John Lewis Reviews

2.7 Rating 2,399 Reviews
41 %
of reviewers recommend John Lewis
2.7
Based on 2,399 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier, Own Driver
Average Delivery Time
Over A Month
On-time Delivery
Greater than 40%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
Greater than 67%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week
Customer Service
1.3 out of 5
Returns & Refunds
Refunds Process
Difficult
Returns Process
Could Be Better
Read John Lewis Reviews

About John Lewis:

Uks biggest premium department store.

Visit Website

Write Your review

Tell us how John Lewis made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
John Lewis 1 star review on 9th July 2023
Clare
John Lewis 1 star review on 8th January 2023
Anonymous
John Lewis 1 star review on 5th January 2023
Alan
John Lewis 1 star review on 4th October 2022
Tim Clayton
John Lewis 1 star review on 22nd November 2018
SeanYeates
John Lewis 1 star review on 10th September 2018
Mrs F
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
I've never experienced such bad service combined with outright lying from a brand we thought we could trust. We ordered a wardrobe with a 15 week lead time. At 15 weeks we rang to see where it was, JL told us it was due and supplier would call us. 3 weeks later no wardrobe, after 8 hours on phone to customer service turns out it has been available since July. Supplier hadn't informed JL they'd not received a response to texts (no texts received). Supplier or JL didn't attempt to call or email us. We were informed next delivery date available at 21 weeks (13th November). By this point we had to cancel planned time off work to sort our bedroom and a planned family gathering due to being unable to accommodate people without wardrobe. We said 13th November unacceptable but we would take it just to get wardrobe. Only when I received an email in error today did it become clear JL never confirmed new date with supplier, have refused to pay £186 for special delivery, and next slot is going to be at 24 weeks (approx 4th Dec). Have had over 20 phone calls and still don't know when wardrobe will arrive. Have been lied to on several occasions - they said they would confirm the 21 week date, told me again it was confirmed when I rang to check, told me special deliveries were impossible - and JL refuse to discuss compensation until it has been delivered.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Your change to New Day y cards is a complete waste of time. Trying to contact them I waited an hour and then got a message to say they were experiencing technical difficulties — why wait that long. So I have cancelled my card now as your planned change to New Day is a big mistake on your part I had my card for nearly 20 years, never had a problem with any aspect of The John Lewis partnership but the changeover was a joke, unfriendly, too technical for the non tech person . Must be a good reason for the change but not for me!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Absolute joke of a company . Online chat rubbish … phone call waste of time with promises that are not kept . Quick enough to take my money but not quick enough to sort my delayed order which is even dispatched to wrong address. Should not be allowed to be on the high street
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
John Lewis have had it. Customer service is failing miserably. Once upon a time you knew their customer service was first class. Well not anymore. You cannot call a particular store direct anymore. You are directed to a call centre in the Phillipines. They take your queries and get the store to ring you back. This can take all day or sometimes they don’t call you at all. This is very frustrating. One person tells you one thing and another tells you something else. A live online chat also takes you to the Phillipines where you just go around in circles and they can’t help you. I can get better service from other online stores who allow you to speak to a UK call centre or the store direct. There is no incentive to shop with J L anymore as they have lost their unique customer service and customer care.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Tried to get through to the beds dept, in Soihull, to check a size detail before placing an order. This was a follow up after visiting this morning. Operator couldn't put me through and wanted to raise a case number, for someone to phone me tomorrow or after the weekend. JL just lost a £3500 order. Absolute shambles!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Most importantly for me is good customer care & after care when purchasing items And John Lewis are excellent with the service provided .
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Great prices easy website
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I bought an £850 office chair from John Lewis with a full/comprehensive 12-year warranty. 6 years in and the chair has failed completely and they are refusing to repair it or replace/refund despite the manufacturer comfirming that the chair is covered in that warranty but that I have to deal with the retailer. I am constantly fobbed off by John Lewis, they never read their emails (they admitted there is a 7-day wait for email response - it's laughable) and when you phone them they are rude and say that they are "doing their best" rather than actually dealing with the issue. It's a disgrace how far this company has fallen from its original reputation, probably best if it went to the wall like so many others.
John Lewis 1 star review on 4th October 2022
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Beware of John Lewis warranty - Bought a Samsung 50" TV One year ago with a 5 years warranty. Contacted John Lewis, engineer came within 2 days, said that the screen needed replacing . Either John Lewis will pay for the screen or replace the TV.......5 days on, after 2 phone calls.....no news of John Lewis decision.....No TV for a week......and as I was told today they may offer to give me money on the value of price of the TV today, or replace it with a TV of the same value as today.....wonder what kind of offer, I will get......
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I bought a MacBook Pro from John Lewis as it had been recommended to me for their good customer service. I experienced awful customer service with them. Not long after I got my laptop I started having problems with it, I tried to get in contact with them (which took several attempts) and then finally managed to book a date for them to collect it as it was still under warranty. They came to collect on the wrong day. Tried again, with no response. Eventually on the third attempt they came to collect AGAIN came on the wrong day and only by luck was someone home. Overall this process took 6 months to get my laptop collected. I appreciate that the issue wasn't covered under warranty but their customer service was terrible and offered me no advice or guidance with the situation. Would not use them again.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
