Bryght Labs - ChessUp Reviews

4.3 Rating 272 Reviews
80 %
of reviewers recommend Bryght Labs - ChessUp
4.3
Based on 272 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier, Postal Service
Average Delivery Time
Over A Month
On-time Delivery
Greater than 78%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
97%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Live Chat, Email, Telephone
Queries Resolved In
6 - 12 Hours
Read Bryght Labs - ChessUp Reviews

Write Your review

Tell us how Bryght Labs - ChessUp made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Bryght Labs - ChessUp 5 star review on 27th June 2023
Jennifer Ebersold
Bryght Labs - ChessUp 5 star review on 29th December 2022
Mickael Cobut
Bryght Labs - ChessUp 5 star review on 29th December 2022
Mickael Cobut
Bryght Labs - ChessUp 5 star review on 29th December 2022
Mickael Cobut
Bryght Labs - ChessUp 5 star review on 29th December 2022
Mickael Cobut
Bryght Labs - ChessUp 4 star review on 10th December 2022
Erwin Liwanag
Bryght Labs - ChessUp 5 star review on 2nd December 2022
Adam Kenney
4
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
My wife and I are in our pre-retirement phase and looking for hobbies to enjoy outside of sports. It’s a great learning tool that’s organic, physical and real. Unlike the many excellent online courses & apps seeing and touching the pieces gives us a 3D experience of a 2D game. Very educational enjoyable and keeps our brains active. Highly recommended for all ages. Thx for creating such a wonderful product!
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Hi there, I am glad to provide some feedback. First of all, I feel much gratitude to you for bringing this product to life. This is the reason, chess found a place back again in my life and i had quite a few satisfying hours with it. so far I am fairly satisfied with my play-experience. however a few things, you might call it nitpicking, I would like to mention here (in the order of the "inconvenience"): 1. everytime I start a new game (and i mostly play against AI), i need to navigate to the desired settings - with multiple taps i.e., setting assistance level & opponent levels -to get to my starting point. i wish there was a way to save my last play settings and continue from there on every start. 2. It was a little let down to find that the max assistance level that can be directly set on the board is only upto 3. Not sure if there is a technical reason for that. surely it would have been nicer otherwise. 3. save the game for later: i find it somewhat fiddly tapping 3 times esp. when there is piece on the a1 square and have to try a few times to get it right. A long-press somewhere e.g., would be more preferable. Warm Regards Tejinder Ahuja
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
I absolutely love my ChessUp board. Amazing product, practically flawless!
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
I bought this particular chess computer based on an advertisement where it was said and shown that "it allows switching between a computer and a human". I expected that I would be able to practice various openings by making the first few moves in a human to a human mode to get the opening I wanted and then switch to the computer mode to practice the variations. In reality, this option is available only without an app and with the maximum ELO 1200 and quite a long time (2-3 minutes) to generate each move. The app works faster and provides variety of strengths, but it doesn't allow switching the partner from a human to a computer during the game that the board does. Overall, the possibility of testing various moves in openings with the computer that I originally wanted looked reasonable. If you could add the feature to the app to switch an opponent during the game from human to computer (and maybe back), that would be great. I hope it's something feasible, This will make your product the best on the market. Kind regards, Roman
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Pretty pricey… BUT I love it! It’s definitely a conversation piece. It’s so good, I’ve been able to get people who HATE chess to play with me!
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
to be honest I'm pretty disappointed first of all I thought your product will be able to link to chess.com second I'm experiencing some bugs such as application crashes sometimes I'm not able to establish a game especially on chessup etc etc ... I'm disappointed.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Hi Dror! We are so close to releasing chess.com integration for everyone! It's out in the wild for Android Beta! However, someone will be reaching out to your shortly, we want to make sure that your experience with your ChessUp is world class!
Posted 7 months ago
Great chessboard to learn and play! Very good haptic feeling. It also works very well, at first i was scared about the bug reviews, but no problems with iphone. Only nut useable in hot environment (like balcony in summer), then it gets errors. All in all still great product!
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Excellent quality. Friendly and informative customer service. Reasonably priced too! I highly recommend the ChessUp to all those who love chess but don’t always have an opponent to play with. The ability to play Stockfish (the built in chess engine) on varying levels of strength, as well as being able to play against other real life opponents from anywhere in the world is truly incredible. Bryght Labs have really created a fantastic product. I’m really happy with my purchase and I think that if anyone reading this review is contemplating getting one themselves, you definitely won’t regret it!
