B&Q Reviews

2.2 Rating 2,320 Reviews
29 %
of reviewers recommend B&Q
2.2
Based on 2,320 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier, Own Driver
Average Delivery Time
Over 7 Days
On-time Delivery
Greater than 58%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
Greater than 60%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week
Customer Service
2.1 out of 5
Returns & Refunds
Refunds Process
Difficult
Returns Process
Could Be Better
Read B&Q Reviews

About B&Q:

From DIY specialists to builders and beyond visit B&Q for all your home and garden supplies and advice on all the latest design trends. B&Q’s website has over 12,000 products that you can buy directly and over 25,000 products you can reserve to collect later. B&Q have a huge range of home and garden ,kitchens, bathrooms, bedrooms, paint, power tools, lighting and many more.

Visit Website

Phone:

0845 609 6688

Email:

d.noble@diy.com

Location:

B&Q Customer ServicesCatesby Business ParkWhite Rose Way
Doncaster
DN4 8DG

Write Your review

Tell us how B&Q made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
B&Q 1 star review on 21st September 2022
Barry
B&Q 1 star review on 21st September 2022
Barry
B&Q 1 star review on 21st September 2022
Barry
B&Q 1 star review on 24th June 2022
U Karen
B&Q 1 star review on 22nd May 2022
Mike Briggs
B&Q 1 star review on 22nd May 2022
Mike Briggs
B&Q 1 star review on 30th March 2022
Marian Radulescu
86
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Visited B and Q at Friern Bridge, New Southgate, North London today to have a wall-paint mixed up. The gentleman serving me in the 'Paint Mix' section was Stephen, and he was extremely helpful, knowledgeable and didn't rush me in any way. 10 out of 10 for service. Well done.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
I have been trying to contact the service for two days by phone and email regarding the loss of the B&Q account through no fault of my own and no response!!!!. Question? As in England, such a large DIY store wants to cooperate with Trade's clients. I do not recommend this company!!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Bought bath from B&Q, on installing I noticed bath had hairline crack, these things happen, but, b&q customer service absolutely awful to deal with, took over 4 weeks & threats of contacting ombudsman before finally got a replacement. I recommend buying a bath from someone else
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Customer service is terrible and false advertisement of warranty for a faulty bath which they would not fix. Took over a week to respond to me
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Now you have gone self service, as you do not serve people how can you give good customer service , with 2 staff at the till and you make us do it ourselves. Will not be back . Saved money went somewhere else .
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
WARNING I had been saving up my Natwest rewards for over a year to buy a toaster. I found the one I want - a Dualit lite - after much research on the most durable one available (I'm hoping it will last longer than I do). I checked suppliers in advance. I checked that the B&Q voucher is usable on online - I am disabled and in-store shopping is not an option - and you could pay the difference using a voucher. Simple, I thought ... exchange saved up rewards for a B&Q voucher at Natwest rewards & pay the difference on B&Q site ... but, no. It is only at the final stage that you realise that something may be adrift when this message flags after inputting the voucher code: 'This is not a valid voucher code. Please check your voucher and try again.' Well, I did and there was nothing wrong with the code. It was only on a phone call to B&Q that I actually found out that you cannot use the voucher online or in-store, as the toaster is supplied by a partner. Is this emblazoned on Google search results? No. Is this vital info under or above items for sale on first page of the company web site? No. Is this warning available when you click on a product. No. Is this messaged when you input the voucher numeric code? No. Is this somewhat relevant fact that you will not be able to use the e-voucher online for whole range of products printed in the T&C's at the bottom on the voucher itself? Unbelievably that is also a big, fat, NO. I have counted and logged the opportunities that B&Q had to impart this vital piece information and it is now running at 7 ... and still counting. You know what the greatest irony is? Well, while on hold for a call-handler, you get a pre-recorded jingo to buy a B&Q voucher this Christmas so that you can give your loved-ones 'the flexibility to buy' what they 'really want' ... giving a seasonal fictional flourish to finish things off. B&Q, how about giving this important consideration a mention everywhere before people waste their hard-earned money this Christmas? Here, I will do it for you: not all products are available for purchase on our site or in-store using our vouchers. This leads to the next leading question: just how many products are there on-site that you cannot buy with a voucher at B&Q? Please post your best guess. Date of experience: 01 November 2022
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
