Animal Friends Reviews

1.75 Rating 443 Reviews
18 %
of reviewers recommend Animal Friends
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Live Chat, Email
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week

Write Your review

Tell us how Animal Friends made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
PLEASE PLEASE DO NOT GIVE THIS ORGANISATION THE SATISFACTION OF TAKING YOUR MONEY. !!!!!! Confronted with why have you told lies to me and my vet.! After weeks of so called investigation they just shut down communication!!!!!!!! They really are the most unprofessional company to deal with and as may people have testified to. I say again please please do no use this organisation. Or do so and join this for Forum at a later date Capt. T.W Davis
Posted 6 months ago
hidden deductions I accept an excess payment, which is standard for insurance claims But "co-payment"? Sounds so cuddly, but just another way of getting money from people Would not use them again
Posted 6 months ago
I have 5 dogs insured with animal friends and recently one seemed to have a sore throat as it was coughing. At the vets it was found to be a heart problem. I had to answer lots if questions about the dogs history. They questioned the breed if dog, they say he is a jack russell, he is in fact a multi breed, all my dogs are, and most if them related in some way. Ages between 5 and 11, always with same vet, annual checkups, no other medical issues. Its now nearly 3months and still no decision on payout.
Posted 6 months ago
Awful, deceitful company, who has no interest in your pet. Our beloved dog Max was diagnosed with Nasal cancer, and Animal Friends declined any costs towards Chemotherapy, and also wouldn't contribute to a Ct.scan prior to diagnosis. We paid for everything. Unfortunately our beautiful boy passed away, on 22nd September 2020, which was heartbreaking, they refused to pay for Euthanasia and also for the cremation, saying it wasn't covered..previously another instance, they deducted all their 20% and any excess, and sent 80pence..for a £300 bill. Find a good insurance company for your pets, your wasting your money on animal friends, they certainly are not your pets friend, they really dont care.
Posted 6 months ago
We've been waiting for our claim to be dealt with for months now and meanwhile a second accident happened with our dog. The first one happened when he injured his shoulder in the park when playing, the second one was a bite from a german shepherd, both with emergency treatment. It's been many months now and neither the first nor the second claim was dealt with. They constantly try to find excuses to procrastinate, first making it impossible to get the right form for the claim, then asking for details of the owner of the german sheperd who attacked. Now we are simply waiting and nothing is coming back, even though our vet sent the claim to them directly. Absolutely disgusting. I can really picture the teams sitting in their offices and the manager giving instructions as to whether a claim will be successful or not based on their profit numbers that day. obviously we will stop paying and leave the insurance, but we will terrorize them with emails and calls till they pay us the expensive accident treatments that they "claim" to cover in the insurance documents. and if they don't pay we will take legal steps. don't spend your money to this unethical company and rather set aside a good amount of money into a savings pot. in the end the money is yours and if you need it you also have it available. this is what we did since we got our puppy and continued doing even after we decided to get insurance "just in case". turns out the insurance is absolutely useless!
Posted 6 months ago
Understand their jargon before committal. I thought I'd take out cheaper Insurance as we are pensioners. How wrong were we to go with Animal Friends!!! A £2100.00 vet cost for a cruciate ligament break, I have to pay £600 of that! Apparently, I have a 'Prime Policy' (I did not know that before) so for each condition, it is a max of £2000 pa with 20% off (you pay) and a excess you pay. Yes, the writing is there, but not explained in details as to what it means - Be very careful!!!
Posted 6 months ago
I was nearing the end of my years insurance with Animal Friends- having made no claims. My 9 YO Cocker Spaniel developed an ear infection in May 2020 which proved to be very resistant to any antibiotic. I assumed animal friends would pay on insurance so went along with the treatment. I put in a claim for just under £700 which included multiple antibiotics, steroids, ear flushes and 2 ear swabs etc. This was declined on the basis that Oscar had had an ear infection in 2016 (nothing since). Stating this was therefore an existing condition. I feel very let down. I understood an ongoing/existing condition to be just that. Still under treatment and still ongoing. NOT something that happened 4 years previously and was treated and cured. I am really disappointed as they have now put conditions on my insurance which effectively bars me from getting any other insurance. Shame on you Animal Friends. Not good at all.
Posted 6 months ago
I have been with Animal friends for 31/2 years. In the beginning there were no issues, always paid out at a reasonable time. Then payments started being reduced finding all sorts of reasons to cut paying. And now, well what can I say, it is absolutely disgusting. I constantly have to send repeated claims as they keep coming up with excuses such as , paperwork not filled in correctly or amount not correct then when they haven’t paid for a claim they ignore you. Even using the pawtal through the vets it’s exactly the same. I can’t go anywhere else now as my dog had diabetes and I won’t be able to insure him elsewhere. They should be ashamed of themselves Stay well away from this appalling company
Posted 6 months ago
