BOATsmart! Reviews

4.43 Rating 7,102 Reviews
89 %
of reviewers recommend BOATsmart!
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Postal Service
On-time Delivery
99%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
100%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Live Chat, Telephone, Email
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
4.57 out of 5
Read BOATsmart! Reviews
Visit Website

Phone:

1-877-792-3926

Email:

info@boatsmartexam.com

Write Your review

Tell us how BOATsmart! made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
This course was designed by people with no knowledge of adult education, for people who cannot read. The whole course was read to us word for word. The reader also mispronounced
many words. a lot of money spent for a substandard product. A first year education student could have done better.
Posted 3 days ago
The timer makes it four times longer than necessary. A huge waste of time.
Posted 1 month ago
Way too long
Posted 2 months ago
No way to know what I got wrong, no way to study for lack of materials, there should be a way to print the material, I have lots of questions, and no way clarify them.
Posted 3 months ago
The timed sections were too long and I could have passed the quizzes before the time that the timer allowed. Wasted a lot of time sitting there.
Posted 4 months ago
Thanks for taking the time to leave feedback Bruce. We understand the test can take a while for some students, but the time requirements and quizzes are required by Transport Canada and NASBLA to ensure students of all reading levels are able to fully understand all content. The timed requirements are the same across all course providers, and we find many students prefer the convenience of completing the course from the comfort of home, rather than in a classroom setting. Thanks for sticking with it and safe boating!
Posted 4 months ago
Why does a 7 year old with a 9.9hp on a lake need to know 80% of this stuff..... easier to just pay the fine if caught with no license. Deters people from taking test.
Posted 8 months ago
Servers kept timing out during last module so it took hours to finally complete (same problem across multiple devices and internet connections).
Need to update course to match exam and why is dubstep playing in the background of study videos?
Posted 1 year ago
I have read many of the reviews and agree with those that discussed problems and corrections needed. I would disagree with anyone that thought it was good course. i found exam questions were worded tricky and vague at times. No need for that and the detailed involved in answers could have been reduced to "keep a waterproof manual handy for review of situation". I also found the index in the manual from Canadian Tire to be very lacking.
The good part of the review so there is one star, is now I am not buying the boat I had ordered and will stay a land based person.. Will save me a lot of money for other pursuits here on Vancouver Island.
Posted 1 year ago
I got 70% for chapter 2 test. The website requires me to have to go through the whole chapter again. A 70% mark person is forced to spend 2 more hours clicking "next" one more fkin time. Isn't that fkin booshit? Why can't you test me just about the knowledge which I did wrong on it?
Posted 1 year ago
The course forces you to wait for an allotted time, after going through the module you then write a quiz. If you do not score 8/10 or higher your are forced to redo the entire module with the same time allotment.
There should be an option to redo the quiz, or at the very least only review the area you missed on.
Extremely frustrating way to teach the course. Wish I had chosen another option over BoatSmart!
Posted 1 year ago
Thanks for taking time to leave feedback Darren. We understand the test can take a while for some students, but the time requirements and quizzes are required by Transport Canada and NASBLA to ensure students of all reading levels are able to fully understand all content. The timed requirements are the same across all course providers, and we find many students prefer the convenience of completing the course from the comfort of home, rather than in a classroom setting. Thanks for sticking with it and safe boating!
Posted 1 year ago
My husband and I purchased the BoatSmart book and prepared ourselves to write the test. We were not aware that regardless of whether you were prepared or not, you had to proceed through all the modules. We confirmed this with a phone call to BoatSmart. This took each of us three hours. Our times is valuable. We were not informed of this process when we purchased the book at the Toronto Boat Show. If we were informed, we would have still purchased the book, but we would have just prepared for the test by proceeding through all the modules. It was not a positive experience.
Posted 1 year ago
this course is well structured to fit in everywhere you may have time,thanks so much
Posted 1 year ago
bad
Posted 1 year ago
This stupid test waste of my time for hours and hours. It forces you to sit on the page waiting for the clock to tick down. I emailed and asked for a refund but I didn’t even receive a reply to my message.
Posted 1 year ago
I took the BoatSmart course online and it took under 3 hours. Very precise and detailed. I then took the Transport Canada Course and scored a 90%. I'd strongly recommend BoatSmart. Gil
Posted 2 years ago
The course pace is unbearably slow, I could finish reading the material on each section well before I was allowed to continue learning. I would not recommend.
Posted 2 years ago
To long and boring but worth it
Posted 2 years ago
This is by far the worst course I have ever taken anywhere. The points that were constantly repeated unnecessarily really took away from the points that should have been made. And having a minimum time limit on every single page is ridiculous.
Posted 2 years ago
Longest most boring course ever . Questions are made for captains of commercial ships . I want to run a 17 ft boat on a lake not a fishing ship in the bering sea
Posted 2 years ago
The minimum time on each slide function is terrible. I read fast enough that I regularly had to wait 30-60 seconds on each page. Good way to loose interest and also the reason this course took several months to finish instead of a weekend. This course is being taken by adults and as such users should be allowed to manage their time effectively instead of the time wasting exercise that ensues when time minimums are used.
Posted 2 years ago
BOATsmart! is rated 4.43 based on 7,102 reviews