Barclays Reviews

1.4 Rating 571 Reviews
8 %
of reviewers recommend Barclays

Write Your review

Tell us how Barclays made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Barclays 1 star review on 2nd January 2022
Li
Barclays 1 star review on 13th January 2021
Robert Turner
Barclays 1 star review on 13th January 2021
Robert Turner
Barclays 1 star review on 21st September 2020
Alks
Barclays 1 star review on 1st July 2020
Anonymous
Barclays 1 star review on 9th June 2020
Mohammed Obayd Ayoubi
Barclays 1 star review on 20th May 2020
Jawed
1
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
I have been trying for 4 days and spent 7 hours and 25 minutes on the phone trying to get through to someone in Barclays Bank. They are not answering their phone but guiding you to chat online on their app, however, their app needs an 8 digit number which they haven't supplied. I am once again holding, they advise for approx 30 minutes, however, it's going to be a lot longer than that and I'll probably be cut off after 2 hours.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 day ago
In branch queue up to pay mortgage by transfer from my Barclays account.20 min Get to the counter nobody knows how to do it !! Do staff receive training? I was asked to queue up again 40 minutes later still waiting Wtf is going on ?
Helpful Report
Posted 2 days ago
So far I wouldn't give a star, started by phoning, after all the button pushing etc 3 mins, says closed and cuts me off. Another time I get through and was told she didn't know why contactless mobile payments had suddenly stopped working. What a mystery and that was that Now trying chat and that is beyond a joke, they take ages to reply, clearly swapping between people and robots, asking same questions. Given up and have applied for a new credit card with hopefully a company that has technology working. Time will tell
Helpful Report
Posted 3 days ago
Don't expect any help whatever your problem even if that problem was caused by Barclays basically sums the bank up
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
The dreadful mobile chat service is a bad non responsive joke- Barclays have lost the service plot- time to move in
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
How archaic. Can't use mobile contactless after the first time. When speaking to customer service still got no answers as to why. Seriously considering closing my accounts and going elsewhere. They don't even support google pay/samsung pay on my samsung mobile. Surely in 21st century this shouldn't be an issue.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
After 20 years I'm withdrawing my money to one of the new age banks and closing my accounts with Barclays, in an age of instant communication and transparency, they still operate in the dark ages. My most recent issue was the cutting off of access to my card while abroad with no notification via email, the app, or message leaving me quite literally high and dry in the middle of a city in south america with no money, leading to a difficult night of dealing with a very angry taxi driver I couldnt communicate with and walking hours to find my hotel. Barclays policy with fraud abroad is strictly through phone calls only...I mean I'm no Einstein, but if a customers outside of UK and the cards being used outside of the UK theres a huge chance they wont be able to accept phone calls, especially outside of Europe?? Hmmmm Barclays, might want to rethink this one (my network provider was charging at £1/min, believe me I had data turned off), anyway so apparently Barclays aren't that smart, fine. Next day online chat for 2 hours, told me to clean my chip first, explained again, thennnn they realised it had been blocked (what a great system for a huge banking empire that doesnt link up info between departments...I had to go through it all again a few days later and got told by somebody else it was a system error not fraud, complete shambles of misinformation when I'm explaing to the banking expert the info they have in front of them), one employee stopped responding for 3 days locking me in the chat so I couldnt talk to anyone else, I filed a complaint with 4 different employees who all lied and said they'd submitted it though when I enquired the next day (I was suspicious at this time) none of them had meaning another 2 hours on the chat app doing it all again. It absorbed the best part of 12 hours being given incorrect info, lied to, ignored, palmed off all a waste of time as Barclays "professional" opinion was they'd done nothing wrong. You'd think reading all the reviews on here Barclays would be trying to improve their customer rating but all they're interested in is protecting their own liability in situations like this and ignoring customers till they go away.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Terrible customer service, terrible policies. This is a lackluster bank and credit card company, which from the beginning offers nothing of value and nothing to benefit you. I’m not naive, I know banks are banks, but similar experiences and situations at other banks have been dealt with with professionalism and class, a stark contrast to my experiences at Barclays. I recommend going elsewhere for your bank/credit card needs.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Worst bank ever - Don't use it.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
