John Lewis Reviews

2.7 Rating 2,398 Reviews
41 %
of reviewers recommend John Lewis
2.7
Based on 2,398 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier, Own Driver
Average Delivery Time
Over A Month
On-time Delivery
Greater than 40%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
Greater than 67%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week
Customer Service
1.3 out of 5
Returns & Refunds
Refunds Process
Difficult
Returns Process
Could Be Better
Read John Lewis Reviews

About John Lewis:

Uks biggest premium department store.

Visit Website

Write Your review

Tell us how John Lewis made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
John Lewis 1 star review on 9th July 2023
Clare
John Lewis 1 star review on 8th January 2023
Anonymous
John Lewis 1 star review on 5th January 2023
Alan
John Lewis 1 star review on 4th October 2022
Tim Clayton
John Lewis 1 star review on 22nd November 2018
SeanYeates
John Lewis 1 star review on 10th September 2018
Mrs F
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
This company is doomed , they try to compete with online retailers offering a free 5 year guarantee on their Tv's , when you come to claim you find out that this is not worth anything and the customer service center is not helpful at all. I am never shopping here again , i might as well save some money buy getting it online. Bye Bye John Lewis , such a shame as you used to be such a good company.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
very poor service very poor service , ordered £300 headphones on the night-time there was 3 in stock ( great ) by the morning i got an email saying it was no longer in stock but may come in stock in the next 28 days and after 28 days i would get a refund ? ( not great ) i immediately phone them to let them know to cancel straight away and refund me , guess what , they put my order throught after knowing it was not in stock , now i am waiting for them to post the item which i have to refuse delivery then wait up to 28 days for a refund ... how about that for first class service
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
The advisers in the Technology department were excellent. They assessed my requirements - and needs. They were patient as I thought though my options. Excellent advice. Very professional and helpful.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Was purchasing a bag with the price tag on it . It scanned 75 pounds higher. I was told prices had gone up. Will never shop there again. Staff disengaged and overall felt like a bargain basement store
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
I ordered an iphone 15 over the phone and my order was accepted. A few days later they rejected my order via email without a proper explanation so i phoned them and they did not know why either. I asked could i use a different card and they said yes. When they checked my order they said it was out of stock. So they had sold the phone they had earmarked for me without waiting to hear from me or phoning me to see what i wanted to do about the matter. I did not even get an apology. All customer services said is it might come back in stock then you can reorder they are a joke. So if you order off jonh lewis and its accepted do not rely on getting your order. I would steer clear of this inept company at all costs and find yourself a reputable company that cares about the customer. Also they have ignored my complaint
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
I bought a Samsung steam cupboard. Totally unfit for purpose. Does t actually do anything but you refuse to refund. Appallingly
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Ordered a modern large LED TV. They came and installed the wrong one! They wouldn’t come and re deliver at a convenient time. Spent ages in the phone. Some services folks were abrupt, and the message is “tough, you have to fit in with us”. Didn’t come first thing when they promised for the re delivery. Offered tiny, insulting compensation that wouldn’t even cover the time on the phone. Installers “ok” no more. Forget the old John Lewis. That’s gone. But direct from manufacturer or a decent online site
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
What has happened to John Lewis?it used to be such a fabulous store. Now it’s a shadow of its former self. I pre-ordered the new iPhone on their website. A week later when the date arrived for the phone to be despatched, they cancelled the order because they didn’t have enough stock. They didn’t simply tell me that it would be delayed while they waited for more. They cancelled it. They’ve done this to others. They’re getting more stock in, they just couldn’t be bothered to use that for the customers that had pre-ordered, preferring to cance the order and disadvantage the customer instead. I could (and should) have ordered from one of their competitors who treat their customers better. Well, at least I know for next time. Their pre-order system is useless. Their customer service teams are pointless and I’ve spoken to several people now. All most pleasant, but none of them able to help. They just don’t understand the customer anymore. If you’ve also had your iPhone 15 order cancelled, I encourage you to review John Lewis here and warn others of the appalling service you’ve received from this once great l, but now pathetic retailer.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
