BuyCleverStuff Reviews

4.80 Rating 1,658 Reviews
97 %
of reviewers recommend BuyCleverStuff
BuyCleverStuff Video Review Just what I needed to play my vinyl.
Read BuyCleverStuff Reviews

About BuyCleverStuff:

BuyCleverStuff are the UK's leading specialists in Home Audio Visual Products.

The company started out in 2006, and were one of the first to sell kitchen flipdown TVs directly to the UK.

As we've grown, so has our product range, expertise and reputation for being the go-to company when it comes to Home Audio Visual Products.

With our years of knowledge and focus on offering the best products, service and price it’s no wonder we have lots of recommendations and many repeat customers.

As a leading online retailer in our sector with huge buying power and an unrivaled reputation for service, we can supply you with quality products at exceptional value for money.

Our philosophy is to ensure that the products sold by ourselves are products that we would want to purchase and own ourselves; you will not find cheap products on our sites, only quality products at competitive prices.

In November 2016, we became the first business in the Chester area, and one of the very first online retailers in the whole of the United Kingdom to be certified for the ‘Buy With Confidence’ scheme.

BuyCleverStuff is based on the outskirts of Chester, headed by Jon Hoyle, we are a small team of specialists offering expert advice both pre and post sales, if you have a question, any question about our products, please contact us and we’ll be happy to help.

Visit Website

Phone:

01244 458885

Email:

Contact@BuyCleverStuff.co.uk

Location:

