Chilton Furniture Reviews

4.84 Rating 219 Reviews
97% of reviewers recommend Chilton Furniture

About Chilton Furniture: Chilton is a family-owned, Maine company dedicated to selling fine, wood furniture, all American-made. We are known for our Shaker-inspired designs, and also feature Arts & Crafts, modern and cottage style pieces in solid cherry, maple, ash, walnut, and quarter-sawn oak. We are also known for the quality craftsmanship of our custom work. Many of our pieces can be custom built to your specifications.

Much of our furniture is handcrafted in small Maine workshops, and we also work with boutique craftsmen in New Hampshire, Vermont and the Midwest, many of whom have been partners for decades. All of these cabinetmakers have a Shaker-like dedication to workmanship, function, and simplicity of line and form. All of Chilton’s pieces are built to our high standards, and a growing number are original, proprietary designs.

Visit Website

Phone:
866.883.3366

Email:
contact@chiltons.com

Location:
410 Payne Road

Are you a business owner?
See Business Solutions
Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Shipping & delivery
Own Driver, Courier
delivery methods
Customer Service
Email
communication channels

How would you rate Chilton Furniture ?

Your Rating
Tell us how Company made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photo to this review?
Upload Photo
(only JPEG and PNG files) (optional)
What's your name ?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

5
Linda &
"Extremely high quality furniture. The variety of furniture styles available offers shoppers/buyers the opportunity to compare and utimately choose the style that fits their furniture “scheme”. Staff at the Scarborough store are stellar and our interaction with the owner of Chilton Furniture has been most pleasant. Bottom line? Every effort is made to meet a customer’s needs!"
Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
5
Joseph T
"The company was very easy to deal with from the order stage until final delivery"
Report
Posted 3 months ago
Michael G
"We’ve only had it for a few days but it’s beautiful !! My wife luvs it .. The delivery was perfect , they delivered it the day they said they would and set it up for us as well ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ Thx mike"
Report
Posted 4 months ago
"I bought a Shaker Arch bed frame, which is really beautiful. I love it. It took a long time to get - I was told 16 weeks and it took closer to almost 6 months to get. I would also like a little more attention from the salespeople when I come into the store. Many times I am ignored until I ask them to help me. This is why I did not give a 5 star rating. They are very nice once they acknowledge you, it is just the first part that is missing - the greeting and showing a willingess to help when you walk in."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 days ago
Thank you for your feedback! We try to give our customers some "breathing room" when they walk in to allow them to get their bearings, but it is a fine line and we are very sorry that you did not feel we gave you enough attention soon enough. We will share your feedback among the team.

Thank you again and warmest regards,

Chilton Furniture Co.
Posted 1 day ago
Visit Website
"This bed is beautiful. The workmanship is outstanding. The construction is strong and sturdy and is very easy to assemble. It was all put together in under 5 minutes with no hassle. It's an easy bed to move if that's important. No tools are needed. Chilton's staff certainly went the extra mile and wrapped the bed up so that it made it to its new home in perfect condition. Will be buying matching pieces over the next few years."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 days ago
Thank you for your kind words! We are so happy to hear that you are excited about your new bed. We look forward to seeing you back again soon.