Avoid like the plague. They try anything to avoid paying out a claim. Definitely don't use these they are completely unscrupulous we tried to put a claim in last year for our Cavalier King charles spaniel who was diagnosed with enlarged heart. Our dog was 12 at the time. We should of enjoyed our last few months of his life instead of fighting and getting nowhere. They should not insure dogs of an elderly age but instead took our money without question. He was put on medication. You only contact your insurance company when you have to make a claim. I would advise everyone to stay clear of this insurance company...
Posted 7 months ago
Unprofessional. Lying and deliberate procrastination lied to me and my vetinary practice cancelled three policies today!! Will try any thing not to pay out been with the m three years small claim. SAD. Capt. T.W. Davis
Posted 7 months ago
Our dog was insured for 2.5 years with them and they refused to pay out on an operation to remove a lump as it had been over one year from it first being noticed. The reason it wasn't dealt with straight away was that the vet told me to wait and see if it gets any larger. They then cancelled the policy basically saying we want nothing more to do with you.
Posted 7 months ago
AVOID, AVOID, AVOID & READ THE TERMS AND CONDITIONS THOROUGHLY IF YOU DO BUY. There are numerous points in the t&c's that could stop them paying out - beware!! Mainly they don't cover Out Of Hours vets fees - unless the vet states it was a "life threatening condition" (after you've taken them in obviously and had a professional vet look at them). Owning a pet is 24/7 and so to put this clause in (and not highlight it in bold red letters when getting the quote) is quite simply not acceptable. Once the owner is aware that they won't cover out of hours ..... people will think twice to take their animal to the vets. People aren't experts and so how can they judge before they take them if it's "life threatening? Also a lot relies on their own "vet expert" - so they may decide based on the vets notes not to pay out. This is also appalling - how can a vet expert sitting in an office decide against the vet who actually saw your animal decision? Also that you need to phone for pre-authorisation if you think the bill might be over £1000 or again it could be refused. I am going to submit a complaint to the Ombudsman as these terms and conditions are so unfair to the customer.
Posted 7 months ago
Charged me two lots of excess for one condition. Was told less cover than I actually had resulting in my cats death. DO NOT USE
Posted 7 months ago
Not even worth 1 star. Avoid at all costs! They have declined my claim and passed it off as “pre-existing” despite the fact my vets have provided them with a detailed report confirming the health issue my dog has developed is a new issue not related to anything he has had in the past. Can’t wait to see what FOS think of this!
Posted 7 months ago
Do not use animal friends insurance. I insured my dog with them for years on there supreme cover and when my dog became ill they have a lot of fine print in there 50 page contract that gets them out of paying. They have no interest in your pets wellbeing. waste of money
Posted 7 months ago
You said my cat is pregnant cause she’s been fat with skinny legs for ten years now... then make me wait for a response when I’m “first in queue”.. scam!!!!
Posted 7 months ago
My 11 month old cockapoo was extremely ill, throwing up constantly. This was at midnight and i phonedvthe emergency vet. They were concerned and told me to bring her in. She was diagnosed with gastroenteritis, given a needle and medication. The bill was £315 which I paid and put the claim into animal friends. They paid me £39. I'm was shocked at this. The vet was afraid she would suffer dehydration so I spent the money thinking the insurance would pay most of it back. I'm going to cancel if they don't reconsider.
Posted 8 months ago
Extremely disappointed with this company having paid for insurance for two dogs for nearly 12 years with no previous claims. They have refused to cover my dog's arthritis which was diagnosed in April this year because 4 years ago, when visiting the vet's for a routine appointment, I mentioned that she had a stiff leg. Animal Friends have decided that her arthritis is therefore a previous condition and will not pay for any treatment. My advice would be to avoid this company when choosing insurance for your pets.
Posted 8 months ago
Avoid this company if you want your pet. Absolutely disgusting company. I had a mistake to take this company as my pet insurance. My dog had a wound last year which cause him bleeding and after a year he had bladder stone. Now they refuse my claim to say that the bleeding last year was related to the stone bladder this year,no sign of any problem regards to bladder happened last year, very shocking as my vet twice send them letter to clarify everything for them. please please avoid this company. they will just rub your money. I have spent £1,800 only for the check up and now I have to take my pet to charity clinic for his operation as he need it urgently and I can not afford because of this untrustworthy company. save your pet and your money
Posted 8 months ago
Terrible cancelled policy with this company today..shocking treatment said looking into my claim as had looked at my information and said i declared that my dog was a cross bread and says on info from my vets jack Russel (no. Hes a border jack Russel cross) and also said as i said he was small dog said in 2018 he was 12 kilo which makes him med size... he was really poorly and we got directed to out of hours on a Saturday dog was in quite distress could not leave him all weekend...would not pay that cost... as previous person dog was muzzled as he had to go in on his own due to lock down. Vet he was not used to choosing to muzzle. They then said wanted me to give them info on how his behaviour was out of vets with orher dogs/people... and any incident against him..CHEEK. in the end my bill for £246 they awarded me £16. I phoned and cancelled there and then and like many more on this site will be going back to another more Known Better insurance company.. Avoid these people they are not bothered when you ring and cancel as others have said.
Posted 8 months ago
Animal Friends is rated 1.75 based on 443 reviews