Smyths Toys Superstores Reviews

3.73 Rating 192 Reviews
70 %
of reviewers recommend Smyths Toys Superstores
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Live Chat, Email, Telephone

Write Your review

Tell us how Smyths Toys Superstores made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Save yourself adding to the cost of Christmas. Shop elsewhere Absolutely terrible. I will never use this company again to order anything from. I've a 3yr old and a 1yr old so they have lost out on what could have been years of loyalty from me for their birthdays and christmases. I will now shop entirely in the entertainer and argos for their toys! I ordered 2 Christmas presents which arrived not in any box or packaging, which the courier left outside. Not an issue as we were on our way home. But, when we arrived home and opened the gate, the toys where 100% visavle to our eldest child who saw her Christmas present. She got so excited upon seeing it so we had to let her have it early as a gift from us now. Technically we have wasted money as we now have to buy a replacement Christmas present for her. When contacted customer service as to why they where not packaged got a generic response that the warehouse must have decided not package the items to save time, that it is clearly stated they do this in the small print....I read the small print it does not mention that they do not package toys. They where not large toys!!! Even if they had been put in a carrier bag it would have been good enough not to see what was inside. Never ever will I shop here again.
Posted 5 months ago
Absolutely shocking customer service. Ordered a very expensive gift and have not received it, ordered over a week ago. Calls are ringing out/being hung up on at their Glasgow store, raised 3 online tickets and no response and called Hermes several times too with no response. Reality is i am now down £60 with nothing to show for it and will now have to go buy something else as my nephew's birthday is 2 days away and hope that i gwt my money back soon. Will never order from this store again and if you have any sense you won't either!!
Posted 5 months ago
Absolutely shocked at customer service at this store. On Tuesday the 2nd Nov i placed a click and collect order in Naas, as I had to bring my little one to emergency hospital. I promised him that we will collect the order as a gift after the hospital. Received no email or acknowledgement of order but money taken out of the account. I called to the store, they could not find the order, I asked that Manager to make an exception to give it to me as is paid and I traveled cross county and made a promise to a sick child , he said he cant. Anyways on the website it says after two days of no collection money will go back, is now 3 days and no money and no order,. I mailed them to move it my local store and they said after two days of waiting a reply that they cant. I want my refund , please so I can purchase somewhere else. Very disappointing.
Posted 6 months ago
Got a electric ride on for by kid. Nice service and a nice product.
Posted 6 months ago
I will never buy anything in this shop again. I can't believe that they are so big but treat customers like nothing. Long story short: I bought a toy. It broke. I came for refund. They said that will not give me the money back because it is a company policy. I can only exchange broken toy for something else. For what else? Something I don't want and don't need? This is ridiculous. Once they got the money they knew they were never going to give it back. But why they didn't inform me before I payed? Because they knew that a lot of people would not buy. This company is disgusting. Avoid if you don't like taking risk with your money.
Posted 6 months ago
I will never buy anything in this shop again. I can't believe that they are so big but treat customers like nothing. Long story short: I bought a toy. It broke. I came for refund. They said that will not give me the money back because it is a company policy. I can only exchange broken toy for something else. For what else? Something I don't want and don't need? This is ridiculous. Once they got the money they knew they were never going to give it back. But why they didn't inform me before I payed? Because they knew that a lot of people would not buy. This company is disgusting. Avoid if you don't like taking risk with your money.
Posted 6 months ago
Ordered some items for my daughters birthday, paid for them online and planned to collect , by the time I got there slightly over the given 48hrs they had taken my items and refunded the money , although I had paid by card and it would take 5-10 working days to reach my bank !!! So I had to pay for them again !! What about if I didn’t have the money to do that ??? Birthday ruined !! I can understand if I hadn’t collected for 5 days !! I can understand if I had just reserved the items ! But I bought them ! So how can you buy them back from me ?? I will never order from you again 🤬
Posted 7 months ago
Fantastic Stock, reasonable prices, friendly staff
Posted 8 months ago