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
I just received my ChessUp board, two days after ordering, and played a few games OTB, against AI, and online (lichess). Everything works perfectly as advertised! (I did update the firmware and calibrated as recommended first). It's a bit larger than I expected; maybe thats a good thing. The carrying bag is nice too, just right for the board, charger, and a few accessories. Better quality than expected, and have not had to recharge yet after 6-7 games. The app seems to work great, no issues. I can't wait for Chess.com integration and other promised learning features. Highly recommended!
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
I'm delighted with the ChessUp board. The pieces could be better. King and queen are too similar. Main problem was the long delivery time that turned out to be even longer due to customs delays in Europe. All that said this is a great board and app (iOS)
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
This is a gift that has not been open l hope it is a great gift.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
It's pretty good for improving your play and helping you with suggestions. The pieces are of a reasonable size and pretty decent quality considering they are plastic Quite disappointed that it still can't integrate with Chess.com. Crashes occasionally mid game which is extremely frustrating, seems to need an occasional calibration even after the initial one. Worth the money? Not really at the current price. Would I buy again? Only if the price dropped by a reasonable amount.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Awesome chess board, easy to set up and start using. I've used it everyday since I got it, highly recommend!
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
After ordering two chess sets for my children in the initial kickstarter campaign I was initially very pleased with the sets (even though I'd had to wait a year longer than expected for them) so I decided to order another set for myself. As one of the original backers I was a bit disappointed not to be offered a substantial discount for purchasing a 3rd chess set and even more disappointed when I placed the order in January after your sales representative told me I needed to place the order immediately as the prices were going up by £100 per set, only to find they are basically still being sold at the price I paid. I was expecting to receive my chess set in April but actually didn't get it until the end of July, a 6 month wait! I had explicitly requested as walnut style set as the darker sets looked a bit plasticky and tacky, and again I was disappointed that you didn't send me the walnut set I had explicitly ordered. Furthermore, after only a week or so some of the plastic has started to bubble up. Overall I am pretty disappointed and additionally think that if you don't sort out your delivery logistics you are going to go out of business pretty quickly (which I don't want to see as then my chess sets will be unsupported). Another big disappointment is that you don't seem to have made any significant improvements to the ChessUp App. You said that you would be adding connectivity to Chess.com but this still hasn't happened. Your videos also show some sort of automatic chess clock, which I can't find anywhere on the App (which would be really useful as I've already lost several games on Lichess due to running out of time). You also haven't added any other useful functionality like being able to set up the board in different positions and in order to switch between playing white and black you have to turn the whole board round. There also don't seem to be any advanced tutorials on the App, which I was expecting (things like different openings for example). Overall ChessUp is a great concept but I've been pretty disappointed by the fact that nothing seems to have improved since the kickstarter campaign.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Hi Mark! Veronica will be reaching out to you, keep an eye out in your inbox!
Posted 8 months ago
Service wise of keeping delivery promises. Several months late and several delays and I as buy needed to reach out for update. Product wise, great idea but need to work on the electronics since needed to amend and place the chess pieces again. You could expect more of quality feeling.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
I purchased by mistake, but I love the game
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Wonderfull Chessboard, but with the App it doesnt Match that well, friends Connect doesnt work well unfortantly.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
This chess set makes playing chess fun! I just played another game on Lichess where I thought I would offer a draw to my opponent but the android app doesn't have a way of doing that. I also can't find a resign button when I'm loosing to the AI. The app needs improvement but it's still an enjoyable game online 👍
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
I enjoy the board but the app feels clunky and it's disappointing to not be able to play on chess.com when using android
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Not new to chess but new to chess learning technology, I am very impressed by the clean look, easy steps of instructions, beautiful colorful display with ai assistance and even the quality feel of the board is very satisfying. Setting it up was a breeze, plus I don’t feel intimated by my worthy ai opponent in making mistakes while learning and most importantly having fun. Great product.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Bryght Labs - ChessUp is rated 4.3 based on 272 reviews