John Lewis Reviews

2.76 Rating 2,241 Reviews
43 %
of reviewers recommend John Lewis
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier, Own Driver
Average Delivery Time
Over A Month
On-time Delivery
Greater than 40%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
Greater than 67%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week
Customer Service
1.26 out of 5
Returns & Refunds
Refunds Process
Difficult
Returns Process
Could Be Better
Read John Lewis Reviews

About John Lewis:

Uks biggest premium department store.

Visit Website

Write Your review

Tell us how John Lewis made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Note: the following negative review is customer service related and not about the products I purchased. This review is based on my earlier experience today at the Cribbs Causeway store in Bristol. I was initially speaking to a very nice staff member called Wayne who was providing further assistance regarding a top of the range LG television I had already bought along with an LG sound bar. Mid conversation, a manager called Nicky interrupts us and asks if she can take Wayne away as another customer is waiting to speak with him. I had already waited over 20 minutes at this point to speak with someone. I replied, “…not really, we are in the middle of a conversation, don’t you think that’s a bit rude?” Nicky (who later refused to give me her surname when I said I wished to raise a complaint) was persuasive and determined and pretty much ignored what I said and took him away regardless, mentioning that someone else would speak to me later. I was so upset by this that I left the shop immediately and went to Curry’s next door instead. About half an hour later I returned to John Lewis as I wanted to speak to this manager about what had happened and was hoping she would have reflected on her awful ‘customer service’ and offer an apology. Alas, the complete opposite happened. When I approached her and asked her to deal with me she shunned me off and said speak to another manager instead. I said that I wished to speak to her. She walked away. I followed her and asked her to speak to me but she completely ignored me and just walked off. I raised my voice (not shouting) asking her to talk to me as I just couldn’t stand the fact I was being ignored like that. At that point, the situation took a downward spiral as she turned round and accused me of following her and of being aggressive. She then asked the security guards to come and remove me from the store. I can honestly say I have never felt so humiliated before and would never have expected to have been talked to or treated like this in somewhere like John Lewis. I caught on video some of the events that took place but not all unfortunately. An older couple who had witnessed everything that happened approached me afterwards in the main mall offering to swap numbers as they said they would help support my case should I wish to take it further with John Lewis but I said I wasn’t going to and would simply shop elsewhere. I leave this review to say that based on today’s awful experience I cannot say that John Lewis offer the customer service they once used to and that many of us have become accustomed to over the years. Clearly their standards have dropped significantly. While on point, it is also unlike John Lewis to keep people waiting for so long and not have enough colleagues to talk with customers. I also waited 35 minutes on the phone later before a customer service representative answered the call to cancel and refund my orders in full. This is just not the John Lewis I used to know and like. Perhaps I was unlucky with this particular manager today; maybe she was having a bad day herself? Either way, I felt she was extremely rude by refusing to talk and walking away from me. This was completely unprofessional but more to my mind she displayed anything but managerial skills; instead behaving like someone with no training straight out of school. A competent manager would recognise that a customer is unhappy and want to address that and find out why. They would be interested to find out what the problem is and do everything they could to de-escalate a situation. At the very least they would be polite and helpful in their exchanges with the customer. I have to say I am absolutely amazed and rather taken back by what happened today and it won’t come as a surprise that I cannot and would not possibly rate John Lewis anymore. I am left feeling utterly disappointed.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 days ago
What ever has happened to John Lewis shopped a lot in the store i Went Milton Keynes today it is very disappointing Wanted to buy a coffee machine stoo there for ages there was a male looking a machines for a lady I stood there like a lemon not one was I acknowledged there was no staff anywhere on the floor a male went past with step ladders on his way back I stopped he he called a female fro the white goods I explained I wanted to look at a John Lewis and a lavazza it was a pump she was adamant lavazza only did pods there is one on the Webb site I’m sure you could order an pay in store from on line John Lewis. Is definitely not what is was very ☹️ Not a good instore experience
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Appalling service - happily prepared to Sell a faulty suitcase in the Oxford Street store . John Lewis label is attached upside down .
