John Lewis Reviews

3.29 Rating 1,424 Reviews
57% of reviewers recommend John Lewis
1997 Review Views (past 24 hours)
3PM - 5PM
146 Review Views
1 New Reviews Written
5PM - 7PM
320 Review Views
7PM - 9PM
258 Review Views
9PM - 11PM
197 Review Views
11PM - 1AM
59 Review Views
1AM - 3AM
513 Review Views
3AM - 5AM
78 Review Views
5AM - 7AM
62 Review Views
7AM - 9AM
65 Review Views
9AM - 11AM
80 Review Views
11AM - 1PM
104 Review Views
1PM - 3PM
115 Review Views
1 New Reviews Written
3PM
3PM
A
A: Big Online Retailers with Unhappy Customers.
B
B: Big Online Retailers with Happy Shoppers
C
C: Niche or Smaller Retailers with Unhappy Customers
D
D: Niche or Smaller Retailers with Happy Customers
freeNET Electrical
freeNET Electrical
Online Presence - 12.5%
Customer Satisfaction - 100%
TheWrightBuy
TheWrightBuy
Online Presence - 37.5%
Customer Satisfaction - 92%
Amazon UK
Amazon UK
Online Presence - 100%
Customer Satisfaction - 84%
SINKS-TAPS.COM
SINKS-TAPS.COM
Online Presence - 25%
Customer Satisfaction - 76%
Marks Electrical
Marks Electrical
Online Presence - 50%
Customer Satisfaction - 67%
John Lewis
John Lewis
Online Presence - 87.5%
Customer Satisfaction - 49%
ao.com
ao.com
Online Presence - 62.5%
Customer Satisfaction - 38%
Currys
Currys
Online Presence - 75%
Customer Satisfaction - 25%
Unhappy
Customer Satisfaction
Happy
Low
Online Presence
High
Are you a business owner?
See Business Solutions

