frustration - JL having to be chased all the time and then giving out clearly on-the-hoof information that withstood little scrutiny. The Managers who have since addressed my serious concerns refuse to explain what went wrong. All this "we can only apologise" is contemptible drivel. My main questions are:- how many other customers caved to a 'liquid damage' diagnosis and needlessly bought another Apple product? and, How on earth could such photos have been produced as evidence - and then be reiterated until they are proved wrong? What is really going on here as it looks like an attempt at fraud to me? Had I caved at the outset and stumped up £550, what would have happened to my original, impeccably cared for phone..... cheaply repaired and resold perhaps? The JL Myth:- 'we all go above and beyond to offer outstanding service to our customers' The JL Reality:- we take eight months to fix your phone under our own guarantee all the while trying to avoid doing so at every turn to the extent of putting the onus on you (when it was their responsibility); saying it was not repairable (when it was); claiming it was my fault (when it wasn't); forwarding false photo evidence (that was not of the inside of my phone or had been doctored); taking longer than their own timeframe to fix the phone when they eventually accepted liability. I've wasted hours and hours over the course of 8 months forcing them to do something they were required to do in 28 days! How many other people, understandably, caved in the face of such conduct? This is not the John Lewis experience I had come to expect. This all raises matters of potential public interest worthy of pursuit. RIP John Lewis Customer Service. I won't be buying any electronics from you again. Be warned everyone.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Paid for dishwasher installation through John Lewis but they refused at delivery to disconnect the plastic U pipe to gain access behind unit which should be a simple task for installers. I could tell the two guys didn’t want to install the machine as soon as they were in the kitchen, they were running late. On ordering I was only asked about dimensions and maximum distance of connections from machine in range of questions I had to answer. I would have assumed that gaining access would be typical for an installer… but not John Lewis! Had already had new washing machine installed by Appliances Direct last year who were really happy to do the job with no fuss whatsoever. I told the chaps to take the dishwasher away. It was the only obliging element of the (non) service.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
I've never experienced such bad service combined with outright lying from a brand we thought we could trust. We ordered a wardrobe with a 15 week lead time. At 15 weeks we rang to see where it was, JL told us it was due and supplier would call us. 3 weeks later no wardrobe, after 8 hours on phone to customer service turns out it has been available since July. Supplier hadn't informed JL they'd not received a response to texts (no texts received). Supplier or JL didn't attempt to call or email us. We were informed next delivery date available at 21 weeks (13th November). By this point we had to cancel planned time off work to sort our bedroom and a planned family gathering due to being unable to accommodate people without wardrobe. We said 13th November unacceptable but we would take it just to get wardrobe. Only when I received an email in error today did it become clear JL never confirmed new date with supplier, have refused to pay £186 for special delivery, and next slot is going to be at 24 weeks (approx 4th Dec). Have had over 20 phone calls and still don't know when wardrobe will arrive. Have been lied to on several occasions - they said they would confirm the 21 week date, told me again it was confirmed when I rang to check, told me special deliveries were impossible - and JL refuse to discuss compensation until it has been delivered.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Your change to New Day y cards is a complete waste of time. Trying to contact them I waited an hour and then got a message to say they were experiencing technical difficulties — why wait that long. So I have cancelled my card now as your planned change to New Day is a big mistake on your part I had my card for nearly 20 years, never had a problem with any aspect of The John Lewis partnership but the changeover was a joke, unfriendly, too technical for the non tech person . Must be a good reason for the change but not for me!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Absolute joke of a company . Online chat rubbish … phone call waste of time with promises that are not kept . Quick enough to take my money but not quick enough to sort my delayed order which is even dispatched to wrong address. Should not be allowed to be on the high street
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
John Lewis have had it. Customer service is failing miserably. Once upon a time you knew their customer service was first class. Well not anymore. You cannot call a particular store direct anymore. You are directed to a call centre in the Phillipines. They take your queries and get the store to ring you back. This can take all day or sometimes they don’t call you at all. This is very frustrating. One person tells you one thing and another tells you something else. A live online chat also takes you to the Phillipines where you just go around in circles and they can’t help you. I can get better service from other online stores who allow you to speak to a UK call centre or the store direct. There is no incentive to shop with J L anymore as they have lost their unique customer service and customer care.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Tried to get through to the beds dept, in Soihull, to check a size detail before placing an order. This was a follow up after visiting this morning. Operator couldn't put me through and wanted to raise a case number, for someone to phone me tomorrow or after the weekend. JL just lost a £3500 order. Absolute shambles!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Most importantly for me is good customer care & after care when purchasing items And John Lewis are excellent with the service provided .
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Great prices easy website
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
I bought an £850 office chair from John Lewis with a full/comprehensive 12-year warranty. 6 years in and the chair has failed completely and they are refusing to repair it or replace/refund despite the manufacturer comfirming that the chair is covered in that warranty but that I have to deal with the retailer. I am constantly fobbed off by John Lewis, they never read their emails (they admitted there is a 7-day wait for email response - it's laughable) and when you phone them they are rude and say that they are "doing their best" rather than actually dealing with the issue. It's a disgrace how far this company has fallen from its original reputation, probably best if it went to the wall like so many others.
John Lewis 1 star review on 4th October 2022
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
John Lewis is rated 2.7 based on 2,331 reviews