The most appalling customer service I have ever received. It's not even close. John Lewis delivered & installed a washing machine that flooded and damaged my property & the property below. John Lewis have failed to take any responsibility. MONTHS later I still have a non-working washing machine, water-logged floor, and no compensation or action from JL. UPDATE: All "enquiries" have been carried out and John Lewis has still not taken responsibility. They are the sorriest excuse for a company. Pathetic and dishonest. I will never use their services again, and will be taking my complaint to an external body.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
I order tv and I paid extra money for the next day delivery, and they called me before 1 hour of my estimate time to deliver it, they said ur order didn't arrive if u want next Tuesday, the funny things I have to wait 5 more days
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
I've been a loyal customer to John Lewis and Waitrose for many years, but no longer. Very disappointed with John Lewis's gift voucher policy. They benefitted from a £50 gift voucher instead of me, the intended recipient. It had expired but customer services would not extend. I had extenuating circumstances for not using it within the time frame but this was ignored/brushed off. So too were my subsequent emails to complain about their terms and conditions, pointing out my circumstances. They apologised for ignoring my complaints but still they would not extend. So they've taken my £50. I will never shop with John Lewis again and have encouraged all family and friends to do the same. Shame on you JL.
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
My favourite brand has become like all the other big brands cold and ruthless!!! Warning JL has changed for the worse customer service !! We wanted to buy large times from JL eg £800, £600 Ect so have been collecting JL gift cards & vouchers for a while worth £1,200.00 We had a burglary in 2020 and lost a lot 😢they took soon much we thought our vouchers were lost in this ( these were never claimed for as no proof of purchase or photos ) We found them by accident tucked behind a furniture So excited we hadn't lost them and could now replace some of our items But NO AS JL said they were expired by 1 yr & they would not extent!.. Explained bulgarly BUT Still Cold & ruthless said politely No Not only were we robbed in our Home JOHN LEWIS have ALSO RUBBED US £1,200.00 is a lot of money 😢 None of these cards have been used they checked ! JOHN LEWIS just Rubbed my family 😢😢so upsetting
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
Purchased 2 phones which were supposed to come with 6 months disney subscription. Tried to access code but really struggled so went back to JL and told that it was in the offer and would work and to keep trying. Yet again struggled so contacted disney + who eventually said my phones weren't in the offer. Went back to JL Who said they'd escalate it and I'd hear back within 48 hours. A week later still no response so I chased them to be told they've been busy. I used to rate JL but I've had a few issues over the last couple of purchases and to be honest they're pretty rubbish now. Replied to review on trust pilot stating would contact me same day but still not heard anything
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
Ordered a pair of tan shoes. They sent brown. Ordered another pair of tan shoes. They sent brown. Third time, ordered a pair of tan shoes. Believe it or not they sent brown. Spoke to someone in customer services who told me that someone would ring me sometime in the following week. Unbelievable,!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
“My tv went for repair due to an intermittent fault where it won’t turn on. Whilst in for repair, the casing was cracked by the 3rd party repairer who denied it. I was told I had to pay for the repair or the remaining warranty was invalid because I didn’t have a photo of the back of the tv. I was also ridiculed for my lack of common sense for not taking a photo of the back of the tv, and there’s apparently no way to escalate a complaint! Terrible service - the 5 year warranty process is a joke! The service / repair process is woefully lacking. The customer care staff couldn’t care less! I’ll be buying my electrical hood from AO in future! Same here, absolute scammers