Write Your review

Tell us how John Lewis made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name ?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Shipping & delivery
Courier, Own Driver
delivery methods
Over a month
average delivery time
Greater than 28%
on-time delivery
Greater than 63%
accurate and undamaged orders
Customer Service
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
communication channels
Over a week
queries resolved in
"Absolutely disgusting customer service. I have rang and emailed numerous times over the past 3 weeks and I'm still being fobbed off and awaiting a refund. I will never shop with them again. They do not care about there custoners"
Helpful Report
Posted 48 minutes ago
Are you John Lewis? No one is perfect. Reply to this negative review and show your potential customers that you value the feedback John Lewis receives and that when things do go wrong you do your best to put things right. Reply Free
"Can't grasp how John Lewis is rated so highly. My experience of dealing with JL is that it's a disaster. The staff,on the phone or face to face, are charming and polite but are totally ineffective is dealing with problems for example. 45 minutes on one phone call. Over a period of approx 6 days, on the same problem, I spent over 4 hours talking to JL and being asked to hold. And the problem is not totally resolved now. Another example being my wife, whilst using a mobility scooter, was trapped between the lift doors. I managed to release her but in so doing have damagedy shoulder. Having complained to JL. Their response has been "we have checked and there is nothing wrong with the lift". But that can't be lift doors are designed to open if they come into contact with any object in their path. This lift did not do that but continued to attempt to close. Customers beware of dealing with John Lewis."
Helpful Report
Posted 22 hours ago
"Unwilling to honour manufacturers warranty on my sofas breaking UK consumer Law.!! Stay away the John Lewis of old is gone."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 days ago
"Possibly the worst Customer Experience I have ever endured. Their attitude towards customers is truly unfit for today’s economic climate. I have just spent an hour and a half trying to resolve an issue with an iPod touch. The guarantee they sell is worthless. The staff don’t know what they are talking about and give misinformation. Appalling. I won’t be buying from John Lewis or Apple again."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 days ago
"Possibly the worst Customer Experience I have ever endured. Their attitude towards customers is truly unfit for today’s economic climate. I have just spent an hour and a half trying to resolve an issue with an iPod touch. The guarantee they sell is worthless, the device is less than two years old and is I overheating with a striped screen. The staff don’t know what they are talking about and give misinformation about eligibility for refunds. Appalling. I won’t be buying from John Lewis or Apple again."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 days ago
"I purchased i watch 4 for my grandson,s 21st Birthday in August. Unfortunately,somehow the cover has been damaged. I am so pleased I purchased insurance at the same time. It would seem there have been no issues from the insurance company and the watch is being collected for repair."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 days ago
"Horrendous experience, will never shop at John Lewis again"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 days ago
"Went to JL Bluewater today to look at and buy a satnav for car, and maybe a new dashcam. Don't have on sale (all online instead), can't look at them and compare them to see which is best for our needs and purse. So will probably buy elsewhere. JL you've lost a potential customer and goods to the value of £200? We also wanted a mans shaver, only phillips on sale no other makes. So went to Boots and bought one there. for £46. Not much point I having a massive shop there when we are pushed to buy online!"
Helpful Report
Posted 5 days ago
"I have to say I am extremely disappointed about their service. We were at the store buying items for our baby. Then we changed our mind right there right then...wanted to cancel one item and bought another one. However, they can't do it right there at the till. The shopping assistance called the manager and she can't do it at the till either, saying that maybe it already entered the delivery system: there fore can't be canceled. They told me I can simply return the item that we didn't want on the day of the delivery. So when the delivery man came, he can't refund that item on his device and he told me that I can take it now and refund it later. They will come to collect it. And today when I call the customer service, Alex (from New Castle. He didn't want to give me his full name), told me he will charge us £30 for that. I asked to talk to his manager to explain everything...all he said is no one is available to talk to me and put me on hold for waiting and waiting . The worst thing is even I have brach phone number to call the store, the phone will still be directed to the general customer service anyway...It's such a bad experience. I hope by sharing it, no one else has to feel the same frustration."
Helpful Report
Posted 6 days ago
"Terrible customer service. I recently purchased a TV from John Lewis that went wrong just outside of the 3 month warranty. Without the lengthy details we have been absolutely appalled by the absolute lack of customer service and empowerment in the staff... even the senior customer service managers. We have been given so much incorrect and false information, the staff are so poorly trained and really don’t care a jot. This is not the John Lewis I used to know at all and will never shop with them again following this experience."
Helpful Report
Posted 6 days ago
"I have regularly bought high value electricals and electronics from John Lewis in the past. I tried to buy a large freezer from John Lewis online today. There is a £60 off deal if you are exchanging your old freezer, which I thought would cover next day delivery and old appliance disposal charges. JL's website would not accept or process the offer, so I called JL to make the purchase on the phone. After a lot of time wasted waiting and then faffing about, the JL sales person said that she could not help me further as she could not apply the quoted offer or remedy the issue in another way. I asked to speak to a Manager, she said that no one was available but I could call another number for help. With the prospect of waiting in another phone que and having to go through the whole rigmarole again, I declined and said that I would go elsewhere. The whole experience turned from early optimism to it leaving a nasy taste. John Lewis lost a £600 sale today and my original plan to buy a high spec professional iPad from them before Christmas will now not involve John Lewis. All as a result if their appalling customer service. I am not at all surprised that JL are having problems in the retail marketplace."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
