Barclays Reviews

1.43 Rating 318 Reviews
9 %
of reviewers recommend Barclays

Write Your review

Tell us how Barclays made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Barclays 1 star review on 1st July 2020
Anonymous
More Photos & Videos
Barclays 1 star review on 9th June 2020
Mohammed obayd Ayoubi
More Photos & Videos
Barclays 1 star review on 20th May 2020
Jawed
More Photos & Videos
Barclays 1 star review on 30th November 2019
Anonymous
More Photos & Videos
Barclays 1 star review on 30th November 2019
Anonymous
More Photos & Videos
Barclays 1 star review on 15th May 2017
J suckling
More Photos & Videos
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Discusting service been hung up on 3 times know one is answering once i get re diverted which has been everytime i have been on the phone for just under 3 hours then before that i was on the phone nearly a hour each time 4th time i have called also been in branch and still can not get through to business banking. No reason at all to still be on the phone for this long with no answer you should book to call people back asap if thats the case its not acceptable.
Posted 14 hours ago
Surbiton branch closed,New Malden branch closed, Worcester Park horrendous queues.Couldnt give a toss about customers or staff...At least 4 people saying they will close accounts.
Posted 2 days ago
Not happy about ross on wye branch temporarily close and no one could tell me when it will reopen
Posted 4 days ago
No-one answers phones, online chat took me through a 40 minute "help" which didn't work and then they ended the conversation.
In house, the people behind the counter are the most ignorant, unhelpful I have ever dealt with in my life.
Posted 4 days ago
Terrible bank. Can't be bothered taking the matter further i will just go elsewhere
Posted 5 days ago
Customer service is appalling. Have to wait an hour to get through. And then get promist i'll get the statement within 5 to 7 working days and doesn't materialize. have dome this 3 times and 6 weeks latter still nothing from them even though they promise......
Have put a complaint in but have to wait for 2 weeks before i will get and answer. Barklase is a joke at the moment. so will be closing my accounts with them as there performance is unprofessional and frustrating.
Posted 1 week ago
It has been exactly 3 hours and 1 minute and 23 seconds waiting for the line to answer ( are record normally I wait 2 hours and even then sometimes the line goes dead) so I am still waiting to see if I can reach a 4-hour wait and then go to bed depressed. After being a customer for 20 years I feel cheated and does anyone care? This message is just another scream in the dark!
Posted 1 week ago
Waited 40 minutes on call to get through to the customer service and still I couldn’t get through to anyone. Didn’t wanted to wait another 40 minutes therefore hang up.
Posted 1 week ago
David Redstone Premier Manager Barclays UK provided an exceptional service in helping me when it would have been easier to say go and speak to HSBC who I bank with on my personal account. He went over and beyond what I could have hoped for by taking ownership and doing everything necessary to help me and keep me updated at all times. He has done everything needed to make sure he helped customers like me during a difficult time. I can not thank him enough for all his hard work and commitment. A truly exceptional hard working individual.
Posted 1 week ago
Awful service , they never call back !
Wait times of 3 hours ,still cannot get through , and when i do , they cannot help .
Reason , 2 call centres in INDIA had to close , so Barclays system is a mess !
Oh yes and they gave me a late payment mark on my credit report , but they took the payment as normal ??
Posted 1 week ago
mortgage
I opened my first Barclays account 15 years ago and have been a loyal customer since then. However my recent experience with Barclays mortgage team is so so bad that I am now losing the will to live.

Everyone knows how stressful a mortgage process can be and Barclays mortgage process is way beyond our expectations, it has been a real TORTURE and nightmare for us!