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I purchased Apple Watch SE with a value of £259 from the John Lewis website on the 27th of June. I had an email from Royal Mail on the 29th of June telling me that the watch would be delivered between 09 30 and 1330 on the 30th of June. I was at home the whole day but nothing arrived. Then at 1713 on the 30th of June, I received an email from Royal mail with the tracking number showing the item delivered. But I knew it had not been delivered, so I went onto the Royal mail website and entering the tracking number, I found the photograph I've attached below. It was clear from that moment that the Royal mail delivery driver had decided to pocket the watch and enter a deliberately ambiguous photograph as so-called proof of delivery. I immediately reported it to John Lewis and I sent them a copy of that tracking photograph. They responded to me and asked me is that your house? This was a particularly stupid question as you can see from the photograph. I confirmed it was not my house and I haven't received the item. A couple of days later, when I was starting to dispute the charge with my credit card company, I noted that the proof of delivery photograph had been changed to a completely different photo. How Royal Mail allows its so-called proof of delivery tracking system to be manipulated and altered like this is beyond me, but that's a different matter. John Lewis said they would investigate with Royal mail, but despite three emails to them, I have not received a resolution, or the watch which was intended as a 75th birthday present for my mother-in-law, whose birthday has since passed. Of course, I raised this as a dispute with my credit card company American Express. I found out today from AMEX that when they enquired of John Lewis about the delivery of the Watch that the documentation they provided to Amex, they deliberately withheld the photograph that I have attached to this review only entering the altered 'proof of delivery', even though they had the first one in their possession. It turns out that John Lewis are as dishonest as the Royal Mail driver who took the watch in the first place. I usually buy items on amazon.com that require a signature or one-time passcode for valuable items. I deeply regret using John Lewis and I will never buy anything in one of the stores or on their website again. You just can't trust them. Tomorrow I will go to the Apple Store and buy another watch, but at the moment I am out of pocket by £259 and it doesn't look like I will get my money back.
John Lewis 1 star review on 9th July 2023
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Terrible customer service, John Lewis not what use to be. Their customer support is abroad and call handlers don’t understand the problems . People in shops are unapproachable . I have witnessed a lady having a nerves break down in customer support after waiting 3 hours for her phone, staff was not empathetic at all with the poor old lady, I was absolutely shocked . I had send my steamer for repair and after 28 days is not back yet
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I ordered some Lancôme face cream but when the v flimsy package was delivered by Evri it was stuffed through my small letter box and was torn open and empty. This was obvious from the delivery photo taken by Evri. JL customer service has been awful. Despite clear photographic evidence of lack of delivery of the product they are insisting on mounting an investigation rather than re-despatching or giving me a full refund. I as the customer seem to count for nothing compared to their procedures. I am a long standing customer but I am not putting up with this and will close my account.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
After sending wrong size twice, I returned. Waiting over 2 weeks for refund to be paid back into bank.I haven’t had any email of confirmation . Make sure you keep tracking receipt.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I bought a washing machine and drier from John Lewis which was delivered yesterday (17.05.23). I paid for my old washing machine to be taken away and recycled, (which clearly had damage to the internal workings as large amounts of soot was coming from underneath). I pointed this out to the delivery men on arrival. The men proceeded to lift the machine into the air and a large weight dropped out of it onto my new tiles and smashed a big hole in one of them. I got in touch with Customer Services and was told it wasn’t John Lewis's fault it was the ‘fault of the old machine’? Yes, because the machine lifted itself into the air?! I asked why the delivery men hadn’t used a small trolley given they had used this for the new machine to come off their van and I was told ‘it wasn’t John Lewis policy’, the policy was for two people to lift it out. This is ludicrous, it was obvious there was something wrong with the internal workings and common sense should have prevailed to use a trolley. John Lewis’s Customer Service Distribution and Director Relations has frankly been appalling. I was told they would do nothing rectify the matter as it was the 'old washing machines' fault? I have since written to the CEO and the Chair, who have both forwarded my complaint straight back to the Customer Service Distribution and Director Relations representative, who was the person who was so unhelpful in the first place. The CEO clearly doesn't take customers feedback seriously. As a loyal customer of over 35 years, the excellent service I have received in the past from John Lewis is no more. I looked on social media and I am not alone with this feeling. John Lewis has historically prided itself on this service and it’s been an amazing USP, but without it the once trusted store will lose it's loyal customer base.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
John Lewis is rated 2.7 based on 2,398 reviews