BT Reviews

1.4 Rating 691 Reviews
9 %
of reviewers recommend BT

Write Your review

Tell us how BT made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
BT 1 star review on 15th December 2023
LDH
BT 1 star review on 20th September 2022
Ricardo St Coke
BT 1 star review on 7th April 2022
Anonymous
BT 1 star review on 7th April 2022
Anonymous
BT 1 star review on 16th April 2021
Mohammed
BT 1 star review on 20th March 2021
Patricia Marchand
BT 1 star review on 19th January 2021
Mahmoon Ul-Hussain
3
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
This company is unbelievable, I finally ended my contract and sent all the equipment back and the track and trace says it was delivered 6 weeks ago, yet they threaten to charge me for not returning it, and now they are going to add £190.00 for their equipment that they claim not to have received
BT 1 star review on 15th December 2023
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
I am cancelling my contract because your WiFi hardware is not good enough ! The extender disks are not programmed correctly ! An Xbox that is one metre away from main hub prefers to connect to a disk which is in my garage ! You need to set up an adhoc mode where the user can connect their devices to either the hub or the extender !
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
A have experienced a real bad experience and service..not going to recommend this to anyone..absolutely bad dealing with customers
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
If you depend on the internet for work,be careful. BT pay the sum of £9- yes NINE POUNDS per day in compensation!! I wasn't sure whether to laugh or cry when I was told it's increased from £5!! Unbelievable! What an insult!
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Engineer came to set up service. Really rushed left us to set up TV . Told I would be charged to send someone out to help!Land line phone never worked properly. No one seemed to care customer service is appalling. TV is very basic and high charges for add ons. Do NOT use this company.If I could give no stars I would.High charge for leaving told unable to reduce bill as account closed.Will contact ombudsman.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Yet again being hounded and threatend by BT to return kit which I returned in OCTOBER. They say it can take 3 weeks to be processed. We are talking about 2 months.They say they will return any money they charge on my account - I don't want them to take it in the first place. They have no right. There must be thousands of their customers being harassed in this way. Knock it off and get your act together. This is the second time I have had this problen. The return was easy. Their response is a disgrace.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
BT - shameless people providing worst services than 3rd world counties. Unfortunately, we are victims of BT internet at home. The promised speed of 30mbs is actually 7-11, the promised signal reach of 250 yards is actually 10 yards and they promised us unaffected signal even when we connect 60+ devices, surprise, surprise, the signal starts to lag after 5 devices. An utter disregrd to the consumer rights. Failing customers at every single step. Above all, we cannot cancel because of the contract but they can break every line written in that contract. Shame shame shame shame Their license should be revoked and ofcom should take action
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Worst customer service ever .robts on phone .never turn up when waited .6 hours .afer 6 phone calls .the sooner I leave this decrepit company the better
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
They are to expensive for what they are, we only went with them as our sons wanted the football and these had a deal. Can't change package unless you lock in another contract. 30 days notice to cancel the contract, Can't wait to get rid of bt and definitely won't recommend them to anyone,
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
My parents broadband ceased to work. They sent an engineer who said he'd found the problem and fixed it, yet it still didn't work. He said the router was now at fault, they sent a new one, still didn't work. Four phone calls later, and a day of my life languishing in English history, and they now say that we have WiFi, we certainly don't, and therefore there is nothing more that they can do!!!!!!. Ridiculous outfit.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
BT THE WORST INTERNET PROVIDER To everyone avoid BT at any cost Wake up with no broadband call to BT fault team FAULT response are the worst ever I have seen 4 to 5 day to atende with no garantes I have 29MB downloaded and 2MB speed guarantee never happened basically 16MB SOMETIMES 24 maximum download 700Bits upload for the past 6 months
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Tomorrow will be our 3rd engineer to come out last 3 months ha been hell, we are now looking elsewhere like many other where we live. Pull your socks up BT.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Worst broadband provider ever The broadband connection is unstable. They setup a direct debit, but they never deduct money from it, instead send me late payment fees! I really regret that I changed from Sky.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Even though my tech support experience with BT was a week ago it makes me angry to even think about it again and write this review, but people need to know how atrocious the tech support experience is with BT, so buckle up. I had an initial engineer visit who identified a broken fibre component on the telegraph pole in the street. Another appointment had to be arranged for an engineer with a cherry picker van to reach the top of the pole - fine, BT booked this for 2 days ahead. Fast forward to the day and I wait around all day for the engineer and they never show up, and I get NO notification or cancellation message. I call BT and managed to talk to someone who gave the usual platitudes and apologies and they book another one for ANOTHER 2 days ahead. Guess what happened? NO ENGINEER SHOWS. NO NOTIFICATION OR CANCELLATION MESSAGE. I decide to check the BT fault portal and it just says I told them the fault was fixed (I did not) and the appointment was cancelled. By this point I am furious, I have been lied to and