Red Hill House, Hope Street, Chester

Write Your review

Tell us how BuyCleverStuff made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
BuyCleverStuff 5 star review on 17th February 2020
Kelly Rose****
BuyCleverStuff 5 star review on 11th April 2019
Rob Richar****
BuyCleverStuff 5 star review on 21st April 2018
Paul ****
BuyCleverStuff 5 star review on 31st January 2018
Ann Hetherin****
BuyCleverStuff 5 star review on 5th January 2018
A E Mc****
BuyCleverStuff 5 star review on 7th November 2017
Lois Hu****
BuyCleverStuff 5 star review on 18th July 2017
Anony****
9
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
The only small hi-fi/cd/cassette/vinyl player I could find was the Soundmaster (MCD5500) which fitted neatly onto the shelf in my living room. But I could get no access - the message in the (almost unreadable) blue window said No Signal. My sound-engineer grandson was able to find most of the services, but not DAB BBC Radio 4 or 4 Extra. He had to buy me a small Alexa, which I have to address every day to find these programmes. So I'm not impressed with this. Not a good acoustic, but OK.
Good morning, We’re sorry to have read this morning about your comments regarding your recent purchase. We’re always happy to help with advice and support if you have a problem, or you need to have an item replaced - we’re happy to help even with the smallest issues you may have. We don't have any record of you contacting us about these issues since your purchase, but we're always happy to help. I’ve checked over your postcode for DAB coverage, and it should not have been problematic in receiving the stations you noted having difficulty with (Note: the UK Digital Radio postcode checker provides predictive DAB coverage information, and allows you to check which digital stations should be available at your address. It doesn't allow for other factors that may affect reception, such as whether you live in a very built-up area, or in a basement flat, if the building has a steel frame or is made of reinforced concrete.) Smart home devices are wonderful to add on to audio products, and have really added to functionality of existing products of ours, but this unit is a very popular and recommended product that we’ve sold hundreds of so far this year and that we have full confidence in of picking up signal. As stated above, there may be other interference affecting signal in your location, but all units before going on sale are tested and the MCD5500 was definitely one of them. If we don’t like a product, or it doesn’t meet our high standards and expectations, we simply don’t sell them (there are other products from soundmaster® we just don’t supply or stock or even recommend when asked). Your order is still within the returns period of 30 days, so we would be more than happy to allow you to return the item if it is not up to your satisfaction so long as all packaging has been kept for its return to us. We will contact you directly to discuss how we can go forward with this to rectify or solve any problems you may have so please look for this in your email inbox. Kind regards, BuyCleverStuff
Contacted company, as requested, no reply. Extra speaker cable comes separately requiring a join which is pointless and had to disguard. E50 Bluetooth amp loses connection with Echo for short periods of time, asked about this and received no help, feedback.
We’ve just come back from our Bank Holiday break and saw your review, which we want to rectify as soon as possible with you. There does seem to have been a misunderstanding in how your original email was worded that we received so may we apologise for that as it seemed as if the email stated more that it was installed correctly and working. It is never our intention to ignore as you can see from the hundreds of 5* positive reviews that we receive. It is stated on all product descriptions, and there is a clear drop-down menu to select extra speaker cable if the included 2x 7m cables are not enough, or if you need extra to connect to a second pair of speakers. We've emailed you now directly to see if we can clarify exactly what issues you've had with the product as it is cleared to work alongside Amazon Echo products and the Amazon Alexa services - it is widely sold with note of this fact by ourselves and other retailers.
I perchased a small bedside clock radio from you as a present unfortunately it was not a very good one She Has had a lot of trouble with its performance one thing was that the connection to the plug was loose and kept falling out I would not buy from you again
We're really sorry to hear of your friend's problems with this particular unit. Compared to other soundmaster products, it is a very basic FM clock radio, so the aerial needs to make sure it is being fully extended and directed if possible outer walls and in a direction with a recognised strong signal. As is also stated with the soundmaster UR105 small FM Clock Radio, it is supplied, at our cost, with an EU-to-UK plug adaptor - this is something other retailers do not do, and we don't charge extra for this adaptor either. We see you purchased back in February, so it's disappointing to hear of these problems nearly six months later when there's been no other contact from yourself - but we're still happy to take a look at the product for you if you wish so we can get this issue resolved. It's what we're all about here at BuyCleverStuff. We'll contact you directly to be able to hopefully arrange for this. Kind Regards, The BuyCleverStuff Team
I ordered a S-box knife box from you, but I got a reply: ”the manufacturer will not complete the order to dispatch to Sweden. We will issue your refund presently”. But I hav´nt yet got my money back. Niclas Blixt Madison
We are disappointed to read your review this afternoon that you state you have not received your refund. I can confirm that unfortunately the manufacturer would not dispatch to Sweden so we had no other option but to void this transaction. Voiding the transaction is completely different from refunding it. If the order had been fully processed, the funds would have appeared in our account, however as we voided this transaction on the same day, so no funds will have been moved away from your account into ours. Please fully check your bank statement. If the funds have been taken it would state our full trading name. We would have been happy to investigate this further if direct contact had been made first before any review was made as we take these matters extremely seriously for our customers. Kind Regards Jon Hoyle BCS Trading Ltd t/a BuyCleverStuff
Good item but not designed for the UK market so came with adaptor plug from continental to 3 pin and instruction to turn off feature if used in UK. Somewhat disappointed.
Dear Mr Smith, I’m very sorry to read of your recent review, I’d like to understand why you are disappointed. Could you please advise are you unable to use the product or we’re the details on our website regarding the European to UK power adapter not clear? Regards Jon Hoyle BCS Trading Ltd t/a BuyCleverStuff
The item received was previously open and looked used
Hello Nadir, We have tried to contact you to resolve any potential query you may have had with this order and to get a full understanding of the condition of the item when received. At BuyCleverStuff, we never sell items that have been returned from previous customers as "New" items, so this should not have been the case. We do on occasion quality control items as part of maintaining the high standard of products we sell, and also with some items to include, where possible any adaptors to make delivery of items easier and so every element is found within the main box carton. We'd be very happy to discuss this further as per the attempts by my colleague to reach out to you. Kind Regards Jon Hoyle BCS Trading Ltd t/a BuyCleverStuff
