BT Reviews

1.46 Rating 339 Reviews
9 %
of reviewers recommend BT

Write Your review

Tell us how BT made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BT 1 star review on 6th May 2020
Charlee
More Photos & Videos
BT 1 star review on 6th May 2020
Charlee
More Photos & Videos
BT 1 star review on 6th May 2020
Charlee
More Photos & Videos
BT 1 star review on 23rd February 2020
Salman
More Photos & Videos
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
DO NOT SIGN ANY CONTRACT WITH BT! Sorry for the capital letters but I really cant emphasize this enough. I signed an 18-month contract with BT. The broadband speeds were incredibly slow (less than 1mbps) to the point where I couldn't event open emails. BT were unable to fix the problem but flatly refused to free me from my contract. I consequently had to get my broadband from another provider (Hyperoptic) while continuing to pay BT every month for their useless internet...so two monthly broadband bills! The BT staff are extremely unpleasant too. Since their service is so poor I suspect they are unable to retain customers based on quality, so instead focus on making leaving contracts as difficult and time-consuming as possible. Their website is a perfect example of this. Avoid at all costs!
Posted 2 hours ago
Awful company to deal with. Cancelled my contract without letting me know due to “somebody else taking over my number” when in fact it was an error on their behalf.

BT then said they will set me up on a new account and then same thing happened again. Phone call after phone (no broadband for weeks) and no calls back from BT when they said they would to find the rejected it again.

Final straw was today, off the phone just there and they wanted money up front to sign for a new deal and contract and I declined.

I never dealt with such a poor customer service and set up from BT.

Never again will I go back to them!!!!!!! 🥵
Edit
Posted 2 days ago
Terrible company.
Had an issue with my broadband which took over a month for BT to fix. Made a complaint and was promised on 7 occasions that a case manager would contact me... None of which were fulfilled. 3 months of chasing them and they eventually came up with a compensation offer far lower than what thier advisors had assured me I would receive for the time with poor Internet connection.
Very little care for thier customers, often increasing monthly fees mid contract
Posted 1 week ago
Abysmal. Over the three years I've been stuck with this cowboy outfit I have been plagued with problems. Slow speeds, constant disconnections, price rises mid-contract, engineers not bothering to turn up, a thousand and one, carbon-copy answers which solve nothing.

Incentive gifts never turn up, mobile signal is the weakest I have ever experienced, the list goes on.

It even took them a whole year to get my name right on the contract!

I wish Virgin served my area by BT have the monopoly!

Avoid at all costs!
Posted 2 weeks ago
150 a month to have broadband and bt tv which the costs you a now tv subription but can have the bt box to watch it on ,halo broadband which doesnt benefit you unless you have bt mobile,robbing company,avoid if you can afford 150 a month for now tv and broadband then go for it,companys like bt take advantage of customers ,sign up to a service then gone a week later without notice,people need to report this bt company more often to ofcom to stop these sort of companys ripping customers off,remember bt do not own the phone lines,open reach do nothing to do with bt
Posted 3 weeks ago
I'm have been using BT Broadband from September 2017 (on 18 months contract bases). Generally, speed is exceptionally good (I can't say great or outstanding) but occasionally (once in 2 or 3 weeks) connection will drop, and the router will reboot itself and connects you back again. I'm okay with that as long as it connects without any issues.

However, the main problem with BT is its customer service. One needs to wait a long period in the call to get connected to customer service. Once connected, the customer service executive will listen to your query and raise a complaint saying, somebody will call us to resolve the issue. A couple of days/weeks later someone will call us and give some penny's compensation and do nothing about the issue. A month or 2 later the same issue again and the same process again. Awful service.

Apart from the these issues, I have been cheated on the contract term even though I have evidence in writing. It all started with my home move in 2019. I asked to move the services to the new address well in advance (requested placed on 8th July 2019 to move the services to the new home on 29th July 2019). During the call, the customer service executive said that I have to do the re-contract for 18 months again (originally my contract was 18 months) at the same price as before else I have to pay £120. I was happy to re-contract at same price rather than paying £120. I received a mail with the new contract terms wich saying like this "Package - Broadband and Calls
Because you're moving home, your line rental contract will be renewed for 12 months, starting when your phone service starts at your new address. Unless we've agreed otherwise, any other contracts you have will continue until their original end dates." I called customer service again and reconfirmed about the contract length (18 months). However, on the day of the move (29th July 2019) received a text message stating that there are some technical issues, the services move will be delayed. On 5th Aug 2019, I was back on broadband.

