General Accident Reviews

3.0 Rating 556 Reviews
50 %
of reviewers recommend General Accident
3.0
Based on 556 reviews
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone, Live Chat

Write Your review

Tell us how General Accident made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
It's online only, but it's impossible to speak to someone if you are unable to get online. Which happens most of the time. Would not go with them again
Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 3 years ago
I insured my car because the quote offered was reasonable. I have not had any dealing with General Accident since buying my policy so I can’t offer any criticism, good or bad.
Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 3 years ago
Expensive to leave - will not be renewing for the other car I have a policy with them Cannot recommend
Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 3 years ago
Paper documents would have been good! I felt very uneasy having no documentation
Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 3 years ago
i have not had any reason to contact my insurers so i am not in a position to comment on them
Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 3 years ago
I always like a hard copy of the policy . Every thing on line is all very well but some of us like to read the paper copy
Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 3 years ago
After numerous communication with GA l found them very inefficient in dealing with telling the DVLA that my vehicle was insured with them which should be automatic. This put me through a lot of unnecessary trauma. I even went to the Police and they tried but without success. In the end I emailed the CEO of the company before this was resolved. Very dissatisfied.
Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 3 years ago
Decided not to renew with GA as they increased the premium without bringing my attention to that fact and made an assumption I would accept. An email advised me they would automatically renew - I don't think so.... One phone call from them may have kept my business - an opportunity missed on their part. Poor show indeed.
Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 3 years ago
I added my son to the policy, I thought it was rather expensive considering he is away at university, his age and driving experience to be honest. This is the only contact I have had with General accident. Deborah Goodband
Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 3 years ago
Absolutely garbage
Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 4 years ago
General Accident very competitive on policy cover and price however poor on issue of proof of no claims , secondly l have no documentation!
Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 4 years ago
Windscreen replacement - phone system transferred me direct to autoglass, denying me the right to shop around for a more convenient and timely replacement, resulting in having to wait 3 weeks for completion. To add insult to injury, in replacing the windscreen, the operatives broke a front quarterlight, meaning car was off the road up to 3.00pm the following day waiting for that to be replaced. All round poor show, from both General Accident and Autoglass, both of whom failed to allow me to speak with a representative.
Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 4 years ago
They managed to mess up my direct debit payments and you have no way of contacting them by telephone to sort out any issues, that means i received a reminder each month. In all my time with car insurance (over 20 years) this is the only insurance company that managed to mess up my payment. I wrote to them on a few occasions to sort out the issue but never received a reply. I would not be using them again
Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 4 years ago
Didn’t have the best experience with general accident, when buying the policy I couldn’t get in touch with them over the phone so just had to buy online and then 6 months into the policy when I wanted to contact them to make a change to my policy I couldn’t get in touch with them again over the phone. I then found out that they are an online only company which hadn’t been put across to me at the start of the policy, this caused me to have to cancel my policy halfway through as I couldn’t find a way to make the change that I needed to online.
Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 4 years ago
did not realise it was totally on line only, may not have gone for it if known?. Had to get help to upload documents have never done this before.
Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 4 years ago
My wife and I wanted to check if we could do a multicar policy instead of renewing on her own as her policy is dew in 7 days now! Which also is cut off date for notice of termination for renewal. All I needed was someone to talk to me and explain the process, but after a month they're not contactable by telephone unless you are making a claim. When I clicked on the help boxes and tried to do the online thing,I could only get pre set answers none relevant.,..aaàggg
Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 4 years ago
Can’t complain with the service I had when getting the insurance however if you need to speak to someone you have to do it online
Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 4 years ago
Good price but the lack of a call centre and the incomplete website on which your forced to depend can be extremely frustrating.
Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 4 years ago
No communication with the insurer. Since I had no claim then no need to contact them.
Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 4 years ago
After setting up the policy I have had no cause to contact the provider, so cannot comment on their service in this respect.
Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 4 years ago
General Accident is rated 3.0 based on 556 reviews