Re purchase of Soundmaster in December the following faults:- Time,Date and Year would not register automatically in spite of 4 hour wait. DAB no longer available. Preset use of channels on not working. All functions turn off after 15 minutes. Auto turnoff has been cancelled to no avail. Please contact re your proposals for dealing with this matter.
Service was great - product is rubbish! An expensive "Soundmaster" under cabinet mounted DAB / FM Radio & CD Player. IMPOSSIBLE to get a decent reception on DAB - whereas the radio we want to replace when put right next to it can pick up all DAB stations perfectly in any orientation and the aerial in any number of positions. The Soundmaster gets good reception on a station (but not all), you tune away to another station, then when you tune back to the original one the reception has totally gone. I have tried every thing I can think of - writing this one off to experience.
I bought the E100 systemline kit with Qed Bluetooth receiver. Within the year the main touch panel became very erratic in operation. Touch would work sometimes and not others. It would turn off and on itself. Reported to buy cleverstuff they said they would investigate. Nothing happened. Rang again they said would get manufacturer to contact us. Nothing happened. Emailed. Nothing happened. Very poor after sales and alleged guarantee. Liked the kit but not the company operation
Spoke to sales and based upon advice , purchased mando in wall system with 2.5 inch speakers, once installation done, sound was very tinny. Spoke to customer service who said maybe I had the wrong thing for that application. Holes are cut so will live with it, maybe buy different speakers in future.
We had issues with delivery, despite rearranging date of delivery parcel arrived on original day & left out in rain without protective covering which not too sensible given the item was a tv. I have not checked if tv in working order as we are not ready for installation but will let you know if item was damaged by the rain water.
I still have not received my item yet.....
Thank you for your review and your purchase. You purchased on the 27th December 2015, unfortunately our offices dispatch are closed over the Christmas and New Year period. During this close-down time, it was clearly stated on our website of this close and that any orders would be processed and aimed to dispatch upon reopening on 4th January 2016. We apologise for this inconvenience. Thanks and Best Regards Jon Hoyle BCS Trading Ltd t/a BuyCleverStuff
I purchased a product but then received an email one day later stating thet my order had been cancelled. No explanation given
Unfortunately on this occasion owing to further security and address checks, we were unable to process this order. We did notify you of this via email, however it seems you may not have received this. We apologise for this inconvenience this may have caused you. Our checks are carried out for peace of mind primarily for our customers. We are always happy to take telephone payments should any problems occur for you again in the future. Thanks and Best Regards Jon Hoyle BCS Trading Ltd t/a BuyCleverStuff
We have had many problems with this product mostly because the instructions were in German. We have struggled and managed to tune 2 radio stations. Over time however another problem has surfaced - that sometimes after tuning it might take up to 10 minutes to get the station. We have delayed feedback because we were not sure whether the problem was us or the machine. I now think it is the machine - and lack of instructions in a language we can fully understand!
We're sorry to hear that you have had problems with your SoundMaster DAB radio. My colleague Rob has been in touch this past week to see if we can look to rectify this issue with the unit and I know we are more than happy to find a solution for you with this. We'll always happy for customers to contact us immediately if they have a problem, whether big or small; we pride ourselves on giving the best customer service we can as well as great audio visual products. We are looking to overhaul and re-translate all our user and install manuals in 2016 to give customers clear and concise instructions where otherwise it may have been difficult. We hope once your item is returned for testing we can identify the problem and find a solution for you. Thanks and Best Regards Jon Hoyle BCS Trading Ltd t/a BuyCleverStuff
Hi The delivery was fine. Regarding the product (Beat Illuminated Bluetooth Bathroom Mirror with Speakers - Roper Rhodes). I'm very disappointed with the speaker quality. I have an Iphone where the sound is better. Before I made the order I was looking for the speaker specification with no luck. I then took the chance and placed the order, but to be honnest I'm very not happy. Is there any alternatives for me? Best regards Mads
We're disappointed to hear of your review, but we are grateful for it in order to improve our service and offering of products. We have contacted you direct via email as we have not had prior correspondence with you about the issues with your product. We will endeavour to find more speaker specifications from Roper Rhodes going forward. It is extremely rare to hear of such concern over sound quality with this product as we do test our products in house before we offer them on our website, so please be assured we are confident in this mirror and other in the Roper Rhodes range. We do have other similar mirrors, which also have the option of additional ceiling speakers. Thanks and Best Regards Jon Hoyle BCS Trading Ltd t/a BuyCleverStuff
Payment was taken for an order that I was then told was not in stock, although an alternative was offered, accurate stock count would be better.
Unfortunately, the manufacturer was delayed in receiving upgraded parts, which has left them, ourselves, and others with delays. It is majorly disappointing and frustrating for everyone in the chain that this has happened. At that time, we were informed of a date where we would have received stock of the product, however this was also put back without prior notice, affecting our stock counts at the time. We did refund you on the purchase you made because of this, together with offering an alternative option that we stock at a discounted price for the inconvenience. We can assure you, despite your disappointment on this occasion, that this is an extreme rarity and that you can be confident in shopping with us again in the future. Thanks and Best Regards Jon Hoyle BCS Trading Ltd t/a BuyCleverStuff
Very small Awlward to get at dvd and pop down switch It woild be better if there was an auto pop down facility via the hand set Hugh gent
I'm very sorry to read your negative review of your recent Kitchen TV purchase from BuyCleverStuff, I do not like to hear that customers are not happy with the products that I have personally selected to sell on the site. I do understand that the side loading DVD play can tricky to insert the disc into, however if the drive was on the front it would mean that customers with pelmets would have to have the chassis of the unit always on show, whereas this side loading DVD drive means that the main body of the unit is hidden behind the pelmet. With regards to the manner the way that it comes down, I do understand it would be nice for the screen to be motorised however it would add further complexity and cost to the product so therefore has never been. Finally the push button catches that hold the screen up on your 15" Kitchen TV are only found on the Invisua brand, the SOVOS 15" Kitchen TV has magnets which hold the screen up and might prove better for yourself. I do not like to feel that customers are in anyway unhappy with a purchase from my company and it is one of the reasons we operate a 14 days return policy, in your case if you are still unhappy then let us know and we'll be more than happy to replace the Kitchen TV or refund the order. Thank you for your custom and valued feedback Best Regards Jon Hoyle Director BCS Trading t/a BuyCleverStuff
Picture quality terrible
BuyCleverStuff is rated 4.80 based on 1,658 reviews