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Should have gone to Trading Standards. I place this company alongside Aldi for customer service meaning it is awful and at times illegal with their refusal to replace or refund when they clearly HAVE to. Don't let it drop!! Have you noticed the review prior to this one? A company selfie.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Always a pleasure visiting and shopping in JL.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Newsflash JL Now ignoring Consumer Law This great company that it WAS is now acting like some backstreet car dealer from decades ago. We have been loyal to John Lewis for over 20 years, never again. A little over a week ago we ordered on-line an LG C1 TV @ £1300.00, after we plugged it in, we find it will not accept a Sky Q box, hardly rare. After a little research we find that lots of people have this same problem, LG and John Lewis have been aware of this fault for some time but as you will find they are still selling it without any warnings, why? … to take your money I assume. We contacted JL to finally be contacted by their technical department who said they ARE aware but it’s not their problem because it a software issue, they told us to contact LG! as a fix was probably coming soon and they will not accept returns and refunds for this type of issue. A Lie, their own reviews (and lots of forums) are full of people who have indeed been refunded in full for this very problem, now they don’t want to do this anymore. I suggested they should state it will not work with such a common TV receiver, especially on-line, we were told, and I quote ‘We never said it would work with sky’ childish and immature at best. Okay I told them I don’t accept their reasons but anyway I will return it within out 14 days cooling off period as per the The Consumer Contracts (Information, Cancellation and Additional Charges) Regulations 2013. This law states a consumer who buys on-line can test any product in a reasonable manner to ensure it is as the consumer expected and requires. In this case with a TV it is reasonable to touch, feel, turn on, check the picture and sound etc. Just the same as if you are a TV showroom. NOPE they said their policy is that once you open the box you can’t return it. I took from that they we saying sod The Consumer Contracts Law. In reality the only check you are allowed to make is to look at the ‘pretty picture on the box’ before deciding to return the item. Here we are just over a week later and I guess they are not going to comply with the law. In the short term they can pat themselves on the back for gaining a few hundred pounds profit, have a laugh and joke in the office “we got another sucker” (temporarily) without any thought of the ongoing thousands they will make from us in the future. Then we will charge back the credit card (which we have confirmed we can) and what have they gained, nothing, lost us as customers and this once great company continues down the very quick slippery slope. The irony was we stayed with John Lewis for loyalty and customer service. JL – enjoy for now!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
No more shopping for me with this company due to the disgraceful Christmas TV ad appearing on your sets right now. Shocking, out of touch, insensitive, racist and seriously nastily woke. Shows just how out of touch this company is. On top of that it must have cost an absolute fortune to produce. Thought they were in financial difficulties.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
DO NOT BUY FROM JOHN LEWIS! I urge anybody considering buying from John Lewis to buy elsewhere! And this is why: I brought a washing machine from John Lewis as I was under the impression that John Lewis was a major retail company that looked after their customers and would be a pleasure to buy from. How wrong I was! My washing machine was installed by a professional plumber, it was levelled to the ground and connected perfectly. Since the first use, the washing machine has banged from within the drum - sometimes at the beginning of a cycle, sometimes in the middle and always at the end. I have clearly been sold a faulty product! I contacted John Lewis within the time frame they advise that I can return my item and I am disgusted at the level of customer service I received! No one should ever be treated with as much disrespect and be helped as little as I was- not to mention how rude, obnoxious, and disinterested the customer service team at John Lewis were - especially @ Aaron Partridge and Gemma Manley! My experience has been horrendous, and especially considering my circumstances: Just a a few weeks ago, my partner had major brain surgery to remove a cancerous tumour. He lost all movement on his left hand side and is currently undergoing radiotherapy and chemotherapy treatment. When John Lewis delivered our machine, my partner wore a mask, and asked the delivery men to please wear masks - My partner explained his situation to them and asked for some help getting the machine into the kitchen considering his circumstances at the moment. They didn’t have masks to wear, and they also wore no shoe coverings and were off hand at my partner asking them to hand sanitise on their way into our house. They thought that it was acceptable to move a large and very heavy chest of drawers out of the way in order to get the machine into the kitchen and then claim that they can’t help to move it back - instead leave it in the middle of the kitchen with barely room to move. You can imagine my struggle at moving it back to the front door! John Lewis response to my concerns over the