Warmest regards,
Chilton Furniture Co.
Posted 1 day ago
"The staff at Chilton's were very helpful, measuring various items in the Barn for us, and even helping us load the 6-foot bookshelf we ended up getting into our vehicle for us. They also helped us match our order of a bookshelf/china cabinet to our current furniture set which had been custom-made at Chilton's over 20 years ago. Fine products, beautiful wood, thoughtful service--what more could one ask for?"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 days ago
Nothing makes us happier than hearing about a good overall experience such as yours, and we are so honored to have had you both as customers for over two decades. Enjoy your new bookshelf and china cabinet and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Thank you and warmest regards,
Chilton Furniture Co.
Posted 1 day ago
"Over the last six or eight years I have purchased a number of pieces of furniture from Chilton Furniture, including beds, an occasional table, dining room chairs, and a bookcase. The quality of the furniture is outstanding, the prices have been reasonable, and more important, the sales staff have been some of the best I have worked with--always friendly, not pushy, and extremely accommodating. I love cherry furniture and Chilton is always the first place I think of when I am in need of something new."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 days ago
Bonnie,
We are so grateful for your kind words and repeat business over the past several years. We appreciate it and very much look forward to seeing you again soon!
Warmest regards,
Chilton Furniture Co.
Posted 1 day ago
"We could not be happier with our Chilton experience and bed frame. We walked in on a lark, expecting only to find traditional styles that are not our taste. Instead, they had a wide variety of styles and we found a frame that was perfect for us: modern and clean lines, but not self-consciously trendy and “cool” (and therefore likely to look dated very soon). It’s also more distinctive and much better made than the mass-produced (and mass-advertised) Trendy Top Seller from an online or major retailer. The frame is sturdy and beautiful. I love that we bought it from an actual store that works with craftsmen. And our interactions with people in the showroom and at the point of delivery were easy and comfortable."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Thank you for your kind words--you just made a lot of hard-working peoples' day. Please come again soon.

Warmest regards,

Chilton Furniture Co.
Posted 1 week ago
"The piece is beautiful however the purchasing/ordering process has some room for improvement. I patiently waited the 10-12 week for the items to be built. It took more than twice that amount of time for the items to be delivered. I received no updates from Chilton after the initial build time had passed."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Valued customer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and we are very sorry for your frustrating experience. An important local builder of ours fell behind earlier this year after strong demand for our Shaker collection back in February and May. They have been hiring new woodworkers but they are a small shop and it has been taking time for them to work down their backlog. We expect that with their new team members, by year-end they will be back to their traditional 10-12 weeks. However, that is no excuse for not reaching out to you with an update. We tried to go down our list to contact every customer whose order was going to be delayed and I am sorry that we somehow did not contact you.

We would like to offer something to make up for the additional time you waited without an update from us, and we would also like to thank you for your patience and your business with Chilton. We are gratified that you like your new furniture and hope you will give us another try in the future.

