Login
Start Free Trial Are you a business? Click Here

First Tutors Reviews

4.6 Rating 8,876 Reviews
93 %
of reviewers recommend First Tutors
4.6
Based on 8,876 reviews
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Read First Tutors Reviews
Visit Website

Phone:

0843 289 9165

Email:

enquiries@firsttutors.co.uk

Location:

PO Box 860
Preston
PR3 9DF

Write Your review

First Tutors 1 star review on 28th May 2025
Daisy Faulkner
First Tutors 1 star review on 10th April 2024
Lana
First Tutors 1 star review on 11th December 2023
Anonymous
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
So bad agency,asked me first to pay fee website to release tutors info and then the tutors wasted my son's time and no reply at all, asked them to refund my money back ,they kept wasted my time asked me to check with other tutors,be careful
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Dear Mays, I am sorry to hear that your experience wasn't satisfactory. I see that our customer service was in contact with you to resolve the situation. We offered another tutor free of charge but you requested a refund which is in process in due course as confirmed to you via email. Kind regards First Tutors Customer Services
Posted 3 years ago
Hello, Yes I made contact and explained Dimitrios has Crohns Disease and was in hospital. Now he is out and having treatment, he needs help to revise before his AS Level maths in a month or so. Sam says "sorry I full up". Of course I am very unhappy as Sam should not have accepted the introduction, then filled up without contacting me. This is a young person's future. Either refund the nonexistent introduction or find another tutor, with a moral standard. Iexpected a reputable tutor
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Dear Anne, I am very sorry to hear that you have had a disappointing experience with your new tutor. We hadn't heard from you about the problem so we haven't been able to help yet, but I have just sent you an email to explain how you can select a replacement tutor free of charge. I hope this will help to resolve the problem positively: please reply directly to Customer Support if you have any questions. Kind regards, First Tutors
Posted 3 years ago
At no point in the experience is it clear that you actually need to pay to get the tutors details. This sprung on you at the very last moment It's very briefly mentioned on the home page, but you need to scroll down the page I'm on a large monitor and still managed to miss it The tutor also wasn't aware of this
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Dear Charles, We continually attempt to make improvements and changes to our service to make it as easy as  possible for students to find tutors, and for tutors to find new clients. The happiness and well-being of our users is extremely important to us. I would like to apologise if you felt our fees were unclear. Information surrounding our fees and how our business model works is displayed on our home page on the about us page on the help pages and also in our Terms & Conditions. First Tutors aims to be transparent with regards to our fees and I am going to ensure your comments are taken on board with our development team to see if this can be made clearer throughout the process to avoid similar discrepancies in the future.  Kind Regards, First Tutors
Posted 3 years ago
At no point in the experience is it clear that you actually need to pay to get the tutors details. This sprung on you at the very last moment It's very briefly mentioned on the home page, but you need to scroll down the page I'm on a large monitor and still managed to miss it The tutor also wasn't aware of this
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Dear Charles, We are sorry to hear there has been a misunderstanding regarding how First Tutors works. Information surrounding our fees and how our business model works is displayed on our home page, about us page, the help pages and also in our Terms & Conditions. We also clearly explain to each tutor at the top of the tuition request how we operate. Please do reach out to us if you have any further queries. Kind regards, First Tutors
Posted 3 years ago
Paid £12 in order to access the tutor Had an intro chat with him .. Correspondence was great Face to face - talked the whole way through at us and my daughter barely managed to say a word! Played himself through the session until I suggested does he want to listen to how my daughter plays. This was in the last minute.. Very bizarre
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Dear Farhana, I am very sorry to hear that you have had a disappointing experience with your new tutor. We hadn't heard from you about the problem so we haven't been able to help yet, but I have just sent you an email to explain how you can select a replacement tutor free of charge. I hope this will help to resolve the problem positively: please reply directly to Customer Support if you have any questions. Kind regards, First Tutors
Posted 3 years ago
Canceled 10 min before tuition. The tution was not then rearrange and not very responsive
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Dear Ahmed, I am very sorry to hear about this and appreciate your reason for concern. I have contacted you directly to advise how to leave feedback for your tutor in order to choose a replacement at no further charge. I am sorry that your experience so far has not been a good one, but I hope we can turn this around for you. Kind Regards, First Tutors
Posted 3 years ago
Hi, can’t comment as yet as the tutor has cancelled both of the times he was booked for.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Dear Raza, I am very sorry to hear about this and appreciate your reason for concern. I have contacted you directly to advise how to leave feedback for your tutor in order to choose a replacement at no further charge. I am sorry that your experience so far has not been a good one, but I hope we can turn this around for you. Kind Regards, First Tutors
Posted 3 years ago
Confusing and difficult to understand, no mention of the need to pay for contact information before contact with the chosen tutor was allowed and after several failed e mails, that were censored by First Tutor, threats made against the tutor herself to remove her from the First Tutor site for breeching rules. Just not worth the effort and aggravation.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Dear Ian, I am sorry to hear that you found the site confusing. We aim to make the process of contacting a tutor as streamlined as possible and are sorry you did not find this to be the case. We do indicate on the homepage that there is a fee payable to connect with your chosen tutor and we do not permit the exchange of contact details prior to our fee being paid. I see that you contacted Customer Support and we explained how the site worked, which I hope was helpful. I hope all is going well with your new tutor. If you need any assistance please do get in contact with Customer Support again. Kind regards, First Tutors
