BT Reviews

1.47 Rating 349 Reviews
10 %
of reviewers recommend BT

Write Your review

Tell us how BT made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BT 5 star review on 1st July 2020
Kat
More Photos & Videos
BT 1 star review on 6th May 2020
Charlee
More Photos & Videos
BT 1 star review on 6th May 2020
Charlee
More Photos & Videos
BT 1 star review on 6th May 2020
Charlee
More Photos & Videos
BT 1 star review on 23rd February 2020
Salman
More Photos & Videos
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Shocking new email service - incredibly slow and clunky, system keeps freezing, doesn't like multiple attachments, saving an attachment is now a prolonged 4-stage process for something that used to be simple and straightforward with my BT-Yahoo set-up. Avoid these cowboys at all costs. Would have been 0/5 if no stars had been an option!
Posted 10 hours ago
I've just spoken to Sean, from the Glasgow call centre and the service I received was no less than outstanding. His knowledge, professionalism, care and helpfulness was remarkable, especially during these difficult times. Thank you Sean and BT for being there when I needed you, I'll definitely remain a loyal BT customer because of today.
Posted 4 days ago
I've just spoken to Sean, from the Glasgow call centre and the service I received was no less than outstanding. His knowledge, professionalism, care and helpfulness was remarkable, especially during these difficult times. Thank you Sean and BT for being there when I needed you, I'll definitely remain a loyal BT customer because of today.
Posted 4 days ago
Stay away!
Horrible experience with BT you get missinformed from day one and then they change your contract and ask you to pay more without telling you.
Also they refuse to let you open a complaint and most of the people you speak to over the phone are racist and rude!
Posted 1 week ago
I've been with BT for 2 years and everything was Ok until I moved homes. Since then it's a constant and very frustrating 2-month struggle to get connected.
During these 2 months I've been connected through a mini-hub as a temporary solution and trying to get connected properly as the mini-hub connection is really poor.
During these 2 months I've been in contact with BT a countless amount of times, spoken to many of their staff members, spent every time an hour on hold while they were forwarding me to different departments and trying to figure out what's going on with my account.
The inconsistency of their work is really shocking. Each one of them says different things and names different problems but the job is still not done. During these 2 months I got a number of contradictory messages from a number of BT staff members: your broadband will be activated tomorrow just connect your router at midnight, your broadband is in place but the landline is not, we need to send our engineer, our engineers don't go to the households due to the lockdown, your engineer will arrive on Wednesday, our engineers don't go to the households, your engineer will arrive on Friday, your appointment is cancelled, your appointment is rescheduled, our engineers don't go to the household, your appointment is cancelled again, your engineer has arrived and sorted everything out, connect your router, the engineer hasn't been there nothing is sorted we will schedule another appointment, your appointment is cancelled, get in touch to schedule another one, your package is fine, you are not at any package, no, your package is fine...
Halfway through they forgot to add some allowance to my mini-hub and I had to spend one day with no Internet whatsoever. And it was my working day so my work was paralyzed for the whole day.
After 2 months an engineer from Openreach arrived sorted out the broadband and the landline and the Internet was working for the whole day.
Next day the connection disappeared and another BT team member said that somehow my broadband hasn't been added to the package so I need to wait another 5 (!) days before it gets activated. I have no idea how after 2 months since my move the broadband hasn't been added to my package.
So far my experience with BT was incredibly frustrating and I wouldn't recommend it to anyone.
Posted 1 week ago
Just an absolute disgrace!
Posted 2 weeks ago
Absolutelyvthe worse service I've experienced in many-a-year. On 2 separate occasions I place an order and on both occasions they cancelled the order due to an issue with the address. No communication, no service, no solutions. Terrible.
Posted 2 weeks ago
hocking experience. After 3 engineers coming to our property to fix a fault. Each one tweaked something different and each of the found faults
Nothing improved it
I called Bt this morning... after being on hold for 49 mins I was cut off
I then went on an online chat for and hour and a half and eventually got them to call me
After little assistance from Birya online I asked for a copy of the complaint she had raised. At this point Birya made out she couldn’t hear me anymore and hung up the phone
This is appalling service from Bt which had made a problem 1000 times worse.
Don not use them they don’t respect you and don’t delay with issues professional
I am back to square one!
Posted 2 weeks ago
Organised a phone line instillation 3 weeks ago to a building I’m in that currently has BT equipment in serving other buildings on site , after 40 mins signing up and them taking ages to actually identify the building from my postcode when it’s full of supply lines to other buildings, I was promised a hub at least two days prior to the engineers installation date , as this was not received and I hadn’t heard anything from them I decided to call them , not only had they taken the address down wrong they informed me the hub hadn’t been ordered ! I’d gone through everything in the initial 40 minute signing up conversation but this seems to have meant nothing , so the hub doesn’t arrive on the day of the engineers visit ,after a employee promising they could get it to my address but it didn’t happen , 4 hours into the allotted engineers appointment time with no sign of anything looking like a Openreach van I decide to call see what’s going on , after being passed round 3 times in an Irish call centre then to a Scottish call centre I find out Openreach cancelled the appointment days before without telling me and days before I was told the hub wasn’t ordered , surely at that point they could of told me it wasn’t being installed instead I waited in all morning for the hub that never came and then 4 hours at the building waiting for an openreach who’d cancelled a week before but kept it a secret , a full day wasted and 3 weeks wait for absolutely nothing , these guys are idiots of the highest calibre , got to try somebody else virgin fibre is in my area so it’s a tearful goodbye to these time wasters !! Do yourself and your blood pressure a favour and find a company actually interested in doing and showing an effort , these lot have a bloody cheek to be in business!!!
Posted 3 weeks ago
Luckily my 18 month contract for 'Superfast' broadband is drawing to a close and I cannot wait to change. It may be Superfast somewhere, but certainly not anywhere near my router. There is a reason that you get 'Free' BT hotspot access with your package; the broadband in your home only works about a 3rd of the time so you'l, spend the other time connected to this hourly service. Oh, plus it isn't free when you compare the p[rice of BT to other providers.
Since pretty much after the line had stabilised I have had connectivity issues that have warranted engineer visits, numerous router replacements and constant resetting of the router and checks of the line. Regarding the router, I have no problem picking up my neighbours WIFI or even BT Fon, but can my devices ever find my own router? Of course not.

