BOATsmart! Reviews

4.4 Rating 8,057 Reviews
88 %
of reviewers recommend BOATsmart!
4.4
Based on 8,057 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Postal Service
On-time Delivery
99%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
100%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Live Chat, Telephone, Email
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
4.6 out of 5
Read BOATsmart! Reviews
Visit Website

Phone:

1-877-792-3926

Email:

info@boatsmartexam.com

Write Your review

Tell us how BOATsmart! made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
I bought and read the Boatsmart book, I wish I wasn't forced to go through the online training program to take exam when I just read the whole book. Also, would be nice to see which practice answers I got wrong so I could learn.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
There were a lot of mistakes... There were 5 or 6 cases where the audio recording said one thing but the written text said something contradictory. The one near the end quoted some fact where "140" was written, but the person said 104. There were 2 cases where there were 2 slides in a row that covered the same material. The timed responses were too long for most slides so you just sat waiting for the time to expire. Waste of time.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
-Too focused on lakes & small pleasure crafts -Not enough emphasis on sailboats in the content -Found the right of way module 5 to be useful, should be more clear on right of way lessons (the module 5 is way too long) -The music is far too districting when listening to the videos -if you’re going to force timed slides don’t make them over 1 minute long -The module content didn’t match the quizzes and also the exam
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
- timer on each page that prevents you from moving to the next lesson is really annoying. Most pages have 10-15 seconds of reading materials at about a grade six level, but the timer forces you to sit and look at it for 60-90 seconds. Waste of time - Not recommended for coastal boaters. This course is directed at lake/river boaters and misses a number of key points for coastal boat - e.g. repeating the incredibly dangerous idea of 'red to right returning', which should NEVER be used on the coast - the correct phrase is 'red to right with the flood tide or upstream'. 'Red to right' regularly puts boaters on the rocks on the coast.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Half of the course didn’t load for some reason. All the images were blank. All the videos did not load. This happened to another person that I know.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
The French version of the online course is of very poor quality. Most animations do not work and when they do, some are not under the right lesson! Also, most of the visuals such as diagrams, are not visible. You will agree that not seeing what a buoy looks like is a real limitation for the learner. The online French course is NOT worth the price. Unfortunately, I didn't have any choice but to complete this course otherwise, I would have asked to be reimbursed.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
The course was amazing and very fun to do. Unfortunately the customer service was terrible. I finished the course and passed the exam back in June 2021 and never received my official Boating License. Upon reaching out several times to both boatsmart and the campfire collective, I got no response. I am very disappointed in how this played out and find it especially disappointing knowing what high standards I had for this company. I am now at a loss if this issue cannot be resolved.
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
The course is good, but the customer service is horrible when you need help or have a question. It takes way to long for someone to answer you and the only way anyone ever does get back to you is via an email. And by way to long, I mean like over one week. Sometimes I had to send a follow-up email before ever hearing from someone.
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
Would have been great. Major problem was that none of the videos worked. I attempted to use multiple devices including laptop, phone, as well as desktop. Therefore, I’m a bit disappointed in the experience and feel cheated . Thank you, John Targia
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Tried numerous time to contact someone all summer Via the telephone # and numerous emails. My husband and I did the course and passed the test. I received the license but my husband didn't! Very disappointed
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
videos didn't work. customer service never got back to me regarding the issue.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
It took me 5 tries to connect with your team about difficulties I had getting redirected to the Boatsmart website to complete my exam. 1 phone call 3 chats and 1 email later and 5 days of wait time. Issue was resolved and I finally completed the exam.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Course was fine but customer service is awful! I called 4 times and emailed twice and still have not received a reply. Cannot access the government final exam so I can’t even take the exam and get my license! Awful!!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
The coarse was easy to follow and informative. My son & I took it together & we both passed. We did have a great deal of trouble with technical support, when calling their 1-800 number, they don't return calls. Logging into the online portions was sometimes challenging and made worse by their lack of online or phone support. BTW, my son has his temp. PCOC card... it expires next week and we are still waiting for his permanent card... did I mention that The Collective will NOT answer the phone or return calls?
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
The course was good but the modules/quizzes would be better if you knew what which question you got wrong. But my real beef with the program is that you may not receive your card in the mail as promised. Trying to have this issued addressed has been a nightmare and I am not I'll ever get my card.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
some questions don't have a correct answers and Quite a lot of the material that was questioned on the test was not in the course. which makes it hard to pass. Then have to redo the module again before redoing the quiz
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
My son started off the did the first chapter and everything seemed great. After a couple of days went by he wanted to continue the course as he had the day off but the website is down and not working. Emailed, Facebooked and called without any success or update as to whats going on and when it maybe back up...?
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
It was difficult with the timers, made the course about 5 hours long, when I could’ve completed it in about 2 1/5. I did it in a group of 3, and one of our finale tests did not work and you guys did not help us figure it out. So one person did all the modules to not be able to Finnish the course.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
The course was excessively long compared to the key points people really need to understand. The course could be reduced by 30-40% by eliminating less important information.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Completed course/exam but unable to print / download temporary card. tried to contact through email address but no response. Any one else having trouble with this
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
BOATsmart! is rated 4.4 based on 8,057 reviews