Placed an order online for a gaming chair for my grandson. online order stated 1 item available at stevenage store. item payed for and advised would be held for 2 days, 10mins after placing order store called and asked if I would be collecting item today has they were very busy and could I collect next day. on arriving at store for collection staff advised me it was a display item and they had lost the cables and connections that came with the chair, I was then advised that I could have £20 deducted from the price of the chair, not £20 because it was a ex-display item but £20 because there was no cables or connectors to link chair to the PlayStation/ tv, at no time when placing the order did it state that it was an ex- display item and also parts were missing, I advised the shop assistant that I would liked a refund only to be told it takes 3 days to return my money that took just 10sec to leave my account when I orderd the chair, I then walked across the retail park to another outlet to purchase the same item. my gripe and anger is that if said web site would have advised me my order was a display model and some items may or may not be available I would not have placed an order, also wasting 1hr driving to retail park to collect a faulty purchase, I like many others will not be using smiths toy stores again,rant over thanks dbs
Posted 8 months ago
MANAGEMENT LACK COMMON SENSE As a Nurse that has worked throughout lockdown with positive patients I understand more than most the importance of being fastidious to prevent spread of coronovirus. BUT when a 3 year old little girl is that desperate for the toilet she thinks she might have an accident on the floor and management of a TOY shop outright refuse to let her use the one she is stood right next next to, I think it's beyond ridiculous. It may be ”policy” and I understand all about that, but what about own judgement and common sense!! I will not be shopping here again. Relates to smyths GRIMSBY
Posted 8 months ago
Went to purchase a toy displayed on the shelf (2 of them were there) to be told the sale was blocked and the staff never got the notification to remove said toy from the shelfs. One disappointed birthday boy today
Posted 8 months ago
I used to work at the Smyths Toys Superstore Salford West One, and it was honestly the worst experience, I am still recovering years later. The managers always seemed to feel the need to bully me, knowing that I work hard, it always hurt to know that they would verbally attack me unprovoked. I was the only black woman working there at the time, and although I don’t want to say that it was a racial attack; anytime I spoke to the only other black person working there (he was the only one who made me feel welcome) they claimed that I was flirting even though he was much older. A woman there made up many lies about me that the managers instantly believed, and would corner me and interrogate me on situations that I had nothing to do with. I would go home crying every single day!!! The fact that grown men felt it was okay to put me in such an uncomfortable position like locking me in a room to confront me on these false accusations still scares me to this day. Don’t ever work at a place like this, these people are horrible!
Posted 9 months ago
Not sure the managing of the glocester site is at all logical.. Wanted to buy a bike for my grandson, saw an ideal bike and asked for it to be brought down off the shelf. The sales assistant wasn't the tallest so I offered to help with the bike only to be told no customer was allowed to touch the bike.. I suggested I was not prepared to buy a bike that my grandson could not even try for size but was told he could not touch the bike so declined to go any further.. We then went and touched 4 footballs, selecting one, took it up to the assistant who took it to be blown up, passing it to someone else who then passed it back to me, no sanitising nor gloves used at any time. Logic seems to be missing somewhere!!!!!
Posted 9 months ago
Terrible practices. Bought a £250 PS4. Less than one week later it went faulty, fault was intermittent losing of WiFi, rendering the unit unreliable and not fir=t for games. Returned to Smyths where they said they need to test it. They tested it for a hour and said nothing wrong. Despite trying to explain what the fault was and that it was intermittent, they simply did not want to know. I am out of pocket by £250 for a week old useless black plastic box. Seems I have to do all the chasing around to Sony direct. WILL NEVER SHOP HERE AGAIN. Do not buy electronic items from this store.
Posted 9 months ago
Would never advice you to buy frim smyths..TERRIBLE customer service.wanted to return an item after 2 days.But no returns if item has been opened!!!! Than customer service....!! They need help and a lesson on manners.
Posted 10 months ago
Do not shop at Ipswich store, if anything is broken or missing , thay dont care and you will end up with nothing, staff very rude. If I had of read all there review's before my purchases, I would of never of gone there in first place, most of the reviews are bad .
Posted 10 months ago
Brought a cott mattress IPSWICH STORE was damaged but refused to refund and acused me of damage! Manager was very rude and asked me to leave store. Then he threw the un-protected matress onto the carpark floor and said its yours do what you want with it.
Posted 10 months ago
Bought a cot mattress which had a slight rip in the corner but we was happy to take it as it was still sealed, when we found out it was the wrong size we tried to return but they wouldn't except the unopened mattress
Posted 10 months ago
Ordered a wooden toy for my son was so happy with the quality and price.
Posted 10 months ago
I used to buy my console games from game at a silly price then saw smyths do it cheaper if you collect. The stores are great and the staff are kind and helpful and there’s some great deals as well
Posted 10 months ago
Smyths Toys Superstores is rated 3.73 based on 192 reviews