Sincerely,

Jared Levin
Chilton Furniture Co.
Posted 1 week ago
"The furniture is beautiful. It speaks for itself. From ordering to delivery the service was wonderful. We love our painted beds and dresser."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Extremely high quality furniture. The variety of furniture styles available offers shoppers/buyers the opportunity to compare and utimately choose the style that fits their furniture “scheme”. Staff at the Scarborough store are stellar and our interaction with the owner of Chilton Furniture has been most pleasant. Bottom line? Every effort is made to meet a customer’s needs!"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Purchased the stunning Tea Box which enhances my kitchen counter. Precise construction, beautiful wood, and the top fits exactly. This Shaker box is incredibly well priced for the size, quality, and craftsmanship. It arrived more quickly than anticipated. Hope to purchase a Chilton table soon."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"We are very pleased with the pieces we have received. We are still wanting for the furniture we purchased in May and I am sure we will be as happy with those pieces as the ones in our February order. Workmanship is incredible. The only negative criticism I have is that it takes sooooo long after the order has been placed to the time of delivery."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your feedback! It was very generous to give us a strong overall review despite your frustration with the build time for your order. Historically our build times have been between 8 and 12 weeks, depending on the builder. However, this year due to strong demand, two of our most popular builders fell behind. They have been hiring more wood worders and once they get settled, we expect build times to be back to normal soon. But in the meantime, we very much appreciate your patience and we are glad to hear you so happy with your new furniture--and your support also means a lot to the additional woodworkers who have now been able to find full time work doing what they love!
Thank you again and we hope to see you back soon,
Chilton Furniture Co.
Posted 3 weeks ago
"We could not be more pleased with our new console. It looks great and the construction is first rate. We also had an excellent experience with the delivery guys - very helpful with placement and final installation of glass doors. This is exactly what we were looking for and better."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"Great chairs! Sturdy but stylish."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
"We recently purchased the Kittery Sofa table with shelf (and also the Kittery coffee table with shelf), and are so happy with the quality. The finish is beautiful and when it arrived it was exactly what we had expected. While the furniture can take some time to be made and delivered, it is well worth the wait. In particular, it is really nice to know that this was made specifically for us and by someone local. When the furniture was delivered the guys were very professional and courteous (even taking their shoes off before entering the house). We look forward to collecting more Chilton furniture and supporting local craftsmen while making our home look great."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
"We have owned Chilton furniture for years and when we decided to remodel our bedroom it was an easy choice for us. Furniture is solid, hand crafted made in the USA and we are completely satisfied with the fit and finish. We had a slight issue on delivery (wrong slats for bed) and Chilton addressed it immediately and resolved timely and professionally. Highly recommend."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
"We are very pleased with our purchase of the coat hanger. It fits well into our sitting area/office space and matches perfectly with our desk that we also purchased from Chilton. The coat hanger is sleek and holds many coats, purses, hats etc without taking up much space. We have made other furniture purchases from Chilton including the desk, a student desk and bedroom furniture and have appreciated their craftmanship. We'll definitely continue as loyal customers!"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
"Currently we have been waiting over three months for a cabinet front which then arrived at your store not made to spec. Getting a expedient response with a solution seems to be a problem. I will not in the future be able to recommend your products to our friends and contractors.We have called multiple times with a response of "we will get back to you" which has yet to happen. I am not sure why you would even ask about the mirror when you should be aware of all the negligence that has been surrounding our cabinet front."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
David and Amy,
We are aware of and very sorry about your frustrating experience thus far with your Chilton order.
As you know, our builder accidentally built a full chimney cabinet rather than just building the cabinet face, which you had requested as a custom order. To make matters worse, the maker of that cabinet happens to be our builder who is the most backed up right now owing to strong interest in our Shaker collection.
We understand how frustrating it is for a custom order to come in incorrectly after you have already been waiting a while. Our builder is putting in a rush on your re-do and we will be following up with you with more details today.
Thank you and sorry again for your frustrating experience to date--we will do our best to make it right.
Sincerely,
Jen Levin
Co-Owner, Chilton Furniture Co.
jen@chiltons.com
Posted 4 weeks ago
"We were extremely pleased with the "no pressure' salesman in the store. We appreciate the excellent quality of workmanship in our dresser. The gentlemen that delivered the dresser were respectful of our home, our dresser and us. The entire experience was of high quality"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
"From our first visit to the Freeport store on a rainy day with our new dog to the long distance ordering from Colorado, Chiltons has been excellent to do business with. The furniture we bought exceeded our expectations for high quality and unique design. We got what we paid for and then some. We’ll be back!"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
"Some glitches with delivery and set up. Now there is a squeak when I get into bed. But the bed is beautiful! I love the look of it."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
Steve,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback! We are going to call you to discuss your bed because often (not always) there is a relatively simple remedy for a squeak relating to set up.
Very glad to hear that you love the look of your new bed!
Warmest regards,
Chilton Furniture Co.
Posted 4 weeks ago
"Chilton furniture designs are timeless and beautifully crafted. They are classic and can be made to the customer's specifications. What could be better?"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
Chilton Furniture is rated 4.84 based on 219 reviews

Start Your Free Trial Today

Send 400 review invitations for FREE!

Get ready for our phone call!

We'll call you shortly. If you'd like to speak to us right away, please just call us on +1 213-325-5109 .

Alice, Customer Support
Cookies help us improve user experience. They are also used for statistics, quality assurance, social media and for marketing. By using our website you consent to all cookies in accordance with our User Privacy Policy and Business User Privacy Policy.
Close This