We submitted our application on 23 March and MA asked us to wait for the valuation to be carried out. Not until 18 May we found out three applications had been made on the same property and two of those must be cancelled before we can even queue for the valuation. This means we had been sitting around waiting for nothing for two months.(mess up 1)

Cancellation took about two weeks and we finally had our valuation booked on 5th June. Then someone from Barclays told me my application got cancelled by MISTAKE?! The underwriters from India have cancelled the wrong one.......so we have to wait for the lady who cancelled my application to reactivate the case again on the system. But India is in lockdown!!! We have been waiting for months now for this technical issue to be resolved. (Mess up 2)

Our valuation took place on 16 June and report was sent to Barclays on 18 June. And nobody contacted us after that so I called Barclays on 24 June for an update and was told the underwriters requested a cladding report on 22 June. But nobody has forwarded this request to me and so further delays. I emailed MA and asked why he had no idea about this new request and he blamed the system and underwriters. Surely Barclays business manager, communication channels and notification system are not delivering the customer service we deserve. (Mess up 3)

I have made three complaints in total and customer service team can only find two on their system. I have been promised that someone would call me within 5 working days but 8 working days have gone and not a single call from Barclays. (Mess up 4)

I have been waiting for a mortgage for nearly 100 days, this is insane! Not to even mention the amount of anxiety and distress caused by Barclays poor customer service. Being there with Barclays for 15 years and got the worst customer service experience ever. I feel really depressed and extremely disappointed in Barclays. The level of service and professionalism from this bank is shocking!
Posted 2 weeks ago
mortgage
I opened my first Barclays account 15 years ago and have been a loyal customer since then. However my recent experience with Barclays mortgage team is so so bad that I am now losing the will to live.

Everyone knows how stressful a mortgage process can be and Barclays mortgage process is way beyond our expectations, it has been a real TORTURE and nightmare for us!

We submitted our application on 23 March and MA asked us to wait for the valuation to be carried out. Not until 18 May we found out three applications had been made on the same property and two of those must be cancelled before we can even queue for the valuation. This means we had been sitting around waiting for nothing for two months.(mess up 1)

Cancellation took about two weeks and we finally had our valuation booked on 5th June. Then someone from Barclays told me my application got cancelled by MISTAKE?! The underwriters from India have cancelled the wrong one.......so we have to wait for the lady who cancelled my application to reactivate the case again on the system. But India is in lockdown!!! We have been waiting for months now for this technical issue to be resolved. (Mess up 2)

Our valuation took place on 16 June and report was sent to Barclays on 18 June. And nobody contacted us after that so I called Barclays on 24 June for an update and was told the underwriters requested a cladding report on 22 June. But nobody has forwarded this request to me and so further delays. I emailed MA and asked why he had no idea about this new request and he blamed the system and underwriters. Surely Barclays business manager, communication channels and notification system are not delivering the customer service we deserve. (Mess up 3)

I have made three complaints in total and customer service team can only find two on their system. I have been promised that someone would call me within 5 working days but 8 working days have gone and not a single call from Barclays. (Mess up 4)