"I have regularly bought high value electricals and electronics from John Lewis in the past. I tried to buy a large freezer from John Lewis online today. There is a £60 off deal if you are exchanging your old freezer, which I thought would cover next day delivery and old appliance disposal charges. JL's website would not accept or process the offer, so I called JL to make the purchase on the phone. After a lot of time wasted waiting and then faffing about, the JL sales person said that she could not help me further as she could not apply the quoted offer or remedy the issue in another way. I asked to speak to a Manager, she said that no one was available but I could call another number for help. With the prospect of waiting in another phone que and having to go through the whole rigmarole again, I declined and said that I would go elsewhere. The whole experience turned from early optimism to it leaving a nasy taste. John Lewis lost a £600 sale today and my original plan to buy a high spec professional iPad from them before Christmas will now not involve John Lewis. All as a result if their appalling customer service. I am not at all surprised that JL are having problems in the retail marketplace."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
"We went in to buy a range cooker, we wanted a wok stand to fit it, the initial conversation with the gentleman serving in the department was helpful, he suggested we contact the supplier regarding the wok stand. Rangemaster confirmed it was available but John Lewis would have to order it with them direct as they don't sell to the public. We returned to store to place an order, the gentleman in question was off that day. We started the order process, the assistant wasn't able to help us, she involved two other female staff members they couldn't find it on your stock list and phoned rangemaster but couldn't get through. The senior assistant quite frankly couldn't be bothered and said she couldn't help. We asked if she would prefer us to order from a local supplier who quite frankly were more helpful even getting us a book with the product catalogue, she replied "I could email the supplier, but I dont know how long it would take them to reply". I said yes I would like her to find out for me and asked for her name and contact details. She refused to give me her details. We waited a while and after a month still didn't hear from them. Needless to say we went to the local supplier Euronics who matched your price and free installation and removal of old cooker. Poor show John Lewis, given the recent news that stores are struggling due to on line sales, you kind of feel they deserve all they get. We went in store as prefer face to face shopping and the experience was very poor."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
"5 year guarantee only guarantees they wont do anything! once john lewis stood for great service now its a shameful shambles. After just 2 years my £900 TV started having intermittent black screens when watching TV. I first contacted sky who replaced my box, but that didnt help. They then advised i contact LG as there is a known fault. i did this and they confirmed it was known and sent an update. that also failed to fix the issue. This is when i contacted JL who sent an engineer who also confirmed this was a known fault. The ussue is with the silicone used on this specific model. JL has done everything they can to get out of responsibility, including blaming apps on the TV. Even though the sky box has been replaced, and the reason for the issue is known to be with the TV, JL is still insisting I get a full diagnostic report from Sky on the box. Then they only said it "may strengthen my case". I keep getting different information and palming off. It comes to somthing when Currys look like saints in comparison to John Lewis!"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
"I wonder if its your policy to send out damaged furniture and offer 20% off on the door step, because this has happened twice now. Is this how you offload your damaged stock? I get that things get damaged. I get that things go wrong. You're a large organisation, you must deal with a lot of deliveries. But to have a bookcase delivered damaged but repairable and accept 20% off does not mean my next order will be accepted after someone's taken a hammer to it. The box was clearly damaged so why load it on your van? And then to call and say do I want a refund or to reorder - no acknowledgement of the time I've taken off to receive my delivery or the furniture I rearranged to make it easy for you, no explanation, no guarantee if I reordered it would be delivered intact and a further 5 weeks to wait. It's direct from your supplier so that clearly means you take no responsibility. You're just the middle man. I wonder if this was delivered to store for a display item damaged you'd just stick it on display anyway. I suspect not. Seriously not what you expect from John Lewis."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
"Customer serive"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
"We have bought a couple of high ticket items from JL now. In both cases when they broke/weren't up to standard the customer service was extremely poor. The most recent item was carpet which after about a year has loads of piling despite it being labelled extra heavy wear. It takes about 15 min to get through to the customer service then they don't know what the last person has done so you have to explain/wait all over again. Despite it being an open complaint they have never once contacted me and so I am having to do all the work. They also haven't taken responsibility in either case, saying essentially that they're the middle man, when the whole reason people go to JL is that they expect higher quality items and to avoid this sort of nonsense. I wouldn't shop there for anything expensive again as there is neither customer care nor quality in terms of the products."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
"My husband and I visited John Lewis at Bluewater on 2nd November. We had exceptional service, from a lady named Vivienne, in the Lighting Department She went out of her way to help us. Thank you, as always wonderful staff."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
"Everyrhing went wrong and despite special concession we still have got a sofa where every day the cushions she'd the equivalent of a duck shooting match. John Lewis to not follow the procedures and definitely do not honour the manufacturers warranty a matter that they are about to experience in the county court. Awful people and zero customer service provided with an extra helping of stonewalling and attitude."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
"Had a washing machine delivered last night and the two guys were absolutely brilliant! They kept us informed of their ETA and then arrived on time with the correct machine and then went on to professionally install it. There was Keith and his junior Daniel. Keith was showing Daniel how he was doing things etc and he done it all very professionally, they seemed to have a great rapor. I am more than impressed with the service I have received from John Lewis so a huge thank you to you all. Bernie H"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
John Lewis is rated 3.29 based on 1,424 reviews

Start Your Free Trial Today

Send 400 review invitations for FREE!

Activate Your Account

Book your activation call by clicking the button below. Or call us now on +1 213-325-5109 . Book a Call

Alice, Customer Support