Barclays Reviews

1.44 Rating 313 Reviews
10 %
of reviewers recommend Barclays

Write Your review

Tell us how Barclays made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Barclays 1 star review on 1st July 2020
Anonymous
More Photos & Videos
Barclays 1 star review on 9th June 2020
Mohammed obayd Ayoubi
More Photos & Videos
Barclays 1 star review on 20th May 2020
Jawed
More Photos & Videos
Barclays 1 star review on 30th November 2019
Anonymous
More Photos & Videos
Barclays 1 star review on 30th November 2019
Anonymous
More Photos & Videos
Barclays 1 star review on 15th May 2017
J suckling
More Photos & Videos
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Customer service is appalling. Have to wait an hour to get through. And then get promist i'll get the statement within 5 to 7 working days and doesn't materialize. have dome this 3 times and 6 weeks latter still nothing from them even though they promise......
Have put a complaint in but have to wait for 2 weeks before i will get and answer. Barklase is a joke at the moment. so will be closing my accounts with them as there performance is unprofessional and frustrating.
Posted 3 days ago
It has been exactly 3 hours and 1 minute and 23 seconds waiting for the line to answer ( are record normally I wait 2 hours and even then sometimes the line goes dead) so I am still waiting to see if I can reach a 4-hour wait and then go to bed depressed. After being a customer for 20 years I feel cheated and does anyone care? This message is just another scream in the dark!
Posted 3 days ago
Waited 40 minutes on call to get through to the customer service and still I couldn’t get through to anyone. Didn’t wanted to wait another 40 minutes therefore hang up.
Posted 3 days ago
David Redstone Premier Manager Barclays UK provided an exceptional service in helping me when it would have been easier to say go and speak to HSBC who I bank with on my personal account. He went over and beyond what I could have hoped for by taking ownership and doing everything necessary to help me and keep me updated at all times. He has done everything needed to make sure he helped customers like me during a difficult time. I can not thank him enough for all his hard work and commitment. A truly exceptional hard working individual.
Posted 4 days ago
Awful service , they never call back !
Wait times of 3 hours ,still cannot get through , and when i do , they cannot help .
Reason , 2 call centres in INDIA had to close , so Barclays system is a mess !
Oh yes and they gave me a late payment mark on my credit report , but they took the payment as normal ??
Posted 5 days ago
mortgage
I opened my first Barclays account 15 years ago and have been a loyal customer since then. However my recent experience with Barclays mortgage team is so so bad that I am now losing the will to live.

Everyone knows how stressful a mortgage process can be and Barclays mortgage process is way beyond our expectations, it has been a real TORTURE and nightmare for us!

We submitted our application on 23 March and MA asked us to wait for the valuation to be carried out. Not until 18 May we found out three applications had been made on the same property and two of those must be cancelled before we can even queue for the valuation. This means we had been sitting around waiting for nothing for two months.(mess up 1)

Cancellation took about two weeks and we finally had our valuation booked on 5th June. Then someone from Barclays told me my application got cancelled by MISTAKE?! The underwriters from India have cancelled the wrong one.......so we have to wait for the lady who cancelled my application to reactivate the case again on the system. But India is in lockdown!!! We have been waiting for months now for this technical issue to be resolved. (Mess up 2)

Our valuation took place on 16 June and report was sent to Barclays on 18 June. And nobody contacted us after that so I called Barclays on 24 June for an update and was told the underwriters requested a cladding report on 22 June. But nobody has forwarded this request to me and so further delays. I emailed MA and asked why he had no idea about this new request and he blamed the system and underwriters. Surely Barclays business manager, communication channels and notification system are not delivering the customer service we deserve. (Mess up 3)

I have made three complaints in total and customer service team can only find two on their system. I have been promised that someone would call me within 5 working days but 8 working days have gone and not a single call from Barclays. (Mess up 4)

I have been waiting for a mortgage for nearly 100 days, this is insane! Not to even mention the amount of anxiety and distress caused by Barclays poor customer service. Being there with Barclays for 15 years and got the worst customer service experience ever. I feel really depressed and extremely disappointed in Barclays. The level of service and professionalism from this bank is shocking!
Posted 1 week ago
mortgage
I opened my first Barclays account 15 years ago and have been a loyal customer since then. However my recent experience with Barclays mortgage team is so so bad that I am now losing the will to live.

Everyone knows how stressful a mortgage process can be and Barclays mortgage process is way beyond our expectations, it has been a real TORTURE and nightmare for us!