I have been waiting for a mortgage for nearly 100 days, this is insane! Not to even mention the amount of anxiety and distress caused by Barclays poor customer service. Being there with Barclays for 15 years and got the worst customer service experience ever. I feel really depressed and extremely disappointed in Barclays. The level of service and professionalism from this bank is shocking!
Posted 2 weeks ago
Barclays state that due to them being such a big company bad reviews are to be expected, what a statement!
They gave me a payment holiday due to coronavirus, I have received a letter from them stating that the payment holiday could now end and I could start making payments again, it states please call 03332027504 reinstate payments.
Here where we begin, 1st call waited 1 hour 34 Minuites for someone to answer and put the phone down, good start, second call 9am when there lines open waited 40 minuite to speak to a lady from Liverpool to difficult a question for her to deal with, she just put the telephone down, twice now just placing receiver down no explanation,
Third call got through after some 40 minuites, to difficult question, how much would my new payment be, he said I will put you through to an expert, on hold again, got through to a nice lady, question - how much will my new payment be monthly now my payment holiday is over?
Once again still to difficult a question for a so called expert, I am now waiting for Barclays Bank to call me directly with the answer, unbelievable, still if they go out of business the government will bail them out with our money by increasing our taxes as usual and if all else fails let’s just Blaim the coronavirus for there inept training of there staff, this is written by a loyal customer of some 20 plus years who is fed up with people who can’t do the jobs they are paid to do, is it there fault or the people who pay, train and motivate them, in my experience the buck needs to stop with the employer, take some responsibility for your staffs inability
Posted 2 weeks ago
Due to the current health situation,I wanted my sister's name
Put onto my account details. We were assisted by hamesh
At the sidcup branch of Barclay's.
He was very helpful and courteous.
He talked us through it all and gave appropriate material to take home and read. An asset to Barclay's...a really nice chap!
Posted 3 weeks ago
I called to make a generally inquiry and they don’t even answer the phone introducing themselves as a business and when, out of confusion, I asked where I had called the representative repeatedly only gave his name. I then stated that my question was not rhetorical and am I calling a place of business but he just kept repeating..”this is so and so” Why would I trust this place with such unprofessional communication?
Posted 3 weeks ago
Nobody answers the phone! Now considering they are supposed to be working remotely Does that mean to not answer the phone!!
Posted 3 weeks ago
I wanted to swop my PDQ machine Providers for my business and Barclays had a good offer on for the lockdown. It offered all kinds of help during lockdown after talking over and negotiating cost we locked a deal in, i then signed the contract and let my old providers go. I get a phone call telling due to lockdown they will not honour the contract and that somewhere in the T&Cs it would say the contact only counts if underwriters are happy and due to Covid 19 they are not happy about new custom.
To sum up.... My business is now left with out any way of taking card payments,
The Lockdown deal contract was not honoured due to lockdown.
Stay away
Posted 3 weeks ago
Disgraceful!!! It’s shocking the way Barclays treating their customers. They put my son’s bank account under review without any warning, just after my son received his salary and just a few days before he had to pay his direct debit bills and rent. Due to COVID-19 travel restrictions, my son is trapped abroad with his wife and new born baby with NO access to HIS money. Barclays CS are absolutely useless and only follow the scrip when you call them to find out more information. NO ONE at Barclays can give you support - even though you’ve been a customer for many years! Considering current situation with pandemic and how badly it’s affecting people, we have to deal with the banks like Barclays who act no different to a criminals by taking money away from their customers.
I’ve been Barclays customer for 10 years now, but definitely will be moving to a different bank as soon as possible.
I will advise everyone to avoid Barclays!!!
I’m sure, leaving my review here, will not help our situation, but perhaps it will be useful to other people who are considering opening their account with Barclays.
Posted 3 weeks ago
I wish I can give Barclays ZERO for their mortgage process. I have been waiting 84 days for my BTL mortgage and guess what? I am still waiting for my valuation to be done. Barclays have poor internal systems that have caused hug delay to my mortgage application process. I was told by their customer service team that there were three mortgage applications made in the system all for the same property so they had to cancel two to progress to valuations. It took them more than two months to rectify the issue.

Then there was another technical issue with their system so their panel surveyor L&G couldn't receive notifications for my property valuation. I had to call L&G to book one manually!!

Finally I spent two hours today on the line waiting to make a complaint and their staff told me there was a technical issue with their complaint system so he can't log my complaint! You have too much technical issues Barclays and I had enough from you. I have been a loyal Barclays customer for over 15 years and recently the mortgage process has been a hug disappointment for me. I should never trust Barclays with my mortgage and I wish I had gone to NatWest or Nationwide they are much quicker.
Posted 4 weeks ago
BE CAREFUL - THEY MIGHT LINK YOUR ACCOUNT TO SOMEONE ELSE SO THEY CAN TAKE YOUR MONEY IF THEY DIE OR GO BUST!
Barclays have turned my boyfriend's SOLE TRADER account into a PARTNERSHIP with ME as a partner without asking us or ever telling us.
This happened just after I sold my house and put a load of money into my account. So if he dropped dead tomorrow they have made ME responsible for his debts! PLUS HMRC will now be wondering why I am not on any paperwork and think I'm on the fiddle!!! It's now 7 working days since my formal complaint (they say they answer withing 4 days) and I have just spent 1.5 hrs holding on the phone to find out that no one can help me, and they have sent a letter to me - goood... what does it say?.... We acknowledge your complaint! It is also DAY 21 since applying for a BBLS loan for my boyfriend's company and NOTHING has happened.
Posted 4 weeks ago
Barclays is rated 1.43 based on 318 reviews