delivery of the product was that “regardless of my circumstances, masks are not mandatory anymore”. Never mind that my partner is extremely vulnerable and should he catch so much as a sniffle at the moment, he could find himself in a very serious situation. Things just got worse from here … I phoned John Lewis customer service to return my washing machine, and I explained that it is faulty, and that I’d like a refund. John Lewis told me that I need to arrange an engineer visit and have the machine taken apart, the fault found, and either repaired or replaced. I didn’t want the machine repaired (it was brand new!!) or replaced, I wanted to return it for a full refund to buy a different machine. Why was I not allowed to do this? I still don’t know the answer to that! I expressed my concern at having to have engineers visit the house, and also how difficult this would be for me to arrange at the moment - I am taking my partner to and from radiotherapy and chemotherapy treatment appointments Monday to Friday for the next six and a half weeks, and I work weekends. We have an 11 month old daughter as well! I asked John Lewis if there was anything they could do to help me - to provide an alternative resolution than having to have engineers in the house. You would assume that once someone is told they are dealing with a vulnerable cancer patient that they would not hesitate to take precautionary measures but following the shocking delivery of our product, I had my reservations! And understandably so! John Lewis refused to help me, they told me that my circumstances are irrelevant. I asked them what is going to happen if I can’t arrange an engineer visit for the next two months at least and they unbelievably told me that that would only make the situation harder to deal with. I wish anyone who tries to contact John Lewis all the luck that I can - at this point I had been on and off the phone to the customer service team for days and hours at a time - continually put on hold and the call put down on me more times than I can count on both hands. As you can imagine, with our life already turned upside down at the moment, that was all I needed! I reluctantly agreed to an engineer visit, which John Lewis claimed they had booked for me with Bosch, for the 11th. I phoned Bosch and they were gobsmacked that John Lewis had told me the information they had, and that I am within my consumer rights to be able to return my product but that John Lewis will do everything that they can to avoid this so that they don’t have to foot the bill. They also hadn’t booked a visit for me, like they had assured me and the next available visit was the 19th. I had been being put on hold for almost an hour at a time on numerous occasions while John Lewis supposedly spoke with Bosh - yet Bosch had no recollection of our faulty product or an engineer visit being booked on our behalf. I have been left having been sold a faulty product, given no help or support in rectifying the issue, given false information and lied to. My complaint with John Lewis was risen to the most senior member of staff who barely responded to me when I spoke to him, had nothing more to say than “there is nothing they can do to help me” and spent the entire phone call coughing over me as I spoke. In the midst of speaking to an unhappy customer who was asking for help partly because her partner was undergoing cancer treatment, the manager of John Lewis thought it acceptable to complain that he himself was “not very well at the moment with a cold” and his tone reflected that he couldn’t care less that I was struggling to meet his requirements in order to return the faulty product that they had sold me! I asked to speak to a senior member of staff, or for contact details of either head office or the managing director, Pippa Wicks - to which I was laughed at and told they had no contact details for and that the manager - Aaron Partridge was the highest level of staff I would be able to speak to. By the time an engineer visits on the 19th, I will have been without a washing machine for the best part of 6 weeks, through no fault of my own. I brought what I thought would be a reliable machine from a reliable store, paying over £400. The level of stress and upset that John Lewis have caused us is so upsetting, we have been reduced to tears! I don’t wish anyone have to be made to feel as unworthy and disregarded as we have by this company. *So please, don’t buy from John Lewis without caution!! *
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Never buy an apple product from John Lewis 1. Bought apple MacBook pro online from JLP and received it on Saturday (16/10). 2. Opened it on Sunday and used it for 24 hrs. Its completely different to my previous macs. Even if the computer is completely shut down and I accidentally press any key or trackpad the computer switches on… there were few features that I didn’t like. 3. Since it was an online order, I couldn’t check these features, before buying this. I wouldn’t be able to check this with an online order unless I open and use the product. 4. I also noticed that the battery performance wasn’t great, the battery with 7-8 hrs of surfing went down to
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
Appalling customer service..no txt confirming 2hr delivery slot for today arrived last night..phoned today at 10.39 delivery and installation cancelled..old cooker disconnected yesterday..no cooker until at least next Tuesday..NEVER AGAIN
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Dont pick up the phone for 10 plus minutes and when they do their attitude is unhelpful. Maybe the company is on its last legs ?