my experience was negative. I bought a washing machine on 22nd sept with delivery on 29th. when completing the order i was very specific about time slot deliver, due working commitments i can't be at home before 4, so i booked the delivery for evening/night slot, until 9pm. To make sure i called to ask more info and explain the situation, they reassured me that they will pass my note and the delivery team will arrange the time slot suitable. 2 days ago i received a mail telling me that the delivery will be between 11 and 1pm. I called the customer service and explained that i am not at home. They told me they can't do anything about and wait for the driver to call me. Today i received a text message telling me they were on the way to deliver. I called again the customer service and same as before, they said they could not do anything about and to talk to the driver. Then i received a call from the driver and i explained again and the driver told me he could not deliver. I asked the driver to put a note for the customer service to call me and they did after couple of hours. They asked me to pay extra to choose a delivery time, after paying 700£, honestly i think is not fair to pay almost another 50£ for delivery. I refused and i asked if they can guarantee the delivery after 4pm, any day would be the same, i don't finish working before 4. They told me they can't guarantee the delivery time and i had to cancel my order, hopefully i won't need to chase them for the refund. Now i have to find another washing machine somewhere else. I know they are a big company and probably losing a customer won't change anything for them, but i would like to share my disappointment about the poor customer and delivery service. Of course i won't buy from them anymore.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
missed delivery date and still waiting. customer service is terrible, rude and very unhelpful
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Excellent as always and the same price as other merchants with the difference being the exceptional customer service you get from John Lewis. I returned an electronic item which I ordered by mistake and my refund appeared in less than a week. No quibbles No nonsense. Return was easy and free of charge at the local post office.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
John Lewis kindly agreed to reinstate a £100 voucher that had expired over one year ago, as it got misplaced in a house move.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Terrible experience! Would never order or encourage anyone else to buy from them again. Ordered a new washing machine on the Monday and was told it would be delivered on the Wednesday. I took a day off work without pay to wait in. Told it would be delivered between 13.15 and 15.15 and would get a phone call before hand, never happened. Eventually the driver turned up at 18.45 only to find the new washing machine was damaged. I asked John Lewis to redeliver on the Friday, was told would have to wait over a week for next available delivery slot! Told them to refund my money as I'm not going to wait another week. Spent nearly an hour on the phone trying to get the refund sorted to no avail. They then had the cheek to offer me a refund on one of their own e cards like i would want to buy from them again! So I lost a days pay at work, waited in all day for nothing as the product was damaged, then had to haggle most of the evening over the phone to get my money back from an overseas call centre and then have to source a machine from somewhere else. Thanks John Lewis!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
USLESS! Placed an order for collection TWO weeks ago. Day after placing order receied email advising order not in stock and they will reorder. Called today to find out where order is and was told " would you like us to reorder it for you, but we don't know if it is still available?". Unbelieveable!!! I've been sat here for TWO thinking they had reordered the item automatically but instead they have been sitting on my money without reordering! Now they can't say if the item is still available to reorder! Beyond incompetent! Fed up with this useless store!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Quick and efficient.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Usually, you can guarantee on John Lewis to provide great products with a fantastic level of service. I would choose to buy items with them rather than anywhere else based on this. However, their customer service seems to have taken a downward turn, which verges on rudeness. The instructions given by the customer service staff member to upload photos of our damaged item were given at lightning speed, even after being asked to please go more slowly. After being put on hold while my photos were being uploaded, the member of staff came back online to ask 'are you done?' and after my reply of 'yes,' promptly hung up the call. What a way to leave a lasting impression! Oddly, this part of the experience was even worse than receiving a damaged item!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
The customer care are hanging up during the query of the problem. They book deliveries without a call. You place an order and then you are left without any information about your order. Or not real information as the e-mail says the item is out of stock (after I paid for the product), customer care says there are still 30 in stock, and other customer care person says they can't really understand what my issue is. So even if I paid almost 2,000 £ for a product, and I have no clue if it will be delivered, when, or no saying in this type of decision, it is mainly a response of: "so what", the customer care person being more concerned that my surname is an odd one, than with my actual query.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Failed to show for a pre booked fitting appointment. Paid in full months ago as curtains are made to measure. No call, no email, 3 days after still no response. In summary they have my money & have my curtains with no explanation or apology as to why they simply didn’t show up. Are John Lewis cowboys? Why has nobody been in touch to resolve this matter? Are John Lewis thieves?
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
John Lewis is rated 2.7 based on 2,399 reviews