Barclays Reviews

1.42 Rating 360 Reviews
9 %
of reviewers recommend Barclays

Write Your review

Tell us how Barclays made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
The worst company ever! I had my credit card with them for over 10 years... My credit limit was 10,000. I was never late on any payments for over 147 months and they cancelled my credit card with no notice or reason why! The results of them canceling my card has lower my credit score over 120 points. DON’T GIVE THEM THE CHANCE TO DESTROY YOUR CREDIT TOO!!
Posted 12 hours ago
Appalling. Can't believe l just read barclays reviews now before l write my review. It's unbelievable.
I have had my online banking blocked.. Well l need to sort it out through the phone.l have waited for 35mins to talk on the phone which was cut before l even spoke to any one. Surely, Barclays, you know how this means to us during the pandemic. The customer care is non existent if not operational. Well in this time of economic restraints, can't believe this is the way you treat your customers.
Posted 2 days ago
Needed to request a chargeback as money was wrongfully taken from my account . Two months later still not managed to speak to anyone . Reported on the app 5 times , no call back . Hours and hours on hold . Disgusting
Posted 1 week ago
Waited 75 minutes to speak to someone on the phone today. I understand things are difficult because of Covid but this length of wait is unacceptable. Moving house and this wait time is far the longest as yet from any company or bank.

Also had to wait an hour and a half on the phone multiple times when contacting the bereavement team last June 2019, which was way before Covid. I was on hold for about 9 hours total which was not cheap either. It made a stressful and upsetting time more stressful. They also messed the payment to the funeral people up. Which was stressful and embarrassing and needed another long wait on the phone to sort it out.

It’s clear these issues with contacting them have been going on a very long time. Way before Covid. It’s unfair to make customers wait so long on the phone and pay for it. People need to be able to contact their bank in a reasonable space of time.

Seems Barclays would rather let customers wait for hours on the phone and let them be out of pocket than employ some more much needed call centre staff.

Customers want a bank they can contact and that’s the reason I have now left Barclays.
Posted 2 weeks ago
Sending statements to my home address with wrong name for 10 months when I finally got to the end of my rope and complained to head office I received two threatening letters telling me I I contacted them again they would close my accounts so I decided to hand it to the FOS who have had it now for 6 weeks and not 1 response from them at all and of course FOS just play along with them sort yourselves out barclays shoddy bank and customer service does not exist
Posted 2 weeks ago
Atrocious customer care. Waiting for ages to speak to someone. Wrong info given again and again. It's almost as if they don't want you to access your own money. Closing our accts and moving everything to Starling which is more ethical too.
Posted 3 weeks ago
I had problem in my account they block business account whn is called its took an hour but KYE he is the best
He solve my problem within few minutes ill give him 5 thank u Kye
Posted 3 weeks ago
I spent hours on the phone to report fraudulent activity on my PayPal account terrible service from PayPal my accounts exceeded my overdraft limit I spoke to a customer service person named Tom on the 4 th of November he was polite and courteous and helpful bringing my stress levels right down What a nice person he was many thanks
Posted 3 weeks ago
Terrible service. Barclay card won't work online for any transaction. Tried to call and on hold for over 2 hours. Ended up going to bank. They told me nothing was wrong. I tried to make a payment online in the bank and it miraculously worked and I walked out looking like a fool. Now once again I can't make any payments online. Tried numerous sites and it's not my error. If you're looking to open a bank. Go elsewhere.
Posted 4 weeks ago
not helpful really need to tetrain in customer service my grand children could run it better leaving me a very frustrated person
Posted 4 weeks ago
Spent all day trying to get through to someone. Landline literally runs out of charge before anyone picks up! Time waiting for customer service rep to pick up has ranged between 45mins to almost 4 hours! Absolutely ridiculous.
Posted 1 month ago
accounts locked. Phone calls upto 2 hours five and on the phone now. I was asked loads of questions and told its been unlocked tried to make a payment and its delayed again - I will move all my money as soon as they will let me !
Posted 1 month ago
would have given ZERO if I could
I've been with Barclays for years but after resent events,I will be leaving them, after my nine week complaint gets sorted out , ...Yes nine weeks and counting and still no contact from Barclays over something that all their customers service advisers said should not have happened, but looking at the reviews I'm not the only one.Do not get an account with these people we all can't be wrong .
Posted 1 month ago
Constantly plummeting interest rate on my cash isa. Can't believe how much money I lost because I didn't keep an eye on it.
Posted 1 month ago
After 40 years as a customer treated badly and given a poor credit rating without explanation. My credit rating has always been exceptional and remains so outside of this disgusting bank. Having complained the complaint investigation was poorly managed. Avoid Barclays at all costs if there was a score of zero this would be appropriate
Posted 1 month ago
Barclays Bolton town centre - THE WORST bank. Closing my accounts as soon as possible, it’s regularly over an hour to get through on the phone, they closed the local branch (one stand out member of staff had the personality & ability of a potato) The next nearest branch has terrible customer service. They never do what they say they will and lie to cover up their mistakes. Barclays is Shockingly bad!
Posted 1 month ago
I'm not happy with the service I'm provided. There never is offers for me to take out for example a over draft and there never has been since I've been banking with you for over 8 years or more. I earn over £4,000 a month most months, I will pay the remaining loan balance off which is very low now and I will be leaving this bank. The bank is too hard work for me I struggle to call the bank never mind use the card reader which I have never been able to use or keep, I work and travel and this is no good for me. To even send a message to you you have to use the machine. Not happy at all. I've asked to leave once before to lloyds and you did not accept that move so I will be going to the fianaical ombudsman for advice on why you are able to put a stop to it.
Posted 1 month ago
1 hour and 3 minutes on hold, only to get through to someone and can’t understand a word they say
Posted 1 month ago
2nd attempt to speak to someone at Barclays it’s been an hour and still waiting. An awful bank. Take your business else where!
Posted 1 month ago
The Bletchley branch is disgusting, the staff are poor, telephone banking has unacceptable waiting times and business banking is a joke. Time for a new bank.
Posted 1 month ago
Barclays is rated 1.42 based on 360 reviews