Posted 3 years ago
Paid 20 euro and never got a grind.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
I am very sorry to hear that your tutor has cancelled your lessons; I appreciate how disappointing this is and certainly not the experience you would be hoping for. Our Customer Support team has just sent you an email to explain how you can select a replacement tutor at no further cost which we sincerely hope will help to resolve this matter positively for you. Please do look out for our email and reply directly to Customer Support. Kind regards, First Tutors
Posted 3 years ago
Tutor cancelled day before first lesson.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Dear Nagina, I am very sorry to hear that your tutor has cancelled your lessons; I appreciate how disappointing this is and certainly not the experience you would be hoping for. Our Customer Support team have just sent you an email to explain how you can select a replacement tutor at no further cost which we sincerely hope will help to resolve this matter positively for you. Please do look out for our email and reply directly to Customer Support. Kind regards, First Tutors
Posted 3 years ago
REFUND Sarah I am still waiting for my refund. Why are you keeping my money when I have never used your tutoring services?
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Dear Jane, We are sorry to see your feedback. In instances where a tutor is not a good match, we are able to provide a replacement tutor at no further charge. I can see that you engaged with two tutors and made the decision to change tutors without giving the tutors the opportunity to have a first session. I have reviewed your account and can see that you have been given two replacement tutors free of charge. Please refer to your emails in relation to this matter. Kind Regards, First Tutors
Posted 3 years ago
I never used any of the tutors or the service yet First tutors are refusing to refund me
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
I am still awaiting my refund. I have never used the tutors or the service!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Leanne is a very poor teacher, she is not ready to teach someone child, I told her that my son is a slow learner and doesn't talk alot, I regret getting her to teach my son, in her first lesson she put him down saying he will not become a chiropractic, because he is slow dont want to learn, and that he should reach futher in his education, Leanne is very Negative, judgemental, sarcastic, and push for money ,her attitude is not ready, she dont care about children's educations, she brings her emotions in her job, she does not meet the professional standard for a teacher,she is very embarrassing ,for a teacher she most be more professional, leanne only teach my son 4 hr last week, October 21, I would not recommend LEANNE to NO ONE, we parent have to careful who we get to teach our children, Leanne brings her daughter into ur home on her job.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Dear Cloverlyn, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that your experience with your tutor was not satisfactory. I have checked your records and see you didn't contact us about this so that we could help you source another tutor free of charge. I have now sent you an email explaining how to claim another tutor at no further cost. Kind regards Sally Customer service Team First Tutors.
Posted 3 years ago
Tutur sara not safe to teach
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Dear ? We are very concerned about your feedback comment regarding a tutor called Sara who is unsafe? Could you kindly email our customer service department (enquiries@firstutors.co.uk) so that we can investigate who this tutor so that we can take appropriate action. Kind regards Sally Customer Services First Tutors.
Posted 3 years ago
They took find the tutor charge £20 but after that that I did contact to hem but he never came to the tuition for
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Unable to help with my request (tutor to work with my child face to face at tutors choice of venue) despite this being an offered option on the website. I approached a number of local tutors some of whom were unresponsive - perhaps they were as disappointed by the site's service as I was - and when I thought i had found a suitable candidate discovered at the eleventh hour that my specific request of face to face working at the tutors choice of venue had not been passed on to them. This appears to be an issue with the first tutors website and not with the individual involved. I paid a £25 fee for the details of this tutor who was not able to offer what I needed. First tutors did offer to provide contact details of alternative tutoring candidates to me without further 'finders fee' charges however there were no other candidates on the site who were local, responsive and able to offer what my child required. I ultimately made alternative arrangements outside of the website somewhat poorer but certainly wiser - I suppose first tutors did teach me something just not what I'd wanted or needed
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
She couldn't help me with 4 pages of text.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Dear Abdullah, We are very sorry to hear that you have been so disappointed with your tutor, we appreciate this is not the experience you would have been hoping for. We hadn't heard from you to indicate a problem with your tutor, so our Customer Support team have sent you an email this morning to explain how you can select a replacement tutor free of charge. Please do reply directly to Customer Support so we can hopefully resolve the matter positively for you. Kind regards, First Tutors
Posted 3 years ago
No show tutor but paid £15
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Dear Natalie, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that your tutor failed to appear or contact you about the arranged tuition. We didn't receive communication from you so were unable to help. I have now sent you an email with instructions so that you can claim another tutor at no further cost. Kind regards Sally Customer Service Team First Tutors.
Posted 3 years ago
Paid for access to tutor found out he lives abroad not what I w as led to believe!
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Dear Sandra, Thank you for your review and we are very sorry to hear of your disappointment with your tutor. Our Customer Service team have sent you an email this morning to explain how you connect with a replacement tutor at no further cost - although we appreciate this will not change your experience we hope that this will be an opportunity to resolve the matter positively for you. Please do reply to Customer Services with any questions and we will be pleased to help. Kind regards, First Tutors
Posted 4 years ago
First Tutors is rated 4.6 based on 8,876 reviews