Fast forward to April 2020, BT started charging me more than my contract price from March 2020 bill. I called customer service and got to know my contract is expired. I was on call for 1.5 hours trying to explain my contract was not expired stating to the mail I received during the home move. If I was re-contracted for 12 months or 18 months, I will still be in the contract considering my services at the new home started on 5th Aug 2019 (it's been 9 months from the move). No matter however I try to explain to him, he is in no mood to listen to my explanation. He said BT will consider the time I spent at the old address into 18 months contract. I was referring to the mail I received during the move but he replied they can't listen to the calls recorded during the move (considering very old). He insisted to do re-contract to avoid extra charges. I declined and ended the contract. I felt like I have been cheated.
Posted 4 weeks ago
BT charged an extra £69 upon contacting them they said it was accidental. However, I had to contact them 10 times to get my money back. Apalling stay away!
Posted 1 month ago
VP65192770 - URGENT HELP
IGNORED BY BT CHAIRMAN'S - Libby Barr - Rhys Anderson - Sue E Hallam - Eilleen Mckinnell - Glen Watson - Aileen Mccormack - James Deery - Dan Moss

I have just been contacted by BT by phone to say they will not be offering any help

I understand you have just passed this down to the regular complaints department at BT who just default to NO.

The caller had no clue of the history with Birchills and the nightmare BT has put me through from the start.

I did not expect a phone call - I expect something to be put in writing !

The caller also refused to confirm who would be accountable to pay this money – Birchills LTD or myself personally – he said he is not obliged to tell me this.

I WANT THIS CONFIRMED – THIS CASE IS NOT CLOSED – WHO WILL BE HELD ACCOUNTABLE TO PAY THIS MONEY IF YOU ARE NOT WILLING TO RELEASE BIRCHILLS FROM THIS CONTRACT ?????????????????????????

I understand there are chairman members included in this email who I expect to step in now not just pass this complaint down lower.

Up until now I have been ignored by all named above
Posted 1 month ago
You are a disgraceful company. You have now cut off my very vulnerable father.. When his ex partner transferred the account before she left, she was told by a woman in Scotland that the number could be retained by my dad at his Da4 address and that the process would be 'seamless'. Your words and hopefully recorded on the system. You are now quoting my dad 4weeks to get re connected and charging him more!! Disgusting. You have given mis information and now cut off a diabetic, isolated and very vulnerable elderly man. I am so angry. I ask that you do something now to help him.
Posted 2 months ago
Our engineer named Joseph came to our home to help with our transfer to BT .I would like to say thankyou to him for his help the day after he had done his job as we had a problem .He really did BT proud he didn't rest until he got us sorted so thankyou Joseph very much
Posted 2 months ago
NOT GIVING THERE CUSTOMERS OFFERS OF CANCELLING OR SUSPENDING BT SPORT .

WILL DEFINITLY MOVING TO ANOTHER PROVIDER
Posted 2 months ago
Bt is a joke, not funny.
Very bad internet company.. they take more than two weeks to send an engineer to install the broadband, then he doesn’t show up and they give you another two weeks to wait.. Awful customers service, they don’t know how to deal with problems and people. I wouldn’t suggest it to anyone. I’m using it only because if I don’t I have to pay a year contract anyway, but it’s taking almost half a year to get my broadband working so... choose something else, anything.
Posted 2 months ago
We’re leaving BT tomorrow because of how much they’ve gone up, but they managed to cut us off 18 hours early and won’t even speak to me about it. Won’t ever be returning.
Posted 2 months ago
Ordered a smart tv from BT shop and it arrived next day. Very good service
Posted 3 months ago
They put your prices up without telling you. They moved us up onto a new plan without informing us 2 months in a row, increasing our payments each month then told us we cant have our money back.
Tried to speak to a manager to take the complaint further and they hung up after waiting in a 20 minute call que. This happened twice.
I will never use BT ever again.
Posted 3 months ago
They put your prices up without telling you. They moved us up onto a new plan without informing us 2 months in a row, increasing our payments each month then told us we cant have our money back.
Tried to speak to a manager to take the complaint further and they hung up after waiting in a 20 minute call que. This happened twice.
I will never use BT ever again.
Posted 3 months ago
Constant...Sales/Scam calls..despite supposed ex-directory phone number...leaving landline..
Posted 3 months ago
The WORST broadband ever. Please don’t waste your money and time on this broadband that actually doesn’t work meaning it disconnects every few minutes and I’m not exaggerating at all. I wish I hadn’t made this mistake and the icing on the cake is they rip you off by overcharging you every month. Look carefully on your bill amount every month even though you’re contracted they’ll charge you £4-5 extra every month and when you ring up to enquire you’re told it was a glitch I asked for a refund six months ago to date I haven’t had a penny back from them. This is worst nightmare If you have joined. My advice if you’re within your cooling off period cancel while you can you won’t regret it and please write about this crappy broadband if you’re like me and it’s too late for you.
Posted 3 months ago
Charged my pensioner grandma 100 pounds to come out and check her boiler which wasn't working, Turns out it was just the battery that had died in an easily accessible place which was a Double-A battery, The workmen then continued to use my grandma's own battery to replace the dead one and continued to charge my pensioner grandmother 100 pounds for something that she could have easily been instructed to do or check herself. After reporting a complaint she received less than the amount that she had paid for the call out as a pay off and we left the company. Disgusting
Posted 3 months ago
The actual worst. Don't bother. Worst customer experience I have ever had the pleasure of experiencing
Posted 3 months ago
BT is rated 1.46 based on 339 reviews