We submitted our application on 23 March and MA asked us to wait for the valuation to be carried out. Not until 18 May we found out three applications had been made on the same property and two of those must be cancelled before we can even queue for the valuation. This means we had been sitting around waiting for nothing for two months.(mess up 1)

Cancellation took about two weeks and we finally had our valuation booked on 5th June. Then someone from Barclays told me my application got cancelled by MISTAKE?! The underwriters from India have cancelled the wrong one.......so we have to wait for the lady who cancelled my application to reactivate the case again on the system. But India is in lockdown!!! We have been waiting for months now for this technical issue to be resolved. (Mess up 2)

Our valuation took place on 16 June and report was sent to Barclays on 18 June. And nobody contacted us after that so I called Barclays on 24 June for an update and was told the underwriters requested a cladding report on 22 June. But nobody has forwarded this request to me and so further delays. I emailed MA and asked why he had no idea about this new request and he blamed the system and underwriters. Surely Barclays business manager, communication channels and notification system are not delivering the customer service we deserve. (Mess up 3)

I have made three complaints in total and customer service team can only find two on their system. I have been promised that someone would call me within 5 working days but 8 working days have gone and not a single call from Barclays. (Mess up 4)

I have been waiting for a mortgage for nearly 100 days, this is insane! Not to even mention the amount of anxiety and distress caused by Barclays poor customer service. Being there with Barclays for 15 years and got the worst customer service experience ever. I feel really depressed and extremely disappointed in Barclays. The level of service and professionalism from this bank is shocking!
Posted 1 week ago
Barclays state that due to them being such a big company bad reviews are to be expected, what a statement!
They gave me a payment holiday due to coronavirus, I have received a letter from them stating that the payment holiday could now end and I could start making payments again, it states please call 03332027504 reinstate payments.
Here where we begin, 1st call waited 1 hour 34 Minuites for someone to answer and put the phone down, good start, second call 9am when there lines open waited 40 minuite to speak to a lady from Liverpool to difficult a question for her to deal with, she just put the telephone down, twice now just placing receiver down no explanation,
Third call got through after some 40 minuites, to difficult question, how much would my new payment be, he said I will put you through to an expert, on hold again, got through to a nice lady, question - how much will my new payment be monthly now my payment holiday is over?
Once again still to difficult a question for a so called expert, I am now waiting for Barclays Bank to call me directly with the answer, unbelievable, still if they go out of business the government will bail them out with our money by increasing our taxes as usual and if all else fails let’s just Blaim the coronavirus for there inept training of there staff, this is written by a loyal customer of some 20 plus years who is fed up with people who can’t do the jobs they are paid to do, is it there fault or the people who pay, train and motivate them, in my experience the buck needs to stop with the employer, take some responsibility for your staffs inability
Posted 1 week ago
Due to the current health situation,I wanted my sister's name
Put onto my account details. We were assisted by hamesh
At the sidcup branch of Barclay's.
He was very helpful and courteous.
He talked us through it all and gave appropriate material to take home and read. An asset to Barclay's...a really nice chap!
Posted 2 weeks ago
I called to make a generally inquiry and they don’t even answer the phone introducing themselves as a business and when, out of confusion, I asked where I had called the representative repeatedly only gave his name. I then stated that my question was not rhetorical and am I calling a place of business but he just kept repeating..”this is so and so” Why would I trust this place with such unprofessional communication?
Posted 2 weeks ago
Nobody answers the phone! Now considering they are supposed to be working remotely Does that mean to not answer the phone!!
Posted 2 weeks ago
I wanted to swop my PDQ machine Providers for my business and Barclays had a good offer on for the lockdown. It offered all kinds of help during lockdown after talking over and negotiating cost we locked a deal in, i then signed the contract and let my old providers go. I get a phone call telling due to lockdown they will not honour the contract and that somewhere in the T&Cs it would say the contact only counts if underwriters are happy and due to Covid 19 they are not happy about new custom.
To sum up.... My business is now left with out any way of taking card payments,
The Lockdown deal contract was not honoured due to lockdown.
Stay away
Posted 2 weeks ago
Disgraceful!!! It’s shocking the way Barclays treating their customers. They put my son’s bank account under review without any warning, just after my son received his salary and just a few days before he had to pay his direct debit bills and rent. Due to COVID-19 travel restrictions, my son is trapped abroad with his wife and new born baby with NO access to HIS money. Barclays CS are absolutely useless and only follow the scrip when you call them to find out more information. NO ONE at Barclays can give you support - even though you’ve been a customer for many years! Considering current situation with pandemic and how badly it’s affecting people, we have to deal with the banks like Barclays who act no different to a criminals by taking money away from their customers.
I’ve been Barclays customer for 10 years now, but definitely will be moving to a different bank as soon as possible.
I will advise everyone to avoid Barclays!!!
I’m sure, leaving my review here, will not help our situation, but perhaps it will be useful to other people who are considering opening their account with Barclays.
Posted 3 weeks ago
I wish I can give Barclays ZERO for their mortgage process. I have been waiting 84 days for my BTL mortgage and guess what? I am still waiting for my valuation to be done. Barclays have poor internal systems that have caused hug delay to my mortgage application process. I was told by their customer service team that there were three mortgage applications made in the system all for the same property so they had to cancel two to progress to valuations. It took them more than two months to rectify the issue.