had my time wasted again. I try to call BT again to find out what is going on and their tech support line now completely denies you any possible way of talking to a human, and it simply auto hangs up after a message and a text bot spams you saying it is doing some tests, (which are pointless because we're past that stage of problem resolution), and just BOOKS YOU ANOTHER appointment. I had to take a timeout at this point, I'm generally a pretty chill person but I have hit 10/10 anger/frustration. After composing myself I try to find another avenue to talking to a human to get an explanation of what has happened, and some confidence that an engineer will show up. I end up finding the web chat as an avenue to talking to a human. This process was also painful, having to reiterate the timeline of the issue with the customer support reps taking 5+mins for each response, and getting switched between 3 reps was tiresome. After an hour on a web chat, we get the booking for the engineer and their promise that the appointment is definitely confirmed and will happen. Nobody offered an explanation for what happened with my previous 2 appointments, I had to get escalated to a manager and he eventually revealed that BT make appointments with Openreach and give them to the customer WITHOUT ANY CONFIRMATION FROM OPENREACH. So in my case 1: An appointment was made by BT with Openreach 2: BT gave me the appointment date/time 3: At some point Openreach denied the booking with BT 4: BT didn't think to inform the customer and their shoddy automation just marked it as ME closing it. Truly. Mind. Boggling. During the webchat I raise a formal complaint, all this turned out to mean is I get an automated text saying "We raised a complaint and agreed to keep it open until we resolved your query. If your problem has now been resolved, please reply CLOSE. If you're still experiencing problems reply HELP or call us." That's not dealing with a complaint, that's dealing with a fault. Oh and you can't even reply to the text because it's a short code SMS :facepalm: Embarassing BT, it sounds like some executive was hired who just heard that all the cool kids were automating stuff so they decided to force automation into every aspect of the platform without spending the time and effort to get it right. So as a potential BT customer do yourself a favour and choose literally any other broadband provider. I've never in my life dealt with such incompetence from a tech support platform. I'm switching to Sky when my contract is up, BT could offer my entire 2 year contract for free and I would still switch because the stress is not worth the money.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
I would just like to say that the coverage of the badminton is excellent. We enjoy following the top players around the world and wouldn’t be able to do that if it wasn’t for your coverage. Hope you keep it up 🤞. Thank you!
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Worst telecom company ever. We are moving out of town and have been told that we owe a £500 penalty to close our account despite being up to date on all payments? Outrageous! Virgin does not slam their customers like that. Once your contract ends I recommend that you choose ANY other provider in the UK (i.e., Orange, Telefonica, Vodafone, Deutsche Telekom, Telenor Group and Virgin Group). Or if you are looking subscribe, DON'T! They do not care about you as a customer and only want your money, and they will screw you to get it.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Three consecutive engineer visits cancelled. Still have no landline . Appaling customer service
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Recently moved house September 15 engineer supposed to come that day to reconnect didn’t show up 2 further appointments made, again both no shows no explanation a engineer eventually came claimed all would be up and running by midnight.midnight came and went as did the next week and still no connection, passed from pillow to post every time I ring advisors all very apologetic but that’s as far as it goes ,promised phonecalls with a update don’t happen shocking customer service come on BT pull your self together
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Absolutely don’t care, avoid at all costs ! Signed up to deal as only way to TNT sports, that’s where the nightmare started. Cancelled & restarted my order numerous times and then kept moving the the start date. Cut my phone no off I have had for over 35 years and my 86 year old mother in law couldn’t contact me, as I was unaware and then found out they had given me another no. Fighting for 2 x months to get no back only to be told can’t have it and can’t help me as no active account.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
More than 2 weeks ago BT “accidentally ” disconnected my broadband (including a Bereavement pHone Helpline). Although mistakes can be made what followed has been unbelievable. When attempting to get the service back I found that BT have tried to make it impossible for a customer in need to speak to them. The only way to speak to a human is to go through as a customer who wants to upgrade and then ask not the advisor to put you through to connections. However, the 9 people I have spoken to at Connections are either completely incompetent or fundamentally dishonest. Each advisor I have spoken to sounds credible and has assured me that they can sort the problem out and dependent upon the advisor the service will be restored “later today, tomorrow, in three days, or 5 days”. It’s now been over 2 weeks since they made their mistake. I am still without a connection, Each time I manage to speak to somebody I am told the failure to reconnect is the fault of BT Open Reach, BT Wholesale, the advisor I previously spoke to or Sky! To top it all they have explained to me that managers will not speak to customers as they can’t tell them anything different to the advisor taking the call. When I insisted yesterday that the advisor connect me to a manager she told me that “Aaron” has only just come back from leave and has hundreds of things to do so is too busy, I did not accept that so she spoke to him again to ask him to take my call, only to be told that he will try to call me within 3 to 5 days.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
BT is rated 1.4 based on 691 reviews