Trying to get hold of BT to discuss any issue is also an issue in itself. If you can navigate the web page and actually find their contact details they would far rather fob you off into their 'community' than talk to you in person. The fact that there exists a community of disaffected customers in the first place says it all, really.

Price wise, far, far too expensive for what you receive. Do yourself a massive favour and look elsewhere. I will not make the mistake of utilising BT again.
Posted 1 month ago
DO NOT SIGN ANY CONTRACT WITH BT! Sorry for the capital letters but I really cant emphasize this enough. I signed an 18-month contract with BT. The broadband speeds were incredibly slow (less than 1mbps) to the point where I couldn't event open emails. BT were unable to fix the problem but flatly refused to free me from my contract. I consequently had to get my broadband from another provider (Hyperoptic) while continuing to pay BT every month for their useless internet...so two monthly broadband bills! The BT staff are extremely unpleasant too. Since their service is so poor I suspect they are unable to retain customers based on quality, so instead focus on making leaving contracts as difficult and time-consuming as possible. Their website is a perfect example of this. Avoid at all costs!
Posted 1 month ago
Awful company to deal with. Cancelled my contract without letting me know due to “somebody else taking over my number” when in fact it was an error on their behalf.

BT then said they will set me up on a new account and then same thing happened again. Phone call after phone (no broadband for weeks) and no calls back from BT when they said they would to find the rejected it again.

Final straw was today, off the phone just there and they wanted money up front to sign for a new deal and contract and I declined.

I never dealt with such a poor customer service and set up from BT.

Never again will I go back to them!!!!!!! 🥵
Edit
Posted 1 month ago
Terrible company.
Had an issue with my broadband which took over a month for BT to fix. Made a complaint and was promised on 7 occasions that a case manager would contact me... None of which were fulfilled. 3 months of chasing them and they eventually came up with a compensation offer far lower than what thier advisors had assured me I would receive for the time with poor Internet connection.
Very little care for thier customers, often increasing monthly fees mid contract
Posted 1 month ago
Abysmal. Over the three years I've been stuck with this cowboy outfit I have been plagued with problems. Slow speeds, constant disconnections, price rises mid-contract, engineers not bothering to turn up, a thousand and one, carbon-copy answers which solve nothing.

Incentive gifts never turn up, mobile signal is the weakest I have ever experienced, the list goes on.

It even took them a whole year to get my name right on the contract!

I wish Virgin served my area by BT have the monopoly!