Then there was another technical issue with their system so their panel surveyor L&G couldn't receive notifications for my property valuation. I had to call L&G to book one manually!!

Finally I spent two hours today on the line waiting to make a complaint and their staff told me there was a technical issue with their complaint system so he can't log my complaint! You have too much technical issues Barclays and I had enough from you. I have been a loyal Barclays customer for over 15 years and recently the mortgage process has been a hug disappointment for me. I should never trust Barclays with my mortgage and I wish I had gone to NatWest or Nationwide they are much quicker.
Posted 3 weeks ago
BE CAREFUL - THEY MIGHT LINK YOUR ACCOUNT TO SOMEONE ELSE SO THEY CAN TAKE YOUR MONEY IF THEY DIE OR GO BUST!
Barclays have turned my boyfriend's SOLE TRADER account into a PARTNERSHIP with ME as a partner without asking us or ever telling us.
This happened just after I sold my house and put a load of money into my account. So if he dropped dead tomorrow they have made ME responsible for his debts! PLUS HMRC will now be wondering why I am not on any paperwork and think I'm on the fiddle!!! It's now 7 working days since my formal complaint (they say they answer withing 4 days) and I have just spent 1.5 hrs holding on the phone to find out that no one can help me, and they have sent a letter to me - goood... what does it say?.... We acknowledge your complaint! It is also DAY 21 since applying for a BBLS loan for my boyfriend's company and NOTHING has happened.
Posted 3 weeks ago
The most horrible service I have ever had I have personal account for over 20 years and business over one year I have trying to get help with a loan since 3 months
1-interruptions loan no call back received
2- with bounce back loan absolutely horrible bank after lock down I wil change and I will never recamand To anyone
Posted 3 weeks ago
They NEVER ANSWER THE PHONE. BEEN CLOSED FOR WEEKS , GETTING PAID TO SIT AT HOME AND CANT EVEN PICK UP THE PHONE. 3 HOURS BEEN WAITING . USELESS.
Posted 4 weeks ago
My name is Mihail Georgiev.
So actually I was new customers in Barclays , because I made a switch from Lloyds bank to Barclays bank.
So what happened ,and what is my current situation at the moment.
In the first few days I was available to use my new Barclays account , I was available to use my online banking and my app and to do purchase.
But after while , I mean after few days I couldn’t use anymore my bank account and my app , and my online banking. So I straight away gave a call to Barclays to ask them what happened with my account why Is not available.
What they told me “ Your account is under review and you will be not available to use your account 10 working days” I said okay not a problem at all.
But what happened on 05/06/2020 I was call again to Barclays to see what happened everything it’s okay with my account. Because I was very worry about this situation , I was in stressful , because I knew I have bills to pay and I have direct debits to pay , and my rent of course.
But what they told me , “ You are account has been closed unfortunately “
But actually absolutely nobody from the Barclays Bank let me know about this , my account has been closed , nobody call me , nobody send me a letter nobody text me !
I’m really not very happy from this situation , I’m in very big stressful.
Because I have direct debits , bills, salary and rent into that account
So on 04/06/2020 I’ve got my salary into that account as well , which is £960 from company Primrose Health Care Service , because I’m key worker every day (I’m Health Care Assistant )
Also on 04/06/2020 I’ve got a direct debit around £131 from my account from Creation PC world.
So at the moment I need to have around £800 and something in my account and nobody want to give me that money back.
Nobody from Barclays , and from the brach they want to help me , absolutely nobody.
Because I’m Self Employed I have proof for my invoice ( invoices which I do by my own , and then I need give them to my manager , so she can pay my salary ) for my salary and I have previous bank statements from Llloyds Bank which you can see there my salary is £960 every 14 days, for my salary.
So please I just want my outstanding money to be transferred into my partner bank account if you want I can give you bank details, or I want to be available to go into branch and they can give my own money in cash, please.
Because I can’t pay my bills , I can’t buy food also I can’t pay my rent £975 which I actually I needed to pay my rent on 05/06/2020 ... But I can’t pay my bills because Barclays don’t want to give me MY money and also they closed my account without nobody let me know ....
Please help me!
There is a my proof for my salary which I usually get every 14 days.
And at the moment my salary , my own money is still into that closed account and nobody want to give me my OWN money.
I as well was into branch Barclays nobody want to support me...
I already miss to pay my rent and bills.
Please I want my money back.
Posted 4 weeks ago
Shocking service had a business account since 2013 , no excuse for not responding, will look for a bank to move our account that provides service.
Posted 1 month ago
Multiple times I rang and around 3 hours at a time. Eventually spoke to a lady who was so rude and arrogant. I gave example of other banks then she says we are not them but my question is if they answer within 30 minutes then why cant you at least in an hour?

When I complained about this she disgraced me by suggesting I am after compensation. What?
Posted 1 month ago
Barclays is rated 1.44 based on 313 reviews