Close Brothers Reviews

1.6 Rating 19 Reviews
16 %
of reviewers recommend Close Brothers
Visit Website

Write Your review

Tell us how Close Brothers made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Fabulous service. Easy and simple. Great service all around
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Absolutely disgusted with the service and the care. I had car finance with you guys, I had recently bought a new car (June) and the rest of the finance had been settled by the garage. Few weeks after this I got a call from Jim saying that I owed close motor money (£410.40) And I needed to pay for this. Naturally I was very confused and concerned. I spoke to my garage where I bought the new car from and just wanted clarity if they had paid it. They were correct. I was very concerned and was very anxious about this situation as this isn't a small amount of money. They told me I had to pay for it then and there or do a payment plan. Which just made worry so much. I explained to Jim I wasn't prepared to pay this and make a complaint so we it was raised. Today I get a call from Lynette from the complaints team explaining they got this wrong and I was misguided and I explained that really has really affected my mental health for the last few weeks. She explained that an automatic email came out and it shouldn't have - I explained and I said I still got a call this is unacceptable. She wasn't understanding to me whatsoever. She said I would get a £30 compensation - this is disgusting and insulting. I explained that this isn't the first time close brothers have had the issue before with me and they have got confused with direct debits and money and dates. She then explained that complaint was closed and we can't deal with that as the case is closed - that disgusted me more. Lynnette then asked to close the case I said no way - I explained this is not good enough id like to talk to someone higher. She said ok. I am so so disappointed in the company and the lack of customer service and care towards their customers. I have never experienced such poor quality - wouldn't recommend anyone to this company.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Finance side of things fine; it’s when things go wrong the complaint handling side of the business is an absolute joke. Long story short, I purchased a car on HP finance through a dealership; 4-5 weeks of using the car it breaks down, nearby garage confirms 7 or so different faults from gearbox to transmission to electrical issues and all sorts - contact dealer & close brothers - now a month later Im without a car, and no refund, and still on a finance agreement. All I’ve asked them for is updates with the progress of what’s happening, I’ve sent 8 emails and rang numerous times to just through to there answer phone; one guy Jim called me initially and was very nice, yet since that initial phone call nothing has happened; or atleast I’m not aware if anything’s happened. I ask only for updates so I can explain to my employer why I’m struggling to get to work which I’m being penalised for (I can’t get a new car as I still have a £7000 finance outstanding on this car!) Jim finally answers the phone Monday just gone, “Thursday we’ll have an update, I will call you Thursday” well as expected again end of play Thursday nope, no phone call, I’ve rang them 3 times, 2 emails - nothing. No confidence in this awful business I can’t wait for the refund and then I can leisurely explore my options further in regards to seeking comp as consumer rights explain a refund should be processed within a reasonable time frame, is a month a reasonable time frame? With only 1 phone call from yourselves telling me what I already know. No, honestly finance side of things fine; but this complaint process is a joke. If I just atleast had updates I wouldn’t be so pressed but without that I’m a clueless sitting duck whereas mechanics and third party businesses involved know more than I do. Reading this back I know an initial reader would assume this relies with the dealer who sold the car; I have complaints to make about them but the HP finance agreement is with close brothers and it’s there responsibility to sort this; atleast I don’t think they’re aware it’s there responsibility.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
This company is total disgraceful the staff can’t speak word English and they gear them self up to rip costumers, there’s many companies out there with very good reputation and will help. Keep well away from this company.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
I would give zero if possible. The lady I spoke to today forgot to put me on hold when seeking advice on my query that she tried fobbing me off with and did not like it when questioned! Heard her laughing and talking about me! When I said I could hear her she offered no apology but a cocky reply! Utterly disgusting! I was not rude or confrontational but merely asked further details when offered it might do! clearly might dos work!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
I had payed the finance for my car last year in full .in my credit score it show is not payed is affecting my credit score badly .when I call customers service many times they keep in vague....
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Disgusting scammers , I had a conversation with them when I first got the deal and me being young and it being my first car I asked how many miles I should get as I had no one to guide me on this matter they said 5000 I soon ran out and it cost £500 for 1000 therefore I quickly cancelled and asked for a final bill which I was going to pay off all in one go however no one contacted me back until the other day a debt company contacted me about therefore this will effect my credit absolutely disgusting just glad I’ve fount a decent company within go skippy
