BOATsmart! Reviews

4.4 Rating 8,057 Reviews
88 %
of reviewers recommend BOATsmart!
4.4
Based on 8,057 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Postal Service
On-time Delivery
99%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
100%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Live Chat, Telephone, Email
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
4.6 out of 5
Read BOATsmart! Reviews
Visit Website

Phone:

1-877-792-3926

Email:

info@boatsmartexam.com

Write Your review

Tell us how BOATsmart! made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Hi, I did the french language version of your course, and I noticed quite a few spelling mistakes and some questionable translations, both in the modules and on some of your web pages. Some modules were better than others though.. Also when I attended the exam, some concepts were not called the same in french by Transport Canada, which made it more difficult to answer the questions correctly. On the other hand, I liked the pace of the modules and the presence of videos and voice over.It helped retain the information better. It would be great to add some videos with scenarios to help us think about how we should act in specific situations. Or add some more scenario questions in the quizzes. Hoping you will improve the French version to make it just as good as the English one, Thank you, Marine :)
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Videos were unwatchable on any browser on android and PC. Audio contained narrator saying 'end' and 'that's the end' which was kind of amateurish. Also some images refered to pages?
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Reasonable content. However, the text on the webpages is very faint and difficult to read.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Alot of information
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
The information was great but the videos did not load half the time and on a few lessons it was totally blank so I had to just guess during the quiz. Otherwise positive. The main feedback is that for fast readers the timer creates unnecessary delay in going through the lengthy material.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Some questions seemed to be repeated a few times while other topics seemed to not have enough information. Also some questions on the module quiz did not have enough information covered in the information to answer easily.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Overall, I think the BOATsmart training was fairly good. The voice-over was clear and consistent, most animations were helpful, and even included some funny moments to keep things more interesting (though they're eye-roll or dad-joke level of comedy). When I checked another website's lesson, it seemed lower quality than the lessons I received through BOATsmart. My main issues related to the fact that the content of BOATsmart appears to have recently been redone without paying much attention. An early quiz asked a question that wasn't covered until module 7, some content was repeated, and some spelling mistakes existed on some of the graphics. Additionally, at least one question on the final quiz was not covered. Lastly, the most frustrating part was the minimum time for each lesson. Some were consistent to the length of the video/voice-over, however some (I think module 3) were as much as double what was necessary. All timers were far longer than my reading speed, which lead to a lack of focus and reduced learning when I found myself waiting and seeking a distraction instead. Overall: Solid, but plenty of room for improvement
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
I used my phone, iPad and laptop and none of these would load pictures during study session. As a result I had to google the pictures and what they were.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
I learned a lot. Many videos were not accessible to me in explorer or chrome so I missed some information. It would be nice to decrease the required amount of time between sections so it matches the video. Sometimes I had to wait more than a minute after the video or reading was finished before being able to advance to the next lesson.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Pros: The course was well designed and easy to understand Cons: Most videos worked well. Apparently there were videos on some of the screens, as the was a 'play bar' but nothing would happen. However there was still the text that one can read. One is forced to spend a minimum time on each part, however some of those are too long and one could only sit and wait for it to time out
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Great course info but it would be much better if you didn’t have to wait for that stupid timer to run down before moving on. My phone battery died waiting on that thing. Other than that good content!!
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
I passed the course but didn’t get my original plastic license. Just paid to have a replacement sent out.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Some questions to a module answers were stated on the next module not the existing one. I forget which module but the steps didn’t coincide with the speakers and at one point it said all the way to step example would be step 11 but only 7 were posted. Otherwise informative course
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Doesnt give you an option to find the right answer to questions you get wrong so that could be better.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
The course did not show you any of the mistakes made. Each module has a quiz and if you got an answer incorrect you would not know what question it was. The course has significant detail in the material being presented but has grammatical and spelling errors. A lot of material covered and a lot of details in the presentation missed.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
The site is well made, the course as well. The narration is clear and the animations quaint and useful. I found myself learning quite a lot about boating and buoy markers, procedures and emergency tips. My main concern is that every module requires a quizz at the end, and the questions themselves seem to be designed for failure. Too many of them focus on mundane details instead of the more interesting components (which are not lacking!) I passed, but found there was a missed opportunity in the question design. Enough that instead of a five star rating, I give it a three (and a half) stars Otherwise I think there's quite a bit of potential here.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Connection to service was intermittent and caused frustration.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Some of the questions dont have the right answers< so you cant answer them right.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Quite a lot of the material that was questioned on the test was not emphasized enough throughout the course.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Met expectations
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
BOATsmart! is rated 4.4 based on 8,057 reviews