I went to b&q sutton surrey to purchase 2 bags of smokless coal. got a trolley from outside the store and put my small foldable trolley into it as u normally would do attemptid to go in the store on the ground floor only to find the door was shut long before closing time no notification or anything to let customers know the reason why so i thought ile go to the upper level via the outside lift and see if that was open and it was and nowing that the smokless coal is on the ground floor level i thought i would simply use the in store lift to be able to go down and bring the smokless coal back to the upper level to purchase it but found the lift wasent working and neither was the escalaters so had no way to get to down stairs apart from walk down the non working escalater and carry up the 2 bags of coal witch would have been fare too heavy to carry up so gave up and on my way out the bilding i could not believe the stupid store security man stoped me and asked to see a recipt for my own folding trolly witch is clearly used with obvious signs of wear and the fact that i walked right passed the same man on my way in through the main entrance door with my trolley. i said to him that is my own trolley. witch i use to transport shopping since i dont have a vehicle and live 5 minits walk away from here i will think twice about shopping here again after being asked for a recipt for my own trolley totaly unbelievable plus no way of being able to purchase the smokless coal witch i went for in the 1st place very poor service i would give zero stars if i could
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
3 weeks ago I went into Darnley b&q I asked the staff for help with 9 doors, I wanted them delivered they said they were short of the doors I wanted but he kept going on about I need a code or I can’t help his attitude was all wrong, I am female I was relying on help from the staff well one in peticular, so eventually I gave up and got my doors Fromm another company who were so helpfull I have spent thousands in the store over the last few years, my cclub card 6356669803420885 Mrs Larkin 3 Harelaw Ave Nielston. I went into the store today for coving and skirting and accessories for my doors, there was no one at the flooring part and I asked someone else he said they would be in later but if I got the codes for everything he would order them, I showed him the skirting but there was only one type of coving, he said to go on line I am 70 I was so fed up I left my trolly and the store yhank you Mrs Larkin
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
WHAT IS WRONG WITH PEOPLE? B@Q Gallagher Retail Park Longwell Green, Bristol. I bought 6 x 5m MDF sheets from this store yesterday, 29th October 2022. Had them cut by a lovely, older gentleman, so helpful. I paid, loaded the pieces into my daughter's van. That bit was fine, I had to go back in to buy 6 x 18mm large sheets, they were too heavy for me to lift down from the stack, but with a long queue for the lovely cutting guy, and no sign of another member of staff, tried to do it on my own. I'm a 65 year old woman, and always try and help myself (and others) A young girl assistant appeared and offered to help me, she told me to ask for help with loading into my van at the checkout, and that 'someone from 'building' would come down to help me' I dragged the trolley to the checkout (a trolley loaded with 6 x 2400 x 1200 18m sheets of mdf is not an easy job) told the blonde middle aged woman on the till what the young girl had said, she barked 'there's a trolley guy out there, ask him, if he's not there, come back' I dragged it out to my van, no sign of 'trolley guy' so attempted to lift one in, it was too heavy, couldn't get it back onto the trolley, there was no way I could have dragged it back them all back in anyway. Then I saw 'trolley guy' across the car park, a tall, 20 something, obviously not happy in his work, I'd left the sheet half inside my van, doors open, mdf on trolley sticking out into lane, asked him if he would help me. He huffed, had the look of a sulky 5 year old being asked to put his toys away, I apologised??!! not sure why, he shuffled along behind me, looked completely p....d off, made a brief attempt to lift a sheet in, with my help, said it wouldn't fit, lolloped off back to his toys, I mean trollies. WHAT IS WRONG WITH PEOPLE?????????????!!!!!!!!! I must say, a really kind old Indian gentleman offered to help, but I didn't think he'd be able to, so politely refused. I then phoned my husband, at work, he came as soon as he could, I had to sit in the back of the van propping up the sheet that 'trolley guy' had left half in half out, He turned them, laid them flat, they all went in fine! If the stupid hard faced cow on the till had called 'someone from building' as requested, I wouldn't have been stuck in the car park with a load of mdf for over an hour, and if 'trolley guy' moved a little faster, he might not be so morbidly obese!
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
I would give B&Q a minus ZERO, but not sure how. Stay clear of Malvern Worcester branch and their Kitchen/ bathroom "design" Dept. B&Q customer services and their ordering and delivery, "service" ..hopeless. 1. Had a Kitchen designed. On delivery, the dishwasher was the wrong size due to incorrect measurement. 2. Despite countless assurances , emails, from Malvern store, 18 phone calls, to customer services, it took weeks to get a delivery, once on the wrong day! ( I have an email and phone message, assuring me of the delivery day..!) 3. There were doors missing / wrong size doors, pelmit, cuboard handles missing. 4. The final price had not included some of the white goods we had to subsequently buy. 5. We had a bathroom also planned with all the same problems. The B&Q drivers were all good but exasperated at, "we have a system not fit for purpose, we regularly are delivering back to customers, sometimes for a SINGLE! cupboard handle..!" / "the ordering system does not "talk " to the delivery system" The courier drivers, had no care with any of the deliveries. B&Q are O.K for emergency last minute materials, use them at your risk, for any other use. They are cheap for a reason, with no idea of customer care. After months of following a compliant, I was offered a £250.. Voucher. From B&Q. Malvern store, after having to go back to the store, after Leaving work early five! times, laying off a kitchen fitter and tiler for one and half days, Malvern store, eventually increased, a cash offer to £200.. from.. £180. Needless to say we will never use them again, recommend them to other property investors, or anyone! we only tried them as a one off and boy do we regret it. It is embarrassing as we should have known better.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