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Absolutely disgraceful service from Close Brothers Motor Finance. I was sold a car by a dealer which had a fake service history so I raised a complaint with Close Brothers who informed me that they would look into my complaint. I also provided evidence to support my complaint and I was told that these investigations are normally resolved within 40 days. Well it has now been over 100 days since I first raised the complaint on 02/12/2021 and the case still hasn’t been resolved. Furthermore, I have left multiple messages with the Co-workers of the person who was assigned to my case as I haven’t been able to get through to her and she has not responded to any of my call back requests. The claim handler’s name is a lady by the name of Sinead Miller if anyone has the unfortunate experience of having to deal with this person. I have now filed a claim with the financial ombudsman and also reported the individual claim handler so they will now be taking control of the situation. I urge people to be cautious if taking out car finance with this company as I was sold a car with a fraudulent service history which of course is illegal and yet Close Brothers have refused to help resolve this situation and it’s just caused a lot of unnecessary aggravation.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Complete RIP-OFF Dont even consider them if you don't want to get in depts!!! I cancelled MyPolicy insurance that works hand-in-hand with CLOSE BROTHERS. As all people I do work so not sitting at phone. After cancelling I let them that know,had nice conversation with operator whom I asked few times if I'm all sorted and free to which I was told I'm free from any financial links with the company.I didn't get any email or post from them afterwards. Now after about 2 months I recieve letter from the dept collecting company asking me to pay OVERDUE amount of £478. CANCELLATION FEE ALMOST £500?! WHERE WAS IT POINTED OUT? As financially carefull person I did have assurance from representative that I have no financial links and was discharged būt now I'm being CHASED BY DEPT COLLECTORS. Anyway I will require to go through conversation with operator, if needed through courts as there was assurance, moral compansation for ruining my time, mental harrasment, blackmailing to financial institutions. No wonder it gets over 200 complaints daily. ASSURACE,LIABILITY,TRUST??? That's a joke really!
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Charging double market rate for car insurance, when we tried to cancel they piled on all the charges and made it impossible for us to get out of a contract even though we didn’t receive a letter. WILL CANCEL AS SOON AS I CAN WHEN THIS CONTRACT IS UP AND NEVER USE THIS COMPANY AGAIN !
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
This company is a rip off. My husband bought a car insurance from them, 3 months later he sold the car, cancelled the insurance (paid £92 cancellation fee to the insurance company) then he received a letter from Close Brothers Premium Finance to confirm that he still need to pay for the remaining 9 moths of insurance. This is complete scam and the worst company we have ever dealt with! Avoid them at any costs if you can!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Nothing but thieving ruthless filthy greedy
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
The only thing that went well was when they got the money from me and made me pay 4 times the price of an insurance. Really really poor customer service, I had to spend an hour to get a negative response to a question just because nobody had the competency to help. And when I spoke to them about this, they actually feel this is how it should work, for a customer to have to talk to 4 different people and share the same information. They promise things over the phone that they do not commit to after that. I find this is very close to a scam, looking forward to moving away from them. Stay away, as much as you can!
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Awful experience. Complete scam of a company with no contact info. Other genuine companies offer 30 day money back guarantee. This company tries to make you sign a credit agreement which is a complete trap into making making money off vulnerable people. Glad I never signed the agreement and got out. Avoid this company, offer no customer care or basic enquiries and just pass you on to their third party underwriters.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Absolutely terrible 3 days in a row tried to get thru and continual advert being played saying I’ll be put thru in a minute (3 days folks)!!! All I wanted was a quote as I’ve been with them for a few years and hoped to get a decent price for my new car quoted to me . In some ways it’s a god send as all in doing now is cancelling my excisting policy and going with budget ins instead at least they answer their phones, ps never again!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Bought a car from a dealership witch close brothers financed me I put a large deposit and the car turned out to be faulty and have been fighting a year now and have won my case and the dealer has his car back but I still do not have my money back and the complaints department has been extremely rude not answering or returning calls and have been treating me in a way I can only describe as terrible I am thousands of pounds out of pocket with no car or money to buy another and I have two young kids this has caused me serious stress anxiety lack of sleep avoid close brothers like you would carona virus
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
At first they let people do quote and choose monthly payment and if the are not 18, and after they cancelling your insurance and then they still discounting your money and after u have to pay for them loads of money for nothing
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Great customer service.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
I'm a broker who uses Close to finance insurance policies. Prompt replies to any issues or concerns and a human approach to dealing with client difficulties.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Close Brothers is rated 1.6 based on 19 reviews