Smyths Toys Superstores Reviews

4.30 Rating 143 Reviews
85 %
of reviewers recommend Smyths Toys Superstores
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
communication channels
Live Chat, Email, Telephone

Write Your review

Tell us how Smyths Toys Superstores made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photo to this review?
Upload Photo
(only JPEG and PNG files) (optional)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Went to Birstall store to exchange my granddaughter's kiddizoom camera as the SD card won't stay in. Got there and they're out of stock, no problem I said could you inform me when back in stock and save me one . No we can't was the answer you'll just have to look on Web site to see when there back in then hope we've got one left when you call. Wow even customer service was no better.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
I’m disgusted in this store. We purchased the pink petal jumperoo for Christmas and received a returns as there were parts missing and it was partly put together. After 3 weeks speaking to a very slow customers services my husband has exchanged it for the rain forest. As we started to assembly, again a returns and faulty toy. The box has even the previous customers name and Address on, which is breaching GDPR. We will not be using this store again
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
If you black just don’t go it’s not the first or second time the staff have been racist including the manger who is racist and aggressive. Maybe that brunch is only for white people plz let us know coz your brunch at Fort Kinnaird is operating on that memo 😳😳 #
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
If you black just don’t go it’s not the first or second time the staff have been racist including the manger who is racist and aggressive. Maybe that brunch is only for white people plz let us know coz your brunch at Fort Kinnaird is operating on that memo 😳😳 #
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
If you black just don’t go it’s not the first or second time the staff have been racist including the manger who is racist and aggressive. Maybe that brunch is only for white people plz let us know coz your brunch at Fort Kinnaird is operating on that memo 😳😳
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
It’s really sad that a black man living in Edinburgh, Scotland can’t go to a toy store (Fort Kinnaird smyths )and buy his son Several birthday gifts without being Racially profiled. If it was a famous rich white celebrity using their Unlimited black credit card, I’m sure the manager or so-called manager would have let the transaction go through. And they said racism doesn’t still exist in today’s world. Welcome 2020! thanks Smyths toy store. I would never ever in my entire life shop at smyths toy store again, and I will let all the people who I know that have children; due to me being a teacher and a coach. I’m in contact with several children and parents in Edinburgh I will spread the word like wild fire DO NOT shop in Smyth’s toy store, they are racist towards black people.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Maidstone branch. I bought a remote control spider from them. It was a birthday present for my own son so had no intention of returning it so I didn’t keep the receipt. Problem being, when it was taken out of the box the ‘on’ switch was already broken so it couldn’t be switched on. I brought it back to the maidstone store to be replaced. I explained the issue and showed the fault to the costumer staff desk. They asked for the receipt. I explained o didn’t keep it but asked them to check it’s a product they sell and assured them that I bought it there in the last few days. The guy on the counter was being cocky so I asked to speak to the manager. He came over and out right refused to help without a receipt. I asked ‘him do you think I walk around with broken remote control spiders trying to trick the wrong shop into replacing the product?’ Anyway the argument continued and I said if you won’t replace it I will leave a bad review and never return. He was still convinced he was in the right. I pushed the spider over the counter, told him to keep it and hoped that he would choke on the £18.00 he had swindled out of me. It’s bad customer service, slippery behaviour and badly trained staff. I have spent100’s£ In that shop and would have continued. I will never give them another penny. Well done, that is all the birthdays and Christmas’s of 7 kids in my family plus all their friends birthdays that you will not profit from. You sold me a piece of rubbish, you should have sorted out the problem.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
I used smyths for Christmas. I do click and collect to be on the safe side as it was a week before Christmas. Click and collect was easy and simple to use and il be doing this for birthdays and Christmases to come!
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
My order was dispatched very promptly. However, the courier company YODEL, were horrendous, said the parcel was delivered and signed for, even when I tracked the courier and he never came within a 10mile radius of my house. YODEL opened an investigation but said my 7 yr olds Christmas present wouldn’t arrive before Christmas because I’d signed for it when I hadn’t. Contacted Smyths customer service, who were very upstanding and they sent a replacement toy the next day, so my son had presents to open on Christmas Day. They are possibly the best customer service department I have dealt with and eased my worries. I WILL 100% continue to shop with Smyths Toy store, due to the fact of how nice and helpful the ladies in the store and customer service (Sinead) were. An A-star company. Thanks Peter