Avoid at all costs!
Posted 1 month ago
150 a month to have broadband and bt tv which the costs you a now tv subription but can have the bt box to watch it on ,halo broadband which doesnt benefit you unless you have bt mobile,robbing company,avoid if you can afford 150 a month for now tv and broadband then go for it,companys like bt take advantage of customers ,sign up to a service then gone a week later without notice,people need to report this bt company more often to ofcom to stop these sort of companys ripping customers off,remember bt do not own the phone lines,open reach do nothing to do with bt
Posted 1 month ago
I'm have been using BT Broadband from September 2017 (on 18 months contract bases). Generally, speed is exceptionally good (I can't say great or outstanding) but occasionally (once in 2 or 3 weeks) connection will drop, and the router will reboot itself and connects you back again. I'm okay with that as long as it connects without any issues.

However, the main problem with BT is its customer service. One needs to wait a long period in the call to get connected to customer service. Once connected, the customer service executive will listen to your query and raise a complaint saying, somebody will call us to resolve the issue. A couple of days/weeks later someone will call us and give some penny's compensation and do nothing about the issue. A month or 2 later the same issue again and the same process again. Awful service.

Apart from the these issues, I have been cheated on the contract term even though I have evidence in writing. It all started with my home move in 2019. I asked to move the services to the new address well in advance (requested placed on 8th July 2019 to move the services to the new home on 29th July 2019). During the call, the customer service executive said that I have to do the re-contract for 18 months again (originally my contract was 18 months) at the same price as before else I have to pay £120. I was happy to re-contract at same price rather than paying £120. I received a mail with the new contract terms wich saying like this "Package - Broadband and Calls
Because you're moving home, your line rental contract will be renewed for 12 months, starting when your phone service starts at your new address. Unless we've agreed otherwise, any other contracts you have will continue until their original end dates." I called customer service again and reconfirmed about the contract length (18 months). However, on the day of the move (29th July 2019) received a text message stating that there are some technical issues, the services move will be delayed. On 5th Aug 2019, I was back on broadband.

Fast forward to April 2020, BT started charging me more than my contract price from March 2020 bill. I called customer service and got to know my contract is expired. I was on call for 1.5 hours trying to explain my contract was not expired stating to the mail I received during the home move. If I was re-contracted for 12 months or 18 months, I will still be in the contract considering my services at the new home started on 5th Aug 2019 (it's been 9 months from the move). No matter however I try to explain to him, he is in no mood to listen to my explanation. He said BT will consider the time I spent at the old address into 18 months contract. I was referring to the mail I received during the move but he replied they can't listen to the calls recorded during the move (considering very old). He insisted to do re-contract to avoid extra charges. I declined and ended the contract. I felt like I have been cheated.
Posted 1 month ago
BT charged an extra £69 upon contacting them they said it was accidental. However, I had to contact them 10 times to get my money back. Apalling stay away!
Posted 2 months ago
VP65192770 - URGENT HELP
IGNORED BY BT CHAIRMAN'S - Libby Barr - Rhys Anderson - Sue E Hallam - Eilleen Mckinnell - Glen Watson - Aileen Mccormack - James Deery - Dan Moss

I have just been contacted by BT by phone to say they will not be offering any help

I understand you have just passed this down to the regular complaints department at BT who just default to NO.

The caller had no clue of the history with Birchills and the nightmare BT has put me through from the start.

I did not expect a phone call - I expect something to be put in writing !

The caller also refused to confirm who would be accountable to pay this money – Birchills LTD or myself personally – he said he is not obliged to tell me this.

I WANT THIS CONFIRMED – THIS CASE IS NOT CLOSED – WHO WILL BE HELD ACCOUNTABLE TO PAY THIS MONEY IF YOU ARE NOT WILLING TO RELEASE BIRCHILLS FROM THIS CONTRACT ?????????????????????????

I understand there are chairman members included in this email who I expect to step in now not just pass this complaint down lower.

Up until now I have been ignored by all named above
Posted 2 months ago
You are a disgraceful company. You have now cut off my very vulnerable father.. When his ex partner transferred the account before she left, she was told by a woman in Scotland that the number could be retained by my dad at his Da4 address and that the process would be 'seamless'. Your words and hopefully recorded on the system. You are now quoting my dad 4weeks to get re connected and charging him more!! Disgusting. You have given mis information and now cut off a diabetic, isolated and very vulnerable elderly man. I am so angry. I ask that you do something now to help him.
Posted 3 months ago
Our engineer named Joseph came to our home to help with our transfer to BT .I would like to say thankyou to him for his help the day after he had done his job as we had a problem .He really did BT proud he didn't rest until he got us sorted so thankyou Joseph very much
Posted 3 months ago
BT is rated 1.47 based on 349 reviews