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
i would like to bring the attention of john lewis to the excellent service i recieved from DOREEN HAMILTON in the restaurant at their store in bluewater kent when i dropped my sandwich on the floor she was so obliging and helpfull doing everything she could to replacing my sandwich to cleaning up the floor and all with a smile on her face please send her my thanks once again for her outstanding care mrs white
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
I collected my order today and the pair of trousers which was part of my order was definitely worn before by someone and the belt was missing. I contacted customer service and spent a long time on the phone, talking to someone and sending the picture to show the state of the trousers. I have been told that I can return this item. Totally unacceptable and I am really disappointed that John Lewis didn't check the state of the trousers before sending them to me. I have decided to make a journey to my local Waitrose to return rather than the collection as I work full time and would like to take time for someone collecting it.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Engaged John Lewis to provide and fit kitchen. Their plan stated 11 working days start to finish, concluding 21 July. Simple, non-complex job. Still no where near finished and the kitchen fitter further delayed completion yesterday due to 'unforeseen circumstances'. The company mistakes internal management escalation with customer resolution. I would recommend that anybody in the South West does not use JL for kitchen installation. Three months late, no path to resolution, poor workmanship and staff that are not empowered to deliver resolution. We have now had to source kitchen fitters beyond John Lewis to complete the job. The website and words say good things, but it is not a lived experience.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
I ordered 2 table lamps from JL and received 5, 3 of which I had not paid for. I informed customer services (after a long wait) to be spoken to aggressively but eventually instructed that I needed to print out a return label and wait for Hermes to collect the goods on Tuesday. This has not happened. I received no thanks from your colleague for offering to return the goods and no apology for your mistake. I am now intending to keep the extra lamps!!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Visited the Oxford store and decided to buy my Clarins from there as Debenhams had closed. The assistant at the Clarins desk ignored me as I waited for several minutes, she was dealing with another customer but ignored the fact I was waiting for a long time which I felt was bad manners. I went to Boots and they were lovely and will get my business in the future.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Placing the order and paying in excess of £1400 for a Sony Bravia OLED TV was the easy part, but trying to resolve an issue is proving to be more difficult or should I say impossible. My TV is 8 months old and started displaying lines within the screen. I called John Lewis and they collected the TV only to be told days later that the TV had suffered an impact and would not be covered under their Warranty. There are no scratches, dents or marks on the screen or entire TV. Where on earth do John Lewis get by in accusing valued customers of causing damage to avoid adhering to the terms of their Warranty? The TV has been placed on an oak cabinet for 8 months and treated with the respect that John Lewis should give to their customers. John Lewis appear to be encouraging customers to use their home contents insurance to resolve their issues. NO !!!! It will not happen. John Lewis has stopped responding to e-mails and have failed to send a copy of the requested report numerous times. NEVER use this Company to purchase ANYTHING - they will use all means to avoid repairing, replacing or refunding for faulty goods. The renown Christmas advertising is paid for by valued customers who they fail on a daily basis. Spreading the word of good tidings and good will to all men - You are having a joke !!! PAY UP JOHN LEWIS
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Very poor customer service. Bought airpods for two year guarantee, its not worth the the paper its written on. They wouldn’t honour guarantee and were extremely rude and patronising. Escalated via social media and they still wouldn’t honour guarantee and didn’t even apologise for disgraceful attitude of support staff.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
I have bought a baby crib from peter jones on 5/8 for it to be delivered to me in 5 days - i have received the mattress and the crib which had the basket missing so they’ve only had the leg and the wheels so i called the customer service to report this and they said in 2 weeks times they’ll arrange for someone to collect the wrong box and deliver the right item on the same day - when the delivery man came he had no delivery for me he said the only information he was given is to collect the box with the missing item- i gave it to him and called the customer service team who have shocked me by saying the item is out of stock! They’ve apologised and ensured me to get delivered on 30/8 which i have agreed to - on the delivery day i called them to check the time frame when is it coming then i got told sorry they still haven’t got it delivered to their stock yet! They said they’re getting it on 31/8 delivered to them for sure and i should get delivered to me on 02/09 and again day of delivery i called to check and was told sorry we haven’t got it !! I was then told 15/9 which is a day before my due date to give birth! I have left a review on Twitter and had someone replying back to me to say they haven’t got in stock and that date of 15/9 is not guaranteed! I have then decided to find myself another solution by buying something else from boots who’s offering next day delivery and called JL’s customer service to ask for my refund - they have then refused to refund my money saying that i have paid in cash in peter jones branch and I have to go there to get the refund they can’t transfer it to my bank account! Can u see how ridiculous this is!?? I couldn’t believe i was treated like this! No way my brain is not accepting this disgusting service at all ! The amount of lies and the false information they have given me was absolutely crazy and now even my money back is not an option!? I cannot drive anymore i live in north west London and peter jones branch is in chelsea which is a long drive - I’ve told them this and im heavily pregnant how could you expect me to go there for a refund- all I’m getting from their team is lies on top of lies and i seem to have lost my £179 without getting anything!! So please this is an important review to help you guys before u buy from this shop! Their customer service level is truly low they have gone downhill!!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
I specifically ordered from John Lewis (3 appliances in one week) because they are meant to have excellent customer service, however I was called at the end of my two-hour delivery window to be told the drivers had done their hours for the day so could not deliver and install my first appliance. The next available slot was a week later, which I booked. I was then told on the day that they couldn't install it because they didn't have time to empty a cupboard and take the backboard out, so I would have to rebook another slot. Firstly, there would have been more than enough time for me to prepare the cupboard whilst they brought the appliance upstairs. Secondly, the next available slot was another week later. This felt like laziness on their part and a ridiculous amount of time to wait considering I had booked the first installation two weeks earlier. After complaining each time, I was offered two goodwill gestures, amounting to a £20 gift card each. Needless to say, I won't be ordering appliances from John Lewis again.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
John Lewis is rated 2.76 based on 2,241 reviews