Bryght Labs - ChessUp Reviews

4.2 Rating 159 Reviews
81 %
of reviewers recommend Bryght Labs - ChessUp
Read Bryght Labs - ChessUp Reviews

Write Your review

Tell us how Bryght Labs - ChessUp made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Bryght Labs - ChessUp 5 star review on 29th December 2022
Mickael Cobut
Bryght Labs - ChessUp 5 star review on 29th December 2022
Mickael Cobut
Bryght Labs - ChessUp 5 star review on 29th December 2022
Mickael Cobut
Bryght Labs - ChessUp 5 star review on 29th December 2022
Mickael Cobut
Bryght Labs - ChessUp 4 star review on 10th December 2022
Erwin Liwanag
Bryght Labs - ChessUp 5 star review on 2nd December 2022
Adam Kenney
Bryght Labs - ChessUp 5 star review on 2nd December 2022
Adam Kenney
3
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
This board works, but is not currently working at the level Bryght Labs has sold it as. I do think that with time it can be done but it is not currently there for all platforms. Waiting for Android support for all online chess platforms, chess learning courses, and checkers game support,
Helpful Report
Posted 4 days ago
Hi Kyle! We're working hard on patching Android bugs. Thanks for your patience! Patrick
Posted 2 days ago
The board is great! It is responsive, easy to set up and intuitive to use. The pieces are of high quality, and I like the fact an extra queen is provided. The board senses moves impeccably and stand-alone, enough variety is offered with the onboard difficulty levels. The app (I have the iOS version), although showing great potential and already improving quite a bit since my time of ownership (autumn 2022) did crash on me a couple of times. The lichess integration seems to work fine, chess.com integration would make it 5 stars. I hope the company persists its rhythm of pushing out updates and improving functionality
Helpful Report
Posted 4 days ago
Hi Andre, thanks for the review! Chess.com integration is coming soon! Thanks
Posted 2 days ago
Overall I love my ChessUp board. I would like to give it 5 stars, but the functionality of the Android app is lacking and somewhat buggy. Bryght Labs needs to focus on the apps now that the product has launched and supply chains are improving.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 days ago
Hi Michael! We're working hard on patching Android bugs. Thanks for your patience! Patrick
Posted 2 days ago
Amazing product for all the family.Who knew chess could be so fun!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
The Chessup product I purchased from Bryght Labs has a great idea to learn to play chess. My only problem is trying to understand exactly how the board works. Since there is no instruction manual, I have tried to learn what I could from he internet. Unfortunately, I could not find out how the the lights on the board work. Hopefully, I will be able to figure it out.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
so far we're still learning.... for example, i was using the board with the AI for the first few days. then the board wasn't responding properly. with some online help i tried re-calibrating it, but left the pieces on the board, then realized i had to take them off. then it worked. it would be nice if the board suggested my next move, rather than having to touch all of the pieces, but i realize that's part of the learning experience, but for true novices like myself, it would be nice to have that option. i am still learning and have taken most of the beginner lessons on the app, which are quite helpful
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
I'm in the UK and was told that I could expect to receive the board before Christmas. I have emailed three times between then - 28th Dec, 4th Jan and 9th Jan - and I am still yet to hear back about where my board has got to! I'm afraid the Royal Mail strikes are no longer any excuse for delays... The team have otherwise been very responsive via email with a handful of my email questions about their product prior to the product completion, but not since then. Additionally, it seems like the team are receptive to ongoing development and have secured backing from professional chess players willing to showcase the board on YouTube - I'm keen to see how it grows... but I'd like the board I backed via Kickstarter all the way back in June 2021!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Hi Jas, I've raised your particular issue with the fulfillment team. You should be contacted by them with more info shortly. Thanks for your understanding, Patrick
Posted 1 week ago
The design and ideas for the future of chess is brilliant. But I rated it three stars as the waiting and delivery time took 9 MONTHS. I ordered the chess board in the start of March and the board came at the end of December. Really amazing chess board but frustratingly long waiting time.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Chess board works well, very cool and engaging idea, great execution too! Works well
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
We purchased "Chess Up" to our special needs school in Denmark. The students are really enjoying playing chess with Chess Up, they are so keen that there is always a queue to play. Shipping was reasonably fast and it was packaged well. I can highly recommend Chess Up
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Astounding that a $400 dollar game doesn't even include a charger (only a cable) to use the set. And then, you can only fully enjoy the game if you have a late model smart phone or tablet, laptops not welcome to use the app. Very disappointed and shame on Lori for backing this difficult to use, over-priced computer chess set. For 1/5th the price, iCore will sell me a much better one. Waisted money.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Hi Jeff, We're sorry ChessUp has not lived up to your expectations. We are working hard on getting the Android app to support more smartphone models and avoid the issues you mention. Thanks, Patrick
Posted 2 weeks ago
I really like ChessUp for providing the ability for my kids to play chess against the AI without using an iPad. The assistant also makes it more fun for less serious players. The only downside is that you can't set up scenarios without using a phone/tablet. This is one nice feature of the Centaur that I would like to see in ChessUp.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
I really love your product, qnd I'm extremely happy with it. However, I've noticed some problems. It is always a challenge to try and connect to an online game and it often results in it being aborted after a couple of seconds, which ultimately results in a ban. I never got to play a game with black on lichess as the moves just stop syncing to the app, this can happen randomely because of internet problems and it can becomeextremely irritatingto have to finish the game from the lichess site. Additionally, when making an invalid move in any sort of game it just bugs out and the board doesn't know how to fix itself. And the app is general is not a good experience, it can be tricky to navigate, and i think there should be more feedback to the user when he is connecting to game. These are most of the issues I've found so far so I hope you can resolve them. Again, I'm really in love with your product and I really hope your company does well.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
The unit was defective. Some pieces were not detected on the board. My husband worked through the troubleshooting tips on your site, but it remained defective. I am sending it back. I am surprised it arrived packaged with zero padding, and I wonder if it was knocked around during transport.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Hi Jennifer, I'm sorry that has been your experience so far. We can help you with some 1:1 support if you reach out to info@bryghtlabs.com Thanks, Patrick
Posted 2 weeks ago
so far disappointed, not as easy to use as I had hoped. will work on it and hopefully get it to function. if not will return it.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Hi Michael! We're sorry the board set up has not lived up to your expectations. This video covers set up and some issues you might face while getting familiarized with the board: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kbdLp9zi0MI You can also take a look at our support page which has multiple guides: https://playchessup.com/pages/support Thanks! Patrick
Posted 3 weeks ago
After some mishaps on the part of the delivery service (not Bryght Labs) customer service made everything work out perfectly. They were very professional and helpful.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Hi Crandon, I'm sorry the delivery process has been this frustrating. We're committed to getting the ChessUp board you purchased delivered to you soon and we're actively working on it. You'll receive more information on your email. Thanks and apologies, Patrick
Posted 3 weeks ago
This board is all that is expected.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Chessup is the perfect computer chess game for a beginner or someone who has been playing forever like me. Easy to set up, level of play is fantastic, the customer service is outstanding. I am really enjoying my chessup.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
The ChessUp board is fantastic! My wife purchased the board for me for Christmas, and I’ve already enjoyed playing some great games! I can’t wait to continue playing and improving my chess game on this board. I am especially excited about being able to use the ChessUp board to teach my kids to play chess!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Amazing i can finally play with my son that is much better than me. This way we can practice and have fun together
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Bryght Labs - ChessUp is rated 4.2 based on 159 reviews