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Oh dear Aylesbury! Went into store to exchange an item. It was over the time allowed but thought they may overlook it as not looking for a refund. The first gentleman saw was very nice and said to go and find what I would like to exchange for, so I did this. However, when it came to the exchange, it all went wrong. I had received a discount when buying the item. I was passed over to a not so pleasant lady (who I assume was the duty manager) who said in no uncertain terms that I could only exchange for that discounted amount! This would mean the store would profit from my return, as would still be able to sell for the original selling price. She agreed that this was correct, in her very patronising manner. She was not willing to discuss this and allowed me to leave the store a very disgruntled customer. This made me so cross, I would have understood if she had simply not been able to do anything and been a nice person about it. Good customer service is invaluable. I realise if I’d just turned up without a receipt, it would have been a lot simpler. I will not be returning to the store and will try to ensure others avoid it too! What a shame, a new store too, you might have thought they’d make an effort to look after customers.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Spent over £300 at THIS new Portsmouth toy store whilst at the till the lady serving me was very customer friendly her name badge was Debbie then BOOM! all of sudden this female manager starting screaming & shouting at the lady serving me.. WOW! in shock at the unprofessional Hitler like attitude this disgusting female manager displayed in public to one of her members of staff.. She looked drunk or of her head on DRUGS this was all in front of my 2 grandchildren aswell.. Not HAPPY.. @AskSmythsToys #smythstoysportsmouth
2 Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Everytime I've been to smyths they always deliver and good quality products I use them every year as they are the best around in my eyes! Helpful and very friendly staff
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
1 star NOT deserved but had to click on this to leave review. Bought a buggy online pick up at Meadowhall store. I politely asked if he could take it out of the packaging as I was holding a 2yr olds hand, my plan being to use buggy to then look in store for other items. The reply I rudely got from the assistant was’ it that so we have to get rid of the packing’ to which I replied‘yes’ Told him not to bother and took the buggy IN THE BOX and left the store. Reading other reviews I can see now that this is rudeness is the norm for Smyths staff and should be expected. Needless to say I will not be returning!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Had to return ps4 headset, was faulty. Dealt with an absolute gentleman, he tested the headphones, agreed they weren’t right and supplied us with new set, talking to the kid and myself pleasantly the whole time, if only all customers servers were as pleasant
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Offered Xbox on interest free credit, when the credit was approved they refused to give me the Xbox, they have fobbed me off to the credit company, told me to come and wait around in store again to see if they can let me have it this time. Don’t answer the phone very often, the manager has not called me back even tho I was told 2 managers were on shift and one of them would. So I’m left with £600 credit for all access Xbox console and I have no console, no resolution and no call back from a manager. The credit was approved by Klarna within 2 minutes of applying, the credit company are great, Smyths Toys are not!! Go buy your xmas presents somewhere else, I will be.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Not even one star , It’s a cheap and nasty store who ripp Parants. Of Please don’t waste your Christmas money on them. All their staff fake the good reviews on the site
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Great offer on the Crayola 3 for 2, fast delivery and packages very well.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
I forget buy my children’s toys from SMYTHS not only do they have great choices of all different toys for all rages but their prices are great too. Their staff customer service is amazing and should be looked at too love this toy shop.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
I sent an email to ask if they would accept a gift voucher from Lego got a reply to say I would get a reply in 48hours then I go another email asking to send my receipt to returns I don’t want to return anything just ask a question the customer service must be great don’t anybody read the properly I give 1 Star but is would not.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Disgusting disgusting disgusting store manager called Martian from Stockton-on-Tees, store near the range robbed my child of his birthday money, with a faulty toy, a toy my son has not used to the the faults. And they our saying it’s not a manufacturing fault when it clearly is they are that desperate now to save the store they are selling kids low low disgusting quality faulty toys to us customer service will side with the manger when they are in the wrong over faulty toys The customer service is disgusting the worst I have ever seen Please I urge Parants to read all the bad disgusting reviews with Parants and kids who have been robbed from this store on trust pilot review site Yes it’s true its all the workers put up the good reviews to save the store from giong under, while ripping Parants off in the process
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Smyths Toys Superstores is rated 4.30 based on 143 reviews