I am unable to make another attempt due to returning to work and supporting my wife, (who has cancer and is currently home bound), looking after the dementia creature that now inhabits my mother’s mind, plus running the house etc. With the demands on my life, it will be April 2023 before I’m next off work and able to dedicate more time to redeeming my mum’s money. In the meanwhile, I received a rouge statement, and I noticed at least one direct debit is being paid out to companies. A debit I have no control over. I am unable to place a halt on them from the suppliers end, as its no longer possible to ask mum, “who is this company….” I can’t stop them on line and have insufficient time until 2023 to camp in the bank’s foyer, to wait and be ignored. Barclays have my mum’s money and are doing all they can to prevent her appointed P.O.A access to it. I have no idea how much in eight months will be left, but they have finally won. I have to accept, (for my sanity), that Barclays are the worst of banks, care nothing for the little person and systems that are both overly complex (what is a pin sentry? No other bank uses such a device!) and the in-branch systems/staff uncaring. Order of queues mean nothing; they will ignore those waiting and whisk fresh arrivals off into the bank’s recesses. Its been along seventeen months, and in a well fought campaign by Barclays, I have to admit, I have lost. I give up"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Do not try to open an account for a child /younger person on the video link , you will be wasting days ,it starts with 50 and on the way down it gets into technical difficulties and can't connect you to an agent so you start all over again . I have been doing this for hours . Do not bother going to the branch either because the appointments they give you are in 4 weeks time , absolutely pathetic service . I wish I had a bill with me and go to a different bank - that's exactly what I am doing on Monday . Wish there was an option to give no star because there was nothing in the whole experience to justify one star
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Every thing
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
hi iam not happy about the service
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Barclays bank, upon receiving my inheritance "to process it" hired 2 scammers who had to be paid money on top of before that. Over the last 4 yrs. Barclay's bank UK disobeyed rule after rule after rule. Demanded pocket fee & after pocket fee etc. Still not over yet. Can't get help. The *** continues.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
It's so pleasant when after too much trouble caused by barclays we decide to switch to another bank and a week later we get a phone call wanting to discuss the reasons of that. It's even more rewarding being able to say f#*@ you to in reply to this phone call after so many abusive threatening messages that your bank account will be restricted or closed. barclays has lost another costumer and I'm so happy for that
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Worst attempt in video banking. I thought it was just me however it seems hundreds of people are wasting their valuable time in a queue hoping someone will answer and help to open an account etc. I have to rethink staying with Barclays. What a joke!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
BEYOND UPSET AND NO ONE WILL HELP. I have been a customer for years. I am beyond frustrated. My card was blocked again from purchasing American Express Gift Cards with Barclay. It has happened before and this time Nancy refused to help. She was very rude with Barclay. Guy said it was an issue with card transferred me to Nancy and she was awful refused to help. I have a great deal in Upromise in 529's. Every time I try to do business purchases on line with my Barclay it blocks me and NO ONE will help.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
incompetent staff thanks Barclay thanks to you our community hall might have to close its now been a year since the user groups took over Hatfield community hall to try to save it from closing we have funds in the bank but can not access it thanks the incompetence of the staff they have lost 5 lots of paper work since we took over in august 2021 we have cash in the account and more being paid in the hall has around £4000 + bills to pay but can not pay as we can not access the funds in the bank account it wont be long befor the water .gas and electric is cut off ,, ALL thanks to Barclays bank thanks to this bank the community hall will probably have to close THANKS A BUNCH
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
They thick as pigshit tried to lend my mate £20 they showed me up blocked my card.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Barclays does not even deserve 1 star to be honest. I have been trying to get my account closed for MONTHS. I always have security issues over the phone as the staff member in their Bristol Branch inputted my email, name and dob incorrectly which has caused me a nightmare. I cant monitor my money due to their app not working, I've tried to reset the app using my passport and for some reason they will not allow me to go through security! I can't even close my account or transfer my funds digitally or over the phone due to their stupid systems. They will not allow me to submit a complaint, access my funds or update my information. I have learning difficulties too so they have really really let me down as a customer who has been with them for 10 years. I can not wait to close my account!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Barclays is rated 1.4 based on 571 reviews