DO NOT get B and Q to fit your bathroom ! After care service is dreadful been waiting 5 weeks for light to be fixed as not working. They keep promising an electrician will turn up but I’m still waiting. They leave holes everywhere they have drilled out, and the contractor said it’s not his job to fill them. Staff do not phone back I’d you leave a message for them .The complaints procedure is ridiculous, 6 different people e mailing with the same questions. B &Q cannot do it !
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
I purchased 5 curtains from B&Q in Gravesend. One of them does not fit the window and I wanted to return it for refund/replacement. I was attended to by PRISCILLA, the manager at EDMONTON branch, who was very rude and incompetent in my opinion. Discretion demands that 1 out of 5 items should be replaced when the goods does not serve the purpose. She won't even let me talk, she sent me back to Gravesend, even refused to give me her name.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
The Greenwich branch is a disgrace in terms of customers service. Called for a bathroom design and was asked to come u without appointment. On getting there, I spent 2hours before one of the bathroom design specialist came forward to attend to me. But wait a minute that was my thought. Actually she came forward to let me know that they are all busy and can’t attend to me anymore. One of the staff asked I send her an email with my inspiration and I gave her all my measurements. Sent her an email and since then have sent a follow up email and have called the shop severally and they kept saying the a specialist will call me in a few hours. It’s been 2 days yet nothing. You would think they don’t care about the sale. I honestly regret opting for b and q. Next time I will do all to avoid them.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
AVOID AVOID AVOID...... SHOCKING EXPERINCE FROM START, STILL WAITING FOR REFUND FROM TRAFFORD Store, AVOID AT ALL COST!!!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
I had a problem with my cabinet tv , miss a piece and I didn't know what to do. I asked at John show rooms and he gave me a wonderful idea to replace or fix the piece.. Amazing guy..
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
We are a company located in South Wells. We are a limited company and we fit in bathrooms and kitchens for BQ for a very long time every job. We had a problem because BQ did not design the project correctly. We have now sadly left BQ. We wrote numerous complaints to the CEO. He did not get back to us. Neither did the area manager we contract for various companies and we have 100% feedback on our installations but the negativity is all to do with BQ because they cannot provide the items correctly or design the project correctly. They are amateurs working at the show rooms and I feel sorry for them. It is with sad news that we no longer contract for BQ. So if you buy a kitchen or bathroom from these and you want it fitted, please don’t hesitate to contact us MC Carpentry, Joinery LTD 07462317888. Contact me anytime Mike references available on request.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Shocking customer service! 7 doors costing £295, had 2 hung, but other 5 damaged, no others in stock until 3rd November. We were offered £80 to keep said damaged doors. Paid £100 for a carpenter but had to send him away until we'd sorted things out. Emailed, phoned, no one wants to know. Still no further forward a week later and have no doors on 5 rooms!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
A joke of a company. B & Q Customer Service no longer exists. They used to be a reliable company to buy from. Be careful when buying via their website as it is likely you will be receiving your goods from a third party Market Trader. B & Q don't want to know if something goes wrong, you have to deal direct with the Market Trader. When the MT does not respond, you are on your own! B & Q just don't care. Disgraceful.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
An absolute disgrace of a company! Wish i had taken out a finance plan with Wicks instead to renovate my home. Half the items were out of stock so i had to choose something else. Customer service team were incompetent and don't provide any help at all! When we experienced delays with the flooring (which was actually paid for and not on Finance unlike our bathroom furniture) they told us that it will be delivered the next day - the flooring did not arrive the next day! We called them again and same thing, they said it will be delivered today. Everyone in the customer service team will tell you what you want to hear but cannot actually solve an issue. They don't offer any incentive to their customers either for all the inconvenience they caused us after spending literally thousands of pounds with them! Never shopping with these morons again! Train your staff!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Their parking operator is a shame. I used the B&Q hourly van transport bulky goods and leave my own car in the car park for a bit over 2 hours. During checkout, I told the lady at the till that I need to park my car for more than two hours – she agreed and asked me to write my car registration number on a piece of paper. But after two weeks a PCN came demanding £60 for parking overtime, appealed but the parking operator insist they care nothing but the money even though we didn’t dispute the fact that I am a genuine customer. B&Q customer service is also hopeless and provided no help at all.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
B&Q is rated 2.2 based on 2,320 reviews